Today at around 12 noon, a TP followed me about 2km till I turn into the small road to my house. He rode beside me & ask me to stop at the roadside. He ask me shift my bike further up into the shaded area because I'm blocking the entrance of an Indian Temple. But his bike is parked in the "Yellow Box", under the HOT sun! LOL.

Then routine check, ask me for license, IC & insurance. He somehow guessed that I never bring insurance, he asked "You never bring insurance?" I said "Yup" & he walked away with my IC & license. As usual, comms back to HQ then return me & say "Thank you, you may go now"

Just to clarify, am I in the wrong for not bringing insurance?

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

• Replies 27

no issues.

having it with you only shortens your time when being pulled over.

you can take the time to admire the bike and the various mods they have.. :p

no issues.

having it with you only shortens your time when being pulled over.

you can take the time to admire the bike and the various mods they have.. :p

Okay noted. Will make a photocopy of it when I get back to work tomorrow.

I noticed they have a camera infront of their bike. That's speed camera if I not wrong?

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2015 - ???? Quit riding

I went into a roadblock without my insurance hard copy. Showed a Softcopy of the insurance cert to officer he say ok. But if he want to he can ask me to produce hard copy at rarest police station.

Ride safe people!!

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

I went into a roadblock without my insurance hard copy. Showed a Softcopy of the insurance cert to officer he say ok. But if he want to he can ask me to produce hard copy at rarest police station.

Ride safe people!!

Ohh, actually I could have showed him if he really want to. My house is just 5 mins walk from the spot he stopped me.

2015 - ???? Quit riding

i was once stopped by a road block. the police officer asked for my license and insurance. i told them i never bring my insurance out, he claimed that i am supposed to bring a copy of my insurance with me, and he has the right to ask me to report to the nearest police station with my insurance if he wants to. :sian:

ask him dun talk cock. everything is available in their system, they just need to radio back to HQ to run a check against your ID, if required.

hard copy is just to save them the 'trouble'..

ask him dun talk cock. everything is available in their system, they just need to radio back to HQ to run a check against your ID, if required.

Bro as much as I like what you're saying. You got proof ar? Not trying to find fault but this is the police we're talking about. We are at the losing side if we stuck up with them no?later every single small thing they want to catch ten LL. LED signal light also catch...sien.

Ride safe people!!

Bro as much as I like what you're saying. You got proof ar? Not trying to find fault but this is the police we're talking about. We are at the losing side if we stuck up with them no?later every single small thing they want to catch ten LL. LED signal light also catch...sien.

Ride safe people!!

what can they charge you with? riding without insurance?

riding without a copy of the insurance ain't a crime nor an offence as far as i remember. but riding without a VALID insurance is.

so what if you can provide a copy of the cover note which has been 'cancelled' for some reasons, you are still riding without insurance.

so what if they are police?

Actually it's a legal requirement that is chargable.

MOTOR VEHICLES (THIRD-PARTY RISKS AND COMPENSATION) ACT

(CHAPTER 189)

Requirements as to production of certificate of insurance or of security

16.—(1) Any person driving a motor vehicle on a road shall on being so required by a police officer give his name and address and the name and address of the owner of the motor vehicle and produce his certificate.

(2) Any person who fails to comply with subsection (1) shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $500 and, in the case of a second or subsequent conviction, to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months.

(3) If the driver of a motor vehicle within 5 days after the date on which the production of his certificate was so required produces the certificate in person at such police office or police station in Singapore as may have been specified by the driver at the time its production was required he shall not be convicted of an offence under subsection (2) by reason only of failure to produce his certificate to the police officer.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

Actually it's a legal requirement that is chargable.

MOTOR VEHICLES (THIRD-PARTY RISKS AND COMPENSATION) ACT

(CHAPTER 189)

Requirements as to production of certificate of insurance or of security

16.—(1) Any person driving a motor vehicle on a road shall on being so required by a police officer give his name and address and the name and address of the owner of the motor vehicle and produce his certificate.

(2) Any person who fails to comply with subsection (1) shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $500 and, in the case of a second or subsequent conviction, to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months.

