hi sir.. may i ask, is throttle response compromised when u use the washer method? another thing is, the backfire thing adds too much carbon into the whole combustion - exhaust system right???

don't be mistaken, i use paper type washer is to dampening vibration of jet-needle.

wear in jet-needle slot where the eclip is, becoz of vibration.

washers r place to be at same level as eclip in 3rd slot.

i asked roy about jet-needle slot worn, he use a single layer of water pipe sealing tape to prevent wear in jet-needle slot which is simple n better option.

backfire explanatory note:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=5050307&postcount=6217

yes, carbon will build up but i do find carbon layer is not tat much.

my plug color is black on the outer ring n grey on electrode, no soot.

pls note: check spark plug color as an indicator to verify afr mixture.

Edited by stsoh
  • Replies 8.9k

i think wat roy meant is apply sealing tape onto the top where the slots r.

it seem n feel like it does dampen, prevent the eclip from vibrating when engine is running.

Ok, I got big big big big big problem.

Riding along at 50kmh (yes, slowly...) rear tyre wobble... very loud scraping sound from rear, right hand side, possibly brakes...

WHen i stop, the sound stop, so can't be engine. When i move, the faster I go, the 'lesser' the sound, but when i slow down, can wake up the whole neighbourhood.

When stationary, park on mainstand, and in first gear, turn throttle, no sound, but can see the tyre wobble...

Visual check, there's no blockage or what, so not sure where the problem come from.

It was ok in the morning. Just that earlier after watching midnight show, and sending my gf back.. then I on the way back home that it happen. KEnna roadblock, policeman ask me if i stole the bike...

Help needed..

Suspect brake mounting got problem.. or can also be rod that holds the tyre in place. Hope rims didn't bend...

I just need the assurance that I can still ride from Yishun to CKA HQ in one piece w/o having to carry my bike in many pieces....

[31 Jan '08] - A Qualified Rider.

[19 Mar '08] - Daelim Roadwin 125

Between looks and speed, I pick looks.

rear wheel wobbling??

can u shake rear wheel left n right, does it move left n right or not?

if it does then possible wheel bearings r worn out

or your brake pads r balded to metal, braking it will force pads metal to rotor metal making loud squeaking sound, better get it repair.

how to assure your safety when u really travelled here, there, anywhere with wobbling wheel, somemore pillion gf.

Edited by stsoh
rear wheel wobbling??

can u shake it left n right?

it is possible wheel bearings r worn out,

or your brake pads balded, metal to metal making loud squeaking sound,

better get it repair.

how to assure your safety when u really travelled here, there, anywhere with wobbling wheel, somemore pillion gf.

can u shake it left n right? tried, but it doesn't shake....

it is possible wheel bearings r worn out.. suspect so as well...

how to assure your safety when u really travelled here, there, anywhere with wobbling wheel, somemore pillion gf. - never noticed this before until today..

[31 Jan '08] - A Qualified Rider.

[19 Mar '08] - Daelim Roadwin 125

Between looks and speed, I pick looks.

backfire is becoz of rich air/fuel ratio (afr).

yes, carbon will build up but i do find carbon layer is not tat much.

my plug color is black on the outer ring n grey on electrode, no soot.

pls note: check spark plug color as an indicator to verify afr mixture.

haha.. ok.. as long as gaining acc by up'ing the fuel portion in A/F ratio doesn't create adverse effect, i guess that's ok! haha :thumb:

i've not riden on litre bikes before, but with your experience, are you able to enlighten me on whether bigger bikes gives better throttle response? thanks thanks!!! :cheeky:

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

how to assure your safety when u really travelled here, there, anywhere with wobbling wheel, somemore pillion gf. - never noticed this before until today..

hey!!! nice ride in ur avatar!!! looks damn nice! haha.

i'm not sure abt the wobbling part, but abt the screeching part, i heard that the brake piston assembly is a common prob among rw. i seen many rw "fixed" with cable ties at the rear brake piston assembly to solve the prob.

if i'm u, i'll take minor roads to cka HQ travelling at low speeds rather than spend 20bucks to get a tow to cka hq.. hehe :cheeky:

yeap, agreed with driftbaker.

it can be rear brake jam, locking the rear wheel causing fishtail (wobbling) effect.

anyway go n check it out wrong with it, better be safe than sorry later.

