Iso. I sold a few bottles off and used the rest. :)

I want to go back to schaeffers but they dont have a 10w40. Only 5w40 and 20w50.. )):

Do you think 5w40 is safe to used when the manual strongly reccomended is 10w40?

On the manual, the chart has 20w50, 5w30, 10w40,15w50.

Anyway, iso, can explain about base oil and engine oil?

Eg the PAO crack lah... II, III oils. I dun understand :(

'What typs is schaeffers?

check out.

http://www.mxtradings.com

Epi, many have that practice. I personally would.

• Replies 2.7k

you will not have any problem using 5W40 at all. 5w40 and 10w40 has the same viscosity at operation temperature. it totally fine. Lubeszone does sell schaeffer 15w40 in 4L bottle which i am using currently and loving it:)

American Petroleum institute(API) grouped the type of base oils to 5 different types. to cut the long story short:

Group 1, 2 and 3 are refined mineral oil. the higher group mean it more throughly processed which mean less impurity and higher viscosity index. Legally, group 3 can be called synthetic except in some europe countries and most synthetic oil today is mainly group 3.

Group 4 are polyalphaolefins or PAO for short. they are consider real synthetic.

Group 5 are all other types of base oil.

so which is better? all these make good discussion but very little difference in real life performance for the common guy on the road. base oils is important but it the overall package of the oil that count. designing an oil is extremely complex as a tribologist got to ensure all the components in the oil enchance each others. i read that some mobil engine oil used as many as 10-15 different grades and types of base oils. yeah, it that complex.

Schaeffer semi-synthetic is 20-30% group 4 oil and the rest is group 2+ and additives. Group 2+ is oil that is almost group 3 but does not meet it viscosity index requirement.

Schaeffer full-synthetic is 20-30% group 4 oil and the rest is group 3 and additives.

iso, how to call lubeszone? they dont have their number online

how much was it?

wah thanks for the explanation! :)

iso, how to call lubeszone? they dont have their number online

how much was it?

wah thanks for the explanation! :)

the number is there but not obvious. haha... 9185 4522

you can sms Vincent to order. the price is $46 for 4L. it about the same price as Mxtradings as their is in quart.

Thank you iso!!!

OMG schnell 5w40 feels so much better than castrol actif 15w40.

Smoother, better cold start and better pick up and top speed! :)

Its in the sym magic 110r though hehehe

me:cheeky:

got a 5L bottle before. enough for 6 changes for my spark.

So how? Good anot? You buy malaysia one or singapore one? Are you a oil engineer or chemist? Because you know quite alot about Orr You.

no doubt it an excellent well built oil. it should do very well for most bike. but i don't know whether all "butts" agreed with that. haha... butt dyno it a science that i don't have much understanding in. haha...

i got it from malaysia for RM95. it is Delo 400 multi-grade rated at CI-4+ and SL. my little spark run on it for 12,000km and with no problem.

once i read about one automotive parts company Federal Mogul who studied about 7,000 cases of engine parts failure. if i remember correctly, none of the case is caused by what types or brand of oil used. they are mainly caused by excess impurity and insufficient lubrication. to protect your beloved bike, keeping the oil fresh and sufficient is more important then what oil to use. although i still think most of us is over doing the oil change. hahaha....

the trade that i am in got nothing to do with engineering or chemistry at all. i just read up a bit about oil from time to time.

Yup he is not a engineer

He is a professor

Xp

Most of us r really over doing it

I juz get the cheapest fully syn motorcycle oil.

For now it's chex and pennzoil. Top up a bit with carlube fully syn oil from giant.

Hey i must say quite smooth already.

Manual did say premium motorcycle oil.

- premium = fully ?

And also change interval of 6k

xp

Azmil rempit

Yup he is not a engineer

He is a professor

Xp

Most of us r really over doing it

I juz get the cheapest fully syn motorcycle oil.

For now it's chex and pennzoil. Top up a bit with carlube fully syn oil from giant.

Hey i must say quite smooth already.

Manual did say premium motorcycle oil.

- premium = fully ?

And also change interval of 6k

xp

Azmil rempit

Same here, currently aiming for Schaeffer priority follow by Chex fully syn only for my next oil change

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg

on my gsxr 5k is ok but on a kub, you should see the condition of the oil after 1k km :faint:

for schaeffer? so bad ah? i feel if dark is just that ur engine creates alot of byproducts and contaminants. in fact, IIRC a dark oil is usually evidence that the oil has got detergent properties. i tink a gd synthetic can easily handle ur kub's 1000km.

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

Thank you iso!!!

OMG schnell 5w40 feels so much better than castrol actif 15w40.

Smoother, better cold start and better pick up and top speed! :)

Its in the sym magic 110r though hehehe

Kindly clarify, as i read all your previous posts between yourself and Iso is regarding Schaeffer .

But Mx tradings are not selling Schnell

Schaeffer 5w40 is for cars.

I just ordered schaeffer 15w 40 semi syn as recommended by isopropyl. Gonna collect this sat and tell you all how i feel on the first oil change. I'm skeptical of it performing better than HDEO though. So far my best oil I used was Silkolene Pro 10w40 fully synthetic. quiet at low revs high load but engine feels light when going high rpm.

C'mon guys keep searching for that one miracle oil! Cheap and good good.

harlow all.

well... the oil on the kub looks really darned used after 1k km hahahaha. Cheap oil goes in it like Schnell from giant $25 for 4L

5w40 schaeffers can be used in bikes. You can read it on their website :thumb:

we should start doing UOA. looking at the oil don't really tell you anything accurately.

for the first time in my bike life, i pluck up enough will to run the oil to 3,000km. i seriously thinking of running the next OCI to 4,000km and do a UOA. found a place in singapore that do it but it not cheap. will try to source for other places. the cost of one UOA is enough for 2 bottle of delvac MX:cheeky: but for the name of science, i might just do it.... hahaha...

harlow all.

well... the oil on the kub looks really darned used after 1k km hahahaha. Cheap oil goes in it like Schnell from giant $25 for 4L

5w40 schaeffers can be used in bikes. You can read it on their website :thumb:

Thanks for the clarification.Cheers

we should start doing UOA. looking at the oil don't really tell you anything accurately.

for the first time in my bike life, i pluck up enough will to run the oil to 3,000km. i seriously thinking of running the next OCI to 4,000km and do a UOA. found a place in singapore that do it but it not cheap. will try to source for other places. the cost of one UOA is enough for 2 bottle of delvac MX:cheeky: but for the name of science, i might just do it.... hahaha...

I cant wait lol

won't be so fast. i need another week to change my oil at 3,000km. after that, most likely it will take about 3 months or so to hit another 4,000km. haha...

WOW thats so long indeed lol

schaeffer is a very stout oil. check up the presentation below. although they present it in a way that make their oil appear better, it give some pretty good information. i also believe the presentation is a bit out of date as the formula had changed due to API rating. it still a good read.

http://schaefferoil.de/sheets/praesentationen/suprem9000_en.pdf

Thanks for sharing.Will read it up to enhance my knowledge

schaeffer 15w40 review:

changed out scnell 5w40 after 175km and poured in schaeffer. warmed up awhile and the engine is significantly quieter. On the go its noticaebly smoother during midrange. Smooth humming sound can be heard more over the rattling. But knocking sound is still there under load. Maybe I need a 50 wt oil le?

Just clocked 180km on scheaffer. Still smooth still good. Will update you guys at 1000km. I usually go cruise at 90 -100. rpm 8-9k. on highway. High shear high temp will be the main test for my bike. YBR125. air cooled W/O oil filter.