2B at BBDC or CDC?

Go to solution Solved by snooptrader,

CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?   

17 members have voted

1. 1. CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?

• BBDC
    • CDC

21 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Hmm.. i think u shld try to book as soon as possible to keep the muscle memory there.. if not it will get harder to pass the circuit evaluation.. 

I think I'm just still apprehensive. Like just cannot do plank. Sian. Then next few weeks until I leave also busy.. suddenly so many school things to handle. 

On 11/8/2022 at 10:23 PM, shiba2b said:

one thing i realized - bikers can't see directly behind them due to the lack of rear view mirror and the position of the side mirrors. Their blind spot is quite large. Quite unsettling for me as i am used to scanning all angles when i am on the road.

but one thing.. some bikers ride like it's other road users' responsibility to keep them safe. No defensive riding at all. Clearly those "Defensive Riding Theory" lessons didn't help 😄

i have seen some people put a "rear view" mirror on their wind shield in front of their bike before. Also some have those super convex mirror on the end of their handle bars. So i think those can be used to see your behind... but largely we run too fast to care about the behind unless you E brake hahaa... 

• Like 1
48 minutes ago, Janeoh said:

I think I'm just still apprehensive. Like just cannot do plank. Sian. Then next few weeks until I leave also busy.. suddenly so many school things to handle. 

Did you grip the tank tightly with your thighs? and also remember to just try a few times... just clutch in and let the bike roll through at a higher speed to give you confidence of clearing the plank first. After you clear it a few times, then use the rear brake to slow your bike down. After these few go then try with the throttle and a half clutch technique. which will help in the class 2A and 2 in the future.

6 seconds for 2B actually you can achieve it with a clutch in speed and roll through it. be confident. The bike is easier to balance when you are not in 1st gear.

Half clutch is essential for 1st gear all the time because the throttle movement simply induces too much jerking. Which will make you lose balance. 

On 11/8/2022 at 10:15 PM, snooptrader said:

Our tier system is.... if you can live for 1 year on the road... "okay, you can learn up to 400cc" 😅

I'll take a while as the COE is really putting me off.... but as I mention... basics first... get there first. :D I just drove back today and I see the wet road.... I was thinking of my fellow bikers.. no joke... I make sure to keep a look-out for them..

... when learn to ride, become acutely aware of bikes now..

Haha... you can also take 2A after 1 year without riding... but i would say since you already driven you will be a better rider and driver on the road. Personally i felt that way too. I drove for a long time before i started taking bike lessons too. You know why bikers behave a certain way and you tend to let them pass when you can afford to. 

When changing lanes i know where to look for riders because i know thats usually where i would be "hiding" and i think most appreciate that. LEss those riders from hell... or on the way there type... cutting 3 lanes repeatedly... those just want a highway to wherever they wanna go .... lane splitting at 120km/h is just asking for trouble especially on the expressway at a curve location. no one can hear nor see u... 

• Like 2
1 hour ago, Janeoh said:

haha.. come on.. dun have to be apprehensive.. i broke my leg n im still going back to ride.. my scars will only lighten but will not disappear leh.. no one is good at planks at the start unless u're born talented.. i also didnt do well at plank n had to repeat lessons too.. so do your best n u will get it 1.. 

2 hours ago, Siphon said:

i have seen some people put a "rear view" mirror on their wind shield in front of their bike before. Also some have those super convex mirror on the end of their handle bars. So i think those can be used to see your behind... but largely we run too fast to care about the behind unless you E brake hahaa... 

good info. thanks.

2B bike ... a bit hard to run faster than all other traffic

@Siphon@Nakuru

heh. Thank you for ur tips and pushing 😂 Will try again. I booked evaluation for just before I leave for my long break. Will do a few revisions before that. Told hb if cannot then Jan then continue liao 😅

• Like 3
4 minutes ago, Janeoh said:

@Siphon@Nakuru

heh. Thank you for ur tips and pushing 😂 Will try again. I booked evaluation for just before I leave for my long break. Will do a few revisions before that. Told hb if cannot then Jan then continue liao 😅

revision should help la.. hows ur hb doing btw? his wrist recover already?

