my honest and onerous advice and suggestions are as follows:

1. if you got class 2 licence, why restrict to fz1 and fjr? both are heavy and fast bikes lah.

2. if petrol is your concern, then why fz1 and fjr? both are thirsty for petrol.

3. if insurance cost is your concern, sure it is, given your age of below 30, then why fz1 and fjr? the insurance will visit you once every year like a loan shark.

4. if you have to downgrade from car to bike due to financial reason, then why fz1 and fjr? they drink the same amount like car. maintenance and road tax is as bad with fz1 slightly cheaper. unless you are downgrading from a BMW 5 series or Merc S class.

5. if you dont intend to go fast, then why fz1 and fjr? they are both fierce bikes you know.

6. if you want to feel and look good changing from car to bike, then your choice for either fz1 and fjr is damned rite. of cos fjr is the clear choice over fz1 here cos this is a fjr thread. and we love our fjr deep deep lah.

looking at your situation, you need a x1r instead. but you are welcome to join us lah. many fjrians here like you, just hanging on while petrol price keep surging.

Bro...u very correct la....I agreed with you fully..

Owned n riden/driven,

Yamaha FZ150, Honda Steed 400, Toyota Starlet, Kawa ZXR400, Honda XR400, Vespa PX150, Honda XRV750, Suzuki GSX750, Honda GL1500, Vespa PX200, Suzuki Minivan, Mazda 323, Daihatsu YRV Turbo, Toyota AE101, Yamaha FJR1300, SYM GTS 200, Volvo S60, BMW R1100RT

Current: Harley Davidson Street Glide :thumb:

• Replies 16.5k

fz1 gotta think about chain

fz1 must buy your own box

i dun think riding years count, everything is back to zero.

i think only 2 companies do fjr insurance. NTUC and Allianz.

28 yrs old expensive, last time i saw on this thread, someone was saying 1.3-1.5k 3rd party?

I just renewed the insurance. Its 500 dollars 2nd party. I am 29 this year.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d158/flareon1982/Misc/1.jpg
guys i need all your honest advice and suggestion. i m stuck between FZ1 and FJR..i like both..i m downgrading(some say upgrading) from car to bike.i had class 2 long ago,ride k1 suzuki for a few yrs b4 i changed to car..and given the recent petrol spike, i decided to sell off my car to get a class 2 bike which i choose only either FZ1 or FJR. maintainence wise which is more ex in yrs to come?i dont intend to go fast and low. and btw how much is the current insurance for 28yr old with class 2 more then 5 yrs?

I was an ex-FJR rider and currently riding FZ6.

looking at ur situtation, i wud recommend u getting FZ6 since u dun intend to go fast and slow and slightly lower maintenance.

however, Yamaha stopped production for FZ6, next best thing is XJ-6, FZ8 or get a 2nd hand FZ6.

I'm using this bike for daily riding and touring. Good enuff for both worlds. And I dun always feel the need to cross border to pump petrol.

Comparing FZ1 & FJR, hands down mite as well get a FJR. Unless u dun like fairing bike with panniers and prefer naked, FZ1 is ur choice, but fuel consumption jialat. :sian:

Juz my two cents ...

The Road less Travelled

http://multiply.com/mu/aaronazmi/image/1/photos/177/600x600/51/PIC-0105-1.JPG?et=EPg%2B7KSmSyqSCJnhbA%2C62w&nmid=309411908

thks all for your honest reply, i mention about petrol and stuff but seriously is not my 100% concern. i was quoted 1.3k for my age..and i tell u, its rubbish. dun let the shop quote for u, i went down to ntuc and called up alliance personally, i was quoted from alliance $1080..and ntuc need to wait for a day or so for underwriting. never let bike shop bluff u off.i check with some insurer personally and was told max 900+..

the reason y i downgrading from swift sports to FJR

1: i paid less on installment( paid $550 per month) now $390.

2: i pay less petrol, i can go in to 2nd link with a little petrol( not for car) i work at tuas.petrol per month for car 400 plus..i dont think FJR can over take this amount.

