Thats y they so famous. Their stuff all cannot buy one. Quality sucks to the core.

Life's too short, you may leave anytime, think of now, just do it.

• Replies 219

I encounted similar situation before also, the size not available, he go in and change diff kind of sponge which is not the original but right size. I only realize when i compare with the other helmwt cos i bought 2 but it doesnt really bother me cos it fits, only that they should have a good business practice.

Last time one brand helmet named PRO, dropped once, side scree broken. Come back kena charge some more for the new nuts which is metal. Product sucks.

Oh well, please take precautions ok people.

I went down to Regina for new helmets with my partner in the afternoon. We decided on a model and asked for size m and xs. Was served by a young, dark skinny malaysian. After taking about 10 mins, he came back with the helmets. I checked, both size m. He took the helmet and disappeared behind the store. Then 5 mins later, he produced a size xs (says so on the visor). You say funny or not, the helmet suppose to take from outside, suddenly got helmet appear from behind then he go outside take for what? But I stupid stupid see the xs, just take.

When I was at home, I took out the removable sponge, the label says size m! Now is evevening time. I go down and look for the guy. Size xs become m. He never say sorry, say he go take and disappear for 10 mins. Then he come back with size xs. Never mind, I immediately open the sponge part, no label with the size.

By now, feel something very fishy. So I check the display sets, open up the sponge part one is l and one is m. So I ask him bring out another size s to show me. He disappear behind and come out wif a size s. I open up the sponge part, guess what? The label is cut out! BUT...I can make out is M!

Then short fair guy with spectacles ask me what's the problem? So I told him the story. He say this brand is manufacturer, he don't know what size, just follow the visor sticker. By according to another tanned short staff there, this brand is produced by Ah Boy.

So I start comparing the helmet size, s,m and l. The spectacle guy say the shell is the same size!! And he say like nothing wring. Which means their helmet only one standard size right?! Means they only adjust the sponge thickness.

Anyway I say never mind, you just give me size xs. You guys should know what happen next, the guy say no stock.

My conclusion is very simple.

1. When I went in the afternoon, there was already no xs or s in the colour I want. They deliberately switch the visor sticker and try to bluff me.

2. The helmet is all one standard size. All the different sizes are FAKE (at least for this model), they just change the sponge thickness. For the REAL proper sizing, the circumference of the helmet is different.

3. From their sheepish expressions, my view is that they do this switching of sizes All THE TIME. Spectacle guy didn't even scold the skinny guy. Obviously, this is what they do.

Eventually, spectacle guy say sorry and refund my money. Well, that's the least he should do for deliberately trying to cheat me.

Wow! I can confirm

Their favorite phrase haha. I wanted to buy a helmet black color , aft confirming the price 230. As usual waited like a fool for 20mins. Then guy came back with the helmet, While taking out the helmet from the packaging the guy still can say tadaaaaa like got surprise! But I'm really surprised cos it's grey as I wanted the black one. Then he keep ask me take the grey one but I die die also don't want. Then I leave my contact down to order , waited

2wks after 2 weeks for 2 mths .. And I was the one that keep calling the shop to enquire abt the helmet availability. finally one day I called and they told me the stock arrived .. I then ask how much.. So this time was quoted 280 instead of 230. so their pattern come out Liao lor.. no business ethic ..

I guess 2 weeks is their magic number :D

Happened to me too plus lots more bullshits. I guess u can never make a good deal with a bad person.

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D X515m using Tapatalk

I went to Regina last week to buy a black Shoei helmet, the price quoted was about $35 cheaper than Chong Aik. After 15 mins of waiting, that guy came back into a shop with a Shoei box. But it's a white one instead and he told me black no more stock, he to me to take it at a further discount of $25. I said no thanks and just walk across the road to another shop selling Shoei. Bought the helmet I want within 5 mins without hassle. I don't like to deal with any sales person that are too pushy, what is that discount amount when I'm going to buy a expensive helmet before I went down?

Class 3 - 22/11/1996

@ Kampong Ubi Driving Centre

Class 4 - 19/11/1999

@ Pan Country Driving Centre

Class 2B - 28/01/2005

@ Singapore Safety Driving Centre

Class 2A - 15/02/2011

@ Comfort Driving Centre

Class 2 - 17/02/2014

@ Comfort Driving Centre

I went to Regina last week to buy a black Shoei helmet, the price quoted was about $35 cheaper than Chong Aik. After 15 mins of waiting, that guy came back into a shop with a Shoei box. But it's a white one instead and he told me black no more stock, he to me to take it at a further discount of $25. I said no thanks and just walk across the road to another shop selling Shoei. Bought the helmet I want within 5 mins without hassle. I don't like to deal with any sales person that are too pushy, what is that discount amount when I'm going to buy a expensive helmet before I went down?

For your info, the shop you bought yr black shoei from is a chong aik branch. :cool: As you have just proven they are just little cheaper and the worst is they don't even have stock.

Wow. Chong Aik dropped their price? How much did you pay? I remember when Regina first parallel imported Shoei, Chong Aik's price was a good $1-200 more for the X-11.

Service and the lucky-draw esque shopping experience aside, LAB and Regina has kept prices down for accessories. I wish Ah Boy sold bikes though.

Edited by Chemol

The difference is $60. Of course I would like to enjoy the discount, but it must be for something that I wanted.

Class 3 - 22/11/1996

Class 4 - 19/11/1999

Class 2B - 28/01/2005

Class 2A - 15/02/2011

@ Comfort Driving Centre

Class 2 - 17/02/2014

@ Comfort Driving Centre

Wow. Chong Aik dropped their price? How much did you pay? I remember when Regina first parallel imported Shoei, Chong Aik's price was a good $1-200 more for the X-11.

