Originally posted by rul@Mar 7 2005, 09:08 PM

hi guys, got a couple of questions for sp

2) my rear brake is really weak! read somewhere that its natural for sp's rear brake to be weak but even when i press down hard on my rear brake, the feeling is so weak i have to use my front brakes too before i can stop! most people would probably be worried bout locking their rear wheel but i'm afraid i wont be able to stop when i really need to. how do i fix this? and how often should i change my brake fluids?

hi i'll offer u a different opinion...my rear brake is realy strong and can lock easily..so is my friend's SP

some pple say brake fluids can change once every 2 yrs but if its bothering u have it changed since its not ex but i doubt thats ur prob

is the problem ur cylindrincal shape brake pump? maybe u can juz tell ur mech u suspect there's 'air' in the brake pump..they'll understand and check for u

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

lotsa stuff to reply to!

- the chain cleaning method: just put something on the right side of ur bike under ur exhaust to lift the bike up. for me i use my tool box cos its the absolutely perfect height. might wanna consider bricks or drain slabs instead.

yeah its a little leh cheh, but what the heck, i only do it when i wash my bike.

- i dont adjust stuff on the bike too much, i normally just adapt myself to it- no biggie for me. my view only, dont take it seriously.

- im not sure what others think, but i tihnk sp's rear brake is a little weak. mine is ok on dry days, but when it rains depressing my brake pedal is like having no brake, so i ride super slow when it rains.

- wanna buy sp eh...well, the maintenance costs is slightly higher mebbe due to 2t and the fact that its a sportsbike, so things might wear out a little faster compared to other bikes. that's if you dont get a bike that's as screwed up as mine.

- lastly, i think you guys picked the wrong date and timing for the outing cos im working till 2am on saturday. unless you guys are going to 'The Dam' pretty late, of which i have absolutely no idea what is that, i might be able to get there and chat abit.

back to project work,

okl

Sep'04 - Nov'05 (1yr, 2mths): NSR150SP (FR2577Z)

Nov'05 - Dec'06 (1yr, 1mths): GSX400R (FJ6410L)

Dec'06 - Sep'08 (1yr, 9mths): CBR929RR (FS3851U)

Sep'08 - Mar'12 (3yr, 5mths): TA200 (FV4581B)

Mar'12 - ???????????????????: GL200R (FBE5662G)

Its been a long time since i organise a outing here...lets do it man!

Do come join us what ever your ride is!

Gathering Of The Noisy 2 Strokers !

Date : 12 March 2005

Time : 2300 hours

Venue : Cineleisure Carpark

Program : Meet Cine, go la kopi, rounding again, final destination DAM!

21. DaXiGuA 94572109

22. Skai

23. Kewei

24. Sleepy

25. Waikeat

26. Filbert

27. Murphy 96909435 (Onli Joinin the DaM Nia..COS work till 12)

28. aH^BeEz

29. R3s|st0r

30. Alexesben (how could i miss this, xigua,waikeat,slpy my bro gng)

Pending

01. MC28(Pender No.1)

02. Mitsevo

03. Barcelona-[tZm]-

04. blackheart

Btw for those who dunno the dam it's at yishun, from yishun stadium all the way up. Sometimes we call it seletar dam too.

28th Jan 05 - 16th April 06 Honda NSR SP150 (Pro-arm)

1st Apr 06 - Nov 06 Honda CB400SFYJ HyperVTEC, 17th Oct 06 - ???? Honda TA200 Phantom, Nov 06 - Apr 07 Honda Wave-R, Apr 07 - ???? Subaru Impreza AWD

<u>Official Road Trips</u>

7th-8th May 05 - Malacca (460km round)

2nd April 06 - Mersing (240km round)

6th-10th July 06 - P.Pinang ; Hatyai, Thailand (1900km round)

hi guys, got a couple of questions for sp

1) read in this forum somewhere that i can only choose to have either better pickup or top speed for my bike. wat do i do to change this? cos i want better pickup as mine is really slow right now

-For tat u have to change your spocket, if I'm not wrong up 1 teeth increase pickup but you will lose top speed. :goodluck:

2) my rear brake is really weak! read somewhere that its natural for sp's rear brake to be weak but even when i press down hard on my rear brake, the feeling is so weak i have to use my front brakes too before i can stop! most people would probably be worried bout locking their rear wheel but i'm afraid i wont be able to stop when i really need to. how do i fix this? and how often should i change my brake fluids?

-Flush yr brake fluid loh, but do a check first make sure it's not yr pads which r worned out. Or u can change to steel hose like me. :cheeky:

3) at certain speeds, usually over 100+ km/h, my bike produces more smoke then usual. is this becos of 2t intake? how to fix this?

-Adjust 2T valve, but if u lower too low, risk of piston jam!