(3) If the driver of a motor vehicle within 5 days after the date on which the production of his certificate was so required produces the certificate in person at such police office or police station in Singapore as may have been specified by the driver at the time its production was required he shall not be convicted of an offence under subsection (2) by reason only of failure to produce his certificate to the police officer.

extraction from the web, right? you see, the thing about all these regulations were drafted many many years ago whereby most of the documentations are still in hardcopy format. not so high-tech..

in this current day, how many of you still actually uses snail mail on a daily basis? not me for sure, i only visit the post office like at most once every few months to post/collect mail.

inter-agency are all linked in a way or another. i was stopped at a TP roadblock previously, and as usual the routine screening for licence and insurance/roadtax.

i only had licence, and they didn't even mentioned that insurance copy is a must. all they did was just radio back to HQ to cross-verify that there is valid insurance coverage.

same goes for road-tax. all these are kept at home.

So it's best that we bring along the road tax disc & insurance certificate with us at all time. Minimize the chances of kenna fine and wasting time.

fine, not exactly. waste time, maybe especially if you are in a rush.

extraction from the web, right? you see, the thing about all these regulations were drafted many many years ago whereby most of the documentations are still in hardcopy format. not so high-tech..

Many years but don't forget, with revisions across the years too. Most importantly, still in effect as this information is gotten directly from the AG's office. It is purely up to you not to bring insurance but please do not misled others.

The only high-tech thing I see is that the information is definitely easier to access as compared to the past. The rules and regulations do not change with the advent of technology.

Who knows, either you or the people you misled might have to make a trip down to the police station to verify and realized that this whole fiasco could be avoided if you had the copy of insurance in the 1st place.

In the end, Police officers still have the right to insist that you must carry the insurance with you or display the road tax disc. Yeah, they might be that ******* but they are still right and you wrong cause you did not follow what is stated as law.

My bike group was stopped for a routine check by a couple of TPs a couple of weeks ago while we were having our weekly Friday ride, and there was a guy who had forgotten his copy for insurance. He was told to head down to the nearest police post the next day to verify it.

So in the end, it is really up to the discretion of the Officers. Just how the Customs Checks are like, they have the authority to do a strip search based on pure suspicion but they don't.

In the end, like what MotoBike said, it is better to have your vital documents with you. After all, it is not as if these documents are too difficult to obtain or carry around, it's just a piece of paper.

Many years but don't forget, with revisions across the years too. Most importantly, still in effect as this information is gotten directly from the AG's office. It is purely up to you not to bring insurance but please do not misled others.

The only high-tech thing I see is that the information is definitely easier to access as compared to the past. The rules and regulations do not change with the advent of technology.

Who knows, either you or the people you misled might have to make a trip down to the police station to verify and realized that this whole fiasco could be avoided if you had the copy of insurance in the 1st place.

In the end, Police officers still have the right to insist that you must carry the insurance with you or display the road tax disc. Yeah, they might be that ******* but they are still right and you wrong cause you did not follow what is stated as law.

My bike group was stopped for a routine check by a couple of TPs a couple of weeks ago while we were having our weekly Friday ride, and there was a guy who had forgotten his copy for insurance. He was told to head down to the nearest police post the next day to verify it.

So in the end, it is really up to the discretion of the Officers. Just how the Customs Checks are like, they have the authority to do a strip search based on pure suspicion but they don't.

In the end, like what MotoBike said, it is better to have your vital documents with you. After all, it is not as if these documents are too difficult to obtain or carry around, it's just a piece of paper.

which is why some regulations are considered outdated.

bike group outings are always a TP/police magnet. which is no wonder why your group got stopped.

and yes, it's a piece of paper. and we are riding a machine which have no shelter when it pours. and documentation replacement costs $$$ too.

like i said, having that piece of paper will only facilitate your screening, that's all it will do. nothing more.

so far, i have yet to see/hear any bikers being charged for not bringing/producing his/her insurance when being screened.

which is why some regulations are considered outdated.

bike group outings are always a TP/police magnet. which is no wonder why your group got stopped.

and yes, it's a piece of paper. and we are riding a machine which have no shelter when it pours. and documentation replacement costs $$$ too.

like i said, having that piece of paper will only facilitate your screening, that's all it will do. nothing more.

so far, i have yet to see/hear any bikers being charged for not bringing/producing his/her insurance when being screened.

