KY jelly? i thought that is a lubricant for medical purposes.

Btw i just bought the Elf 10W50 fully syn. 16 bucks at the store just beside ah boy selling stickers and accessories. I was telling him that castrol not so smooth. Then he told me ah boy not selling the original castrol. Told me he got the oil from thailand. U was saying a lot of ppl complained after using ah boy's castrol. Do u all think CKA's castrol oil is from thailand also.

• Replies 8.9k

new to this part of the forum.....used to own Daystar then gave up for Vara125 sold off and now not riding....

But recently again got the urge to ride; but has no intention to get 2A yet due to work and tot Daelim or Hyosung Naked would be a sensible choice.

Please comment.........

Saw price @ $5.6K for Hyosung.....any idea about Roadwin??

Psalms 118:1

Give thanks to the LORD , for he is good; his love endures forever.

Hi., I am from M’sia. I have been using Daelim Roadwin for almost a year now. I just found out about the Roadwin Forum last week. I noticed that most of the recommendation to improve the RW speed is by changing from 14t to 15 T spoc (front ) and 40T for rear. Anybody has tried changing to 16T front and rear to 40T. TQ

Originally posted by 125Naked@Aug 1 2005, 08:39 PM

Hi., I am from M’sia. I have been using Daelim Roadwin for almost a year now. I just found out about the Roadwin Forum last week. I noticed that most of the recommendation to improve the RW speed is by changing from 14t to 15 T spoc (front ) and 40T for rear. Anybody has tried changing to 16T front and rear to 40T. TQ

16/40 setting no power for the RW. I think top end will be greatly affected using this setup unless you're light weighted. My current config is 15/40 and my top end is only round 110 unless going downslope and long stretch of road, it'll be 120-130 (MAX).

I think the best setup is the 15/42 or 15/41. Use the 15/40 or 16/40 if you change to a 150-165cc piston. :smile:

Recite ! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who created-

Created man, out of a (mere) clot of congealed blood:

Recite ! And thy Lord is Most Bountiful,-

He Who taught (the use of) the pen,-

Taught man that which he knew not.

Originally posted by daystar_70@Aug 1 2005, 02:07 PM

new to this part of the forum.....used to own Daystar then gave up for Vara125 sold off and now not riding....

But recently again got the urge to ride; but has no intention to get 2A yet due to work and tot Daelim or Hyosung Naked would be a sensible choice.

Please comment.........

Not sure of the price now though...i bought mine for 7.4K. It's a good and stable bike that won't give you any trouble if u do the oil change regularly as for most 4ers. The single piston engine is longer lasting that the Comet but provides lesser HP (by 2 horsies) but maintanence wise its cheaper than the comet

IMHO, it's a very good commuting bike with better finishings than the regular made in thailand commuters out there. Read the first 10-20 pages of the thread as theres a lot of info there :goodluck:

Thank for the reply. By the way, at 110km what is your rpm.

I think my chain and spoc need to be change because of some cliking sound. Any idea or subsitute model eg honda or yamaha..I heard that Roadwin can used RXZ spocket, front ? and Honda Hawk Rear Spoc. Any idea? TQ

Originally posted by SlayGay@Jul 30 2005, 08:48 PM

KY jelly? i thought that is a lubricant for medical purposes.

Btw i just bought the Elf 10W50 fully syn. 16 bucks at the store just beside ah boy selling stickers and accessories. I was telling him that castrol not so smooth. Then he told me ah boy not selling the original castrol. Told me he got the oil from thailand. U was saying a lot of ppl complained after using ah boy's castrol. Do u all think CKA's castrol oil is from thailand also.

KY for medical purpose? o_O

Castrol according to many ppl isn't that great. For me, on the RW it performance is so-so. Many ppl have different opinions bout the oils they use so best if u just tried them all out and see which one is most suited to your style and feel.

If whether cka's Castrol comes from Thai or not, that i've no idea. Best if u ask roy and see if he knows. :smile:

Originally posted by 125Naked@Aug 1 2005, 09:50 PM

Thank for the reply. By the way, at 110km what is your rpm.

I think my chain and spoc need to be change because of some cliking sound. Any idea or subsitute model eg honda or yamaha..I heard that Roadwin can used RXZ spocket, front ? and Honda Hawk Rear Spoc. Any idea? TQ

@ 110 my rpm is 8.5k.

The front 15t is quite generic so i guess the RXZ front sproket is ok. The back i have no idea as i had to wait for the dealer to order more local made stock. try tightening the chain and realigning the rear wheel first & see if theres a ticking sound still.

If not it means that the sprokets need to be changed.

I think your bike improve a lot compare to mine as mine, standard. 110 near red line. Normally i travel around 90km because of the loud engine noise if push above 100km.

I have changed the front disk brake 6 months ago due to the disk brake "bengkok", then still under warranty, after reaching 12k on the mileage, the disk bengkok again. Do you guy facing the same problem? I think if i used the original disk brake again, i will be facing the same problem. Thinking of changing to other subsitute.

It is an honor to chat with all Roadwin owner. I thought I am the only one using the bike. Rarely seen one here.

