How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

Originally posted by henRRy@Feb 14 2005, 08:01 AM

I've seen and still witnessing young people buying car and eating maggies. My pay abt 2.5k even that ive drop the plan to own a car, evern atter married still need to consider.

life in singapore.. tough..

think abt AUst... 40K for BMW?

A$38k for a brand new WRX!!!!!!!!

Some more for life!! no 10 yrs COE sh*t!! :cheer:

My fren bought a 180SX for A$1.8k!! :faint:

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg
  • Replies 870

if want to own normal jap car comfortably, minimum salary is $5k per month

Originally posted by Throttle@Feb 14 2005, 09:29 AM

if want to own normal jap car comfortably, minimum salary is $5k per month

And if you save $1000+ a month by taking public instead of owning a car, you will easily accumulate $100k in 5 years.

i guess if you want to buy a car u need to ask urself do i really need it ?

my mother been asking me to get one for years and now my girlfriend too.

i am single right now .. earning in the 3k range .. i did my calculation and yes i can afford one car like the nissan sunny but do i want it ? i dont think so..

i work in an IT firm .. now i wish i am a banker :p trottle :p and i dont move around at all as i base at telepark but living in jurong west ext .. my daily travel distance to and fro would be about 70km.. plus PIE is always jam in the morning and in the evening plus i need to pay ERP.. parking is free at work but for home is not.

so now i lead a lifestyle where i have savings, i get to go out to dinners with my GF at nice resturants,do mod on my bike, go on holidays annually or weekend escapades with my GF, and live easy NOT rich but simply comfortable.

so when i remember the days when i was a poly student trying to own a mito (it was THE bike during my days) i tot about asking from mate for ciggys, skipping lunch, not enuff money for jalan jalan, if accident need to save money for replacing parts, ppl go dating watch movie i go dating eat goreng pisang and roti prata, month end come some time take bus to school as saving petrol to go riding at nite with friends.. all for the fact that i want a bike and i really did suffer for it and when i want to sell it .. the resale SUCKS big time got a 2b bike for near 11k can sell less then 5k. i think many can relate to this ...

from then on i told myself i would never sacrfice my living standard for a machine.. if mum sick i would, if gf sick i would, if dad and brother sick i would, but for a machine i will never no matter how much i love that machine and want to own it ,if brother want sex change oso no way lah

bottomline is sometime its not worth trying to BE someone you are not ... but you must work really hard to be that someone one day.

i have friends that have EVO self sponsored earning 2.8 YES u can afford it but like trottle say be a slave to a car?i see then 24 25 year old guys skipping on lunch bumping on other ciggies liek me when poly but they are OLD man adults they shouldnt be like that ... is that fair for u ?earning money to throw at something lifeless ... it is better if you bring your parents for a holiday for that work so hard to bulit u a better life or throw that 1ksgd to a malaysian propety (which i am doing now) atleast got appriciation not depriciation.

well like some people say - temptation thou it is the work of the devil, is the motivation for man.

dont be the one that skip motivation and fall for temptation ... later if you cannot control your expenses the OA will control it for u ...

for those how wants really badly then hope you come out of it well... the malays have this saying "nak kena rasa garam sendiri" loosely translated means "want to taste salt himself to know it is salty then i pray for ur well-being :)

for me When will i own a car and what car?

only when i get married and our combine pay is more then 7k and we really really need a car due to children or her work then i would get a GETZ or a picanto for my Mrs to drive .. or if i live in KL earing what i get in sg then i buy a FORD RANGER !!!! hahaha but for now .. my bike serve me well ... my little ole 2b bike...

sorry for bumping up old post lah got mood for story telling .. sian .. cos want to wash bike later hehehe ...

~Biker Till I Die~

Originally posted by dintigger@Mar 5 2005, 06:34 AM

i have friends that have EVO self sponsored earning 2.8 YES u can afford it but like trottle say be a slave to a car?i see then 24 25 year old guys skipping on lunch bumping on other ciggies liek me when poly but they are OLD man adults they shouldnt be like that ... is that fair for u ?earning money to throw at something lifeless ... it is better if you bring your parents for a holiday for that work so hard to bulit u a better life or throw that 1ksgd to a malaysian propety (which i am doing now) atleast got appriciation not depriciation.