Edited by stsoh
haha.. ok.. as long as gaining acc by up'ing the fuel portion in A/F ratio doesn't create adverse effect, i guess that's ok! haha :thumb:

i've not riden on litre bikes before, but with your experience, are you able to enlighten me on whether bigger bikes gives better throttle response? thanks thanks!!! :cheeky:

basically i try to tune the carb rich b4 it will have backfire.

now my carb tune has just crossed into the rich zone which will backfire if i run full throttle.

it pops but not as loud pop when the jet-needle eclip in 4th slot or pilot-screw at 2 3/4 turns.

i may set the pilot-screw down from current 2 1/2 turns to 2 3/8 turns to prevent backfire.

prepare yourself when u r onboard a litre bike.

don't twist the throttle like u did on rw, u have to do it gently.

a full twist of throttle will send u flying into a wall within seconds.

litre bike can do 0~100kph in 3 secs whereas rw takes 20 secs, huge difference isn't it.

Edited by stsoh

hi roadwinners! i'm glad i stumbled across this forum while searching for info on the Daelim Roadwin. i'm about to get my first bike and i'm thinking of getting a daelim roadwin coz i fell in love with it's looks..i;ve found a 2nd hand unit but it has a dent on the right side of its chasis..it also has a mileage of 38,000km..wondering how much it would cost to repair that dent? thanks in advance..btw i'm from malaysia :)

hi Suppose, welcome.

since it is your first bike, best is not to have a problem bike.

many questions arise.......how the frame got dented???

it's not possible for owner drop his bike n dent the frame coz the handle will hit ground first.

anyway unless u r very sure it not from accident, it is still a high risk.

how much does it cost to repair?

i believe no one know the cost of repairing it.

if u want frame replacement, u have to call daelim agent in my n ask them how much.

here in sillypore u can call daelim agent cka, their contact in their web site http://www.cka.com.sg/contactus.html .

MLE Malaysia

19 & 21, SBC 1, Taman Sri Batu Caves,

68100 Batu Caves,

Selangor, Darul Ehsan, Malaysia

Tel: 603 - 6188 3348

Fax: 603 - 6187 8410

Email: [email protected]

Edited by stsoh
basically i try to tune the carb rich b4 it will have backfire.

now my carb tune has just crossed into the rich zone which will backfire if i run full throttle.

it pops but not as loud pop when the jet-needle eclip in 4th slot or pilot-screw at 2 3/4 turns.

i may set the pilot-screw down from current 2 1/2 turns to 2 3/8 turns to prevent backfire.

prepare yourself when u r onboard a litre bike.

don't twist the throttle like u did on rw, u have to do it gently.

a full twist of throttle will send u flying into a wall within seconds.

litre bike can do 0~100kph in 3 secs whereas rw takes 20 secs, huge difference isn't it.

really looking forward to hear the update on power n fc.

huge difference ah!!!! haha. but it may not be a good thing to have such great acceleration in such congested roads in singapore... though it would be my dream to own a litre bike... hehe

hi roadwinners! i'm glad i stumbled across this forum while searching for info on the Daelim Roadwin. i'm about to get my first bike and i'm thinking of getting a daelim roadwin coz i fell in love with it's looks..i;ve found a 2nd hand unit but it has a dent on the right side of its chasis..it also has a mileage of 38,000km..wondering how much it would cost to repair that dent? thanks in advance..btw i'm from malaysia :)

congrats on the discovery of one of the most beautiful bikes in bike history!!! hehe :cheeky:

may i use this opportunity to ask u, is roadwin a common bike in malaysia? i've seen roadwins with malaysian plates on malaysia roads 4 times only. once in johor bahru, 3 times in muar.. so i figured it must be quite rare. but if so, how did u come to know abt the roadwin???

congrats on the discovery of one of the most beautiful bikes in bike history!!! hehe :cheeky:

may i use this opportunity to ask u, is roadwin a common bike in malaysia? i've seen roadwins with malaysian plates on malaysia roads 4 times only. once in johor bahru, 3 times in muar.. so i figured it must be quite rare. but if so, how did u come to know abt the roadwin???

haha normally if think of korea bikes.. its only either roadwin or daystar.. these 2 bikes are the most common korea bikes in sg ba.

heart pain.. spent 206 bucks for servicing.. change front battlex tire and bearings made in jap, oil filter, change eo and spark plug..

2006 - 2007 Honda ta200

2007 - 2008 Honda nsr sp150

2008 - 2009 Daelim roadwin 125

2009 - current Suzuki en 125

2006 - current Hyundai Getz

haha normally if think of korea bikes.. its only either roadwin or daystar.. these 2 bikes are the most common korea bikes in sg ba.

heart pain.. spent 206 bucks for servicing.. change front battlex tire and bearings made in jap, oil filter, change eo and spark plug..

my heart pain until numb liao..... haha. OEM parts definitely dun come cheap.. hehe :cheeky:

belief explanation on backfire:

"Deceleration Backfiring" is the most common backfiring that occurs when you change down and throttle off.

