Ok since im very open to advise ... i shall put on my mirror , and see how it goes ...

anyway i always stick to my lane , even when i do move slightly to de left or right on that lane , i still do check my back ........

as for tua gu behind me , thats another story , cos i only use the right lane when theres a jam , if not i will keep to the left lane (most of the time i ride around 90km/100km/hr).... and i rarely lane split , except when its red light and all veh has come to a stand still , den only i will squeeze thru.

• Replies 51

Originally posted by ulysses_sc@February 12, 2007 01:38 pm

Mate, checking blind spot and knowing what's behind you are 2 very different but equally important things.

Without mirrors, you have no clue of all happenings behind. You won't know if someone is accelerating to overtake, you won't know if someone in a hurry is tailgating you, and you won't know it if someone decides to tail you through a traffic junction. I especially hate it when overtaking some MotoGP look wannabe and the joker decides to do a lane change.

I ride with both mirrors, and also check blindspot religiously. Somehow I find the excuse that it forces one to check blindspot in the absence of mirrors very lame. Checking blindspot is part of good riding habits, and should be done with or without mirrors.

And no, I disagree that this mirror debate is a "to each his own" issue. All road users have a responsibility towards each other, and if 1 day I get hit by a mirror-less bike while overtaking, I will ensure that fella gets sued till his pants drop.

If you do hit a bike without mirror while overtaking(mostly u will hit its rear , True???

whose fault?

Originally posted by bluelabel@February 12, 2007 04:16 pm

If you do hit a bike without mirror while overtaking(mostly u will hit its rear , True???

whose fault?

I usually overtake such mirror-less bikes in the next lane. Have encountered some of these jokers who do lane change just when I am about 1 bike length away.

Now, the vehicle who changes lane is suppossed to wait till the next lane is clear before proceeding. But for these MotoGP wannabes without mirrors, they can't do that. So who's at fault? Is it my fault that someone could not check his rear because of cosmetic reasons?

I puzzled why you are tying all sorts and means to justify the unsafe habit of riding without mirrors. Removing mirrors just because feeling bad about having them definitely does not come across as good social behaviour. It's a hazzard to all.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Originally posted by ulysses_sc@February 12, 2007 04:35 pm

I usually overtake such mirror-less bikes in the next lane. Have encountered some of these jokers who do lane change just when I am about 1 bike length away.

Now, the vehicle who changes lane is suppossed to wait till the next lane is clear before proceeding. But for these MotoGP wannabes without mirrors, they can't do that. So who's at fault? Is it my fault that someone could not check his rear because of cosmetic reasons?

I puzzled why you are tying all sorts and means to justify the unsafe habit of riding without mirrors. Removing mirrors just because feeling bad about having them definitely does not come across as good social behaviour. It's a hazzard to all.

hmmp , i was just asking u whose fault will it be , i not trying to be sacastic or trying to justify something .

anyway im very careful , when i ride ... anyway for those who do not have mirrors and just change lane blindly without checking back, its just plain dumb and reckless.

aNyway i do understand what you are trying to drive at... and i shall put on me mirror and see how it goes .

Oh yah forgot to add , i remove my mirror not cos of looks , im 24 yrs old dis yr and i dont really care bout cosmestic on my 2b bike , i remove them cos i feel uncomfortable with it , and get distracted by them, even when i did do kfc delivery sometime back , i was using company bike , but why did i fold de mirror downwards , cos i keep getting distracted by them .... what i trying to say is , i know mirror is important but i just feel uncomfortable with them . Not cos of cosmestic.

maybe im just weird . :cheeky:

maybe i should get excuse mirror , like my friend who in army was excuse from grass. ---anyway jokes aside , i shall go down later and fix up my mirror,And see how its goes.

Cheers and ride safely to all & ulysses_sc

im not trying to be a motogp racer wannabe, and.. im riding purely for the love of 2 wheels and as a transport too.

i'll try my very best to get a left side mirror.. anyway, bros, i started this thread because im confused, not to start heated arguements between fellow riders.. so pls, take it easy.. smile bros :smile:

2006 - current: X1 110, RX-Z 135, DR-Z 400SM, 125Z, X1 110, Wave S 125, KTM 400 EXC, Harley Davidson 883 XL, KTM 690 SM R, BMW R1200 GSA, Harley Davidson Dyna Low Rider 100th Anniversary, Honda Wave S 125, Honda PCX 150, Yamaha Tmax 530

Originally posted by c0rny@February 13, 2007 04:27 am

im not trying to be a motogp racer wannabe, and.. im riding purely for the love of 2 wheels and as a transport too.