1 minute ago, Nakuru said:

revision should help la.. hows ur hb doing btw? his wrist recover already?

He hasn't rode since he pass lesson 3! His wrist still hurts! Then today he moved some furniture at home and now cannot drive again. 😂

1 minute ago, Janeoh said:

He hasn't rode since he pass lesson 3! His wrist still hurts! Then today he moved some furniture at home and now cannot drive again. 😂

wah so jialat ah.. its quite long liao sia.. tcm no help oso? maybe he need to wear wrist support for now?

8 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

wah so jialat ah.. its quite long liao sia.. tcm no help oso? maybe he need to wear wrist support for now?

When he feels like it he'll get something done. Every once in a while he'll just complain he has a hairline fracture or something. 

actually my thumb still hurts lah but it's just a sprain, old injury. 

On 11/10/2022 at 6:10 PM, apogeeXX said:

A little side track ...

There's also mutt motors .... saw them at the bikers weekend

https://www.muttmotorcycles.sg/

i tried sitting on it.. cool af.. hubby considering it when he gets his 2a.. anyway for mi, no 2a no talk hahaha 

I went for a short 40min revision today at CDC, pretty spur of the moment to see if I still remember how to ride. 

only managed to do the circuit twice as the cars are a real pain 😑 did an extra try on the plank and clocked out. 

told myself that it'll be totally relax, will leave by a 11+ so that I can go home and shower before picking kids up from school. 

If today were the evaluation, I would've passed. 😂 so I suppose it's just a matter of going for it and whatever will be will be. 

• Like 4
On 11/10/2022 at 11:22 AM, Siphon said:

Haha... you can also take 2A after 1 year without riding... but i would say since you already driven you will be a better rider and driver on the road. Personally i felt that way too. I drove for a long time before i started taking bike lessons too. You know why bikers behave a certain way and you tend to let them pass when you can afford to. 

When changing lanes i know where to look for riders because i know thats usually where i would be "hiding" and i think most appreciate that. LEss those riders from hell... or on the way there type... cutting 3 lanes repeatedly... those just want a highway to wherever they wanna go .... lane splitting at 120km/h is just asking for trouble especially on the expressway at a curve location. no one can hear nor see u... 

I honestly want to have some road time to get experience.... but maybe will rent a bike, but financially speaking, it's not viable to pay first hand bike prices for old bikes. I see the asking prices.. I do think hard and that is what is stopping me... again, have to remind myself... get the privilege to ride first.. machine later.. but already eyed 3 models.

ehhh.. where's my post.. I think I haven't post then close the computer yesterday liao.. 🤦‍♂️

14 hours ago, Janeoh said:

I went for a short 40min revision today at CDC, pretty spur of the moment to see if I still remember how to ride. 

only managed to do the circuit twice as the cars are a real pain 😑 did an extra try on the plank and clocked out. 

told myself that it'll be totally relax, will leave by a 11+ so that I can go home and shower before picking kids up from school. 

If today were the evaluation, I would've passed. 😂 so I suppose it's just a matter of going for it and whatever will be will be. 

I was around CDC red.. went to planet motors and went to ah boy to fixed my box rack which was broken due to rust and heavy loads. (Now upgraded to 2 solid racks both side holding one box) 😏

• Like 1

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

RC - night

So, managed to go for RC on a week day. Closed out the day, went to the carpark and then navigated through the jam to reach the west. Had dinner at the in-laws waffling down the food and then off to BBDC. It was raining and it was at night.

Parked at the usual carpark and then walked pretty confident of my cheap raincoat that I bought in Thailand for the jacket, but no pants as it’s like wearing a “male contraceptive” which means.. .it’s hot!

So, reached BBDC and went to the room. I was a little bewildered trying to figure out my number… in the end.. didn’t click “attend” in the app.. (damn blur) and then got my number and wore on the number bib. 

Sat down and waited to be called. 

