The bike will only fall if it has no speed. The way to avoid this is to throttle more around the bend (this will be scary). To avoid going too fast, apply the footbrake. Constant throttle + footbrake is necessary for stability through all low speed narrow turns and narrow courses.

I see! Thanks for the advice bro!

Will try doing it the next round

Smooth wrists for the twists

B3gHfaDCAAATWkk.jpg

Class 2B - 18092013

Billy - TZM 150 YPVS (21092013-21112013)

Bobby - KRR 150 KIPS (31122013-26092014)

Spanky - LC 135 (30092014-Present)

• Replies 52

Bro, a gentle reminder for u. The bike will auto straighten up the moment u accelerate, control your throttle and clutch-in + change back to 1st gear once u starts the u-turn out. U gotta really look at where u wanna go while u are doing the figure 8.

Class 3 - 22/11/1996

@ Kampong Ubi Driving Centre

Class 4 - 19/11/1999

@ Pan Country Driving Centre

Class 2B - 28/01/2005

@ Singapore Safety Driving Centre

Class 2A - 15/02/2011

@ Comfort Driving Centre

Class 2 - 17/02/2014

@ Comfort Driving Centre

Bro, a gentle reminder for u. The bike will auto straighten up the moment u accelerate, control your throttle and clutch-in + change back to 1st gear once u starts the u-turn out. U gotta really look at where u wanna go while u are doing the figure 8.

Thanks for the heads up man! I will try to do it right! =)

B3gHfaDCAAATWkk.jpg

Class 2B - 18092013

Lesson 1(b): S$23.54(off-peak)

Thank God that weather was on my side today. My lesson was at 12.45pm!

Moving on from what I had learnt:

a) Gear shifting from 1-3, and back from 3-1, then to a stop.

Well, I had quite alot of trouble, since i had very little knowledge and experience on gearshifting. In malaysia, the kups gearshift AUTOMATIC!

hahahah. Anw, i kinda took it slow, till i got the hang of it. So what's the correct procedure?

Move off(Half clutch)>gear up>gear up>instructor ask u stop next round>apply more rear brake than front brake, gear down all the way>come to a perfect stop only with left leg down. Note: APPLY CLUTCH AND FRONT BRAKE EVEN AFTER STOPPING. They're particular about that.

I may be wrong, but when it comes to stopping, most of the time just apply 70% rear brake, 30% rear brake to ensure a smooth stop?

b) Braking at low speed. Gearshifting from 1-5, and back from 5-1, stop(braking at high speed).

This was one of the fun subjects. I had quite a trouble with low speed braking, since low speed and me don't go well together :cheeky:

But for gearshift 1-5, fuhhhh! FUN LAH SEHH! Negotiate sharp bends at gear 3 BTW! Then when pass yellow line, apply brakes, clutch in, kick down to gear 1, stop. Well, i must say i really love high speed braking.

c) Gear shifting to negotiate bends/dangers.

Now, no more braking to a stop! It's all the way gear 3 to 5, back to 3, to 5.

Even more shiok, wind blowing on my face.... The exhaust fumes... :p

Shifting from 5 to 3 is quite easy: Brakes>clutch and gear down twice>release clutch to apply engine braking>release brakes>throttle.

Hmm.. So, for these two, for b) Braking for low speed, what is the requirement to clear Prac 1?

For c) Gear shift to negotiate bends/dangers.. Only need to gear down from gear 5 to 3, release brakes and throttle because the instructors want to see engine braking?

d) Sort-of figure 8

This was i guess, the killer. U have to be in gear 2 throughout the course, until the cone where if there're bikes coming in ur way, geardown to 1, stop. Check blindspot again, and proceed with the u-turn.

Well, it was quite tough for me, since my engine stalled twice during the evaluation round! First while moving off, second when about to stop cuz there're other bikes coming. What happened?

Taking off, released clutch too sudden. Stall.

Through the course, i forgot to maintain proper eyeline; i think that's part of the reason i failed.

About to reach cone, saw other bikes coming, kanchiong to stop. Engine stalled. Start bike up, moving off to park the bike(supposed to park bike after the round), got in the way of another bike, cuz i dint check blindspot. I'm sorry dude, it was ur first lesson, and i had to cock it up for u :dozed:

Well, these are the parts where i think caused my failure.

But im sure i can do it the next time round which is this tuesday!

