[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Hi Guys.. I m new in d Ducati world.. So i need some advise.. If any of you ever do full service or overhaul @ Kallang Cycle? Mine's is taking agers man!! Any good advise how to talk to Micheal? i m very very frustrated wif him , man!! I broke my alternator cover.. Btw mine's an M9.. wish it was running smoothly.. so i can join u guys riding.. Plz i badly need ur advise.. tx..

• Replies 14.5k

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 13 2005, 05:27 PM

Hi Guys.. I m new in d Ducati world.. So i need some advise.. If any of you ever do full service or overhaul @ Kallang Cycle? Mine's is taking agers man!! Any good advise how to talk to Micheal? i m very very frustrated wif him , man!! I broke my alternator cover.. Btw mine's an M9.. wish it was running smoothly.. so i can join u guys riding.. Plz i badly need ur advise.. tx..

Sorry dudette, can't really give you advice here. Coz I've never serviced my bike as of yet (new owner). But welcome!! :cheer:

Maybe you can go down and pay him a visit and ask when roughly can be done, say you need the bike for a certain project/event.

Heh, sorry if this doesn't helps.

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

Quite some weeks ago I saw two 99' Supersports at Loois motors which are quite badly banged up. Maybe you can go check them out if they're still there, and see if you can buy their alternator covers?

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 13 2005, 05:27 PM

You are not the only one man! He is too busy for anything. High time for him to hire a helper.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 13 2005, 12:20 AM

You mean the speedo pickup? I don't think it costs much, but have to drop the front wheel to fix it.

As for the rear brake kit, I think the pump is not cheap. Whats wrong with yours?

neo,

where do u used to do ya bike? my rear brake very retarded, doesnt bite, i checked wif my mech it aint air fill in or brake pad worn still new....

my speedo doesnt move at all, i checked da cable, it moved when i turn it but its inside da hub teeth dats not grab da thing as my mech said....

yesterday it rain suddenly den my bike kept dyin off & very very hard 2 start up again, lucky its my spare bike can still go werk...hehehe!

900despairmonster

u can try tis shop 10 amk indu park 2a #05-28 autopoint, look for botax 90930879....juz say tijan he knows me... :goodluck:

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 14 2005, 04:13 PM

Pro Dero

Where did u get that pic? the seat cover "Jambu" man!! Where did u do urs? how much? What d initials? Quite blur..

219 shop at Lavender could do it. Look for a young Lady by the name of Kim. She's good with the computer mann! Normal wrap with their good quality material is 40 Buckaroos + Wordings 10 Buckaroos! 50 Buckaroos and a great looking seat!

Originally posted by Pro Dero@Dec 14 2005, 12:48 PM

neo,

where do u used to do ya bike? my rear brake very retarded, doesnt bite, i checked wif my mech it aint air fill in or brake pad worn still new....

my speedo doesnt move at all, i checked da cable, it moved when i turn it but its inside da hub teeth dats not grab da thing as my mech said....

yesterday it rain suddenly den my bike kept dyin off & very very hard 2 start up again, lucky its my spare bike can still go werk...hehehe!

My bike is done at KnT.

Looks like you gotta change your speedo pickup. For difficult starts, check your spark plugs, and change to new ones to see if it improves. If it does improve, then start to get back to square one again, then your carbs might need tuning.

If tuning does not help, then the carbs might need an overhaul.

As for the rear brake, I don't really bother about how retarded it is, I only use it when pillioning, or to alter my line mid corner. But if you wanna improve it, you have to change the master pump. I think the stock one is too small.

900despairmonster

hehehe! GalanteD has answered ya question oredi...btw initials is ducati performance....

:lovestruck: btw kim its not ONLY gd wif pc....if u know wat i mean....hahaha!

neo

thanks for input, so pump is like dat, yesterday i went to minerva, the mech replaced my spark plug holder, he was more edgy den i was, kept tisk tisk wif my bike.....dunno if he was pissed off cuz i told i juz buy my duke as spare bike & didnt know much abt its condition cuz my fren wanna let go asap....hehehe!

knt is where ah bro? speedo pick up, any idea $? btw my petrol tank is leaking...but i still love riding tis italian babe....

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Yo Bro(Pro DERO)..

Kim very inncocent leh.. u ah..

