http://www.fz1-forum.com/forum/gen-ii-tech/7407-cracked-frame.html

actually quite a few all over the world kenna... and the tricky thing is, the crack will only surface after awhile in some cases... like mine... after 5years... almost 70000km... others within the first 10000km already happened... some happen and then after Yamaha USA changed it for them under warranty, the new frame they replaced also cracked at the same frame weld location.

so i would say, all 06 and 07 fz1 owners check your frame weld from time to time, and pray that you dont get such a lemon too... I'm definitely going to try hard to get my frame replaced by yamaha...

Is it only the fz1n or both fz1n and fz1s?? yea i also went to check online also.. many ppl said their frame cracked.. mine is reg in 9 jun 06 coming 80k km liao.. but i didnt notice any crack... hopefully it wont happen to me.. i guess you better chiong the hong leong head office if no one wanna help then call or email malaysia.. if still don have find japan or US number and call..

good luck to you bro.. not we don help but we never encounter before so cant help much also

http://imageshack.us/a/img41/781/bikevt.jpg
  • Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

actually I dont think I am the only person in Singapore that kenna, but so far, nobody else reported to Hong leong Yamaha or at least I was told such.

I found quite a few cases all over the world for 2006 and 2007 models, so far, Italy, USA, Australia, Finland, Netherlands, already have complains about their frame weld area cracked not because of any accidents.

I brought it to my friend of 11 years(Henry who used to be at Sporting Motorcycles and now @ Worx motorsports: http://www.facebook.com/worxmotorsports?sk=wall&filter=2), who is to me a Top mechanic in Singapore, and he too felt that it was a manufacturing fault rather than any accident. I also found out from Fz1-forum and FZ1OA forums that the welds found on the 06 and 07 models are not very good quality welds. So maybe I just got the one that was welded by a newbie welder at Yamaha Japan coz they are all hand welded.

so guys.. I'm still hoping and searching for some leads to who i can contact at Yamaha Japan or Head office South east asia. For all I know, the Yamaha in Singapore is not able to give me anything right now. Not even an email, not even a number.

This is my 2nd Yamaha big bike, the first being a brand new 2000 R1 back in 2000 (that I found out myself to be a powercut Canadian model capable of top speed 255kmh only... till I got my mech to derestrict it!!! then I could hit 288kmh). Sad to say, right now, Yamaha Singapore isnt looking very good to me, and if they don't help out in this situation, for sure I will stay clear of their products and warn my friends to do the same.

its time for a change!

New attraction coming soon!

Is it only the fz1n or both fz1n and fz1s?? yea i also went to check online also.. many ppl said their frame cracked.. mine is reg in 9 jun 06 coming 80k km liao.. but i didnt notice any crack... hopefully it wont happen to me.. i guess you better chiong the hong leong head office if no one wanna help then call or email malaysia.. if still don have find japan or US number and call..

good luck to you bro.. not we don help but we never encounter before so cant help much also

no lah bro, dont worry.. I'm not saying nobody is helping... I do appreciate your help in posting the malaysia hong leong email... and I emailed them already.. i dont think yours will be such a case seeing its already 80k...

What i did find out online is that both FZ1N and FZ1S both have such problems to maybe less than 1% of their bikes... and as such, there is no international recall.

Also on further reading, I found out that the crack does not cause any real risk of danger when riding, and more of a cosmetic issue if speeds are kept below higher stress levels... I think the fz1 engine is connected to the frame on at least 3 mounting points, and holds the frame together in such a case too, so unless the engine tears apart, the structure of the bike will still be ok for normal day to day riding. (till i get it repaired or replaced that is!)

Hong Leong did say they could repair it for me, and it doesnt cost a lot... about 500-600... but i am really trying my best to see how it can be replaced and done all for free, like in the USA, seeing it IS a manufacturing fault.

its time for a change!

New attraction coming soon!

actually I dont think I am the only person in Singapore that kenna, but so far, nobody else reported to Hong leong Yamaha or at least I was told such.

I found quite a few cases all over the world for 2006 and 2007 models, so far, Italy, USA, Australia, Finland, Netherlands, already have complains about their frame weld area cracked not because of any accidents.

I brought it to my friend of 11 years(Henry who used to be at Sporting Motorcycles and now @ Worx motorsports: http://www.facebook.com/worxmotorsports?sk=wall&filter=2), who is to me a Top mechanic in Singapore, and he too felt that it was a manufacturing fault rather than any accident. I also found out from Fz1-forum and FZ1OA forums that the welds found on the 06 and 07 models are not very good quality welds. So maybe I just got the one that was welded by a newbie welder at Yamaha Japan coz they are all hand welded.

so guys.. I'm still hoping and searching for some leads to who i can contact at Yamaha Japan or Head office South east asia. For all I know, the Yamaha in Singapore is not able to give me anything right now. Not even an email, not even a number.

This is my 2nd Yamaha big bike, the first being a brand new 2000 R1 back in 2000 (that I found out myself to be a powercut Canadian model capable of top speed 255kmh only... till I got my mech to derestrict it!!! then I could hit 288kmh). Sad to say, right now, Yamaha Singapore isnt looking very good to me, and if they don't help out in this situation, for sure I will stay clear of their products and warn my friends to do the same.