The class was called out and then we were told to gear up. I confidently told the instructor… have the raincoat… but he looked at my jeans and was like gear up the pants… so went to look for the “pant-dom” which means that I was sweating under the raincoat pants.

First we were told to practice the right turn to the slope, and then the S course and crank course…. Did that a couple of times and then was told to go to the plank, slalom and e-brake. Won’t bore the folks here, but the planks was the weakest link… off 2 times out of 4. So, need to work on that.. I’m just glad I’ve booked RCs… The instructors were surprised that I booked without a test date or “on road” lessons. The rational was to get as much experience as possible…..and to be honest… I really enjoy riding..

that’s the latest update… today… heading to bed… :) Wasn’t the most perfect session but I’m really happy to be on the bike… rain or not.. :D 

• Like 1
8 hours ago, snooptrader said:

RC - night

So, managed to go for RC on a week day. Closed out the day, went to the carpark and then navigated through the jam to reach the west. Had dinner at the in-laws waffling down the food and then off to BBDC. It was raining and it was at night.

Parked at the usual carpark and then walked pretty confident of my cheap raincoat that I bought in Thailand for the jacket, but no pants as it’s like wearing a “male contraceptive” which means.. .it’s hot!

So, reached BBDC and went to the room. I was a little bewildered trying to figure out my number… in the end.. didn’t click “attend” in the app.. (damn blur) and then got my number and wore on the number bib. 

The class was called out and then we were told to gear up. I confidently told the instructor… have the raincoat… but he looked at my jeans and was like gear up the pants… so went to look for the “pant-dom” which means that I was sweating under the raincoat pants.

First we were told to practice the right turn to the slope, and then the S course and crank course…. Did that a couple of times and then was told to go to the plank, slalom and e-brake. Won’t bore the folks here, but the planks was the weakest link… off 2 times out of 4. So, need to work on that.. I’m just glad I’ve booked RCs… The instructors were surprised that I booked without a test date or “on road” lessons. The rational was to get as much experience as possible…..and to be honest… I really enjoy riding..

that’s the latest update… today… heading to bed… :) Wasn’t the most perfect session but I’m really happy to be on the bike… rain or not.. :D 

nice nice.. riding is nice without traffics.. haha.. 

during covid period (WFH period) was the best traffic conditions.. :)

• Like 1

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

2 hours ago, adesmond2 said:

nice nice.. riding is nice without traffics.. haha.. 

during covid period (WFH period) was the best traffic conditions.. :)

Totally agreed. Sadly i didnt get my license then.. but driving was woohoooo freedom!

• Haha 1
19 hours ago, snooptrader said:

RC - night

sounds like u had fun, even with the rain 

sometimes RC will have time to practise U-turn, which is good because it's only taught in 6.01. And due to the circuit layout, one can do 5-6 u-turns in 10min, which is abt the same number of times we get to do it during the entire 100min road session (be it 6.01 or 7.01) So it's a good opportunity to get u-turn practice and to do it a few times in quick succession.

the weird thing about BBDC u-turn is, one has to stop in the apex of the u-turn at the traffic light - even when there's no oncoming traffic. Which confused me as we don't do that in real life. Until the instructor explained that for the road course and test, we have to stop as there's a stop line (non-traffic light U-turn) so we practise the same procedure in circuit.

• Like 2
5 hours ago, shiba2b said:

sounds like u had fun, even with the rain 

sometimes RC will have time to practise U-turn, which is good because it's only taught in 6.01. And due to the circuit layout, one can do 5-6 u-turns in 10min, which is abt the same number of times we get to do it during the entire 100min road session (be it 6.01 or 7.01) So it's a good opportunity to get u-turn practice and to do it a few times in quick succession.

the weird thing about BBDC u-turn is, one has to stop in the apex of the u-turn at the traffic light - even when there's no oncoming traffic. Which confused me as we don't do that in real life. Until the instructor explained that for the road course and test, we have to stop as there's a stop line (non-traffic light U-turn) so we practise the same procedure in circuit.

