Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

Originally posted by dudley@Oct 5 2006, 08:09 AM

dont know my meter problem or the fc problem.

when reach the blinking stage(200km),i go topup and only go in 12lil when reach the tank neck.

me ridding spec 2.and i do change the gear around 7krpm for gear 3 and above.

Hey yah man, when my fuel meter blinking liao, i go top up petrol till brim, only can pump in 13.5L. That means the reserve tank is 4L++??? Anybody know how big is the reserve tank? And 1 more question, how often do you guys change your oil filter? Together with EO change? o_O

http://www.mypixshare.com/images/4482/5378/00000004.jpg
  • Replies 2.6k

Bros ,

jus a question >>anyone can answer.

am gona change air filter soon. Do u guys normally change to honda stock filters>? or change k & N filters?> is K & N approved?

pardon me for my ignorance, never change before .previous bikes all change stock ones:confused:

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

Originally posted by sabbaha@Oct 5 2006, 07:00 PM

better air flow..better performance :smile:

But bro..get down to motorworld now..coz they having tis package of 3btls of Castrol R4, Hi-flo Oil filter and BMC air filter..on a Well Good price!!!

is it?? such good deal?? i guess for those who r wanting to change oil n air filter n got a little cash on hand, can consider this. :smile:

for me, i just changed my oil filter n oil last wk n using K&N so dun think this package suits me... but thanx for the info anyway bro... hopes it benefits some of the newbies instead...

Originally posted by mudman@Oct 6 2006, 03:50 PM

Bros ,

jus a question >>anyone can answer.

am gona change air filter soon. Do u guys normally change to honda stock filters>? or change k & N filters?> is K & N approved?

pardon me for my ignorance, never change before .previous bikes all change stock ones:confused:

K&N is washable filter. so u only need to wash, dry, then oil the filter, put back n u r ready to go. so that means no more paper filter 4 u. approved or not approved nevermind... no inspector is going to lift up the fuel tank n check ur air filter.

so no worries n can put 100 of heart to install K&N air filter....

its approve...high flow air filter is ok..washable and save for long term.

http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k175/des_child75/signature/watermark.jpg

Ink and Needles is where i feels my pain...I am a 60km/h rider so don't horn at me ... ...

Originally posted by TiDaLwAv3@Sep 29 2006, 07:31 PM

i heard from some of u that ur bike full tank can got till ur digital meter reach 300+... mine only 210 low fuel liao... wats happening???

dude i think i got solution liao, went to planet motor ah chong say confirm muz change air filter. now my bike got better pick up and milage around 70+km but tank is still full...

2006 - 2009 Super 4 spec II (FV **43 first ride)

2009 - 2010(jan) FZ1 08 (FBD3***)

2010 - 2013 Hayabusa 06 (FBA****)

2013 - ???? Tmax 2013 (FBH****)

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l212/shadowles85/sign1.jpg

Originally posted by skateboy@Oct 6 2006, 05:32 PM

K&N is washable filter. so u only need to wash, dry, then oil the filter, put back n u r ready to go. so that means no more paper filter 4 u. approved or not approved nevermind... no inspector is going to lift up the fuel tank n check ur air filter.

so no worries n can put 100 of heart to install K&N air filter....

BMC....ALSO washable :smile:

Some biker once said " If u haven't been to Gerik, U haven't been touring in Malaysia".

Originally posted by sabbaha@Oct 7 2006, 03:18 PM

BMC....ALSO washable :smile:

i know BMC filter..but money wise..bo spare $$$ ah!!!! :cry:

Ink and Needles is where i feels my pain...I am a 60km/h rider so don't horn at me ... ...

Originally posted by Manzz@Oct 7 2006, 06:08 PM

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g110/Azmanzz/petrol.jpg

i was at 350km and still can go at speed of 90km/h..

super save lah u guys... may be my riding style also.. but i ever tested... never go beyond 100 and no dragging for that full tank.... manage to pull top 300 click only... still have la. after that i went jb top up i think can go in about almost 17 litres... :smile:

Originally posted by Manzz@Oct 7 2006, 07:08 PM

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g110/Azmanzz/petrol.jpg

i was at 350km and still can go at speed of 90km/h..

bro mine was just 30rm when 18 litres :smile:

Some biker once said " If u haven't been to Gerik, U haven't been touring in Malaysia".

Originally posted by sabbaha@Oct 8 2006, 07:00 AM

bro mine was just 30rm when 18 litres :smile:

Erm.. i was pumpin F1 from Esso. Maybe you pumped the other one? :confused:

Originally posted by dudley@Oct 5 2006, 08:09 AM

dont know my meter problem or the fc problem.

when reach the blinking stage(200km),i go topup and only go in 12lil when reach the tank neck.

me ridding spec 2.and i do change the gear around 7krpm for gear 3 and above.

changing gear at rpm7 seems quite high

i notice dragging of lower gears will 'eat up' fuel

and maintaining constant speed (ard 80-90km/hr)

is more fuel efficient then stopping and going?(traffic lights)

correct me if wrong bros..

