Can anyone give me tips on how to pass my 2B license? Im currently 4months and failed 7 times on my Practical 1, and im stuck there which loses my motivation on carrying on at SSDC.

(Practical 1.3, Gear 1>4, Up gear is fine but i always have trouble going downshifting and the timing on how to break down the road from one end to the other for up shifting snd downshifting)

Maybe tips which helps me to avoid doing the not instructor’s expectations? Give me all the tips and advice, and I have failed my TTT, 45/50, 4 times in a row. Its really bad because im wasting nearly $400 in total to get this far and im stuck.

• Sad 1

@Nakuru you wan to help out?

Let me break down the things you mentioned..

Gear 1-4 , up shift ok, down shift got issues?.. - For down shift, clutch in all that you should know how ba.. timing?

All these are estimates.. Usually in school.. you wun stay at gear 4 for too long.. just go back to gear 3 once you hit gear 4.. then gear 2 when you know you are stopping in less then 5 seconds.. gear 1 just before you stop..

For TTT - this one is really book only lei.. either memorise or understand it.

Personally I prefer to understand the concept.. visualise the situation, what kind of reaction will be the most survival possibilities.

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

  On 7/5/2022 at 11:38 PM, adesmond2 said:

@Nakuru you wan to help out?

Expand  

Sure~ i very kpo in these type of things HAHAHA  

On 7/5/2022 at 9:21 PM, Hyder said:

Can anyone give me tips on how to pass my 2B license? Im currently 4months and failed 7 times on my Practical 1, and im stuck there which loses my motivation on carrying on at SSDC.

(Practical 1.3, Gear 1>4, Up gear is fine but i always have trouble going downshifting and the timing on how to break down the road from one end to the other for up shifting snd downshifting)

Maybe tips which helps me to avoid doing the not instructor’s expectations? Give me all the tips and advice, and I have failed my TTT, 45/50, 4 times in a row. Its really bad because im wasting nearly $400 in total to get this far and im stuck.

Expand  

hello~ i just pass my TP at SSDC 2 weeks ago.. still a noob myself but i hope i can help you through your course with SSDC's expectations.. :)

by passing till lesson 1.3 i would assume you have no problem with moving off / stopping / basic clutch control already. now u probably need to know the speed when to shift gear up n when to shift gear down. this is the estimated range:

gear 1  - 0-20kmph
gear 2 - 15-35kmph
gear 3 - 30-45kmph
gear 4 - 40 - 60kmph
gear 5 - 55kmph n above

or actually just listen to the engine when u try to move at a high speed.. it will go VROOOOOOOOMMMM n cannot go any faster so that is when you will need to change gear..

so when you down shift, the logic is the same. u have to slow down to get within the same speed range. u can use engine braking + front + rear brakes to help you slow down to get in range.. if your speed is too high when u down gear, u will jerk forward badly. so when u get in the speed range, close throttle, clutch in fully, kick down the gear once, release clutch slowly. dont throw the clutch else ur engine will stall.. then if u still need to down gear more, then repeat the same step.. as long as u're within the speed range, u will not jerk much when down gear. you will have to go from 4 > 3 > 2 > 1 for the process. the distance of where the instructor make you go till gear 4 is still considered very short so u have to quickly get it in gear 4, then get ready to down gear back to 3 n to 2, go around the bend and kick up to 3 again. dun wait until last min then u start braking else u will not be able to slow down in time.

for TTT, have you read through the BTT / RTT handbook on the TP website? they usually are more informative than the elearning materials prepared by the school. you can see how to download the latest handbook from another post here: https://www.singaporebikes.com/topic/399910-latest-btt-ftt-rtt-handbook/

basically.. just choose whichever answer that wun get you into trouble or get anyone killed from the list.. hahaha

• Like 1
  On 7/5/2022 at 9:21 PM, Hyder said:

Expand  

I also come and kpo liao... 

Here's the long list... 

1. Keep CALM. Breath normally

2. Look FAR. you need to imagine where you wan to TURN. 

3. When you are in Gear 1, NEVER EVER RELEASE THE CLUTCH FULLY. Always half clutch

4. When you hear the engine, huummmmmm with it. When you feel the pitch very high... yeah its time to change gear hahaha... You know the feel of out of breath? yeah rev too high liao. Wait till you go on highway then its a different feeling

When down shifting, don't need to shift all the way down to 1... 4, 3, 2, ... almost stop then 1 also ok. Most of the time 2 is good for most straight and turns. Except for those courses like salom and such

• Haha 1
  On 7/6/2022 at 4:25 AM, Siphon said:

I also come and kpo liao... 

