Originally posted by torque@Apr 26 2005, 12:29 AM

That's why I never heard anyone who ever regret owning a cbr 919 before..

The 893 model has lesser power than 919..

My friends' 929 and 954 drink alot more petrol..

The gsxr750 can win us only in pick up if fitted with dynojet kit, but top range we still win lar..

I tested pick up with r1 and vtr before. True enuff 1st and 2nd gear we can win, but 3rd gear onwards we lost... I have my own personal video clips which recorded at night race in malaysia. haha

as long as its the series of CBR900 then its still a solid bike. to me the 893cc wan have very raw power at the low gears. the 919cc got better midrange power, and a more comfortable riding position. top speed both also around the same as far as i have tested (280-285kmh), max maybe 290-295kmh lor.

eh care to share ur personal videos? local race scene sure more exciting sia. :thumb:

anyway wats the 919cc max gear ratio speed? (all counted at rpm 10,500)

my 893 tried stats:

1st gear: 120kmh

2nd gear: 165kmh

3rd gear: 210kmh

6th gear: 280kmh

4th n 5th gear i dunno cos dun have time to look at the meter... busy looking on the road heheh http://www.msportbike.com/phpbb/images/smiles/OhMiGod!.gif

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

• Replies 8.1k

Originally posted by Kaoiwas@Apr 26 2005, 01:18 AM

Wow... I was suppossed 2 slp 2hrs ago. But i read this thread from page 1 to 22. U guys all like very brudder brudder ah...

Anyway, I gonna get a RRT soon. Just wanted to know what to look out for? I read Sev's probs i panic man. Also very happy with the fuel consumption. My ZX4 now 17km/l... How much is insurance for a 23yr old?

The front rim 16" and 17" got alot of difference? I see u all seem to love this bike. Got any bad points? No need to compare with newer bikes, just bad pts in general?

And what is the price range for an RRT now? FN plat '96 registered. Pls do help. If i convinced enuf den can join this group already. Can happy happy go Melacca.

ok bro Kaoiwas, welcome to the CBR900 riders group http://www.msportbike.com/phpbb/images/smiles/wav.gif glad to hear got extra member joining us, cos its like a dying breed- everybody just keep upgrading to newer bikes...

hmm before u buy a bike, best is to bring someone who knows this bike very, very well to come along n help u see. better still if u can bring ur mechanic along to check especially for the engine condition.

can give u some tips before buying:

1. look out whether the bike is a california/non california spec bike.

-california spec bikes have their power drastically reduced. do not buy if its a cali bike.

2. condition- very hard to check, a basic test will be whether cold start dat time hard to start. valves have gunk stuck on it (most older bikes more than 6 years sure have, depends how much gunk stuck in it)

3. if the owner oredi start the bike before u view, a simple test is to leave the bike idle with the sidestand on and check the idling. then u sit on the bike- straightening the bike 90 degrees that is. see the idling RPM again. if got difference means that the carburettors not balanced (the owner not really take care of the bike)

4. dont buy a bike with a frame that is being resprayed. must be original aluminium.

5. check the handling of the bike by riding at a speed then jam the brakes. make sure the handle dont wobble (fork bushings, steering cone maybe worn out, disc brakes maybe warped too)

6. check the rear suspension by straightening the bike then press the rear seat hard. (good condition suspension means goes down fast, comes up slow) if spoiled means another $650!

anyway in general when u buy a 2nd hand bike, always make sure u have spare cash in hand (at least $1000) to standby any problems that need to be rectified.

we cannot expect a perfect 2nd hand bike where u can just buy n ride

:goodluck: :goodluck:

Originally posted by Kaoiwas@Apr 26 2005, 01:18 AM

Anyway, I gonna get a RRT soon. Just wanted to know what to look out for? I read Sev's probs i panic man. Also very happy with the fuel consumption. My ZX4 now 17km/l... How much is insurance for a 23yr old?

The front rim 16" and 17" got alot of difference? I see u all seem to love this bike. Got any bad points? No need to compare with newer bikes, just bad pts in general?