In general, backfiring on deceleration (as opposed to acceleration) is generally caused by a lean condition in the pilot circuit. What happens is that the mixture leans out enough to where is fails to ignite consistently. This, in turn allows some un-burnt fuel to get into the exhaust pipes. Then when the engine does fire, these un-burnt gasses are ignited in the exhaust pipe, causing the backfire.

Edited by stsoh

well it was like this..i was searching for a used bike on the internet and so i came across someone selling a roadwin..it's called Momos M1 here in Malaysia..at first sight..i've always admired naked bikes..and since its a 125cc, i though it will be a great beginners bike for me :) so far i've came across 3 ads online and i've already booked one which costs RM2500..but the ex-owner fell with the bike before so there's a dent on the right chassis and the exhaust..but other than that the bike works fine..and i think after searching for more info on the roadwin, this is best forum yet!

i think rm2500 is a good price!!! this forum is indeed good. there are some other forums from the europe, but the language is not english. u can use online translator though. if u encounter any prob, we've got an experienced rider here... *drum rolll.........* stsoh!!! haha. and some others who have been riding roadwin for a while to help u out with ur queries.

may i just emphasize again.... roadwin rocks! one of the most beautiful naked bikes for it's class... if not the most beautiful.. haha

belief explanation on backfire:

"Deceleration Backfiring" is the most common backfiring that occurs when you change down and throttle off.

In general, backfiring on deceleration (as opposed to acceleration) is generally caused by a lean condition in the pilot circuit. What happens is that the mixture leans out enough to where is fails to ignite consistently. This, in turn allows some un-burnt fuel to get into the exhaust pipes. Then when the engine does fire, these un-burnt gasses are ignited in the exhaust pipe, causing the backfire.

sir, u mentioned that ur backfiring occurs when u do a full throttle right? so i would presume this article doesn't apply to ur case?

where is the pilot circuit? does it mean tat on the closing of throttle, residual fuel occurs because the mixture becomes lean (due to the lack of fuel supply) n doesn't ignite.

my understanding of backfire is tat there are unburnt air/fuel mixture somewhere along the header to exhaust tip thus it ignites when the engine combusts rapidly again. whether or not the unburnt mixture comes from lean or rich A/F ratio is making me confused now..

it's always good to learn from u.. hope u can enlighten me on this! thanks! haha

Edited by driftbaker

it's simple, i try to explain it:

it only happens when i run full throttle n close throttle or reduce from high rpm.

during this sudden close, carb throttle valve is close.

fuel is shut-off n air is suck in by engine thru carb pilot orific (small tiny holes).

fuel unable to burn becoz too much air.

for fire to burn it need three elements - air, fuel n heat.

unburn fuel is pass thru the combustion chamber to exhaust header n muffler due to high rpm eg. 9~10,000rpm reduce 7~8,000rpm, at 10,000rpm engine piston goes up n down 167 times per sec.

all this happen in split sec n when the combustion is able to fire again, fuel in the exhaust system is burn n u heard the sound pop.

Edited by stsoh
it's simple, i try to explain it:

it only happens when i run full throttle n close throttle or reduce from high rpm.

during this sudden close, carb throttle valve is close.

fuel is shut-off n air is suck in by engine thru carb pilot orific (small tiny holes).

fuel unable to burn becoz too much air.

for fire to burn it need three elements - air, fuel n heat.

unburn fuel is pass thru the combustion chamber to exhaust header n muffler due to high rpm eg. 9~10,000rpm reduce 7~8,000rpm, at 10,000rpm engine piston goes up n down 167 times per sec.

all this happen in split sec n when the combustion is able to fire again, fuel in the exhaust system is burn n u heard the sound pop.

thanks for the explanation... but that is still one part i'm unclear abt:

this will occur only when my carb is tuned rich or lean? i figured it's rich cos the only way to have residual fuel is to have a rich mixture so that when fuel is shutoff, the extra fuel unburnt from the optimum 14.7 A/F ratio is left behind. am i right to think this way?

whats a pilot circuit?

in general, it is at rich but don't be too concern.

it is the piston(s) tat moves too fast for fuel to ignite n burn completely.

fuel burns at a constant rate thus at high speed, unburn fuel r force thru.

tat why u waste fuel whenever u run at high speed.

all bike/car/heavy vehicle manufacturers always state their avg fc at

this is deem to be at it's best fc for any type of engine to operate.

whats a pilot circuit?

carburator pilot circuit is air passages in the carb.

it is design to allow air/fuel flow when the throttle/butterfly valve is close.

ride the bike at 100 very wobbly leh.. should be cause by the vibration right? btw my handle bar is lowered b4. at 90-95 still no problem..

2006 - 2007 Honda ta200

2007 - 2008 Honda nsr sp150

2008 - 2009 Daelim roadwin 125

2009 - current Suzuki en 125

2006 - current Hyundai Getz