@Geralddine that's where the road revisions will come in. To practice different situations. To be safe as long as you can see a car coming stay put. When in doubt stop. If you stop and wait when really got no car is 2 points for unnecessary stopping but better than going when there is on coming car more serious offence

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

• Replies 4.8k

You'll have to estimate whether if there's sufficient time for you to merge onto the main road safely. I remember I used the stop line at the cross junction on the right when I'm in the filter lane, once they cross the stop line I will stop too, but this is more normal circumstances only, you need to adjust accordingly to the oncoming vehicle's speed, and second most important is to look out for u-turning cars.

Most importantly, watch out for pedestrians who wants to cross the zebra crossing.

You'll have to estimate whether if there's sufficient time for you to merge onto the main road safely. I remember I used the stop line at the cross junction on the right when I'm in the filter lane, once they cross the stop line I will stop too, but this is more normal circumstances only, you need to adjust accordingly to the oncoming vehicle's speed, and second most important is to look out for u-turning cars.

Most importantly, watch out for pedestrians who wants to cross the zebra crossing.

I made a mistake by turning even though a car was u turning - didnt expect the car to move so quickly! end up I had problems changing lane to right of KPE becos the car is side by side w me ..

You should constantly check your mirror after turning from the filter lane and adjust your speed accordingly to the traffic condition. This will ensure that you will get a good opportunity to do the lane change. If I'm not wrong, you will receive 8 points if the vehicle behind you have to brake/slow down to let you into the lane.

Daelim Roadwin X5

http://i.imgur.com/Md2YhtS.jpg?2

04/05/2013 ~ __/__/____

the reason they say you must wait for 2 lanes to be clear before exiting the filter lane is so that you have room to make the lane change. with the KPE side you have a bit more time but if you kena the hougang av 3 route during bus lane period you will be screwed if you can't change lane immediately

have you blown your budget? lol

Aprilia expensive eh. I only want to spend about max 3K for a 2B bike considering you wont be riding a 2B bike for long. Same for SP. Need to source for a good condition one too. But right now I dont dare to think too far because whether I can pass or not is a big question mark.

Thanks for all the advices! I will practise this during the next revision. Btw I have heard that if you can see the whole vehicle in your side mirror, then it is roughly a safe distance to change lane. Any ideas if this is true?

I remember I used the stop line at the cross junction on the right when I'm in the filter lane, once they cross the stop line I will stop too

@neowenbin - can explain which stop line are you referring? is it the pedestrian crossing line nearest to the filter lane?

@Bafflegab - 8 points! goodness. I should just risk 2 points to stop..

@rijac - Yea I didn't take the u-turning vehicle into account when looking out for 2 clear lanes.. Luckily the car decided to change to another lane so that I can enter, if not I would be lost in KPE.. I'm still very grateful to that driver :s

No lei. 3K to buy a bike includes the first repair n maintenance needed to do up the bike properly upon take over. For my case which was $1350 + $950. The rest of the wear n tear fees plus from my skid etc you can't possibly include them in the buying of bike budget. Besides the plan now is to do up my sp properly and maintain it well. Sp is a keeper and I don't intend to sell it, furthermore I still have a long way to go for my COE. (:

Sent from my GT-I9300

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

And where did you dig that post from sia? Hahaha. Damn long ago right? Now I'm into blinging my bike btw. Lol.

Sent from my GT-I9300

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

Prac 1 in an hours time. huat ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!

nelo said:
sometimes facebook is like a fridge. you open it once every little while hoping something new will appear only to realise nothing changed.

Aprilia RX125 

Yamaha X1R

Kymco Downtown 200

KTM Duke 200

Gilera Runner ST200

Suzuki DRZ400SM

Honda CB400X

Kawasaki Ninja 400

Suzuki DRZ400SM
Suzuki Vstrom 1000 

Thanks ah @Geralddine! But I failed my prac 1... Too many bad habits zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Failed the go round circuit ones. Passed the starting round mini circuit and cornering only. Bad habits rearing it's ugly head

nelo said:
sometimes facebook is like a fridge. you open it once every little while hoping something new will appear only to realise nothing changed.

Aprilia RX125 

Yamaha X1R

Kymco Downtown 200

KTM Duke 200

Gilera Runner ST200

Suzuki DRZ400SM

Honda CB400X

Kawasaki Ninja 400

Suzuki DRZ400SM
Suzuki Vstrom 1000 

... I remembered the first time I took prac 1, I was so slow that when times up, they only teach me until gear 3... I fell when I was in the mini circuit too.

Wait a minute, so I fell only twice on my journey to obtain 2B, first one was on the first day, second and last one was at my last CR a night before TP.

And @Geralddine thanks for the compliment, now I'm more confident to show the Picasso side of me, good luck w/ your pracs.

your photo, your right hand touching the lever that way, try not to do that in school. its good but the school want you to decide, throttle or lever. no half half.

@neowenbin, someone in front of me kept stalling/switching to neutral. Damn scary, had to go up to gear 5 then that person high rev in front of me!!! And that person passed... :( oh well.

@ber, I believe you mean me ah. That's how I've been riding all along and it was perfectly fine. Not acceptable for the school though. The instructor kept reminding me.

The ybr for prac 1 is complete **** man. But unbelievable how that thing corners 😂😂😂

nelo said:

Aprilia RX125 

Yamaha X1R

Kymco Downtown 200

KTM Duke 200

Gilera Runner ST200

Suzuki DRZ400SM

Honda CB400X

Kawasaki Ninja 400

Suzuki DRZ400SM
Suzuki Vstrom 1000 

@neowenbin a fast moving car at the stop line can reach the filter lane quite quickly. I would allow more distance

Thanks ah Kenneth haha! Gonna pia already!

nelo said:

Aprilia RX125 

Yamaha X1R

Kymco Downtown 200

KTM Duke 200

Gilera Runner ST200

Suzuki DRZ400SM

Honda CB400X

Kawasaki Ninja 400

Suzuki DRZ400SM
Suzuki Vstrom 1000 

@neowenbin a fast moving car at the stop line can reach the filter lane quite quickly. I would allow more distance

Yes, you are right, we need to estimate properly, the line is just a brief guideline. School learners should allow more distance.

@PBbombomlee No choice la prac 1, can be expected when you say they engine stall and all, but the one that made me surprised was when you said they passed. Maybe they already failed a lot of time that's why the instructor give chance ba.

There is an evaluation lap for every lesson. If you do crap for the entire lesson but do properly on the evaluation lap you will pass

Thanks ah @Geralddine! But I failed my prac 1... Too many bad habits zzzzzzzzzzzzz

@PBbombomlee : Arghh! any idea what kind of bad habits made you fail? the part with the right hand?

... I remembered the first time I took prac 1, I was so slow that when times up, they only teach me until gear 3... I fell when I was in the mini circuit too.

Wait a minute, so I fell only twice on my journey to obtain 2B, first one was on the first day, second and last one was at my last CR a night before TP.

@neowenbin : Haha thanks Picasso II, keeping my fingers crossed for prac 8.

Prac 1.. I fell (bike too heavy to hold steady while pushing) and stalled engine (didn't know gear 1 cannot let go clutch fully until 3rd lesson, must be dreaming) countless times, I couldn't even let down the mainstand without struggling..

@Scandiacus : I used to hate the crank too.. What the instructor taught me is - when you just enter the crank course and before the first turn, throttle then kick to gear two near that white line, and without letting go of the clutch, look to your right and turn the handle bar, once you have turned then let go of the clutch and throttle back on. The last turn shouldn't be too difficult after tt.. Well at least it works for me, I never strike kerb again after that :)

Edited by Geralddine