• Replies 8.9k

hey guys will you all be going to chong kok eunos anytime soon? if u are remember to call me along. Cos i'm not v sure how to go there. i need to get some polishing stuff plus change the mirror. Thanks.

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jun 9 2005, 03:11 PM

hey guys will you all be going to chong kok eunos anytime soon? if u are remember to call me along. Cos i'm not v sure how to go there. i need to get some polishing stuff plus change the mirror. Thanks.

where u stay? I tot the mirror's ok? :confused:

I just went down last week .....so did stsoh so prob i'll be another month or two when i come down for next eo change. Anyway, the place is @ shun li industrial. It's just on the other side of the mosque @ bedok reservoir. The shop is very noticable if u pass by from the mosque to bedok north sec. sch :smile:

Unless u can wait till my next eo change..heh :sweat:

Recite ! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who created-

Created man, out of a (mere) clot of congealed blood:

Recite ! And thy Lord is Most Bountiful,-

He Who taught (the use of) the pen,-

Taught man that which he knew not.

Oso went down to JB today...same la soh i oso kena jam. Seems like the checkpt booth only 4 operating. :mad:

Lucky the inspection area no jam but kena 100% check. like they think today got terrorist attack like dat :sian:

Oh the mirror is ok. just that i cant see the rear view clearly. maddy asked me to go change the mirror to a longer one. Ok i think i'll find my way there. but still dare not ride too far..still not v used to the bike. Its kinda of heavy compared to the ones in driving centre.

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jun 9 2005, 05:20 PM

Oh the mirror is ok. just that i cant see the rear view clearly. maddy asked me to go change the mirror to a longer one. Ok i think i'll find my way there. but still dare not ride too far..still not v used to the bike. Its kinda of heavy compared to the ones in driving centre.

No need to change, you can adjust urself. When i first bought the bike oso the same thing, then the mech just adjust the top and bottom joints. Just loosen them, push the mirror outwards, then loosen the top joint and adjust the mirror upwards or downwards. :smile:

Hmm.. i think i tried to adjust just now..only can shift the mirror left and right. tried to push it up think its max liao... maybe go the wrong screw. or maybe tmr go check out again.

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jun 9 2005, 07:16 PM

Hmm.. i think i tried to adjust just now..only can shift the mirror left and right. tried to push it up think its max liao... maybe go the wrong screw. or maybe tmr go check out again.

There are three joints on the morror.

Two of the joints require the use of a spanner while the third joint is the one that u can twist & pull @ any time.

You have to adjust the two joints that require the spanner first.

Loosen e Bottom spanner joint - Pushing it outwards and u'll notice that the view will tend to be too up or down.

Loosen the Top Spanner joint - Then move the top joint up or down to correct that.

Once you think that the view is ok, tighten the spanner joints then adjust the one that can twist & pull @ any time to get the perfect rear view.

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jun 9 2005, 05:23 PM

btw this type of thing go there will they like charge some fee or what? Anyone mech to look out for when i go there..preferbly a patient one.haha

Roy is the most reliable & patient of them all, oso u can communicate to him in English...he's fluent in it. The rest u have to speak either Melayu or Hokkien/Mandarin. Actually all of them are not bad but i trust roy in doing a good job.

Originally posted by lostjackal@Jun 9 2005, 08:56 PM

There are three joints on the morror.

Two of the joints require the use of a spanner while the third joint is the one that u can twist & pull @ any time.

You have to adjust the two joints that require the spanner first.

Loosen e Bottom spanner joint - Pushing it outwards and u'll notice that the view will tend to be too up or down.

Loosen the Top Spanner joint - Then move the top joint up or down to correct that.

Once you think that the view is ok, tighten the spanner joints then adjust the one that can twist & pull @ any time to get the perfect rear view.

stylo mirror man... so mani screwzzzzz :giddy:

Originally posted by stsoh@Feb 14 2005, 09:46 PM

here r some mod recommendations to make this bike more rideable. :p

these r mods tat i did:

1) Change front sprocket to 15 teeth (orig. 14t, cost S$20).