Service aside and the lucky-draw esque shopping experience aside, LAB and Regina has kept prices down for accessories. I wish Ah Boy sold bikes though.

they will continue to have customers who can tahan their motto... if they do sell bikes I guessed the same will apply.

Either way, a lie was given and taken.

The only thing you can do is to be more cautious next time, watch out for the lies and tear them apart when you see them the next time. Happens everywhere, my friend. Be vigilant, it's your money and your money still till you part with it.

Once, this happened to me too, when I wanted a Mfizz helmet. A lesson learnt. So now, when I go back to check out jackets, helmets, riding gears at Regina, I'll give it a throughout check and would tell the guy to rectify it before I'm gonna pay for anything.

Recently bought a Zeus ZS 3000-A from Regina and was pretty happy with it.

Bro' I too bought a Zeus from Regina last week.

Check with you, as Zeus is a modular helmet, are you given the attachment to convert the full mask to open type?

For me, I don't have it. Just wondering if they should give it to me or, I need to purchase it separately

they will continue to have customers who can tahan their motto... if they do sell bikes I guessed the same will apply.

It's a cartel here. The way prices have been going up, you'd think cars should go up similarly too. But if we look at the machine price, the proportional increase in bikes outstrip those of cars.

Guys, ah boy is famous for getting stuff cheap, mainly spare parts.

I will give you examples.

I bought did 428 chain front and rear sprocket for Bajaj pulsar for 35$ with installation. Rack for pulsar for 65$. Fork oil change for 15$. Dunlop tt900 front and rear tyres for just 125$. Where to find such prices in this expensive country. sometimes his prices are cheaper than JB also.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

buyers beware..

cheap price galore..take your pick...

little budget go to lab...

rich and budget no issue...go to high price shop...be served really good and get chopped..

to ech his own...know what you are getting into..

justlike buying bike..

buy from shop...BEWARE..HIGH PRICE WITH EXPENSIVE HIRE PURCHASE...AND EXPENSIVE GET OUT CLAUSE....fOR..a goodlooking but terrible bike

buyfrom classified,,sbf used bikes....becareful...you may pay low price and get junk tooo..

imho

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

A good buyer won't mind paying a bit more, and a good seller won't mind giving a bit more.

Class 3 - 22/11/1996

Class 4 - 19/11/1999

Class 2B - 28/01/2005

Class 2A - 15/02/2011

@ Comfort Driving Centre

Class 2 - 17/02/2014

@ Comfort Driving Centre

A good buyer won't mind paying a bit more, and a good seller won't mind giving a bit more.

Going home with a peaceful mind and happy heart worth more than the discounts that you will get from dishonest sellers.

The main thing: Know your stuff. Do your research and homework.

And burn rubber, not your soul.

is there such a thing as a good buyer and good seller?

the fact is lim ah boy been prospering for past 50 years? despite the bad reputation....hows that for bad service and lousy products..

and motorcycle shop having the worst reputation is still around..

these facts turn the buisineess school ,buisiness of goo practices upside down..

obviously lim ah boy buisiness model isworking...dewspite loosing a few dissatisfied customer...

i still patronise lim ah boy low price engine oils from$3/l....bad oil?/works best for me in the ezzyoiler.

Edited by ezzyoiler

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

so, Mr Ezyoiler do you buy anything from them besides 3dr/L cooking oil? lolx..

IMO, I think they should just stick to low end stuff.

so, Mr Ezyoiler do you buy anything from them besides 3dr/L cooking oil? lolx..

IMO, I think they should just stick to low end stuff.

i see lab sells cooking..i will check it out next time i am there...

yes.. patronise them regularly...if i need anythin i can fix myself..

we learn as we grow up...what isgood and cheap...good and expensives...cheAP AND USELESS...ETC

except to learn faster by other people badexperiences..

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

Some things can still buy from Ah Boy

520 RK O-ring chain, paid for a genuine one approx $60plus inclusive of installation

Yuasa Battery, paid for a genuine one approx $54

K&N recharger Kit, $24

things that I wont buy from Ah Boy

Engine Oil

Spark plugs

Oil filter

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

So... Where else can we go shop shop shopping for bike helmets? =((

HelmetBoyz bro..I have heard many good reviews about them,although the choices of helmets are somewhat limited. I'm sure you'll be able to find those that you like as they carry those brands which are more popular like the EVO's and Arai's.

They do provide delivery If you don't have the time to vist their shop which Is located @ Woodlands.

Add them @ facebook and browse their catalogue.

Naz

Thanks TS for sharing your bad experience, well..we riders are vulnerable whichever way we see It huh?

On the Road - Stupid Drivers awaiting to kill us.

Motorcycle Shops - Salesman preying those noob riders.

Motorbike Accessories/Helmet Shops - Like TS mention earlier, Sales tactics like these are, sadly still practice, esp In this generation where most of the riders are somewhat still learning the hard truth.

What to do, Just live life as It Is.

Naz

So... Where else can we go shop shop shopping for bike helmets? =((

HelmetBoyz bro..I have heard many good reviews about them,although the choices of helmets are somewhat limited. I'm sure you'll be able to find those that you like as they carry those brands which are more popular like the EVO's and Arai's.

They do provide delivery If you don't have the time to vist their shop which Is located @ Woodlands.

Add them @ facebook and browse their catalogue.

Naz

Steelmate 2way alarm singapore price is abt$230..but at johor ahboy cost only rm200 the same model...lucky I never install in spore motor tiam..Save abt 150 dolar...rm200 only dolar abt $70..Worth it...