Sprocket - General Enquiry

Guest engsoon8

changing of sprocket size will affect the fuel consumption so do think twice b4 u change the size of ur sprocket...

need to ask oso... O-ring or X-ring chain r better?? in terms of durability. thanx...

• Replies 169

I am using Afam...with DID O ring... clock for more than 20000km liao... then chain gt tighten b4... but the sproket... according to my mech... he also ask him how come my sprocket like new?! He sae can easily another 15000km..... but chian wise... he sae max another 10000km...

How i take care is to lube it every 1 full tank petrol comsued lo... nothing liao.. no rust on my chain at all... many biklers which i met on rd praise my clean chain and shiny GOLD sprocket!!!

Damn worth it!!! 100% gurantee....

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a49/king_ziege/Biker%20gers/board_headerEdited.jpg

Ya, i will knw it will affect the FC.

世上最é¥è¿œçš„è·ç¦»æ˜¯æˆ‘站在佪的é¢å‰ï¼Œ 佪å´ä¸çŸ¥é“我爱佪。

2000 to 2002 : HONDA NSR 125R FM 7541

2002 to 2006 : CBR 400 L MODEL FN 3561

2006 to 2007 : S4 SPEC II FW 2118

2007 to 2009: 92 Civic Esi SBU 7959

2009 to <Present> : Lancer Ex 1.5 (S)

Originally posted by Dscheng@Oct 26 2006, 01:26 PM

Wht is the original size of the rear sprocket? 45T ? Anyone change to 42T before ?

original sprocket size differs from PB1 to Spec III, not sure abt urs....

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y227/WingZer0/Interceptor/TailLight-1.jpg

hmm ok.. den basically i should get original sproket la w X ring.. coz i need a more LASTING set... hmm AFAM is really nice in terms of looks tho

http://fyekr.multiply.com/photos/hi-res/4/3.jpg?xurl=%2Fphotos%2Fphoto%2F4%2F3.jpg

http://fyekr.multiply.com/photos/hi-res/5/35.JPG?xurl=%2Fphotos%2Fphoto%2F5%2F35.JPG

Originally posted by fye_kr@Oct 26 2006, 01:52 PM

yeah bro.. keep that in mind.. will lubricate.. well wad lube u recomend..

is DID X-ring ok too.. btw.. i am someone who burst most of the time at traffic lite and wheelie most of e time.. hehehe lookin for 8mths can tahan good enuff

I am using those 4t engine oil from esso to lube my chain ...been doing it for the last 4 years le ........

chain and sprockets going strong!

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

Originally posted by mudman@Oct 27 2006, 02:00 PM

I am using those 4t engine oil from esso to lube my chain ...been doing it for the last 4 years le ........

wOW.. 4 year manz.. :thumb:

Originally posted by mudman@Oct 27 2006, 02:00 PM

Orginal Spocket is 44 i think ...

Yeah Engine oil is damn good for oil-ing ur chain . Been using that always . I used either left over oil from ma oil change , sometimes collect e old oil can be reuse also . Thou it fling , but if you do not over-oil or what , its perfectly fine . If e engine oil dont hurt ur engine , i dont think it would hurt ur chain ...

::

a scotoiler will make ur chain last longer while...

when ur chain is still loose after tighten..ur mechanist will know this

then it's time to change liao

I believe OEM honda spockets is more recommended rite...to keep it stock i guess..

hve not used AFAM so no comments.......

but i believe in keeping my super4 stock in this sense...

AFAM wITh X chain is $180 at HKL i think...

n OEM honda with x chain is 230-250 depending on shop u visit..

as for chain, my fren n i truthfully believe in X chain..

changing it for my former bike b4..

n after changing..need not tighten chain even since...

n even though do not lube it ....Great chain....

So i will definitely go for X-ring chain again...

Waiting for BOnus.=)......

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

i thinnk e reason for usin AFAM is that they are lighter compare to OEM . But how a chain last is how u use them , Drag them on first gears , no maintance will reduce the life of e chain too ...

Am think of changin to AFam and DID-Xring soon but damn broke

Originally posted by duckit@Oct 29 2006, 02:08 PM

i thinnk e reason for usin AFAM is that they are lighter compare to OEM . But how a chain last is how u use them , Drag them on first gears , no maintance will reduce the life of e chain too ...

Am think of changin to AFam and DID-Xring soon but damn broke

ya..me 2 :cry:

just a question..

since AFAM is lighter..

will it wear out faster than OEM spocket???...

Dont think so ba , Cause most of e rider that rides class 2 sport bikes i known off , most use Afam cause of its light weight , They wanna reduce e unnessary weight on e bike .Dont think they wear off off i guess , but if maintance is there , anything can last .. :smile:

Originally posted by Dscheng@Oct 26 2006, 01:26 PM

Wht is the original size of the rear sprocket? 45T ? Anyone change to 42T before ?

