[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Generally there are riders whom ride their bikes as their transport bikes. There's nothing wrong wif doing as such as long as they maintain their regular service intervals.

This is the correct thread, just that its currently lacking in activity as most of us have migrated to a different form of communication. I regularly check in here thanks to the beauty for apple iphone apps. Of cos i try to answer to the best that i can and at least leave an avenue where new owners can find the monster group.

Actually to my knowledge, m696, m796, m1100 and m795 share the same seat, just that either with or without cowling. Minerva has started to take in orders for the m795 but showroom piece has yet to arrive.

Iphone eh? Im using it too. Glad that u guys replied my post.

If i own it, it would be my only transport bike. The COE for my current sparebike will die around june 2012. So now im looking n still deciding on which bike to buy.

Since m795 is made from thai, i doubt the quality would be the same as m796/m696 as they are made from italy. I drove a few cars that are made from thai such as honda and toyota, their quality sucks big time. The good things are they more cheaper than the jdm ones. But im not sure about bikes from thai. Maybe im wrong...

Dodo, Brandon, which duc are u guys riding now? Using it as a main transport?

No tune, no life. -JM

*M796@FA4M*

• Replies 14.5k

If i own it, it would be my only transport bike. The COE for my current sparebike will die around june 2012. So now im looking n still deciding on which bike to buy.

Since m795 is made from thai, i doubt the quality would be the same as m796/m696 as they are made from italy. I drove a few cars that are made from thai such as honda and toyota, their quality sucks big time. The good things are they more cheaper than the jdm ones. But im not sure about bikes from thai. Maybe im wrong...

I'm currently on a sport classic 1000. I dun ride it daily thought. But i did when i had the m400 and monster s4.

hey guys,

i am thinking of getting the 2011 m696/m796.

i would appreciate any comments or feedbacks on the bikes.

And also, it will be good if you guys can provide me with some comparison of the 2 models because after looking at the specifications of both models, i noticed that the only differences are the bhp&Torque, the swingarm; single sided & both sided.

thank you people in advance!

A Good Rider Has Balance, Judgment, And Good Timing.....

So Does A Good Lover. :thumb:

hey guys,

i am thinking of getting the 2011 m696/m796.

i would appreciate any comments or feedbacks on the bikes.

And also, it will be good if you guys can provide me with some comparison of the 2 models because after looking at the specifications of both models, i noticed that the only differences are the bhp&Torque, the swingarm; single sided & both sided.

thank you people in advance!

The 696 seat is slightly lower in height

I'm riding a M400 and using it as a daily transport, love every bit of its torque. Go for a test ride at Minerva, do some calculation and see which range fits u most.

I'm currently on a sport classic 1000. I dun ride it daily thought. But i did when i had the m400 and monster s4.

Nice ride bro.

No tune, no life. -JM

*M796@FA4M*

I'm using my M696 as a daily transport to work. Maybe i'm too tall for the bike, my arms sore from withstanding my upper body weight due to the posture. But a good way to train your biceps too. :)

Anyway, the M795 is not made in thailand. it's still manufactured in italy, just assembled in thailand.

If i'm not wrong, other than differences in swing arms, bhp & torque between the M696 & M796, the suspension used are also different.

M696 : Showa

M796 : Ohlins

M1100: Marzocchi

I'm riding a M400 and using it as a daily transport, love every bit of its torque. Go for a test ride at Minerva, do some calculation and see which range fits u most.

Didnt know they allow customer to test ride. If its true i shall go there n test ride. thx for the info, brandon.

No tune, no life. -JM

*M796@FA4M*

I'm using my M696 as a daily transport to work. Maybe i'm too tall for the bike, my arms sore from withstanding my upper body weight due to the posture. But a good way to train your biceps too. :)

Anyway, the M795 is not made in thailand. it's still manufactured in italy, just assembled in thailand.

If i'm not wrong, other than differences in swing arms, bhp & torque between the M696 & M796, the suspension used are also different.

thanks for the information... how about the fc? how's the fc like for daily commuting?

A Good Rider Has Balance, Judgment, And Good Timing.....

So Does A Good Lover. :thumb:

I'm riding a m696 with race ecu and akra end can. Mileage about 280km to empty so it's about 20km/1l

My Ride is a Monster..... So am I

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/9646/28161410150369521227306.jpg

Not fair le, i'm always there in shorts and slippers le... LOL

I myself will probably wear shorts n slippers too. im not rich just want to own a duc once in a life time. Life is short. Live life the fullest bro.

No tune, no life. -JM

*M796@FA4M*

good info. How tall are u? Im 1.8+m tall. Scared the 696 is too short for me. by the way do you install termi n race ecu? besides the sexy sound of the exhaust note, hows the performance?