Btw whose bike izzit? the photo taken i meant.. Izzit urs? Wah.. me very pek-cek leh.. all ur babies is "Purring" mine's still in wrkshop.. then u guys miting up some more.. Wah!! tk boleh tahan.. i realli would love to see/go for Ducati mit ups bt i cant.. i don want to be going there walking... Aaaarrrgghhh!!! Micheal!!!!! :cry: :mad: :cry:

Originally posted by Pro Dero@Dec 15 2005, 11:20 AM

yesterday i went to minerva, the mech replaced my spark plug holder, he was more edgy den i was, kept tisk tisk wif my bike.....dunno if he was pissed off cuz i told i juz buy my duke as spare bike & didnt know much abt its condition cuz my fren wanna let go asap....hehehe!

No lah..tink he feel sad for yor duke..previous owner never take care. anyhow let anybody service sure end up in bad shape.

yay, i am now a member of the monster club! Thanks to all who PMed me and posted in reply to my earlier post to help me out. really appreciate it.

I bought the bike about a week back and am throughly enjoying it. the previous owner was kind enough to include a pair of chrome pipes which kind of grew on me, so much so that i no longer want to blow 1600 bucks on a new pair of remus high mount pipes. After some time i realise that monsters look quite beautiful with low mount pipes as well.

I also put on a one seater (also included) and retrimmed the seat such that the pillion section is red to match the bike's paintwork at that 219 shop in lavender.

So far its just cosmetic mods (the only thing left that i want to do is a tail chop) but the engine needs some servicing to bring it back to top shape. i have made prior arrangements with michael to bring my bike in next monday and he says i should leave the bike with him about 2 days which i have no problem with, but i am worried that he may take his time to get it serviced. is michael's slowness with 900despairmonster an isolated case or is it a normal occurence?

From my contact with him michael does seem like a solid fella though, he doesnt bullshit around and is always willing to talk. i like his manner of dealing with people.

900despairmonster> Is yours the red monster 900 with a dent on the left side of your fuel tank? I saw that bike at Kallang Cycle a few days back when i went there, real sweet machine you got there :thumb:

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/678/10ao1.jpg

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/4760/22bj.jpg

Originally posted by blackreplica@Dec 16 2005, 03:42 PM

yay, i am now a member of the monster club! Thanks to all who PMed me and posted in reply to my earlier post to help me out. really appreciate it.

I bought the bike about a week back and am throughly enjoying it. the previous owner was kind enough to include a pair of chrome pipes which kind of grew on me, so much so that i no longer want to blow 1600 bucks on a new pair of remus high mount pipes. After some time i realise that monsters look quite beautiful with low mount pipes as well.

I also put on a one seater (also included) and retrimmed the seat such that the pillion section is red to match the bike's paintwork at that 219 shop in lavender.

So far its just cosmetic mods (the only thing left that i want to do is a tail chop) but the engine needs some servicing to bring it back to top shape. i have made prior arrangements with michael to bring my bike in next monday and he says i should leave the bike with him about 2 days which i have no problem with, but i am worried that he may take his time to get it serviced. is michael's slowness with 900despairmonster an isolated case or is it a normal occurence?

From my contact with him michael does seem like a solid fella though, he doesnt bullshit around and is always willing to talk. i like his manner of dealing with people.

900despairmonster> Is yours the red monster 900 with a dent on the left side of your fuel tank? I saw that bike at Kallang Cycle a few days back when i went there, real sweet machine you got there :thumb:

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/678/10ao1.jpg

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/4760/22bj.jpg

nice ride... paintwork seems good. I'm still in the midst of improving the outlook of the bike.

How about taking a pic w/o the single seat cover to see what was done at 219?

Hows the ride? Love the growl?

whao blackreplica ! congrats on yr monster ! tht sure is one fast monster ! esp with so much ducati red ! :thumb:

btw mind me asking ..wad make r yr chrome pipes?

any of u guys joining the ducati BBQ on the 23rd?

Yo Black Replica..

Mine's the black one..

Wif black rims.. Btw i m going down to Micheal's tomorrow man..

Wanna mit up guys.. tyme arnd 10-11am.. then we drink kopi nearby shop..