AND WAIT, I FORGOT TO SAY, the u-turn was the most fun, since i was like cornering. AHAHAHA.

Well, just unsatisfied i went off with a fail. But that ain't stopping me from getting my license ASAP! HAHAHAHA

Will update u guys again!

The instructors call this one Cornering. I screwed up!

i shall share some tips.. =D

every bike in cdc feel difference. some might be quite close. try not to pick back same bike.. must try others bike.. cause during my TP.. i take a bike that i never rode once in my life in CDC for 2B.

Everytime you board the bike.. try play with clutch without throttling. feel the biting point. it is to help you to roughly gauge where is the point you release your left hand till the biting point which help you in SLOPE, PLANK.

Why i say SLOPE? simple enough.. without much explaination. PLANK is because if you tend to on/off your clutch, chances are that you will throttle on and off too. you afraid that not enough speed to balance or move on plank. So, maintain the spot you feel the best and hold throttle with assist of rear brake to pass thru plank.

For FIG-8 > Once you shift your gear to 2. Try hold throttle and use rear brake.. Dont ever try to turn on and off at throttle.. it sort of upset your riding feeling.. like.. you are riding a horse.. rocking.. cause gear 2 is high torque but low speed. So do try hold throttle and use rear brake. If you cant bank that low, if have a chance, do let the instructor Benjamin take you a riding.. you confirm WHUTHEFXXX.. =x

For Crank > Once u shift gear 2. Dont need much throttle, you could actually let the bike roll it way out. i tend to throttle but times, i up kerb. LOL! so play safe, let it roll it way out.. no worry for timing part. all instructor like never care much for timing. do look out for bike that turn in to lane or waiting for fig-8 and lastly.. most important.. look infront of the crank course for car.. sometime they might right turn into our side.. my buddy got a immediate failure at his prac 5. Do watch out.

For Plank > Look at the top. =D *wait wait* 1 more trick. but quite hard and quite dangerous. why i say dangerous? cause without using throttling and brake. Practically, using half clutch or biting point to move the bike and use your feeling of balancing. Just half clutch and let the bike slowly roll on the plank and let it roll down. Definitely more then 6 sec. but risky.. no enough engine rpm.. or release too much clutch.. bike dies. I only recommend if you find a bike that idle at 2rpm.. which mean engine is strong enough.

For Salom > all base on your instinct. Do remember, do a wide entry on each cone if too close. your back frame might give a knock on cone.. it result as immediate failure too. or you could try bank method. Or do in the most comfortable method by yourself.

For E-brake > Ok, i might type a long list here. =x Normally at E-brake, got 2 situation, either overspeed or too low speed or tend to off throttle before white line. i start with overspeed> why will overspeed? alot learner, all will do change gear fast = using gear 3 over a longer distance, which tend to let the bike go faster. when bike go faster, all learner will tend to off throttle which they scare overspeed or too fast. what if change gear slow? it lead to slow speed, why? cause not enough distance or rev of using gear 3 to reach the intend speed of 30 to 35. As for my tips is.. Drag gear 1 and 2 for longer timing or distance. why drag? you maintaining the engine rpm or rev-ing, which reach gear 3, your speed cfm near 30 or 35.. more then enough.. --|gear1=====gear2=====gear3====|=====|===

Sorry for this long wall of text.. if my tips works.. do share around in CDC to help the new learner. or share more here. =P

Good luck to those who taking class 2B this Year. Cheers~

I copy from another thread which i typed yesterday~ -> http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/379232-cdc-2b/page17

haha! =D

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4

I have a class 3 license, used to learn and drive both auto and manual transmission, but retaking Prac 1 at least thrice already and i have zero riding experience, so, is my confidence level low or I'm just awkward when it comes to handling a bike?

Ur class 3 will help u when u get to circuit and road riding because you will have some sense of how to change lane etc. But if u never ridden, a clutch bile before it takes time to learn the basics.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

hmm. may be due to your old habit of riding outside ba. LOL

i go thrice also. LOL! =X

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4

hmm. may be due to your old habit of riding outside ba. LOL

i go thrice also. LOL! =X

Ur class 3 will help u when u get to circuit and road riding because you will have some sense of how to change lane etc. But if u never ridden, a clutch bile before it takes time to learn the basics.

what he say is right. having class 3 is a good advantage of changing lane. but 1 bad habit is. fast glance and change.. sure tio mark =x

Not just that. It will help with how to handle traffic light, yellow box, junctions etc.

not much eh.. after you go the test circuit on road. LOL! only prac 6 luh. instructors bring you anyhow loop or ride. LOL!

rijac is correct.

