Harley Riders gather

Guest fengdrew
anyone knows how much a 200 or 220 tyre kit for softail worth? or is there a 220 in the 1st place?

haha roger, saw tat deuce 200" tyre u gian liao ar???

go all e way la! 240"

but all these fat tyre kit gonna cost quite a bomb...

Does anyone want this? Picked it up on a whim, but it really fits a caucasian face or someone with a more pronounced nose and eye sockets, my flat asian head does not work with curved shades. About S$25 (after conversion) should do, you can check out the seller from here: http://www.thebestmcglasses.com

http://www.thebestmcglasses.com/images/glasses/amber_black_A_02.jpg

Does anyone want this? Picked it up on a whim, but it really fits a caucasian face or someone with a more pronounced nose and eye sockets, my flat asian head does not work with curved shades. About S$25 (after conversion) should do, you can check out the seller from here: http://www.thebestmcglasses.com

Thanks 4 the link bro.. looking for one also... :cheeky:

anyone knows how much a 200 or 220 tyre kit for softail worth? or is there a 220 in the 1st place?

@roger:

The fat tyre kits are not cheap and there are a lot of brands in the market for it. Harley OEM ones (150) complete conversion will set you back approx 1.5K including installation.

As for fatties, they go: 200, 240, 250, 280 and 300. I have not come across a 220 yet. It is not cheap and here is an estimate on what needs to be done:

1. New rear fender

2. New wheels

3. New fat tyre

4. New rear brake caliper

5. New rear mud flap (inner)

6. New paint

7. License plate relocation kit

8. New rear lights

9. Primary drive and belt drive relocation kit

10. New swing arm

There could be more but that is a gist of it. All in all, a 240 kit could come to about S$5-7K depending on the brand and parts you use.

It does look totally awesome but your handling may suffer. You tend to drift to the Left more but after a while you get used to it and it is no big deal.

You will lose some cornering capability though as the fat tyre may resist a bit when you are going into and out of turns.

That is just mho.

Most experts aren't...and research is the difference between speculation and investment.

1430...ã™ãã€æ¥ã‚‹ã“ã¨ã€‚ :thumb:

@roger:

Sorry for another repeat post. But 1 more thing to consider is not many suppliers carry fat tyres. So if you do choose to convert, and plan to travel out of the country, you may want to keep a spare at home so that should you blow the tyre in MY or Thailand, you have a ready replacement and you do not need to wait for a new order coming in. Likewise if you happen to blow the tyre in Sg. (touch wood).

Another thing to note, is the exhaust. As the rear end is much wider than stock, certain exhausts do not fit. V&H short shorts are ok. But when ordering other exhausts that are longer and or 2-1s, you will need to tell the manufacturer that you are running a fatty behind so that they can give you the right kit to install it.

If you do it, do send us some pictures. Would love to see it as it will def be awesome.

"I love big butts and I cannot lie..."

Most experts aren't...and research is the difference between speculation and investment.

1430...ã™ãã€æ¥ã‚‹ã“ã¨ã€‚ :thumb:

Thanks 4 the link bro.. looking for one also... :cheeky:

Take mine! It's just going to sit around looking forlorn, otherwise.

thanks for the info chis... i have not gotten myself a HD yet.. now hoping to chance upon a good deal.. if not, should be getting one end of the yr using the bonus.. i hope..

the 240 kit u mentioned.. does it include the mentioned items? or on top of the mentioned items?

Apr 02 - Sept 02 : Honda TA 150 Phantom

Sept 02 - Mar 04 : Honda CB400 Super 4 Version S

Jul 05 - May 07 : Yamaha XVS 400 Dragstar Custom

Aug 05 - Current : Honda CB1100SFY X-11

Oct 08 - Current: Harley Davidson FLHX Street Glide

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d125/wangfh81/Signature01.jpg

haha roger, saw tat deuce 200" tyre u gian liao ar???

go all e way la! 240"

but all these fat tyre kit gonna cost quite a bomb...

haha.. not really.. all this while i wanted a 200" or above tyres.. just that i dont have an idea of which HD to buy... still looking around.. at the same time, can save as much as i can..

urgh... i also dont know can tahan till end of the year or not.. almost everynight can hear the sound of a HD opp my block... urgh!!! i just heard one "galloping" pass....

Guest fengdrew
haha.. not really.. all this while i wanted a 200" or above tyres.. just that i dont have an idea of which HD to buy... still looking around.. at the same time, can save as much as i can..

urgh... i also dont know can tahan till end of the year or not.. almost everynight can hear the sound of a HD opp my block... urgh!!! i just heard one "galloping" pass....