WOW!!! Earning 2.8 and getting a EVO??? :faint:

Tat's nearly sucide.... The cars better not break down manz..... :goodluck:

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg
Originally posted by STi@Mar 6 2005, 03:30 AM

WOW!!! Earning 2.8 and getting a EVO??? :faint:

Tat's nearly sucide.... The cars better not break down manz..... :goodluck:

evo maintainance oredi can kill liaoz...let alone the mthly instalmnts... :giddy:

wheres my siggy?!?!

Nice topic .... well .. hard work is one thing but luck and opportunities do play a part.

I do think that work hard and work smart is the most important thing. I would love to have a 4WD or flashy car but when reality strikes .... all these thing gone in a poof.

Guess Trottle and some folks do really work hard, plus lucky star shine at times ... but then again, it takes hardship to become a banker and not everyone cuts to be one of them. Do agree that there is always many above you, stay content is most impt. My coy sales use cash to buy their new cars - A4, C180, Lexus and etc ... why ? Cause they work extremely hard to get their $$$ and for few years they over achieved their quota. I dont compare myself with them ... I am just happy to have this pretty well-paid job as compare to last few ... opportunities comes and I grab it. But then ...As there is a saying ... there is no free lunch ... Just one month into the job .. I am already working like 12 to 15 hours per day for 5 days ....

Me dont earn $$$ like Trottle or my sales but can say I live pretty comfort and also not spending $$$ freely .... Brough a cosy 5-rm from HDB which cost much less than 190k, reno simply and slowly buying funiture. Just paid a deposit for a new jap car ... montly would work out less than 900 bucks ... less than 20% of my pay.

The reason I brought a car cause I need to go outdoor to meet customer and riding bikes often make me not that presentable ... Anyway ... since coy got fuel, car park and ERP claimable... I decide to buy a car ... not too flashy but a standard family jap car.

I very very much agree with Trottle, Kiss and some folks here ... dont be a slave to car. Also not be a slave to a house - i.e. I see pple wanting to buy a condo and paying it even though both couple just barely make it. Imagine one loses job ... there goes everything.

For me ... even though my wife is not working .. my current liability is still very managable ... and not exceeding 30% of my existing pay. If I work clever enough .. I shouldnt be losing my job and with risk calculated, I shld be in the job for a few years.

So these few years is time for me to save up and perhaps one fine day start my own business.

Be happy and be content for what you have....

Oh ... btw .. I will still keep my S4 for leisure riding (No loans just maintenance .... why not? ) :)

PS: I am a person who prefer cash in pocket then paying huge bills every month ....

May 1999 - Aug 1999 - Yamaha FZR150

Aug 1999 - Nov 2001 - Honda Phantom 150

Nov 2001 - Oct 2005 - Honda CB400 Superfour HYPER-VTEC

April 2005 - Aug 2010 - Nissan Latio

Aug 2010 - Aug 2011 - BMW 320

Sep 2011 - Current - Honda Stream

wah , you are doing fine bro.

one thing i am happy with my own situation is that I am technically debt free.

Everything I own is covered 100% so even if I lose my job, i dont have to sell anything at all.

however, sometimes, i think that a little leverage is good.

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 17 2005, 02:56 PM

Everything I own is covered 100% so even if I lose my job, i dont have to sell anything at all.

WOW!!! :giddy: Envy u manz..........

Actually, I do this becos I dont like the feeling of owing people and having big loans. I also dont like people owing me money....

I also got this habit becos I always buy old cars where the loan rate is high, so to avoid high loan rates, I just pay full cash.

Guest Sir_Romeo

tio toto everything settle what ever car u want also can provide group 1 prize lah ahhhaha

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 17 2005, 02:56 PM

Well ..thanks ..

to me I am doing ok nia ... still surviving in the tough world in Singapore ....

Lucky for me the housing loan is not too high so CPF can covered that else I definitely cant buy a car if I will have to top up with cash.

I also wish to be debt free but in reality ... it is hard to archieve especially in Singapore. Just trying to minimize debt payment ..

ha ha .. perhaps 1 fine day I will be realli debt free but then I will be lao kok kok le ... :)

Stay healthy and be happy with what you had. Just dont over stretch your dollar I think is the best policy.

car so cheap now why bother with van?