Mine's there for the reason (i met wif an accident.. My chain to loose.. Clog up in my front sprocket then broke my alternator cover)..

My stupidest mistake!!! Nvr ride wif "Slag" chain man!! U pay d price!!! like me!!

Ours is SUPERBIKES not Super 4!!!

Seems like a big increase on new Dukey owners........

Cheers to all!

i wanna be one soon~ :p if i get my 2a when i still have my $ :cheeky:

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

Why is it that after I sell my bike, everyone seems to be getting Monsters?

Then when I was still riding, no Monster kakis!!! :angry:

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 17 2005, 12:25 AM

Why is it that after I sell my bike, everyone seems to be getting Monsters?

Then when I was still riding, no Monster kakis!!! :angry:

It always happens! Moving trend thingy! But aren't you happier with a HUGE Ducati

? I would be if i were you....... :cheer:

actualli it's not tht all the monster kaki's are all popping out...everyone here prob got a 2nd hand(or more) monster.. so it goes to show tht 1st hand monster owners usually hang out less online ...?

my previous owner for sure seldom came online...he got the monster basically for transport...i think he got sick of the bike thus he gave it up and went for a gsx-r1000...of coz maybe he wanted the speed...but don't u guys notice? usually first hand owners don't hang out online tht much? weird... :confused:

blackreplica: i would love to join u for kopi ! but i've got work tom n tahda!...it's 6am i'm still awake! btw king kong's a nice show...i tot it was a stupid show... :thumb:

Originally posted by espido1001@Dec 17 2005, 06:11 AM

actualli it's not tht all the monster kaki's are all popping out...everyone here prob got a 2nd hand(or more) monster.. so it goes to show tht 1st hand monster owners usually hang out less online ...?

my previous owner for sure seldom came online...he got the monster basically for transport...i think he got sick of the bike thus he gave it up and went for a gsx-r1000...of coz maybe he wanted the speed...but don't u guys notice? usually first hand owners don't hang out online tht much? weird... :confused:

blackreplica: i would love to join u for kopi ! but i've got work tom n tahda!...it's 6am i'm still awake! btw king kong's a nice show...i tot it was a stupid show... :thumb:

Same case for me, previous owner seldom posted on the forums too. When I was viewing the bike, he also said that this was the 1st time that he met 2 other monster riders at the same time. They were of course Vince and GalanteD, who were of course so kind to sacrifice their time. - Thanks :thumb:

hi everyone!

Thanks for the kind words and support. I am very happy with the bike and was enjoying it throughly...

Until TRAGEDY struck!

Last night i went to the jalan besar 'scissor rice' to eat dinner and parked on the very crowded roadside in between 2 cars (left plenty of space forward and backwards). later on the car in front left the space, and another one probably tried to park in the spot in front of the bike. but that b***h hit my bike and the impact BROKE my sidestand, causing the bike to fall, in turn breaking the clutch lever (now half length) and the left signal light cover. The good news is, that is all the damage, and the paintwork which i adore so much, as well as the pipes, were undamaged. Most of the impact went to the left handlebar tip, thank god. This idiot hit my bike and ran, i never knew who did it. All i know is that after dinner i got the shock of my life. Whoeever you are, i hope the things i said will happen to you and your family last night actually comes true:nono: :nono: :nono:

I had to hobble the bike back to Kallang Cycle, able to operate the clutch lever with only 2 fingers since it was so short, which was a very painful affair for me. thankfully Michael was still in the shop at 8 plus talking to his friends and I was able to leave the bike with him. He told me the sidestand bracket which broke will cost about 150 to fix. Oh well, could have been a lot worse.

Guess i will be monsterless for a while. He will probably take a while to fix the bike up and service the hell out of it as i requested earlier. Naturally it'll be a while before i can take pics of the new red seat but if any of you want you can drop by kallang cycle and see it for yourself lol.

The chrome pipes are a bit of a mystery actually, the only thing i know about them is the marking on the cans, which say 'Staintune Australia'. Other than that i'm clueless. They are not street legal but IMO look so much like the stock pipe that it would probably pass undetected in most cases i hope. They improved throttle response quite a bit in the low end, and really accentuate the wonderful growl of the Ducati L-twin. They are reasonably loud and produce a 'thub-thub-thub' kinda throbbing sound, a little like harleys