Salam bros! well changing to 42t size, it's meant fer long distance journey. if u're the touring type, like to tour around malaysia then i think it's wise.Salam! Godspeed!

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/aristz/IMG_0178.jpg

(He is) Watchful and Seeing over all things. He is the Living, the Self Subsisting, no slumber can seize Him nor sleep. ( Surah 2 Al Baqarah verse 255 )

correction of pricing/...

$230 (AB + DID X-ring) @ motoworld

$180 (Sun sprocket + RK X-ring)·

$200 (I + DID X-ring)

$250 (HO fnt + Afam rear + DID X-ring)

$270 - $280 (HO 15/45 + DID X-ring) @ Kn T

according to components costs....fyi

Originally posted by AyaToyolLa@Oct 29 2006, 02:44 PM

Salam bros! well changing to 42t size, it's meant fer long distance journey. if u're the touring type, like to tour around malaysia then i think it's wise.Salam! Godspeed!

This is the answer ! Thanks, btw wht is the brand of your sprocket?

hope which one u all can recommend me or better offer that u all have...

appreciate ur rec...........

Chain & Spockets

HKL selling italy fr & BK spockets with DID or RK X ring @ $180

Mah motor orig fr & bk spockets with DID X @$250

Front and rear Honda Original(Thailand) Sprocket including D.I.D. Pro X-ring chain - $190.00 - 219 Motor shop @ Lavender.

LAB JAPAN frnt n bk sprocket with DID X RING @180

LAB original honda front + japan bk sprocket with honda original spirit

coloured chain @140

Honda original spirit coloured chain $60

$180 DID X-Ring chain + Japan fr & bk sprocket Southern Motors

DID X-ring + Italy Sprockets $180 Sanfu

Originally posted by keeok@Nov 21 2006, 04:04 PM

hope which one u all can recommend me or better offer that u all have...

appreciate ur rec...........

Chain & Spockets

HKL selling italy fr & BK spockets with DID or RK X ring @ $180

Mah motor orig fr & bk spockets with DID X @$250

Front and rear Honda Original(Thailand) Sprocket including D.I.D. Pro X-ring chain - $190.00 - 219 Motor shop @ Lavender.

LAB JAPAN frnt n bk sprocket with DID X RING @180

LAB original honda front + japan bk sprocket with honda original spirit

coloured chain @140

Honda original spirit coloured chain $60

$180 DID X-Ring chain + Japan fr & bk sprocket Southern Motors

DID X-ring + Italy Sprockets $180 Sanfu

been using this config for more than 20,000km le bro . . . oil every 300-400km ........

as a user of both rk and did x rings and honda sprokets and italian sprokets, my advise..

DID last longer than RK. a lot longer.

sproket wise, i dun really feel any major difference after switching from honda to italian.

price wise, non-honda sprokets front and back + DID x ring can fetch u $180. do not get chopped. and be there when they change the sprokets and chain.

coz i tio chopped by a famous motortiam in ubi before. paid $130 for honda and did xring. he asked me to take a drink. after 6 mths found out is RK oring and some sunshine brand sprokets. got sun logo. lol. yeah.

well well, be there when they change. my advice.

|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^| ||

|...BEER TRUCK..........| ||'|";, ___.

|_..._..._______===|=||_|__|..., ] -

"(@)'(@)"""''"**|(@)(@)*****''(@

Originally posted by cArRotZ@Nov 21 2006, 09:44 PM

as a user of both rk and did x rings and honda sprokets and italian sprokets, my advise..

DID last longer than RK. a lot longer.

sproket wise, i dun really feel any major difference after switching from honda to italian.

price wise, non-honda sprokets front and back + DID x ring can fetch u $180. do not get chopped. and be there when they change the sprokets and chain.

coz i tio chopped by a famous motortiam in ubi before. paid $130 for honda and did xring. he asked me to take a drink. after 6 mths found out is RK oring and some sunshine brand sprokets. got sun logo. lol. yeah.

well well, be there when they change. my advice.

i make it a point to stay ard whenever they are doing anything to my bike.............this is a gd advice which everyone must heed...

and there are some shops that use decoy ....they (one of the staff) will pretend to talk to you and be very frenly .....but then they use other parts for your bike instead of the one that you want .....................

HKL selling italy fr & BK spockets with DID or RK X ring @ $180--budget

Mah motor orig fr & bk spockets with DID X @$250--u have the cash

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Originally posted by draught@Nov 21 2006, 11:08 PM

X-ring last longer :thumb:

mines the thailand orignal sprockets with did 525 xring ..........

i stayed there and see them fix the whole thing .........orignal honda (blue labels) packaging with bubbles wrap and the did x ring box.......

my 2 cents ...jus stay there and see bro, u have the right , u are the one paying ......