Sorry if this topic has been discussed before.

I just bought a bike and i intend to place my IU in my pillon seat compartment.

I am not sure though it will be detected when i pass under the gantry. Anyone here have their in-vehicle unit in the pillon seat compartment? Does it work?

Those with the underseat pipes, will the IU/cashcard melt? What are the problems you have with the IU in the pillion seat compartment?

Also will the IU work for carparks with the same system? Kinda funny if i have to take the IU out from my pillion seat and hold it up to enter a carpark.

Advise appreciated.

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb122/backmarker_2007/Bike%20Pics/ducati.jpg

• Replies 15

I've mine under the pillion seat. Works ok but u gotta make sure its not lying on its side or the ERP gantry cant scan it and no pillion when gg thru gantry unless share seat.. For carparks abit troublesome. Sometimes cant scan or will take awhile ( need to adjust bike ) . Juz my 2cts.. Hope tis helps..

:btw: i dun think those with undertail models have enough 'boot' space to fit...

Let The Good Times Roll

Agreed as what Volcano said... happened to me before... the part when going through the gantry with pillion... unable to detect IU... fortunately, managed to appeal against the fine ($70).

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

My friend placed his IU in pillion seat of his R1, but according to him, if got pillion sit on it definitely can't la, but if don't have, he said sometimes it works, sometime it don't. Not sure whether is it a risk not? He had escaped once from the fine after appealing.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/bikesmall.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/Image006-1-1.jpg

Flaws Imperfects My Perfection

The only gd thing abt placing the IU in pillion seat is you wun forget ya cashcards and of coz looks nice but its quite inconvenient at times esp at shoppin centre carparks..

Let The Good Times Roll

The IU so troublesome lah...

If want to place it outside, it will "spoil" the overall look of the bike.

If dont place it outside, want to park inside shopping centres with ERP carparks also very hard, and if put under pillion seat, theres a risk of not being detected by the gantry.

BMW R1200GS Adventure 2012 'Alpine White' FBG3465L

Originally posted by scooterist@March 12, 2007 06:45 pm

My friend placed his IU in pillion seat of his R1, but according to him, if got pillion sit on it definitely can't la, but if don't have, he said sometimes it works, sometime it don't. Not sure whether is it a risk not? He had escaped once from the fine after appealing.

So it will not work all the time I guess. I think it will be a problem too if we carry a backpack or tie down our stuff on the pillion seat.

I just thought of a way if you have a pillion. Get your pillion to hold the IU and as you pass the gantry or carpark gate, get the pillion to hold it up! :cheeky: will look kinda funny but its only for about a few seconds.

Yeah the IU is a pain though. Seen nice looking Harleys/sports bikes and there is this grey box sticking out of their handle bars. Wonder after so many years, why cant they make the thing smaller. seesh...

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb122/backmarker_2007/Bike%20Pics/ducati.jpg

Depends on the size of your pillon's ass too u know. :D

what if ur iu unit is in front but its fixed vertically (meaning when u insert cashcard, u insert it from the top instead of from the front)??

any problems with that position?

-----------------------------------------

http://bp0.blogger.com/_BRGYr6mPZh4/R9OHD3Wcv0I/AAAAAAAAA6Q/gepQxOxG4oY/s200/SoniaSui01.jpg

Selling tyre gauges(good for track use) PM me

malaysia's touchngo looks nicer then ours...

Originally posted by lionfuR-@April 03, 2007 01:13 pm

what if ur iu unit is in front but its fixed vertically (meaning when u insert cashcard, u insert it from the top instead of from the front)??

any problems with that position?

Shouldn't be a prob. My skipper's IU also installed this way. Works everytime!

Let The Good Times Roll

Originally posted by scooterist@March 12, 2007 06:45 pm

My friend placed his IU in pillion seat of his R1, but according to him, if got pillion sit on it definitely can't la, but if don't have, he said sometimes it works, sometime it don't.

same.

but i tink put outside loh, affect looks a bit nvm. but if kena fined, a lot of troubles awaiting.