And what is the price range for an RRT now? FN plat '96 registered. Pls do help. If i convinced enuf den can join this group already. Can happy happy go Melacca.

the fuel consumption for a normal blade (with some mods) sure can hit above 300+ km per full tank. ur ZX4 is 17km/L, guess the fireblade will be more economical than that. petrol consumption is never a problem for the CBR900.

have a friend who has stage 3 cams, flat side race carbs, HRC cdi, full system, race clutch, etc etc- the fuel consumption also extra mine about RM2 everytime we top up.

insurance for 23y.p. maybe 300+ gua, not that sure cos i use my frens name to buy hehe.

the 16" rim compared to the 17" rim handling wise, for making U-turn/tight turn the 16" has better advantage. disadvantage is that u have less tyre choices especially for the soft compound/race compounds if u wanna go for track days. other than that, no difference.

bad points about this bike? dun think they have lor except the rectifier problem (a general problem for all honda bikes) but mine so far use 3 years never had a problem like this before- just got see some ppl have that problem. from my point of view, the bike has to be started/run occasionally. cannot leave it for weekend rides without moving in between- ppl that i see have this problem are all weekend bikers who ride once in a blue moon.

compare to other bikes this is one of the best. imagine suzuki and kawa also have the tensioner problem.

price range for RRT should be about 4k-5k la.. but price dont matter if u can get a good condition bike. buy cheap but repair jialat... waste more time to repair... http://www.msportbike.com/phpbb/images/smiles/pottytrain5.gif

Yo Undertaker,

Thank u so much for ur info. Hahah... prob e most effort anyone in this forum has ever put in to answer any of my queries... (so touched!)

Anyway, are there any kind souls in here willing to come help me check out the bike? Makan on me!

Originally posted by Kaoiwas@Apr 26 2005, 09:00 AM

Yo Undertaker,

Thank u so much for ur info. Hahah... prob e most effort anyone in this forum has ever put in to answer any of my queries... (so touched!)

Anyway, are there any kind souls in here willing to come help me check out the bike? Makan on me!

i can help you check the bike, me quit expert in finding bike's problem after my bike has so many problems... :faint: :faint: :faint: and remember to sign an agreement letter with the owner, ask for engine waranty....

but you need to wait till after 4th May, i got exam now...

insurance for 23 about $800+ for 3rd party fire and theft, me 26 3rd party fire and theft is $600+.. cheaper if you get 3rd party only...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Apr 25 2005, 06:31 PM

yap the gixxers sure drink more petrol cos they all powerful bikes.

the carburetor SRAD 750 power can say abit more power than the CBR900 if fitted with dynojet kit. http://www.msportbike.com/phpbb/images/smiles/Fwoar!.gif

suzuki bike very powerful, but a lot problem ler, engine very rough too.. the fuel injector always spoil...:giddy: :giddy: new bike i not sure, but my fren riding old suzuki efi bike all replace theri fuel injector...:giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

Originally posted by torque@Apr 26 2005, 12:31 AM

lucky my bike well maintained and problem free..

When you ride a problem free bike, you feels power..

haha, after settle my bike problems, now i feel my bike more powerful also... :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Originally posted by Kaoiwas@Apr 26 2005, 09:00 AM

Yo Undertaker,

hehe no problem lah... just trying to help out, since i know about this bike more than any other models...

yup Mr Sev should be of some good help since he experienced so much on his own bike oredi. :thumb:

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 26 2005, 09:14 AM

suzuki bike very powerful, but a lot problem ler, engine very rough too.. the fuel injector always spoil...:giddy: :giddy: new bike i not sure, but my fren riding old suzuki efi bike all replace theri fuel injector...:giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

yeah the gixxers r very powerful, but just like kawa- engine very rough too. raw power = raw engine mah :cheeky:

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Apr 26 2005, 09:36 AM

hehe no problem lah... just trying to help out, since i know about this bike more than any other models...

yup Mr Sev should be of some good help since he experienced so much on his own bike oredi. :thumb:

i rather dont want this kind of experiences sia... spend 1 month to rectify the problem.. :giddy: :giddy:

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 26 2005, 09:54 AM

i rather dont want this kind of experiences sia... spend 1 month to rectify the problem.. :giddy: :giddy:

hehe yeah, but now u quite expert about ur bike oredi rite... dun think it will happen anymore in future lah.

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Apr 26 2005, 02:23 AM

anyway wats the 919cc max gear ratio speed? (all counted at rpm 10,500)

my 893 tried stats:

1st gear: 120kmh

2nd gear: 165kmh

3rd gear: 210kmh

6th gear: 280kmh

4th n 5th gear i dunno cos dun have time to look at the meter... busy looking on the road heheh

Wait I go malaysia test and let u know... Coz everytime I ride my bike for serious speed, I never see my speedometer..

I scared the moment I see my speedometer for too long, I will be in my coffin the next moment. Better if got a pillion to check the speed for you...

I thought your bike is 919..

http://forum.17pouces.net/images/header_forumv4_02.jpg

These are the years when a boy changes into the man he's gonna become the rest of his life, just be careful who you change into. Remember with great power comes great responsibility.