You are so right... have not gone onto the road yet, but "learnt" u-turn... That's when I realize the throttle control is so important... and reference to the plank... so there... it's an important practice to you turn... but probably the only joker who hasn't gone out to the road yet but RC... I really appreciate the opportunity to practice.. and I notice the instructors take pain to correct our mistakes.. so am very grateful!

• Like 1

RC Session 2 -nearly died* of heat

Today, the weather beautiful and cloudy. So cloudy, that yours truly, decided to wear a raincoat to BBDC in case it rained. So was decked out in a pair of shorts and a cool max. Got the vest with the number and soon enough, the RC group had decided to form up and got to the bikes. When I walked out the clouds seemed to have clear, but while it was sunny per say, lets say, one could certainly feel the UV rays.

So, pushed the bike to the start point and that's where it got interesting. I could feel the sweat pouring down my back. Next, I could feel my shorts soaked through. It got worst as I could feel the heat through the polyester material. Adding to the folly, was the fact that I didn't have any water prior to the lesson. However, the instructors were really sharp and nice and notice this joker wearing a full set of raincoat in perfect albeit cloudy weather. :D 

As with the first RC I attended (it was raining then, that was why I decided to buy the raincoat set), the first part was the right turn to the slope and then from the slope, to the S course and crank course.

Next, the practice would be the plank and then the slalom and e-brake (I bet those who has read thorough this thread, would be bored and my humble apologies...)

Got to work on the plank and went off once... so it's the clutch control yet again.... also, for the e-brake, was told to look straight and don't clutch in too early. As usually, really appreciate the pointers from the instructors, that is why, will keep going for RCs .. plus love riding..

... now here's the kicker.. by the end of the lesson, I was the only joker squatting down as I was totally dehydrated. The instructors were really nice, 2 of them who asked if I was fine... I felt like a boxer (more like boxed till the brain shrunk) who was trying to be dehydrated... and I really think I lost about 3kg in fluids...
... this was a lesson learnt... don't be too smart and anticipate the weather... :D

Of all the RC riders, was again the baby in terms of booking RCs without the TP or road experience... but one, I would like to be really current and two, I genuinely love riding... and of course, would like to safely do it.. next week would be road and a bunch of RCs again. Will update as usual.. I think 2023 would be the time of getting the privilege to ride due to the fact, one candidate told me, TP test takes a month or more to secure. Till then... :)

5 hours ago, snooptrader said:

RC Session 2 -nearly died* of heat

Today, the weather beautiful and cloudy. So cloudy, that yours truly, decided to wear a raincoat to BBDC in case it rained. So was decked out in a pair of shorts and a cool max. Got the vest with the number and soon enough, the RC group had decided to form up and got to the bikes. When I walked out the clouds seemed to have clear, but while it was sunny per say, lets say, one could certainly feel the UV rays.

So, pushed the bike to the start point and that's where it got interesting. I could feel the sweat pouring down my back. Next, I could feel my shorts soaked through. It got worst as I could feel the heat through the polyester material. Adding to the folly, was the fact that I didn't have any water prior to the lesson. However, the instructors were really sharp and nice and notice this joker wearing a full set of raincoat in perfect albeit cloudy weather. :D 

As with the first RC I attended (it was raining then, that was why I decided to buy the raincoat set), the first part was the right turn to the slope and then from the slope, to the S course and crank course.

Next, the practice would be the plank and then the slalom and e-brake (I bet those who has read thorough this thread, would be bored and my humble apologies...)

Got to work on the plank and went off once... so it's the clutch control yet again.... also, for the e-brake, was told to look straight and don't clutch in too early. As usually, really appreciate the pointers from the instructors, that is why, will keep going for RCs .. plus love riding..