4) at gears 1 to 3, i have to change gear at ard 4k rpm cos there will be some sound from the engine. i can either change gears or just open throttle more then the sound will disappear. why ah? issit becos of my bike setting?

-Not sure, but what kind of sound is it?

1st Apr 06 - Nov 06 Honda CB400SFYJ HyperVTEC, 17th Oct 06 - ???? Honda TA200 Phantom, Nov 06 - Apr 07 Honda Wave-R, Apr 07 - ???? Subaru Impreza AWD

AIYAH...

workin nite shift on 12/3/05.

gota join nx outing liao...

Hatred do not ever cease in this world by hating but by love.

This is an eternal truth...

Overcome anger by love.

Overcome evil by good.

Overcome the miser by giving.

Overcome the liar by truth.

http://ist1-1.filesor.com/pimpandhost.com/2/3/5/1/23516/s/H/k/S/sHkS/funny-gifs-better-world.gif

Originally posted by Barcelona-[tZm]-@Mar 8 2005, 09:55 AM

eh gt a quest for u guys ... i dun have brake fluid at the front .. is it ok ??

tats not ok...

brake fluid is for the braking force...

how effective wil lthe braking be like is dependant on tat.

correct me if im wrong

Overcome anger by love.

Overcome evil by good.

http://ist1-1.filesor.com/pimpandhost.com/2/3/5/1/23516/s/H/k/S/sHkS/funny-gifs-better-world.gif

Originally posted by Avita@Mar 7 2005, 10:55 PM

guys do u all adjust the clutch free play? everytime u change gears, u use 4 fingers to depress the clutch or just 2 or even 1? cause i tried using 2 but everytime will kanna my third finger.. so i was thinking of adjusting the free play..

juz go ahead and adjust lor

juz make sure yr biting point isnt too far away (i.e make sure u dont need to release too much of the clutch lever before it hits bitting point)

Originally posted by bgoy@Mar 8 2005, 02:30 AM

So many outings this yr sial..last yr quiet..

thot last year more noisy?

still remember i went for the KRR outing at carpark oppo cine as well

then got the friday night JB trips

hahaz

Originally posted by osiris@Mar 8 2005, 10:05 AM

tats not ok...

brake fluid is for the braking force...

how effective wil lthe braking be like is dependant on tat.

correct me if im wrong

not sure if braking fluid affects braking force

i only know no brake fluid means when u press the brake lever there is no fluid flowing thru the brakelines to push out the brake pump cylinder and brake pad wont push against the brakedisc...then its time to say yr prayers

if u dont see the brakefluid in the black container doesnt always mean there's no fluid inside...perhaps the level is too low to be seen

usually when u cant see the level...means yr front brake pads gonna finish soon liao...if pads are still okay...then request for a topup of brakefluid when u go motordiam nxt time...

last time i went HKL to change some stuff then shun bian ask them topup my front brakefluid....they help me topup for free... :cheeky:

surprising thing is...topup = free while replacement of old fluid w/ new one = $25

Originally posted by phill@Mar 8 2005, 01:01 AM

yandao ... saw u on the road ( SLE ) wave to u , bt u dun reg me .... last time we met at Hakim prata.

aiyah... i was rushing home.. was wondering if its someone from here or not... lol! forgot lah!! :sweat:

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

Originally posted by d0n^@Mar 8 2005, 11:15 AM

not sure if braking fluid affects braking force

i only know no brake fluid means when u press the brake lever there is no fluid flowing thru the brakelines to push out the brake pump cylinder and brake pad wont push against the brakedisc...then its time to say yr prayers

if u dont see the brakefluid in the black container doesnt always mean there's no fluid inside...perhaps the level is too low to be seen

usually when u cant see the level...means yr front brake pads gonna finish soon liao...if pads are still okay...then request for a topup of brakefluid when u go motordiam nxt time...

last time i went HKL to change some stuff then shun bian ask them topup my front brakefluid....they help me topup for free... :cheeky:

surprising thing is...topup = free while replacement of old fluid w/ new one = $25

in a way affected...

but i learn something new today...

thanks thanks...

Overcome anger by love.

Overcome evil by good.

hi ppl... y my brake not makan 1??? i juz go bike shop change my rear brake pad den dey say my brake pad still quite ok... den dey say my brake piston jam... so i service my piston my $10.... dey change de 2 O-ring... but den now i still feel de brake not makan.... i press de rear brake fully it took quite long to stop... eat abit oni... may i noe y huhz??? de brake fluid he top for me liaoz... oso de same...

~iT's nOt tHe ride, ItS thE riDer~

Just change my brake disc ytd at LAB, finally solved my jerking braking and the stupid noise, but cuz of the old disc, my brake pads now think got uneven surface liao, think of changing. What brake pads u all using/recommend? I just need a pair for my front.

Btw anyone wanna buy my old disc? It's still with me...10 bucks... :cheeky:

rear brake is like tat...

not as responsive as the front...

was told by an uncle mechanic.

not sure about other bikes...