3: my current office req me to pay season parking for car.bike is FREE!( work $66,

4: my wife is 100% supporting this idea( she only likes FJR sitting posture)

5:i save more on road tax and car insurance.

6: FYI swift sport can consume only 98ron petrol and above.lower then that risk of pinging or knocking( do hav ppl pump lesser ron rating but god bless them)

7:i had enough of driving,MY LOVE FOR BIKING never extinguish.

yes y buy a car that can only drink 98 min.tons of reason at the time i buy.i dont regret owning one too. but i just want to save a bit more. i know risk factor has gone up but life on earth, every min is a risk.

cheers!!

and i just paid deposit for my FJR..hope to join you guys soon for kopi session. ride safe be safe.

Die hard Fan of Modern Creation Munich.

thks all for your honest reply, i mention about petrol and stuff but seriously is not my 100% concern. i was quoted 1.3k for my age..and i tell u, its rubbish. dun let the shop quote for u, i went down to ntuc and called up alliance personally, i was quoted from alliance $1080..and ntuc need to wait for a day or so for underwriting. never let bike shop bluff u off.i check with some insurer personally and was told max 900+..

2: i pay less petrol, i can go in to 2nd link with a little petrol( not for car) i work at tuas.petrol per month for car 400 plus..i dont think FJR can over take this amount.

3: my current office req me to pay season parking for car.bike is FREE!( work $66,

6: FYI swift sport can consume only 98ron petrol and above.lower then that risk of pinging or knocking( do hav ppl pump lesser ron rating but god bless them)

yes y buy a car that can only drink 98 min.tons of reason at the time i buy.i dont regret owning one too. but i just want to save a bit more. i know risk factor has gone up but life on earth, every min is a risk.

cheers!!

and i just paid deposit for my FJR..hope to join you guys soon for kopi session. ride safe be safe.

Hope to see you soon

welcome on board, andrew.

you just gotta love fjr.

cheers!!

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

cheers!!

Nice rebuke.

If you ever plan on gg above 130kph, must get FJR. I notice anything above 130 without windshield sucks. Unless you like to stick your chest to the tank.

If not, I would say FZ1 better for city riding. Naked bike servicing also easier. I've been riding FJR for more than 7 yrs but thats because its love at first sight.

For you, practicality favours FZ1. But since you already down FJR. enjoy.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

I just renewed the insurance. Its 500 dollars 2nd party. I am 29 this year.

Bro ur insurance so CHEAP ah?.. Which insurance company is this?

I just paid $1.1k for 2nd party(after 20% NCD) a month back.. Im 27 this year. And btw i went direct to NTUC.

Wondering how come the rate for NTUC differs for individual with the same age group?

Edited by Kazky

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

My connie insurance also very cheap on her second year

1st year - 1400 comprehensive

2nd year - 800 comprehensive. 650 fire and theft

from chartis.

I agreed that we shouldnt let bike shop do for us.

I just paid $1.1k for 2nd party(after 20% NCD) a month back.. Im 27 this year. And btw i went direct to NTUC.

Wondering how come the rate for NTUC differs for individual with the same age group?

i am under Liberty Insurance. This is after my NCD too.

According to 2008 manual, its 270 front and 290 rear (kPa). Although i tend to go 280f and 300r. Pressure when cold.

manual says should be 270 and 290 whether hot or cold.

strange... but i'll just follow the manual

now i am riding comfortably... finally

Age of bike is also a factor bro. Ur bike is newer. His cld have been a little older. FYI, just last Dec, I received an offer to renew frm ntuc for my FJR at $700+ for 2nd party. My bike was same age as urs and I'm abt 4 yrs older than u.

someone told me that different agents from the same company can give u different quotes...

i was re-quoted by alliance as of today's date $798 TPFT. i m only 28yo. quoteing of insurance based on the following-

1) age

2) years of licence obtained

3) class of bike

4) martial -single or married( married=more social responsible)

5) job-indoor or outdoor( outdoor tend to be more ex= more riding)