2) Change rear sprocket to 40 teeth (orig. 42t, cost S$30).

3) Set carb jet-needle's eclip to slot 4th n air-adjust screw 1/4 turn clockwise from orig. position (DIY).

4) Drill a 5mm hole, 6 o'clock at the end of muffle between the inner n outer pipe (this will free flow any back pressure thus no flat spot when acceleration, DIY).

5) Change handle grips to foam grips (cost S$8).

6) Install a windshield optional (my preference is Givi model: A750, cost me S$220 brought from daelim agent but actually rsp cost is S$180 from chiap lee n others).

CKA selling daelim accessory windshield at S$80 (small size, 4 point mounts n clear plastic).

i took ten months trials n errors to make it rideable to my likings, to each his own likings, it might not be yours. http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/style_images/1/icon1.gifhttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/style_images/1/icon4.gifhttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/style_images/1/icon6.gif

DISCLAIMER:

i'm not in any ways responsible or reliable from any of my comments or recommendations, u do it at your own risks.

Hey guys I went for my first ride today. Found the gears like not v smooth. Where can i get the silklone engine oil u all recommended. Btw, how much do u all usually throttle before changing gears? 4k or 5 k rpm? And is it alright to ram it to 8 or more k rpm.. will it damage the engine parts or what.. coz i was like crawling when i maintained at bout 5 k rpm..think at most hit 50 or 60 i think.

When changing the sprockets other den the speed how will it affect?

And how often must we wash carbs? (what are carbs anyway...anywhere to read up?)

Silkolene oil - can get it from Lim Ah Boy (LAB for short) @ Kelantan Lane or Chong Aik @ Onan Road (Joo Chiat area) If u want to save on oil...go to Carrefour...they sell dirt cheap dere.

I switch gears round 5-6k rpm. Fuel consumption degrades when u whack too much. Used to switch round 7-8k but my consumption dropped to 27-28km/l. Try not to half clutch too much when u whack. U'll shorten the lifespan of ur gears.

change in sproket may change ur speedo readout (i doubt will affect rw since the bearings are located on the front wheel...may affect other bikes that isn't dere), pick up and top end speed. Your bike will not have hp to redline if u decided to change the ratio by more than 2 teeths. Mine can't go above 8500rpm on gear 5 unless going downslope. I did come across a M'sian bike forum stating that the manufacturers got the default gear sproket wrong. The ideal stock sproket ratio was supposed to be 15/40. Not sure bout this though...:confused:

carburetor? Go here

How Carb works

Not necessary to service everytime u change eo. But best to service it maybe at quater/half yearly intervals. Two strokers on the other hand have to be services frequently.

ok just found out from maddy that he changed the mirrors to vespa ones the day he bought..no wonder i couldnt find the 3 screws u were talking about...Looks like maybe got to buy back the ori mirrors. Is there other types of mirrors that u all might wan to recommend me other den the ori ones..

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jun 10 2005, 02:28 PM

ok just found out from maddy that he changed the mirrors to vespa ones the day he bought..no wonder i couldnt find the 3 screws u were talking about...Looks like maybe got to buy back the ori mirrors. Is there other types of mirrors that u all might wan to recommend me other den the ori ones..

U can go down to Chong Aik and see what kind of mirrors u wan. Alternatively u can just buy the original mirrors from cka. Makes not much difference to what kind of mirrors u using though :)

u never ask back for the old mirrors from maddy? what happened to them?

Nope..he changed the mirrors to the shorter ones when he bought it. Anyway i bought the ta200 mirror at cka...looks quite ugly. but cheaper(30) den the original one. the orginal he quote 60 for a pair. i read stsoh said he was quoted 56 rite..looks like the boss all out to whack a newbie.. Btw when i press rear brake i hear a wierd dragging sound. what is it? the guy was telling me to service dunno what pump.

And is there a way to make the vibration of the bike smaller. If i change the sprockets to to 15t will it help? or is there other ways.

Sorry to ask so many qn. V new and not much biking frens..