200 rear? some of e newer models comes with it.

Juz like slowpoke's vrod, 07 nitetrain, rocker, crossbones.

the fatter u go, e more expensive it is.

IMO, i think the "Kings" brand sunglasses / goggles suit me just fine, prices from $7 upwards, drop or lost no heart pain

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/2135Y4GDNCL._SL160_.jpghttp://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/21C67MWW50L._SL160_.jpg

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

yup yup... 240 conversion is definitely not cheap... was once quoted by sunburst for abt 7-9k to do a 240 conversion.. :giddy:

tats why i got one tat came from the factory... dun wan any future headaches.... u'll never know wat may come along... :cheeky:

My rides since 1994:Nsr Hornet 125/Yamaha LC125/RD125/Suzuki RG125 Light Sprinter/CBR400 Hurricane/Suzuki GSXR 750/Honda XR250/KAWA ZXR750/Yamaha R1 03/Gilera Runner Fxr/ Suzuki GSXR1000 K6/Harley Sportster 1200S/Yamaha 04R1/BMW R1100r/Suzuki SRAD GSXR750/KTM 640SM/Harley VRod VSRCAW/HOnda Fireblade 929/R6'04/St1100V/DRZ400Sm_K8/Current-Aprilia RSV Tuono 1000R

i agree.. nightrain and fatboy with 200" tyre and Rocker a 240"... i did want to get the Rocker initially.. reason was Rocker C is very close to my ideal look of a "customised" HD.. so i may not start customising until sometime later.. but sunhogs adviced me against it and i find his reasoning makes sense.. that's why i decided to look around 1st and dont make hasty decisions...

what was his reasoning? :sweat:

Buy harley, must custom to your own preference mah... if buy a bike that is already customised, then not fun already... hehe... just my opinion... :D

anyone can recommend the best places to look for good quality, nice leather pouches to hold gloves, sunglasses and small items? other than Harley showroom itself, where else? thanks

IMO, i think the "Kings" brand sunglasses / goggles suit me just fine, prices from $7 upwards, drop or lost no heart pain

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/2135Y4GDNCL._SL160_.jpghttp://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/21C67MWW50L._SL160_.jpg

btw.. wher do i find e KING sunglasses...? any advice on clear lens is better or amber lens..:cheeky:

Take mine! It's just going to sit around looking forlorn, otherwise.

anyway.. my face is not tat big as those Ang Mo... My oeklay sunglass r those desgn for asian face one.. not those normal one..i'm still trying to find one suitable for my face now.." For night riding ".:cheeky:

i gotta agree with the rationale of finding a proper basic frame and bike lines to customize. i'm also quite curious what chris told u.

if it is a kustom outlook that u will eventually want, i would have advised u to scout for cheaper softtail models. outlook doesnt have to be nice.. then send it for kustom work big time.

btw.. wher do i find e KING sunglasses...? any advice on clear lens is better or amber lens..:cheeky:

most hardware shops will sell, they are actually safety glasses. Amber lens need to get used to, i prefer clear lens.

wanna ride with madness?

what was his reasoning? :sweat:

Buy harley, must custom to your own preference mah... if buy a bike that is already customised, then not fun already... hehe... just my opinion... :D

i gotta agree with the rationale of finding a proper basic frame and bike lines to customize. i'm also quite curious what chris told u.

if it is a kustom outlook that u will eventually want, i would have advised u to scout for cheaper softtail models. outlook doesnt have to be nice.. then send it for kustom work big time.

u have PM... :cool:

anyone can recommend the best places to look for good quality, nice leather pouches to hold gloves, sunglasses and small items? other than Harley showroom itself, where else? thanks

I'm using this on my Sporty. Fastened to the sissybar with cable ties. Got other sizes too :smile: Plenty of other choices in the webby

RiverRoad Classic Tool Bag

I'm using this on my Sporty. Fastened to the sissybar with cable ties. Got other sizes too :smile: Plenty of other choices in the webby

RiverRoad Classic Tool Bag

Looks great .. thanks for tip.

I got hold of a lousy Harley one just for convenience....maybe buy a better one like yours when i have time in future

finally after 5 months of waiting, confirmation of my bike delivery to the showroom on coming monday..:D

wanna ride with madness?

wow you waited longer than I waited for my Volvo last time.

I waited 4 months becos i specially indent with moonroof.

But the Agent was kind enough to give me another volvo to drive for 2 months while i waited.

If only HD will do that, hehe h

finally after 5 months of waiting, confirmation of my bike delivery to the showroom on coming monday..:D

Congrats~! 5 months is a long wait but I'm sure its worth it :D