6) ever claim b4( claim how many yrs back and claim amount)

7) NCD or NCB- no claim discount / no claim bonus= both the same ( some will have loyalty discount 5% +/ - )

please correct me if i am wrong.

by the way i m a certified in general insurance.unless my memory is failing me or they keep updating, then i wont be wrong.

ride safe be safe.

i was re-quoted by alliance as of today's date $798 TPFT. i m only 28yo. quoteing of insurance based on the following-

1) age

3) class of bike

7) NCD or NCB- no claim discount / no claim bonus= both the same ( some will have loyalty discount 5% +/ - )

by the way i m a certified in general insurance.unless my memory is failing me or they keep updating, then i wont be wrong.

ride safe be safe.

Welcome bro....after all the talking, u came to the correct forum and bought the correct bike....me same situation like you...only different is that if I gonna buy a car...it will be hell more expensive then you as I'm staying at Woodlands and working at Shenton Way...

Wise choice made by a wise man...cool..

Owned n riden/driven,

Yamaha FZ150, Honda Steed 400, Toyota Starlet, Kawa ZXR400, Honda XR400, Vespa PX150, Honda XRV750, Suzuki GSX750, Honda GL1500, Vespa PX200, Suzuki Minivan, Mazda 323, Daihatsu YRV Turbo, Toyota AE101, Yamaha FJR1300, SYM GTS 200, Volvo S60, BMW R1100RT

now i can only wait for my FJR to be release from bike shop..sometimes banks are really slow in doing things..esp when they have to return u $$..well..i went down to admire my bike again..can see and touch..cant ride...earliest i foresee is thur to ride it out..gona wait gona wait..

1) age

3) class of bike

ride safe be safe.

hey bro

what ever premium bro,the price of insurance keeps going up everyyear.ride safe & enjoy.anyway 2 wheels good,4 wheels baddddddddd.cheers.

i am under Liberty Insurance. This is after my NCD too.

I tot Liberty only does continental bikes and tats y its cheap.. they also do japs bikes but more expensive compared to the rest of the insurace companies..

Seems like i got the wrong info. Damn!

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

hi everyone, i need all your opinion. i will be buying jackets, but i m quite lost for choice.mayb some of u can share your current touring jacket/ daily jackets. should i get one which is water resistant or "breath freely" types ?

pls i need all your 2 cents so that i can make it to a dollar..:)

ride safe be safe.

hi everyone, i need all your opinion. i will be buying jackets, but i m quite lost for choice.mayb some of u can share your current touring jacket/ daily jackets. should i get one which is water resistant or "breath freely" types ?

ride safe be safe.

For my personal point of views, it really depends on the frequency of your ride...for me, I wear Mesh Jacket everyday without the protectors..since I'm riding in Spore to and fro between work and home only, as for touring, I still wear Mesh but with protectors, when rain, wear raincoat over the jacket.

That's it. Simple..

Owned n riden/driven,

cheers!!

Well say dude. anyway ridding a bike is always cheaper dan a car.

hope to see u soon in tusa hehe i also working in tusa maybe next time can go pump together after work

2004 TA 200

2006 Comet GT 125

2006 Baby kawa 150 krr

2006 Honda RVF

2009 Honda CB 1000 R (The beast had been Release!)

2010 Yamaha FJR 1300

Next will it be BMW 1600 or quit ridding go for 4 wheel ???

END UP i drive :cry: but i really miss my fjr..

ride safe be safe.

u can try motorworld at lavender there.

i will only say a mesh jacket is more suitable in singapore weather.

2004 TA 200

2006 Comet GT 125

2006 Baby kawa 150 krr

2006 Honda RVF

2009 Honda CB 1000 R (The beast had been Release!)

2010 Yamaha FJR 1300

Next will it be BMW 1600 or quit ridding go for 4 wheel ???

END UP i drive :cry: but i really miss my fjr..

1) age

3) class of bike

ride safe be safe.

Kazky, that explains why your premium was so high....... Wild swinging single man....hehehe....