No tune, no life. -JM

*M796@FA4M*

I myself will probably wear shorts n slippers too. im not rich just want to own a duc once in a life time. Life is short. Live life the fullest bro.

Yes riding a duc is an experience. Just got a 696 and enjoying it.

Greetings fellow Ducatistis,

After much thought, I am putting up my 2010 Monster 1100 w/ ABS for sale. Reason why I'm selling is because I don't have the time to ride anymore with my busy work schedule and I rather a fellow Ducatisti ride it in her full glory.

It is kept in a sheltered carpark and I do not ride in the rain. I also only ride during weekends as a means of pleasure and not a mode of transport. As a result, the bike has an incredible low mileage of 2556km since I last purchased it brand new from Minerva in August 2010.

The bike is also washed and waxed (Dodojuice Supernatural) weekly on my own and is taken care of mechanically as well.

List of modifications (who leaves a Duc stock?):

1. Termignoni CF end cans accompanied by air filter and DP ECU

2. Rizoma rear sets

3. Speedymoto Shinobi pressure plate with Speedymoto clutch cover

4. DP CF fuel tank cover, vertical strip & front fender

5. Touring seat with red stitching (better for your lil bro)

6. Brembo RCS19 master brake pump

7. CRG clutch lever with 5 adjustable biting points

8. Carbonvani CF rear cowl

9. DP short tail licence plate holder

10. CRG bar end mirrors

11. DP led signal lights (front and rear)

12. Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa (mileage around 1,000km)

Road tax is due in Feb 2012.

I'm asking for $25,500 firm. I consider this to be reasonable with the higher COE now, list of expensive addons listed, pristine condition and ultra low mileage.

Enough of talk, here are some pics:

http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/8571/img0117rf.jpg

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/2483/img0120wd.jpg

http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/2449/img0121q.jpg

Those who are seriously interested can contact me at my mobile (9847 7595) for viewing. I can let go the bike at anytime.

Desmond

Hey guys, I have a pretty serious problem with my ride.

I have a 14-year old Monster 400 with M620 forks and twin rotors. When I corner at 120-140km/h, the front wobbles a lot. It starts like a slow dance, so I usually open the throttle up some more to try and ease the wobble out, but it only gets worse and starts to really go at it, like it's gyrating its yoke as if dancing with me. The last time it happened, I clung on for dear life while the wobble was so bad it nearly threw me off the bike. I was going through Lornie at 140km/h and was at full lean and it was like riding a crazy bucking bronco. The wobble caused me to lose my front and I had a long tank slapper which I managed to ease out without hitting the curb- I cut across 4 lanes with the tank slapper.

Does any of you experience a wobble during cornering? Is this an inherent problem with the M400 or is this due to the forks? Or unbalanced front rim? I checked everything including tire pressure. Nothing... :(

Edited by lacrimosae

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

I have a 14-year old Monster 400 with M620 forks and twin rotors. When I corner at 120-140km/h, the front wobbles a lot. It starts like a slow dance, so I usually open the throttle up some more to try and ease the wobble out, but it only gets worse and starts to really go at it, like it's gyrating its yoke as if dancing with me. The last time it happened, I clung on for dear life while the wobble was so bad it nearly threw me off the bike. I was going through Lornie at 140km/h and was at full lean and it was like riding a crazy bucking bronco. The wobble caused me to lose my front and I had a long tank slapper which I managed to ease out without hitting the curb- I cut across 4 lanes with the tank slapper.

Does any of you experience a wobble during cornering? Is this an inherent problem with the M400 or is this due to the forks? Or unbalanced front rim? I checked everything including tire pressure. Nothing... :(

Dun corner so fast lah bro scary leh............

1. Check the age of the tires. Change out if its more then 2 yrs old

2. Did Mel change the steering column bearing?

3. Too soft, too hard, or not balanced forks will do that as well

4. Check the front axle as well.

5. Pay someone to check whats wrong.

Tank slappers can be caused by a few reasons but many a time is just abt maintenance or improper set up.

Interested in a pre-loved M400. Wanna know more about the comments on the bikes available in the market.

I am 1.8 meters tall and need to get something that is within my budget.

I know some bros here got M400 to sell but anyone knows where can finance?

1992-1992 KDX200

1992-1993 TZR125

1993-1993 TS125

1994-1995 CBR400 Hurricane

1999-2001 sfera 80

2000-2000 intruder 400

2001-2001 Harley 883h

2003-2003 XR400

2004-2005 Gilera 180SP

2011-2012 Yamaha YB100 Classic