Originally posted by daystar_70@Aug 1 2005, 02:07 PM

Please comment.........

the price of a new rw vj125 is $6900....u can check with the cka for more

enquiries ok bro....if u already bought the rw, lets say u intend to fix a box

and rack, pls pm me here or sent yr email add to [email protected] in

order to view the pics of the box and rack. i am selling a good price of the

products lah bro....

:popcorn:
Originally posted by 125Naked@Aug 1 2005, 08:39 PM

did u fix any farring to yr front headlight or not bro????

i thought i wanna fix rxz sai tao lahh...puhh very nice lehhh...

wat is yr opinion bro????

:thumb: :thirsty:

Originally posted by lostjackal@Aug 1 2005, 09:38 PM

16/40 setting no power for the RW. I think top end will be greatly affected using this setup unless you're light weighted. My current config is 15/40 and my top end is only round 110 unless going downslope and long stretch of road, it'll be 120-130 (MAX).

I think the best setup is the 15/42 or 15/41. Use the 15/40 or 16/40 if you change to a 150-165cc piston. :smile:

hye bro.... can i hit 140km/h after modification???? but wat r the things to modified ahhh....

u got any IDEA :confused: BRO????

Originally posted by 125Naked@Aug 1 2005, 10:18 PM

I think your bike improve a lot compare to mine as mine, standard. 110 near red line. Normally i travel around 90km because of the loud engine noise if push above 100km.

I have changed the front disk brake 6 months ago due to the disk brake "bengkok", then still under warranty, after reaching 12k on the mileage, the disk bengkok again. Do you guy facing the same problem? I think if i used the original disk brake again, i will be facing the same problem. Thinking of changing to other subsitute.

It is an honor to chat with all Roadwin owner. I thought I am the only one using the bike. Rarely seen one here.

I saw a daelim rw thread in one of the m'sian forums oso. But it stopped since end last year. It's a pleasure to chat with our fellow riders across the causeway oso :smile:

If i'm not mistaken they called the rw dere daelim momos?? Is it true?

The settings are good if u like cruising using the 15/40 setup but your pick up is much slower. Also due to HP issue, the RW wun be able to run above 130. Many factors greatly affect the overall speed of a small cc bike.....with HP being the paramount.

Max will be 115-120 on a normal road...provided change gears round the max HP curve which is round 9k rpm.

I'm sure if u upgrade your piston to a bigger cc, you can achieve the 140 mark. M'sia got lots of shops that does these kinda mods. Any ideas of any good shops in JB that does this?

Originally posted by raden@Aug 1 2005, 11:41 PM

did u fix any farring to yr front headlight or not bro????

i thought i wanna fix rxz sai tao lahh...puhh very nice lehhh...

wat is yr opinion bro????

:thumb: :thirsty:

To each his/her own la. Nice is one thing...BUDGET is the other bro! hiakz ...hiakz...:smile:

Originally posted by raden@Aug 1 2005, 11:44 PM

hye bro.... can i hit 140km/h after modification???? but wat r the things to modified ahhh....

u got any IDEA :confused: BRO????

To improve top speed.. Try changing these parts:

1. Sprokets (15/42 or 14/40 to mqximise your engine rpm)

2. Tyre (Smaller size compared to stock)

3. CDI

4. exhaust system

5. Spark plugs

6. Ignitor relay

7. Main jet (change to a daystar one as stated by stsoh)

Enriching one's carb will not do much to your overall top end, only your initial pick up. :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

I think other RW/Daystar riders can oso give u good tips on the above mentioned.

I saw a daelim rw thread in one of the m'sian forums oso. But it stopped since end last year. It's a pleasure to chat with our fellow riders across the causeway oso :smile:

Here, it is called Roadwin Momos M1.

The settings are good if u like cruising using the 15/40 setup but your pick up is much slower. Also due to HP issue, the RW wun be able to run above 130. Many factors greatly affect the overall speed of a small cc bike.....with HP being the paramount.

Max will be 115-120 on a normal road...provided change gears round the max HP curve which is round 9k rpm.

I'm sure if u upgrade your piston to a bigger cc, you can achieve the 140 mark. M'sia got lots of shops that does these kinda mods. Any ideas of any good shops in JB that does this?

I have asked a few workshop here but the mac said that the main distributer has yet to import the bigger CC piston. I also waiting to upgrate if any.

what is the difference between

15Front 42Rear and

15Front 40Rear

Dailly I am travelling around 40KM. I want to travel around 110km because I always used the Highway. Can the bike maintained at 110km on normal flat road with the seeting? Which spec do you all recommend.?

