Anyway, howz the out look of the bike? Same as the new one or uniquely defferent?

Recite ! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who created-

Created man, out of a (mere) clot of congealed blood:

Recite ! And thy Lord is Most Bountiful,-

He Who taught (the use of) the pen,-

Taught man that which he knew not.

• Replies 8.9k

Originally posted by stsoh@Jun 22 2005, 12:35 AM

saw the blue model, no price yet.

everything looks is the same except for the engine piston will be a 5.5mm extra larger size (orign. 56.5mm, new 62mm).

out look only difference is the sticker on it's back display "X5 150cc". :smile:

in dat case once my bike needs an overhaul...i'll just change to a 150cc kit in M'sia...hehe

Originally posted by lostjackal@Jun 22 2005, 12:51 AM

in dat case once my bike needs an overhaul...i'll just change to a 150cc kit in M'sia...hehe

SOrry wanna clarify something. BY law we cant change the engine ourselves right? or is there a legal way to do it like declaring our engine size and changing the information and insurance blah blah?

Or we can only do mod it ourselves. Tp or ppl doing inspection wont know? Coz 150 cc Bike sounds good.. is 200cc engine available for us if wanna mod? Will it like have adverse effect on our bikes?

Originally posted by stsoh@Jun 22 2005, 05:33 AM

u r rite, there r concerns about the legal stuff.

i think once cka can get the 150 kit, i believe they can do the legal registar of the changes legally with lta.

or u can trade-in ur rw for the new rw X5. :cheeky:

Can...even more so now so since the R5 is out oso with a 150cc engine.

Legalities will have a 50-50 chance depending on the approving officer. Sillypore laws are very strict through the proper channel so some times its better to just go under them.

Even if u mod ur rw with a 165cc kit which is still considered within the class 2B range, LTA will ask u to bring your bike for a full inspection which takes time & money. And still the outcome will still be 50-50.

Politics oso plays a part. How come certain pipes are LTA approved and some isn't even though the specs are almost similar? Even the moriwaki exhaust is still not approved and their not as loud as approved arrow pipes.

So its up to u to decide. fyi many bikes esp small cc 2 strokers are illegally modified & roaming through the streets unknown to the "management".

So its just up to u la...chances are u wont get caught unless u modded ur exhaust systems to wake up the entire eastern part of singapore but if u do...then please tell me the time, date and location so i can bet 4D!! :cheeky:

Originally posted by lostjackal@Jun 22 2005, 07:50 AM

Can...even more so now so since the R5 is out oso with a 150cc engine.

Legalities will have a 50-50 chance depending on the approving officer. Sillypore laws are very strict through the proper channel so some times its better to just go under them.

Even if u mod ur rw with a 165cc kit which is still considered within the class 2B range, LTA will ask u to bring your bike for a full inspection which takes time & money. And still the outcome will still be 50-50.

Politics oso plays a part. How come certain pipes are LTA approved and some isn't even though the specs are almost similar? Even the moriwaki exhaust is still not approved and their not as loud as approved arrow pipes.

So its up to u to decide. fyi many bikes esp small cc 2 strokers are illegally modified & roaming through the streets unknown to the "management".

So its just up to u la...chances are u wont get caught unless u modded ur exhaust systems to wake up the entire eastern part of singapore but if u do...then please tell me the time, date and location so i can bet 4D!! :cheeky:

Which means from now till inspection (when is it btw), i can change the engine to like 165 cc. Prob wont have any prob with tp stopping u coz will be diff to check visually. How much will it cost to change the engine to like 150 or 165 cc. Will there be any adverse effects to the bike like in terms of compatibilty or what.

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jun 22 2005, 09:25 AM

Which means from now till inspection (when is it btw), i can change the engine to like 165 cc. Prob wont have any prob with tp stopping u coz will be diff to check visually. How much will it cost to change the engine to like 150 or 165 cc. Will there be any adverse effects to the bike like in terms of compatibilty or what.

New bike the inspection is after a year or so....i'm not really sure...this is my first new bike i bought....have to ask soh. U have to do ur inspection first before u can renew ur yearly road tax.

You prolly wun have trouble with uncle sam since the inner mods are non visible. However, if u do get into a major accident and it requires a full overhaul and it needs to be investigated by the authorities, then u can pray to God, holy mother, buddha, krishna etc for ur safety...ahaha.

Yearly inspection wise, they'll check your exhaust emissions, lighting, winker, wheel alignment, braking power, engine & chassis serial no. (this one depends on mood one). not sure where the engine serial no is located on RW. it's usually engraved on the main block.

The most noticable impact of changing to a bigger piston will be the higher operating temp. Of course, if u dun full throttle all the way, there wun be any major impact.

Charges will be cheaper in M'sia, country of motorcycle mods - quote from maddy is about RM 250. In singapore, u have to ask cka for the quotation. Oso ask if it can be done legally la. If not den....hehe

Take note: Changing the piston requires a overhaul service (top end) charge so its bound to be above SGD 200. Do ask & inform us of the price :smile:

**Of coz, all illegal mods done, you are to be held solely responsible for your actions so pls take into account of the consequences before doing something risky or stupid.**

:goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Soh....u think having a bigger carb will have power improvement? I know 125 2ers will have better aceleration and pick up. Not sure bout 4ers though...

Oh ya ...was thinking of changing the rear box to a bigger one to fit in a 2 helmets a half. Is it any size box also can fit or must like trial and see if the box can be fitted on.

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jun 22 2005, 09:51 PM

Oh ya ...was thinking of changing the rear box to a bigger one to fit in a 2 helmets a half. Is it any size box also can fit or must like trial and see if the box can be fitted on.

get the 45l zeus or Givi. Both can fit 2 half face helmets without any probs. Can also put in raincoat. If both ur halmets are ff then i dun think can put in. Mine Zeus 42l can fit one ff and one hf and squeeze in 1 raincoat. Other than that no more space loh

Reading through the both daystar and rw manual and its still puzzling why the daystars consumption is better even though the gear ratio are similar and the main jet is bigger. Could it be that the daystar has a smaller venturi bore than the rw :confused:

Originally posted by stsoh@Jun 23 2005, 05:26 PM

WOW, nowadays tp r doing their job well.

third time this week kenna scan by the new infra-red speed trap. :mad: :giddy:

where they usually scan? I did see TPs along the eway during the morning rush hour but din see their new toys :confused:

I see that you guys have a closely knitted community here... just wanna know if any of you come across a 2nd hand rw cos i interested to get one... this bike is super chio!!! and cheaper maintainence compared to other naked bikes like the cagiva planet..... please look out for me and let me know... thanks... and stsoh is like the rw guru... everything also he know.... wah piangz.... :bow:

Originally posted by stsoh@Jun 24 2005, 01:23 AM

along PIE (under bedok flyover), TPE (under jln kayu flyover, pungol flyover) n SLE (under mandai flyover), most of the time station themselve under flyover.

so try not to go over 100kph on the meter, if the speedometer has 5% error, actual true speed will be 95kph. :sweat:

i think rw speedometer has got great than 5% error. :cheeky:

okok.....anyway i usually travel 90 - 100 kph only so should be safe. Besides, to reach 115 needs a long stretch so dun usually bother.

Wah so fast reply arh?? no need to work arh?? or at office eating snake?? ahahah

anyway thanks for the info... very modest and helpful la you... anyway i also stay east side... when i get my rw can look you up to learn more things?? dun think i will get the x5 la... a bit tight on the budget and once i get my 2a i'll prob upgrade also... whats the addy for CKA kaki bukit?? never see before leh... is it near the mosque at bedok reservoir??