I think there is no point to stay clear of their products.. maybe is cause firstly no one reported they though your case is like the only 1 so far so they think may be you are the one who cause it? anyway we can only blame it on the bad CS in singapore..

like i said... try to chiong their head office and make noise don go to the workshop side, they cant be bothered one... if singapore really CMI then call and email malaysia make noise..

If malaysia also don give a **** then try to give a call to japan or US see if anyone can provide you anything.. unless really Yamaha don give a **** then LL go get it welded and continue to ride or sell..

ok lor.. next sat then... where u service normally?

next Saturday? i'm ok.. but meet me at Ho Chi Minh City.. :angel:

usually i go Unique or Bikeworkz or i DIY.. :)

Join us at our Singapore Fazer Club Facebook Group! Only for Fazerians!

http://www.facebook.com/groups/SGFazerClub

FB/SBF PM me for member access..

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

Hi guys, i've just got and FZ1 last month. A new bird to naked bikes. Just wanna check if it is common for the temp to be above 90degree plus above while riding even in cold weather?

06 April - 06 Oct - NSR150SP

06 Nov - 07 May - SPARKS 135

07 May - 08 Sept - Honda RVF NC35

08 Oct - Current - Yamaha 125Z

08 Dec - Current -Yamaha YZFR6`06

Riding is always a Passion

hello fellows from FZ group.

I am a new rider in the class 2 category and am thinking of getting z fz6/fz1 for transport purposes.

I know that FZ6 is no longer in production, but does that mean that i would face a a shortage of parts problem in the future if im getting a 2nd hand fz6?

I understand that there are various version of s, s2 etc, what are the difference among the lettering behind the model number?

Hope to hear reviews from season riders as well and thank you for your time to reply this message.

regards

Tok

I know that FZ6 is no longer in production, but does that mean that i would face a a shortage of parts problem in the future if im getting a 2nd hand fz6?

yes.. there might be a high chance but at least for now we know that it's not in near future..

I understand that there are various version of s, s2 etc, what are the difference among the lettering behind the model number?

S & N stands for fairing models & naked models..

S1 & S2 are used in fz6.. main comparison is in the below web under specifications..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamaha_FZ6

Gen1 & Gen2 are used in fz1.. main comparison is in the below web under specifications also..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamaha_FZ1

hope these helps.. :)

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

0uleat3r;7736698']Hi guys' date=' i've just got and FZ1 last month. A new bird to naked bikes. Just wanna check if it is common for the temp to be above 90degree plus above while riding even in cold weather?[/quote']

a little bit high if u r mentioning in cold weather e.g raining or night.. it should be in the 80+°C range..

if u r talking abt heavy rain, i ever get near to 70°C.. lol..

yours is a brand new bike?

next Saturday? i'm ok.. but meet me at Ho Chi Minh City.. :angel:

usually i go Unique or Bikeworkz or i DIY.. :)

ok lor.. wait for you come back... anyway how to solve the throttle response for 06? always lag..

a little bit high if u r mentioning in cold weather e.g raining or night.. it should be in the 80+°C range..

if u r talking abt heavy rain, i ever get near to 70°C.. lol..

yours is a brand new bike?

yeah... heavy rain i also see before 70°C.. but normal day bright sun riding goes up to 103-4°C

ok lor.. wait for you come back... anyway how to solve the throttle response for 06? always lag..

wa lau.. u spoil market.. i planned to extort him another FCW lo.. :angel:

wah lan.. evil.. i know the Ivan FCE.. but don know where to make a buy... don know how much... and no $$

hehe....i treat u Sashimi FCW...depositphotos_5707371-Raw-chicken-wings-with-red-tomatoes.jpg:cheeky::cheeky:
wah lan.. evil.. i know the Ivan FCE.. but don know where to make a buy... don know how much... and no $$

it's either u buy from Ivan directly himself or you can try waiting for a 2nd hand one in GS.. :)

hehe....i treat u Sashimi FCW...[ATTACH=CONFIG]259291[/ATTACH]:cheeky::cheeky:

i don't like your Sashimi FCW.. keep it for your own consuming.. :p

i using Maxima cool-aide..

The coolant how long have to change ah?

it's either u buy from Ivan directly himself or you can try waiting for a 2nd hand one in GS.. :)

i see the authorized distributor selling in Ebay.. S$274.. have to save money liao..

The coolant how long have to change ah?

i see the authorized distributor selling in Ebay.. S$274.. have to save money liao..

this guy alex slling his bike maybe u can try to contact him.http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/366623-WTS-Yamaha-Fazer-FZ1-S-2006-(Silver)?p=7736839

try luck lor.. seem like wants to sell his bike as a whole?

he dekitting his bike if not will just pushing to bikeshop...upgrading to 4 wheels...nice man to deal with...:)

i posted on his post liao... waiting nia heeee

Hello Everybody

Anyone have experienced / experiencing water seepage through the fuel cap? When it rains, water goes in from the fuel cap. the next day i start my bike, got the choking feeling when riding. Bo bian i went to wash my fuel tank. Happened again, when i washed my bike.

Does changing a new original fuel cap stops water from going in my fuel tank? Any other way / method to solve this problem?

Meanwhile i'm just using a small magnet and ziplock bag to cover over my fuel cap everyday. Help please!