Originally posted by stsoh@Jan 4 2005, 09:52 PM

ok guys, i manage to find the balance setting for my carb n bear in mind tat all roadwin r not the same.

earlier batches r european spec that has a Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) n the later batches do not have this device.

lastly, i kept mentioning through out tat my sprockets r not the original 14t/42t set, it is 15t/40t set n i also use iridium ignitor plug.

this is the setting of my carb;

1) pilot screw is half turn counter-clockwise (looking from bottom-up, diagram is just a illustration, the screw is on the opposite end of airflow).

http://www.motocross.com/motoprof/moto/mcycle/carb101/lowspeed.gif

2) jet-needle's e-clip is moved from original second slot to the third slot (it is in the middle of 5 slots).

http://www.motocross.com/motoprof/moto/mcycle/carb101/needle.gif

3) idling speed is set to 1.2k rpm.

http://www.motocross.com/motoprof/moto/mcycle/carb101/effects3.gif

i just tested it's performance n very satisfied with it.

u can use this setup as reference n like i say b4 not every roadwin r the same.

u might not like this setup n try other ways until u hit your own spot-on.

enjoy. :lovestruck:

Hey i was reading the service manual. Its states that the top slot is richer while the bottom is leaner. So which one is correct?

Originally posted by lostjackal@Aug 2 2005, 01:15 PM

wat r the things i must change in order to get a max speed of 120km/h bro??

can u give me some tips and among the cka branch, which branch is better in terms of politeness and commitment????

thanks bro....:cheer: :thumb:

Originally posted by raden@Aug 2 2005, 11:54 PM

wat r the things i must change in order to get a max speed of 120km/h bro??

can u give me some tips and among the cka branch, which branch is better in terms of politeness and commitment????

thanks bro....:cheer: :thumb:

I think Max speed of 120 can be achieved using a 14/40 setting since the 15t sproket will be putting an greater load than compared to changing the rear one. But dats just my intuition.

Theory wise....i forgot my physics / weights & pulleys oredi :smile:

I'll be switching back to the 14t on my next oil change since i've never tried the 14/40 setup....only the 15/40, 14/42 (stock) and 15/42

Another way is to replace the rear tyre with a smaller size one to reduce drag. CKA selling their set of Pirelli Dragons for $320. Recommend those seriously....very very stable.

I've always gone to the HQ @ kaki bukit since its only five minutes away by bike. Recommend Roy as he's most honest in his opinions and recommendations. But like all ppl doing business... they'll always recommend u things that u dun need so please only get those that u want. I've fallen to their traps a few times....but not always....haiz

Originally posted by stsoh@Aug 3 2005, 10:00 AM

it's a printing error on rw manual, i did mention it earlier during the time when i found the service manual n also show the daystar service manual cutout also.

top slot = lean.

bottom slot = rich.

Soh....so far my fc is ranging in the 26-28km/l range with the eclip @ 2. Normal?

Also, Guys the fuel prices are way too EX....even for the 92 octane ones!

Wow....the X5 models for the RW and Daystar seems to have more pickup and power! A FZ RW rider just traded in his 2-3 months old BRAND NEW RW for the X5 when i did my servicing yesterday!!! but dun be mistaken by sales talk.

IT IS NOT 150cc only 140 ++ cc.

Also, i did see the EGR on the new models...din happen to notice on the new Daystar though. So it may be of a disadvantage to some with the EGR.

Originally posted by 125Naked@Aug 2 2005, 09:21 PM

Dailly I am travelling around 40KM. I want to travel around 110km because I always used the Highway. Can the bike maintained at 110km on normal flat road with the seeting? Which spec do you all recommend.?[/color]

The 15/42 can maintain @ 110 with rpm of 9K so u fully utilize the max HP at that range. Currently, using the 15 /40 setup, substantial power lost can be felt when going up an medium incline cos @ 100km/h @ 7500rpm, bike doesn't have enuf juice to maintain when @ 9K rpms.

But long distance at 100 - 105 km/h will be very comfy due to cruising rpm range. :smile:

Originally posted by lostjackal@Aug 3 2005, 10:27 AM

I think Max speed of 120 can be achieved using a 14/40 setting since the 15t sproket will be putting an greater load than compared to changing the rear one. But dats just my intuition.

Theory wise....i forgot my physics / weights & pulleys oredi :smile:

I'll be switching back to the 14t on my next oil change since i've never tried the 14/40 setup....only the 15/40, 14/42 (stock) and 15/42

Another way is to replace the rear tyre with a smaller size one to reduce drag. CKA selling their set of Pirelli Dragons for $320. Recommend those seriously....very very stable.

I've always gone to the HQ @ kaki bukit since its only five minutes away by bike. Recommend Roy as he's most honest in his opinions and recommendations. But like all ppl doing business... they'll always recommend u things that u dun need so please only get those that u want. I've fallen to their traps a few times....but not always....haiz

Ya man totally agree...Esp that bald head guy. Always asking me to add stuff to increase pickup and stuff. And they were like complaining saying why i bought elf oil and kept asking me to upgrade to 150 cc bike.. Offered to get buy back the bike for 3+k haha...Den i told him i rather get my 2A if i really wanted to upgrade to a higher cc bike.

Oh and regarding changing to 150 cc cylinder(about 600plus). They can do the change. BUt its sort of illegal. They were sayng that the ppl during inspection wouldnt noe.

320 for front & back tires? quite costly man. But if i got money maybe will try.

Hey with my current set up 15/40, i can only go up to 105-110 max

8k rpm for 100. Soh u using same set up?

Btw anyone using putoline chain lube? i just bought one bottle. But i v skeptical about ah boys products