Here's the long list... 

1. Keep CALM. Breath normally

2. Look FAR. you need to imagine where you wan to TURN. 

3. When you are in Gear 1, NEVER EVER RELEASE THE CLUTCH FULLY. Always half clutch

4. When you hear the engine, huummmmmm with it. When you feel the pitch very high... yeah its time to change gear hahaha... You know the feel of out of breath? yeah rev too high liao. Wait till you go on highway then its a different feeling

When down shifting, don't need to shift all the way down to 1... 4, 3, 2, ... almost stop then 1 also ok. Most of the time 2 is good for most straight and turns. Except for those courses like salom and such

Expand  

Haha~ ehh not necessary need to always hold clutch in gear 1 hor.. when going down the slope dun need.. even in sch they will tell us to let go fully.. haha 

Dun teach him to go down to gear 1 directly.. the instructor will wan to see we down gear 1 by 1 n maintain speed then can pass lesson 1.. they need to see whether u have basic bike control or not if not will keep stuck de

  On 7/6/2022 at 5:19 AM, Nakuru said:

Haha~ ehh not necessary need to always hold clutch in gear 1 hor.. when going down the slope dun need.. even in sch they will tell us to let go fully.. haha 

Dun teach him to go down to gear 1 directly.. the instructor will wan to see we down gear 1 by 1 n maintain speed then can pass lesson 1.. they need to see whether u have basic bike control or not if not will keep stuck de

Expand  

Haha... no hor i say 4, 3, 2... then 1 mah... never straight away 4....1 hahaa... i don't that even... maybe 6-4 or 6-3 at most on the highway during semi ebrake... 

hmmmm i remember when i go down the slope like need to "show" fully release is it ah? can't remember all the for show thing already... hahaha. some things not practical... cause with a 125cc... gear 1 really jerky... the higher the power the lesser the jerkyness because the gear ratio is slightly more forgiving. But i still have the habit of half clutch in first gear... better chance to regaining control during any turns that suddenly go wrong... hehehe

  On 7/6/2022 at 7:04 AM, Siphon said:

Haha... no hor i say 4, 3, 2... then 1 mah... never straight away 4....1 hahaa... i don't that even... maybe 6-4 or 6-3 at most on the highway during semi ebrake... 

hmmmm i remember when i go down the slope like need to "show" fully release is it ah? can't remember all the for show thing already... hahaha. some things not practical... cause with a 125cc... gear 1 really jerky... the higher the power the lesser the jerkyness because the gear ratio is slightly more forgiving. But i still have the habit of half clutch in first gear... better chance to regaining control during any turns that suddenly go wrong... hehehe

Expand  

Hahaha.. actually i do play cheat to down from 4 to 1 when coming to stop.. hmm ssdc never say really need to "show" fully most of the time.. only during lesson 2 when doing the slope then some instructors will wan to see release fully.. i tried the 190cc but its too jerky for mi compared to the 125cc.. for mi i will just rest my hand on the clutch in case i need to clutch in la.. 

• Like 1
  On 7/6/2022 at 7:04 AM, Siphon said:

Expand  

yeah.. I think down slope that part need to show fully...

On 7/6/2022 at 12:18 PM, Nakuru said:

Hahaha.. actually i do play cheat to down from 4 to 1 when coming to stop.. hmm ssdc never say really need to "show" fully most of the time.. only during lesson 2 when doing the slope then some instructors will wan to see release fully.. i tried the 190cc but its too jerky for mi compared to the 125cc.. for mi i will just rest my hand on the clutch in case i need to clutch in la.. 

Expand  

😂 maybe that's where your points come in as well.. I remember CDC cannot even rest on the clutch lever... 

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

  On 7/6/2022 at 11:56 PM, adesmond2 said:

yeah.. I think down slope that part need to show fully...

😂 maybe that's where your points come in as well.. I remember CDC cannot even rest on the clutch lever... 

Expand  

No leh.. my TP record for slope is clean leh.. actually i cannot rmb whether i got remove or not by now la.. hahahaha

ya.. cdc more strict overall..