Didn't mind the stop but do mind the hassle that the lack of insurance brings.

Not outdated, still in effect. Yeah, not charged but the clause in subsection 3 is still currently taking place, there is no denial that people still need to head down to the Police Station when ordered to.

Rain? Since when rain is a issue when you have zip lock bags? How much would a photocopy cost anyway? What I do was to keep a photocopy in a zip lock bag in my bike and kept the original copy at home.

Might as well facilitates than to bring hassle. Do thank the officer if he really lets you go without much trouble, ain't difficult, is it not?

Didn't mind the stop but do mind the hassle that the lack of insurance brings.

Not outdated, still in effect. Yeah, not charged but the clause in subsection 3 is still currently taking place, there is no denial that people still need to head down to the Police Station when ordered to.

Rain? Since when rain is a issue when you have zip lock bags? How much would a photocopy cost anyway? What I do was to keep a photocopy in a zip lock bag in my bike and kept the original copy at home.

Might as well facilitates than to bring hassle. Do thank the officer if he really lets you go without much trouble, ain't difficult, is it not?

it is outdated but still in force. in force doesn't mean not outdated.. ;)

i will just ask the officer to radio back to HQ to run the whole shebangs, rather than me going down to the station to show. we are their master, in a way. since they have the capability to do almost everything, why bother doing it yourself. so long everthing is in order, no worries.

since already got pulled over, might as well.

zip-lock bags ain't exactly foolproof over time. :)

@aRcHeR. Do be careful. It is still by law tat u ve to produce e necessary douments even if it is in e system. Sadly i dun think e laws r updated, thus it is safer to apologise and hope they accept rather than _|_. ^^

Like wat ticks ve suggested. Later instead of just check paper, they compound ur vehicle for detailed inspection which they ve every right to do. U take cab back cant claim nor can u complain tat their investigation finds u clean.

It is really depend on luck. I think most pple already noe tat got digital system already. But if touch wood, e authority yaya, pls let them yaya and dun yaya back. It is e same as not fighting against a reckless driver with our bikes. Not worth it.

Ur point tat till date no one has been charged for not having papers is highly likely. Becoz no one in right mind will try to yaya with e police. ur post may be a little harsh and some younger riders may ve e opinion tat since it is outdated law or system can check etc and do stupid thing. Dun think it is ur intention to misled but well, this is a public forum.

I sincerely hope tat ur luck will continue to be good. Dun wish my example above to happen to u. btw if I'm not wrong, any damages to compounded vehicle cant be claimed. :/

Ps: dun think got any bikes tat do not ve under seat storage. Just fold fold and fold again ur papers, zip lock and wala. :)

I got stopped before last year in the morning on the way to work.. Wah piang.. late liao rushing to work then come along a TP. Rode a while behind me and signal me to stop at the road shoulder.

I ask him what happened as I confirm not speeding at that point of time nor have any outstanding illegal modifications, and he mentioned it is a random check.. I thinking.. wah piang so heng meh.. stop me when I am running late..

So he ask for my driving license and radio back to HQ, at the same time look at my bike for illegal modifications. So was pointed out my front license sticker letters are too close, pillion tinted visor.. Heng exhaust got cert and silencer.. After everything is clear,he let me go.. but then have to slowly accelerate.. :angel:

@aRcHeR. :/

Ps: dun think got any bikes tat do not ve under seat storage. Just fold fold and fold again ur papers, zip lock and wala. :)

Daniel I'm riding drz. No under seat storage. Lol. That's why don't dare challenge police.

Ride safe people!!

Daniel I'm riding drz. No under seat storage. Lol. That's why don't dare challenge police.

Ride safe people!!

I'm riding a DRZ too, bike without underseat storage can be a pain in the ass at times. But I think being humble & polite to this officers when u are pull over really helps, usually they will just close one eye if we didn't bring out insurance certificate & road tax disc.

Yea. That why when I rode into a roadblock without silencer once just guai guai. Just act as if my balls are in his hand. Have to talk gently with him or else one light squeeze i squeal like a sissy. I speak for myself. Unless we're Johnny English la.

Ride safe people!!

Hi, i have question about insurance.. I just passed my 2b, for time being my father let me ride his bike..the question is, do i need to buy a insurance for myself? or i can just ride?