... now here's the kicker.. by the end of the lesson, I was the only joker squatting down as I was totally dehydrated. The instructors were really nice, 2 of them who asked if I was fine... I felt like a boxer (more like boxed till the brain shrunk) who was trying to be dehydrated... and I really think I lost about 3kg in fluids...
... this was a lesson learnt... don't be too smart and anticipate the weather... :D

Of all the RC riders, was again the baby in terms of booking RCs without the TP or road experience... but one, I would like to be really current and two, I genuinely love riding... and of course, would like to safely do it.. next week would be road and a bunch of RCs again. Will update as usual.. I think 2023 would be the time of getting the privilege to ride due to the fact, one candidate told me, TP test takes a month or more to secure. Till then... :)

wow did you remove the rain coat before the lesson commenced? 

i was going for my practical lessons during May-Aug and the weather was pretty hot in June-July. A couple of times i felt light-headed towards the end of the session. Started to drink up 500ml of water just before the lesson and had another litre in my backpack for after the class. i would also wear a light colored long sleeve quick dry shirt to reduce absorbed heat from the sun.

i remember there was a period when media outlets started warning of high temperatures and that was when the BBDC instructors would get us to drink from the water coolers in the far corners of the circuit in the middle of the sessions. I declined due to hygiene (covid) and also i had already started to drink up on my own before the sessions. They would be quite clear that i was offered the chance to drink and rejected it, and was on my own LOL. I guess it was a directive from the BBDC mgmt to get us to rehydrate during the class due to the high temperatures.

p.s. i heard a couple of weeks ago, a driver at a sepang track day suffered heat exhaustion/stroke while driving.... led to a crash and got sent to hospital. Gotta keep hydrated when the weather is hot.

• Like 1
5 hours ago, shiba2b said:

wow did you remove the rain coat before the lesson commenced? 

i was going for my practical lessons during May-Aug and the weather was pretty hot in June-July. A couple of times i felt light-headed towards the end of the session. Started to drink up 500ml of water just before the lesson and had another litre in my backpack for after the class. i would also wear a light colored long sleeve quick dry shirt to reduce absorbed heat from the sun.

i remember there was a period when media outlets started warning of high temperatures and that was when the BBDC instructors would get us to drink from the water coolers in the far corners of the circuit in the middle of the sessions. I declined due to hygiene (covid) and also i had already started to drink up on my own before the sessions. They would be quite clear that i was offered the chance to drink and rejected it, and was on my own LOL. I guess it was a directive from the BBDC mgmt to get us to rehydrate during the class due to the high temperatures.

p.s. i heard a couple of weeks ago, a driver at a sepang track day suffered heat exhaustion/stroke while driving.... led to a crash and got sent to hospital. Gotta keep hydrated when the weather is hot.

I didn't remove the raincoat as I left the sleeves in the car... so you can imagine... was trapped in a suit on a beautiful day. 🥲

Yes, the instructors were really nice and checking if I was "okay" which I took total personal responsibility... but it really felt like army training by the end of the session... LOL

Gosh, I didn't know about the Sepang session .... yes, heat related issues can just creep up and affect anyone... but in this instance... it was my own dumb move. 😐 :D

• Sad 1
12 minutes ago, snooptrader said:

I didn't remove the raincoat as I left the sleeves in the car... so you can imagine... was trapped in a suit on a beautiful day. 🥲

Yes, the instructors were really nice and checking if I was "okay" which I took total personal responsibility... but it really felt like army training by the end of the session... LOL

Gosh, I didn't know about the Sepang session .... yes, heat related issues can just creep up and affect anyone... but in this instance... it was my own dumb move. 😐 :D

aiyo.. should have taken off first.. we only wear rain coat when required.. never wear under the sun.. could get heat stroke one lei... no sleeve nvm.. just keep somewhere..

drink more water and rest well.. hopefully today you feel better..

• Like 1

5 hours ago, adesmond2 said:

aiyo.. should have taken off first.. we only wear rain coat when required.. never wear under the sun.. could get heat stroke one lei... no sleeve nvm.. just keep somewhere..

drink more water and rest well.. hopefully today you feel better..

i think the issue is BBDC requires student riders to wear long sleeve shirt and long pants during the session. And he was only wearing short sleeve t-shirt and short pants under his rain gear 😅

so if he removed his rain gear, he wouldn't be able to join the session.

• Like 1