To the bros who are riding scooters, after riding auto for many years.. do you find it difficult when you are back on a manual clutch bike when upgrading to class 2 or 2a license?

I definitely feel that way. It's not just the clutch but also the riding position and dynamics. You are just not used to it especially the cone slalom. And as a result you need a few practices... unlike those who are riding sports/street bikes one time one lesson can already.

What's your experience like?

But i also think the school really strict and want to earn your money. I did everything right, and only had 8 demerit points but was given an immediate failure for not stopping for a car that was turning into my junction but that bloody junction is so bloody far away and the car was going so slow. The instructor gave me immediate failutre for that!! WTF!

• Replies 8

Same, 3 years back, i went for Class 2A license after many yrs of non-riding / scooters riding. Definitely a big change. And every lesson in school, the 1st 30min almost is like a familiarization for me..... It took me 2 lessons for every "level" then. So its like a total of 6 lessons. But fortunately, i passed the school test 1st time, went for 3 remedial after tht before actual test. And for TP test, i felt like a nerve wreck the whole process...haha. I still remember how nervous i was, even a fellow testee commented that I looked like i was taking my first bike test.

On the immediate failure. I relate anr experience for my class 2 school test. Remember the slope have 2 stopping point? I always tot when you stop on the lower one, u don't need to stop again! I mean, i never had to stop on lower ones before in my Class 2A and all of Class 2 lessons. And since its been ages since I passed my Class 2B license, I don't recall such a "rule". So the tester gave me an immediate failure. I was totally shocked before for my Class 2, that time i already have 1+ yr of S4 riding experience and was super confident. So I plead with instructor for a long time after the test lesson. In then end, they were kind enough to let me pass and the only reason is coz they said i clear all my obstacles perfectly.

Wah bro, so you actually can plead and they close one eye let you pass? :thumb:

I questioned and reasoned with the instructor with regards to the turning car which was "miles away".. but he no give chance even though I was perfect in all the obstacles :cry:

Surprisingly, I have fellow coursemates for the class 2, and they have never even owned a bike since their class 2B! WTH. Some still steady steady can pass their class 2, even though no actual bike experience. haha.

on a different note, i think our singapore's bike license is overly complicated - 3 levels, and slalom cones are spaced very closely together as compared to some other countries (i saw on youtube), plus other countries they can take their bike license with the bikes they intend to right - i.e. they buy their big bikes and then learn with it. Pretty cool!! since you are learning with the machine you will be actually riding, and most importantly, you know your own machine will be well maintained. The school's bike really have to see LUCK - some have really lousy clutch.. and sensitive brakes.. and some people i have seen bike break down unable to complete the test. sad - school/government ought to provide full refund in those "suay" cases.

hmm i personally think that riding a bike, be it manual or auto, and from auto back to manual, is like

trying to find you balance on riding a bicycle, after 10 years of not touching the bicycle.

the skills will never leave you...probably take a few hours (for more nimble ones) to maybe one or two days for the rest of us, to get

that riding style back...

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

Drivin ctr trial test can cham siong wif instructor wan but durin actual tp test dun even tink of neg wif him, there was once a trainee in our ctr tried to neg & reason out wif è tester to let him pass end up è tester tell him if u r not goin to leave tis room i will report u to è authorities for obstructin public servant work & bribery.

********************************************************************************

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Pizzaboy_Siggy.jpg

__________________________________________________________________________________________

www.pizzahut.com.sg

I passed the school internal test on my third try. This time i damn kiasu, check left right turn my neck like a turkey all the way. Then car far away, I slow down and let them go first.

TP test - pray all nice nice, and get a good bike on test day.

Drivin ctr trial test can cham siong wif instructor wan but durin actual tp test dun even tink of neg wif him, there was once a trainee in our ctr tried to neg & reason out wif è tester to let him pass end up è tester tell him if u r not goin to leave tis room i will report u to è authorities for obstructin public servant work & bribery.
To the bros who are riding scooters, after riding auto for many years.. do you find it difficult when you are back on a manual clutch bike when upgrading to class 2 or 2a license?

I definitely feel that way. It's not just the clutch but also the riding position and dynamics. You are just not used to it especially the cone slalom. And as a result you need a few practices... unlike those who are riding sports/street bikes one time one lesson can already.

What's your experience like?

But i also think the school really strict and want to earn your money. I did everything right, and only had 8 demerit points but was given an immediate failure for not stopping for a car that was turning into my junction but that bloody junction is so bloody far away and the car was going so slow. The instructor gave me immediate failutre for that!! WTF!

Not used to the clutch and gear lever now... Keep over revving and kicking up to N instead of 2...

I think you may be right about the riding centres wanting to earn your money.

However, your case quite immediate failure leh. Never give way to traffic.

Anyways... I have also been riding my X9 for many years before taking my 2A. I passed first time, with 2 demerit points.

I had many practice sessions, about 5 or 6 before the test. I think the instructors also look at that to see how serious you want to pass.

The first few times were quite awkward for me. And as you've said... the position quite weird, and the clutch and everything.

However, after a few times, I got a kick out of riding the 400 cc bikes, especially going through the obstacle courses - slylom, plank, figure 8, etc...

On my scooter, I quite scared, because very slippery, prone to slipping and buang.

But on the Honda CB400, it's quite shiok to bend really low, and do some tricks on it. :)

during my lesson for 2a, 1 guy taking class 2 lesson 2 for the 6th time... instructor let him pass thru and ask him to practice more when he go to lesson 3... for lesson 2 i am very lucky that my 3rd lesson for lesson 2 is one on one and i pass and learn the correct tactic to pass the bumpy course. i am grateful to the instructor even i get scold very time i mess up. later then i know that instructor is the trainer for new instructors o.O