• Replies 4.8k

Hi everybody,

Had my first practical session few days ago..And really CMI..No confidence on the bike at all..Scared of falling down, and don't dare to open the throttle..Also dun noe how to make use of the rear and front brake..Cannot balance well..Fell down a few times, and it was damn heavy to lift it up again..But I am more or less prepared lah..For I am a very slow learner, and I know I always have coordination problems..Doesn't help when the rest of my group are relatively fast learners..Just hope that I can persevere on..

I found myself in your shoes 4.5 years ago.

Persevere on bro! Always remember that the bike only feels heavy when u try to push it. A human isn't strong enough to power the bike - that's the job of the engine. Your job is not to handle the weight of the bike, but to draw out appropriate amounts of power from the engine, which does the rest.

Just like how you fell or gulped water when you learnt how to cycle or swim, you will faces my setbacks in your 2B journey. Persevere on, and you'll soon find yourself overcoming these problems before too long!

Class 3 - 24 Jan 2006 - Lancer, Impreza TS, Impreza WRX

Class 2B - 28 October 2010 - SP, KRR

Class 2A - 26 March 2012 - CBR400

Class 2 - 6 June 2013 - Suzuki Hayabusa, GSX-R600

Hi everybody,

Had my first practical session few days ago..And really CMI..No confidence on the bike at all..Scared of falling down, and don't dare to open the throttle..Also dun noe how to make use of the rear and front brake..Cannot balance well..Fell down a few times, and it was damn heavy to lift it up again..But I am more or less prepared lah..For I am a very slow learner, and I know I always have coordination problems..Doesn't help when the rest of my group are relatively fast learners..Just hope that I can persevere on..

Slowly try.. go for more lesson. U could ride bicycle? If could.. it won't be hard.. just that is like a auto bicycle with some Manuel clutch. Haha

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/08/06/yraqu8yp.jpg

Check out my post 4 years ago. All been there done that. Now class 2 for more than a year liao. But I also started as a slow, unconfident struggler who often dropped his bike and skidded all over.

Class 3 - 24 Jan 2006 - Lancer, Impreza TS, Impreza WRX

Class 2B - 28 October 2010 - SP, KRR

Class 2A - 26 March 2012 - CBR400

Class 2 - 6 June 2013 - Suzuki Hayabusa, GSX-R600

Hi all first time posting here.:bow: Im finally at the last stretch liao had just cleared my pract 8 on tue; after 2 1/2 months of hard-struggle learning journey.:sweat: Just wanna say that this has been an very informative thread, lot of detail on the practs; real lucky to chance upon here. Although i still took many attempts to clear them, as im a very slow learner, and now the last 9 weeks to TP.:smile:

Hi everybody,

Hey there don't give up, my learning curve is just as bad. My first pract was just as bad if not worst,was almost late for the pract. First time ever on the bike, felt so overwhelmed, mind blank, instructor keep scolding me, i keep dropping my bike; im a short guy btw haha, sweat a bucket before even going round the small circuit.:cry: Took me 4 try to clear pract 1 so u will get there. Piece of advice U gotta try not to alien the bike need to trust it more, if not u will learn the hard way like me; 6 try attempt on pract 3. Even with bicycle experience it doesnt get better till, maybe for ebrake, leaning on gradual bend when u ride.

To share my pract attempts;

L1-4

L2-3

L3-6 omg even gave up on the 2nd one after falling too many times :box:

L4-2 instructor gave chance for plank haha

L5-2

L6-3

L7-2

L8-1 finally a lesson with 1 time, passed with sheer luck i believed.

i think im the all the high record for L3 LOL, already brand myself 'No Talent For Bike' heh. :mad:

Hmm.. last 9 weeks to tp. I believe your tp date would be 8 Oct right?

Haha Yep 08 Oct, beri far sia!:sian: you too??