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 26 2005, 09:09 AM

i can help you check the bike, me quit expert in finding bike's problem after my bike has so many problems... :faint: :faint: :faint: and remember to sign an agreement letter with the owner, ask for engine waranty....

but you need to wait till after 4th May, i got exam now...

insurance for 23 about $800+ for 3rd party fire and theft, me 26 3rd party fire and theft is $600+.. cheaper if you get 3rd party only...

Hey Sev,

Thanks for ur offer. I'll PM u after ur exams. Anyway, u managed to find ur 17" front rims already?Hopw much did it cost?

And the 16' really causes tanks slaps alot?

Originally posted by Kaoiwas@Apr 26 2005, 02:04 PM

Hey Sev,

Thanks for ur offer. I'll PM u after ur exams. Anyway, u managed to find ur 17" front rims already?Hopw much did it cost?

And the 16' really causes tanks slaps alot?

still can't find the 17" front wheel...

dont listen to bullshit about 16" wheel causes tank slap... MotoGP also using 16.5" front wheel...

just that 17" front tyre got more choice.... very difficult to find 16" front race tyre... :giddy:

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 26 2005, 02:29 PM

still can't find the 17" front wheel...

dont listen to bullshit about 16" wheel causes tank slap... MotoGP also using 16.5" front wheel...

just that 17" front tyre got more choice.... very difficult to find 16" front race tyre... :giddy:

the 16" front wheel no matter how hard u ride on the road will never kena tankslap. BUT u must have a very good tyre.i kena a few times using BT010, but when using Metzeler MeZ3 n pirelli diablo now- never encounter this problem at all under extreme braking/hard acceleration out of corners.

best soft compound tyre can get for 16" will be metzeler sportec M-1.

btw 17" rim that can fit our bike will be from a CBR400 n CBR600 F2/F3 rim, but after comparison they are heavier than the 16" stock rim. unless u get the aftermarket aluminim rims. :bouncefire:

For 17" rim dun tin it give much dif compare to 16" rim ...onli advantage is easy to find tyre nia...:sweat:

Previously mi using BT010 4 front n nv encounter ani tankslap leh...can't share much more infor cos this is my 1st c2 bike ...

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2005, 01:54 PM

For 17" rim dun tin it give much dif compare to 16" rim ...onli advantage is easy to find tyre nia...:sweat:

Previously mi using BT010 4 front n nv encounter ani tankslap leh...can't share much more infor cos this is my 1st c2 bike ...

haha, may be you never ride hard enough like undertaker... next time you must try extreme hard braking and hard accelerate out of corners...

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 27 2005, 02:22 PM

haha, may be you never ride hard enough like undertaker... next time you must try extreme hard braking and hard accelerate out of corners...

Yup, mayb loh...onli our Undertaker De Racer dare try extreme hard braking and hard kup corner ...

Must sayang our bike leh...

shall we organise a makan or drinking session?

http://forum.17pouces.net/images/header_forumv4_02.jpg

These are the years when a boy changes into the man he's gonna become the rest of his life, just be careful who you change into. Remember with great power comes great responsibility.

Originally posted by torque@Apr 27 2005, 02:35 PM

shall we organise a makan or drinking session?

yeah, let's come out for tea & chatting...:smile:

but CBR289 stayed in m'sia, dunno he can make it or not...

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 27 2005, 02:57 PM

yeah, let's come out for tea & chatting...:smile:

but CBR289 stayed in m'sia, dunno he can make it or not...

Daytime on weekend no problem 4 mi n nite time must apply permit 1st leh:sweat:

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2005, 01:49 PM

I m back!!:cheer:

After 2 day of ISo auditing..yesterday final liao:sweat:

me also just got back.... but from drinking session yesterday. sleep at fren hse cos totally cant drive back :faint:

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Apr 27 2005, 03:13 PM

me also just got back.... but from drinking session yesterday. sleep at fren hse cos totally cant drive back :faint:

Hmmm...drunk till cannot drive leh:sweat:

Originally posted by CBR289@Apr 27 2005, 01:54 PM

yupz if u are track maniac then u must fix a 17" rim.

the BT010 tyre character is quite different from other brand tyres. when new, i take it for cornering feeling is quite good- the tyre pulls u down automatically when u lean. other tyres u have to lean on ur own harder. its like u lean 30% but the tire pull u down extra 5%. but it was only good for 3 months. after dat start to uneven wear liau, hard braking then it wobble. after 7th month (50% thread left) the tyre is useless for hard cornering.

besides, dun really like the tire cos the profile is not sharp enough. its more rounded, not like the MeZ3 or sportec M1 profiles.