Guest doremo
Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 24 2005, 03:27 PM

to u it may be cheap :sian:

frankly speaking and with all due respect....

if you cannot afford a car in today's market, then you are not ready to...

like i said before , dont be a slave to your car, it is meant to serve you not the other way round....

Guest mas17

Talking about being slaves to the car, i've seen this happen.

Just becos the person see the neighbour,relative or fren buy a new car, he/she decides to get one also due to the cheap prices of cars today. But reality sinks in when he starts the monthly payments and maintenance.

The guy had to work part time and even sell stuffs on consignment. He even did not buy season parking ticket and to avoid summons, park at the highest floor of the multi storey carpark as those attendants did not normally go there.

When it comes to petrol, some even go to Msia to top up petrol and then fill it into the car. And i dont have to say about those taking some of company bikes or vans petrol and filling it up into their cars.

It gets worse when wife get pregnant and now a father with extra responsibility.

This story is true and its happening. All this shows that maintaining a car is no joke.Do you maths properly. Whats the point of having a luxury in a car but having to worry of payments and maintenance cost. All this should already be in the financial plan when owning a car. But at the end of the day, its individual decision that matters.

Cheers and have a nice day.

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 24 2005, 03:27 PM

cos van is cheaper..diesel is cheap $0.85/l(after discount) and i pay less den $40 for 650km...rd tax is cheap.$500 a year..regardless of my 2.2L engine..

and i drive a van, sold off my blackbird....1st post in tis topic..hehe

Honda CBR1100XXX Super Black Bird-Invalid entry

one more ting.COE is cheap. bought at 4k++...for 10 yrs...

price OTr including interest and insurance for 1 yr = $34.5k brand new.

10 yrs. 34.5k.....1 yr $3450...

Honda CBR1100XXX Super Black Bird-Invalid entry

Originally posted by TachiTJRS@Nov 22 2004, 01:49 PM

Just for your infor guys. I owned 3 cars so far in Singapore. My last was a 1999 Honda Civic SiR EG9. I will give you a breakdown on how I 'suffered' to keep the baby I loved.

Monthly Salary: $2200

Car price (used): $55000 when 5 years old

Downpayment: $5000

Monthly installments plus interest at 2.8%: $900+

Number of years loan: 53months

Running Cost:

Fuel: I travelled an average of 3000km per month. My car tops $65 of 98 unleaded per tank and covers about 500km per tank which works out to

$390 -$400 per month +/-

General Maintainence of Oil, filter etc at every 10000km. = $200 divided by 3 months I would have to put aside: about $70

Road Tax: $948 for a year. If you divide it by 12 months = $79

Insurance: I paid $2000 a year for a 4 door Civic VTEC. I am 26 years old and not married. Divide it by 12 months =$167

ERP, Parking, coupons etc per month: $70

So, gentlemen every month I spent a total of $900+$400+$70+$79+$167+$70

=$1686

That leaves me with $514 to pay for my handphone, eating, occasional pleasure like movies, shopping and buying stuff for my girlfriend, ciggies etc.

As you can see, the car ownership already cost me more that 1/2 of my salary. I did part time work on weekends to get a couple hundred bucks but that meant working my ass off 7 days a week.

As a result, I had less time for myself, even less time for my girlfriend, not enough time to enjoy my car (track days etc), ate cheaply everytime, no money to buy tune up parts, was sh*t tired all week.

So I sold it and got a bike.

Now I pay $200 a month for installments, $250 for fuel, $140 for road tax, $350 for insurance, parking is most of the time free! So I spend only $500 per month plus maintenance because I do my own service at home.

The downside is I got no aircon, no radio, no roof, no place to put anything, can only carry 1 passenger but the upside is I am twice as fast, three times smaller and have four times more money to save and use.

And thats why I am on this forum.

well come to the club.:thumb:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Well ... think some of the folks out there ust didnt do the maths properly and what the reality sink in ... it really hurts ...

Some worst ... buy liao, mod here and there than less than few month cant pay loan .. let the finance company toll it away ....

There are too much hidden cost in maintaining a car. For me ... I could affort the loan of the car with basic but without company subside the petrol, ERP, carpark and car allowance .. I dont even think of getting one ...

I prefer to have cash in my pockets ... warm warm and nice nice ...

thats true , Draco......

i second your thoughts