BTW anyone else take tp on 08 oct as well ??hahaa

Hwy guys , need your help , can anyone check for me whay tyres the ybr old and new are using. Thanks a million

@HadyuR maybe u could go there and ask the technician that repair / service the bike. I don't think anyone would understand what tyres r they using if we don't own a bike.. even he tell me.. I also blur blur cos I don't own bike..

Alright, sorry for my ignorance

Would like to check with u guys how many lesson u go? TO CLEAR PRACTICAL 8!!

took one time but fail tp many many times... i think unless you're really very good, it's about luck as well

I failed lesson 8 3 times. ... For stupid reasons. Like failing to switch on headlights (old bike was not auto) sitting on bike to knock it off the main stand and not stopping to wait for the instructor after ebrake. No one is as blur as Me!

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

Ahxian90 : Thanks for your encouragement and sharing your experience. It really helps..Believe you are going for your TP soon? I finally managed to pass my FIRST lesson, much to my surprise..I am still struggling to start and stop the bike for most part..was already prepared to come back for another session liao..until the last half an hour or so..FINALLY I managed to start and stop (though still not very zai)! But the feeling was really good..Haha..And it was fun..Starting to enjoy it :-)

Something that I missed out - Okay, if for example on the day you took TP and you managed to pass/clear it, you have to book the Expressway Familiarisation Ride (EFR) on the spot right after you pass? Is the EFR free or chargeable?

And then, after you clear the EFR you will straightaway proceed to the TP counter to process your license? How much is roughly needed to set aside in order to process the license?

Something that I missed out - Okay, if for example on the day you took TP and you managed to pass/clear it, you have to book the Expressway Familiarisation Ride (EFR) on the spot right after you pass? Is the EFR free or chargeable?

And then, after you clear the EFR you will straightaway proceed to the TP counter to process your license? How much is roughly needed to set aside in order to process the license?

1. If you're doing the EFR for the first time it is free.

2. There will be two EFR slots for the day. 12.45pm and 2.40pm if I am not wrong. If you can't make it on the day itself or the slots are full, they will inform you of other slots. Could be the next day or week after.

3. After EFR, you will be directed to the office behind the motorcycle reporting counter one by one and given a slip of paper to apply for your Class 2B license.

4. After which, proceed to level 2 to get your license processed.

5. If you do not already have a Class 3 license, I think the application fee for a new license card is $50. If you already have one, it is FOC. They will just stick a piece of paper with the updated class of license over it and top it off with a protective film.

This was accurate at the time I passed, which was last year. Hope it helps and all the best. :D

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

5. If you do not already have a Class 3 license, I think the application fee for a new license card is $50. If you already have one, it is FOC. They will just stick a piece of paper with the updated class of license over it and top it off with a protective film.

if you don't want sticker and want a new license instead with it properly printed, it's $25. but you can also get sticker first then go down to TP HQ to change later.

Isn't it more practical to get a new card after you have completed all your licences? Class 2, Class 3, Class 4, Class 5?

If not it's a waste of money to apply for a new card and spend that money each time.

Isn't it more practical to get a new card after you have completed all your licences? Class 2, Class 3, Class 4, Class 5?

If not it's a waste of money to apply for a new card and spend that money each time.

you mean you haven't already?? quit slacking off!

and you forgot to include tank license also :lol:

workhard05, yep im waiting for my tp on oct 8, glad that u r enjoying. Inside circuit is fun except the waiting at blind walls hahaa.

Lesson 8, luck definitely plays a big part, those small small mistake that they cant catch/see. haha my lesson 8 on the route, couple of times i stop at wrong gear (2) instructor beside me, so darn lucky he didnt notice and bike didnt stall.

and i believe they will try and kill u inside circuit (every small mistake) and give chance on the road itself.:?

Lol where to get tank license i also wan lei.:lol:

you mean you haven't already?? quit slacking off!

and you forgot to include tank license also :lol:

I don't think I can get a tank license lor. I don't serve NS. Haha.