With Class 3 in hand, the road practise and test for C2B is much easier............I know. :cheeky:

there is a slight different when is TP. for class 3. the car you used for warm up = the car you gonna use for TP. as for bike, not really. =X choose any bike that is left over in the center. =X

I am referring to experience. Having a class 3 and driving experience will help in the road and circuit movement.

I may be wrong, but when it comes to stopping, most of the time just apply 70% rear brake, 30% rear brake to ensure a smooth stop?

Hmm.. So, for these two, for b) Braking for low speed, what is the requirement to clear Prac 1?

For c) Gear shift to negotiate bends/dangers.. Only need to gear down from gear 5 to 3, release brakes and throttle because the instructors want to see engine braking?

The instructors call this one Cornering. I screwed up!

1) Yeah, smooth and awesome stopping.

2) Braking at low speed, u will have to a)not wobble when taking off or stopping b) left leg must go up (meaning cant drag ur left leg) c)Stop with left leg down ONLY.

3) Just look at where u are turning to, not looking at where ur bike is moving. It really helps! U got a hell lot more confidence to corner that way.

B3gHfaDCAAATWkk.jpg

Class 2B - 18092013

I am referring to experience. Having a class 3 and driving experience will help in the road and circuit movement.

rijac is correct again......that's what I agreed on. LOL.

1) Yeah, smooth and awesome stopping.

2) Braking at low speed, u will have to a)not wobble when taking off or stopping b) left leg must go up (meaning cant drag ur left leg) c)Stop with left leg down ONLY.

3) Just look at where u are turning to, not looking at where ur bike is moving. It really helps! U got a hell lot more confidence to corner that way.

So, for:

2) Braking at low speed, the requirement to clear is, u will have to a)not wobble when taking off or stopping, and, b) left leg must go up (meaning cant drag ur left leg) ?

c) For Gear shift to negotiate bends/dangers.. Only need to gear down from gear 5 to 3.. the requirement is to Stop with left leg down ONLY. ?

now I heard that the minimum passing period is 6-7 months. that's so so so so freaking long. currently at prac 6. hopefully can chiong ah.

If you think you got it, then get it.

Spark 135 [FBA 43** R]

Kawasaki KRR150 [FY 87**P]

Honda CBR400RR [FM 50**X]

Spark 135 [FBE ***** *]

Ducati 848 Evo Corse [FBF 8*** X]

Lesson 1(b): S$23.54(off-peak)FAILED

d) Sort-of figure 8

This was i guess, the killer. U have to be in gear 2 throughout the course, until the cone where if there're bikes coming in ur way, geardown to 1, stop. Check blindspot again, and proceed with the u-turn.

Well, it was quite tough for me, since my engine stalled twice during the evaluation round! First while moving off, second when about to stop cuz there're other bikes coming. What happened?

Taking off, released clutch too sudden. Stall.

Through the course, i forgot to maintain proper eyeline; i think that's part of the reason i failed.

About to reach cone, saw other bikes coming, kanchiong to stop. Engine stalled. Start bike up, moving off to park the bike(supposed to park bike after the round), got in the way of another bike, cuz i dint check blindspot. I'm sorry dude, it was ur first lesson, and i had to cock it up for u :dozed:

Well, these are the parts where i think caused my failure.

But im sure i can do it the next time round which is this tuesday!

AND WAIT, I FORGOT TO SAY, the u-turn was the most fun, since i was like cornering. AHAHAHA.

Well, just unsatisfied i went off with a fail. But that ain't stopping me from getting my license ASAP! HAHAHAHA

Will update u guys again!

Spent so far:

BTT: S$16

Enrolment: S$136.43

Circuit Training: S$25.68

PDL: S$25

Practicals: S$47.08

How to clear this one uh? This one is where they call cornering.

Veil checking in. :cheeky:

Taking 2b is like a kid having tons of fun at playground! Surely fall or injury a bit but its too addictive to stop!

wonder when will this thread be updated.. the fellow pass and fall down a few times liao still haven't completed his diary..... @nabilsugarboy