Overcome anger by love.

Overcome evil by good.

Originally posted by zHonG_85@Mar 8 2005, 02:37 PM

hi ppl... y my brake not makan 1??? i juz go bike shop change my rear brake pad den dey say my brake pad still quite ok... den dey say my brake piston jam... so i service my piston my $10.... dey change de 2 O-ring... but den now i still feel de brake not makan.... i press de rear brake fully it took quite long to stop... eat abit oni... may i noe y huhz??? de brake fluid he top for me liaoz... oso de same...

well... i was also told by my motordiam that sp brake is like tt 1 ... most of the time .. or rather all of the time i use rear brake to slow dwn ... den apply front brake to stop completely....

2005 - 2006 : Honda Sp

2006 - 2008 : Honda Rvf

2008 - : Yamaha X1r

Originally posted by Barcelona-[tZm

-,Mar 8 2005, 04:37 PM] well... i was also told by my motordiam that sp brake is like tt 1 ... most of the time .. or rather all of the time i use rear brake to slow dwn ... den apply front brake to stop completely....

would suggest that u use both together...

Originally posted by MC28@Mar 8 2005, 04:50 PM

would suggest that u use both together...

roger that!!!! :thumb: eh hows the outing thingy going on ???? looks like only ard 10+ ppl going ...

2005 - 2006 : Honda Sp

2006 - 2008 : Honda Rvf

2008 - : Yamaha X1r

Originally posted by blackheart@Mar 8 2005, 09:32 AM

21. DaXiGuA 94572109

22. Skai

23. Kewei

24. Sleepy

25. Waikeat

26. Filbert

27. Murphy 96909435 (Onli Joinin the DaM Nia..COS work till 12)Sn0w_MaN( female rider, hopefully i am not the only one)

28. aH^BeEz

29. R3s|st0r

Pending

01. MC28(Pender No.1)

02. Mitsevo

03. Barcelona-[tZm]-

04. blackheart

Btw for those who dunno the dam it's at yishun, from yishun stadium all the way up. Sometimes we call it seletar dam too.

21. DaXiGuA 94572109

22. Skai

23. Kewei

24. Sleepy

25. Waikeat

26. Filbert

28. aH^BeEz

29. R3s|st0r

31 Sn0w_MaN( female rider, hopefully i am not the only one)

Pending

01. MC28(Pender No.1)

02. Mitsevo

03. Barcelona-[tZm]-

04. blackheart

Originally posted by Sn0w_MaN@Mar 8 2005, 05:11 PM

21. DaXiGuA 94572109

22. Skai

23. Kewei

24. Sleepy

25. Waikeat

26. Filbert

28. aH^BeEz

29. R3s|st0r

31 Sn0w_MaN( female rider, hopefully i am not the only one)

Pending

01. MC28(Pender No.1)

02. Mitsevo

03. Barcelona-[tZm]-

04. blackheart

tink u will be the onli female.. :lol:

Originally posted by blackheart@Mar 8 2005, 03:31 PM

Just change my brake disc ytd at LAB, finally solved my jerking braking and the stupid noise, but cuz of the old disc, my brake pads now think got uneven surface liao, think of changing. What brake pads u all using/recommend? I just need a pair for my front.

Btw anyone wanna buy my old disc? It's still with me...10 bucks... :cheeky:

how much u changed yr brakedisc? :confused:

Originally posted by zHonG_85@Mar 8 2005, 02:37 PM

when i was using my old original honda footrest kit, there was once where my rear brakes failed when i exited bke. just stepped down and there was no resistance, the lever just drooped down and returened slowly. luckily i was not riding fast so i could engine brake and stop with my front brake. i was told by a friend that it was the rear brake pump that was faulty but there were no problems found when i got to a mech :confused: funny thing is, im still using the old brake pump today and i never encountered that crap again

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

last time got quite alot of female sp riders de ma.... nowadays laying ambush somewhere ar?? hehe... :cheeky: suddenly nv come tcss liao... :lol:

<u>Past Ride</u>

Jan 2005 - Dec 2006 FT2#5#Y Honda NSR 150 SP

<u>Current Drive</u>

Apr 2005 - ????? SFU2@#2A Hyundai Getz 1.3A

<u>Ideal Plan</u>

Bike - RVF NC35

Car - EVO/STI

http://i252.photobucket.com/albums/hh35/Benben81/Photo_0003.jpg

hey guys i tink juz nw i chiong red light leh.. following behind the van den amber light... he chiong i oso go.. but i go i tink juz red.. will kena anot ar? damn worried nw... bt i nvr c ani flash la.. at junction b4 lentor avenue..

hi guys, this is my post here though i have been reading this thread for some time now.. i've gotten my sp last week, though my tp is only 8 days away.. haha.. too bad i cant join in the outing this time round.. next time guys! wait for me