i'll try my very best to get a left side mirror.. anyway, bros, i started this thread because im confused, not to start heated arguements between fellow riders.. so pls, take it easy.. smile bros :smile:

i got you a solution alr.

i saw this msia spark with both left and right CF round scrambler mirror! think you can try JB ah boy. :D

Originally posted by fnee@February 13, 2007 05:06 am

i got you a solution alr.

i saw this msia spark with both left and right CF round scrambler mirror! think you can try JB ah boy. :D

yup ... i went agl yesterday and saw a spark 135 with fake cf mirrors.

no mirrors in singpaore

then we all jus have to watch out for them .... double careful

i notice if i use tua gua zoom past them closely

they will say we "makan" them

but if we use small bike zoom past them

u see them drop gear and chase u like mad

Originally posted by wait4me@February 13, 2007 11:19 am

Hehehe...I tend to agree with you on this...Common mentality... :cheeky:

It is better to keep quiet and remain a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubts...

Originally posted by wait4me@February 13, 2007 11:19 am

no mirrors in singpaore

then we all jus have to watch out for them .... double careful

of cos la , which 2b bike think they can chase class2 bike /...

but then again , i have seen cases where 2b riders try to keep up or chase class 2 bike.

Originally posted by bluelabel@February 13, 2007 11:33 am

of cos la , which 2b bike think they can chase class2 bike /...

but then again , i have seen cases where 2b riders try to keep up or chase class 2 bike.

got ...

seen twice liao ..

1 time was coming bck from second link ...

this sp p plate was on first lane

as we overtake him

dunno why suddenly i see the light getting nearer and nearer

turns out he is keeping up with us ...

my bike small never mind

but he cant differeniate busa meh ???

Originally posted by bluelabel@February 13, 2007 11:34 am

anyway why u go past them closely? dangerous tua gu rider le you .. danger.

got the urge to do it when i see thier mirrors close ...

maybe u are the tua gu , dat over took me dangerously at tampinese few days ago , i was on left lane , thinking of taking a slow ride back home , and dis tua gu , over took me so close and like a bullet(i was riding like 50km/hr , and i think he was riding at 100 to 120km/hr) , i almost crap my pants, he was so close to me ... i almost wanted to drop my gear and chase him to **** him up ... but then i tot .. knn chase him also no use , so fast. (anyway de right lane was clear)

wads tua ga ? :confused:

2006 - current: X1 110, RX-Z 135, DR-Z 400SM, 125Z, X1 110, Wave S 125, KTM 400 EXC, Harley Davidson 883 XL, KTM 690 SM R, BMW R1200 GSA, Harley Davidson Dyna Low Rider 100th Anniversary, Honda Wave S 125, Honda PCX 150, Yamaha Tmax 530

Originally posted by bluelabel@February 13, 2007 12:05 pm

maybe u are the tua gu , dat over took me dangerously at tampinese few days ago , i was on left lane , thinking of taking a slow ride back home , and dis tua gu , over took me so close and like a bullet(i was riding like 50km/hr , and i think he was riding at 100 to 120km/hr) , i almost crap my pants, he was so close to me ... i almost wanted to drop my gear and chase him to **** him up ... but then i tot .. knn chase him also no use , so fast. (anyway de right lane was clear)

You not the only one lah...Always got these young bengs who like to use their tua gus to kajiao people one. I ride tua gu also kena few times...Nearly make me jump out of my seat... :giddy: Sometimes I siam them, they purposely come and jio me again... Hiaz...When will they grow up??? :nono:

It is better to keep quiet and remain a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubts...

Originally posted by d0n^@February 14, 2007 12:53 am

class 2A bike and above

To me, Tua Gu means Class 2. :cheeky: 2A is Tiong Gu... :cheeky:

Originally posted by bluelabel@February 13, 2007 12:05 pm

cannot be me lor...

wont dare to do it aginst u

wait u set fire to my bikes

besides u know why??

because u no mirror ma then dunno who behind u

Originally posted by Friday13@February 14, 2007 10:11 am

To me, Tua Gu means Class 2. :cheeky: 2A is Tiong Gu... :cheeky:

yeah onli class 2 then tua gu

alamak.. saw the same tp today, stopped me again for mirror.. but he let me go with a second warning..

Originally posted by c0rny@February 15, 2007 12:42 am

alamak.. saw the same tp today, stopped me again for mirror.. but he let me go with a second warning..

wah ... so heng ah?? can go n buy his no. plate liao ... :sweat:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

Originally posted by c0rny@February 15, 2007 12:42 am

they do take note, so :goodluck: , better don see him the 3rd time

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282