No point tail-gating me.

Im already on the left lane.

Help... my spec 2 can only travel 210km and it hit reserve! Wash carb, tune, change engine oil, change spark plug already still like that... what should i do now? any shop to recommend for this problem??? :cry:

NSR150SP -> Wave 125S ->CB400Spec II -> R607 -> DRZ400SM -> CB400Spec II -> Ducati Monster 400 -> Suzuki Swift/Gilera ST200 -> Colt Version R -> Jazz GD1 -> ???

Originally posted by hanzi24@Oct 12 2006, 11:35 PM

Help... my spec 2 can only travel 210km and it hit reserve! Wash carb, tune, change engine oil, change spark plug already still like that... what should i do now? any shop to recommend for this problem??? :cry:

Did u pump till full in the first place?

Originally posted by Manzz@Oct 13 2006, 12:46 AM

Did u pump till full in the first place?

yes... full to the brim... 17+ litres...

NSR150SP -> Wave 125S ->CB400Spec II -> R607 -> DRZ400SM -> CB400Spec II -> Ducati Monster 400 -> Suzuki Swift/Gilera ST200 -> Colt Version R -> Jazz GD1 -> ???

Mine is the version "S". Not been sending to mechanic for carb washing and tuning for about 1 year 2 months liao. Currently, petrol consumption still stable around 34~ 35 km/ litres. So...version "S", "R", Project Big one.... if you still have them, is still value for money. :) Spec 1 and 2 , 3 engine is not the same design with the former and the petrol comsumption might not be as good lor. That is all for my input and observation so far.

So in case you happen to spot a second hand bike with version S or R or even project big one.... the price is reasonable.... is your grab. :) Good luck.

Jul 1998~ Dec 2007--Super4 Ver S

Dec 2007~ Present --Super4 Spec 3

Originally posted by hanzi24@Oct 13 2006, 12:57 AM

Or is it the way u ride?

Dun wait till you open vtech then u change gear leh. Its too high rev liao. If possible, under normal circumstances, change gear between 4 to 5 x 1000 RPM. Better still if you can tahan, change gear at 3000 rpm. Do this and see if it would improve ur fuel consumption. :goodluck:

Originally posted by nyquist2000@Oct 13 2006, 01:08 AM

Mine is the version "S". Not been sending to mechanic for carb washing and tuning for about 1 year 2 months liao. Currently, petrol consumption still stable around 34~ 35 km/ litres. So...version "S", "R", Project Big one.... if you still have them, is still value for money. :) Spec 1 and 2 , 3 engine is not the same design with the former and the petrol comsumption might not be as good lor. That is all for my input and observation so far.

So in case you happen to spot a second hand bike with version S or R or even project big one.... the price is reasonable.... is your grab. :) Good luck.

wow..u can get 30++km/l ? geez..i only can hit around 26km/l ... Me ver.S ...kekekkeek.. if i didnt wack at all and change gear at 5.5K RPM..i can hit around 27-28km/l ...if lucky didnt have much urban ride...it maybe can clock higher... :smile:

"Mine is the version "S". Not been sending to mechanic for carb washing and tuning for about 1 year 2 months liao. Currently, petrol consumption still stable around 34~ 35 km/ litres. "

Bro, 34km per litre of petrol means u full tank ur bike can travel 595KM!!!!!!

R U SURE?

i ride a Version S also, how u ride ah? can teach me?

my Version S, full tank can hit 360km only leh.. how u do it one? can teach me?

if i learn from u liao that means based on my current usage, i 1 month den pump petrol one time also can.. i can save alot alot of $$$...

Jul' 01 - Jun '02: Honda 185 XL

Jun' 02 - Mar '03: Yahama 200

May '06 - Oct '07 : Honda CB400 Version 'S'

I think u meant 24 - 25km per litre bro. I know of some rider with Ver S. They can travel till 400km then only start reserve. Average they can go is 24km/litre. I think maybe u divided the numbers wrongly? :confused:

Originally posted by hanzi24@Oct 13 2006, 12:57 AM

bro..maybe like what manzz said..try not to open ur vtec den change gear..if best....1st 3 gear change below 6k and change fast...den u can have ur speed too if i wasnt wrong..for s4 due to close gear ratio..think no need to drag too long b4 a gear change and also notice most other 2B mode bikes pickup rather faster den me too.... :cheeky:

Sorry guys...wrong calculation on my part due to poor math. Paiseh :) Put it simply, my version "S" hit reserve above 400 km. Went JB to pump full tank was like 16.5 litres. Sorry for the confusion.... kekeke :sorry:

Jul 1998~ Dec 2007--Super4 Ver S

Dec 2007~ Present --Super4 Spec 3

my math failed all the way since sec 1..wahhahaha.. but if all the way xpressway riding..it really can clock higher...did hit 350+km abit b4 360km still haven reserve.... ....i estimated wrongly too :cheeky: 24km/l is nice... if all the way 4k rpm change gear + xpressway riding, :thumb: