Originally posted by triumsg@April 24, 2007 07:28 pm

Really appreciate the comments from bros Ah Fai, Spyke and Dr Evil. I may be getting a TDM instead. Heard that getting parts and repairs can be a major problem for the Z.

i crash my z and they told me to wait at least 8 mths :faint:

when buying that time, bikeshops will tell u nice stories that within 1 mth can get any spares. bah

my fren's r1 sub frame was gone in a freak accident, roughly 1 week, yes 1 week, he got back his bike and he is a happy rider again.

http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/6264/kawasaki7an.png
  • Replies 4.7k

ya, that is the problem riding a kwak. parts parts and parts.. but if u realli dun mind, kwak makes exhilarating and 'slaps the redline silly' bikes.

so end of the day, just let the good times roll, and dun bother so much with all the other factors as yet.

been a happy owner of the zed, in terms of power and style,it will definately blow your mind away... :) but been waiting for my cam gaskets for mths, that's a real setback... :(

hi, who is the rider orangee z with akra? spotted at eunos mrt there.. 10+pm.. me and my gf were looking at u haha.. wanted to say hi but too far away liao...

HI~

Originally posted by triumsg@April 24, 2007 07:28 pm

Really appreciate the comments from bros Ah Fai, Spyke and Dr Evil. I may be getting a TDM instead. Heard that getting parts and repairs can be a major problem for the Z.

yeah, you may face these problems as you own the Zed in the future.

Can I say its the characteristic of having a kawasaki bikes~? :lol:

But because of these that makes a Zed a rare bike on Singapore Road, a trademark of individual rider, when you see certain bike rolling on the road, you will know who is the rider :lol:

Good luck for your next buy :thumb:

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

Current ride: Harley Wide Glide, Aprilia Tuono V4R

Originally posted by KuKuBird@April 24, 2007 08:09 pm

i crash my z and they told me to wait at least 8 mths :faint:

when buying that time, bikeshops will tell u nice stories that within 1 mth can get any spares. bah

my fren's r1 sub frame was gone in a freak accident, roughly 1 week, yes 1 week, he got back his bike and he is a happy rider again.

haha :sweat: so your case settle already?

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

need steel hoses & brake n clutch levers fast. anyone recommend a place?

i can think of motorworld only..

anyway...pads still thick n juicy, lever fully extended but front stock brakes mushy

rear good, doesnt take too much stomp to lock & slide.

2 fingers clutch n braking is funny, when pulled in, gap too small for the other 2 fingers gripping the bars.

or maybe i got 2oo many fingers..

stock pipes look killer... only they sound too friendly.

t h i s f r i c k i n b i k e r o c k s.

oh yes..one more thing, is it just me, or is everyone staring at this thing?

***Only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

http://pistolwhipsite.blogspot.com/

the original z1's brakes are rather mushy.. nthing a good pair of brakehoses can't help..or you can get a pair of 636's forks off ebay... worth every cent...

http://www.beepworld.de/memberdateien/members39/z1000/auspuff1.jpg

I miss my golden pipes...

Originally posted by Dr. Evil@April 25, 2007 12:41 pm

need steel hoses & brake n clutch levers fast. anyone recommend a place?

i can think of motorworld only..

anyway...pads still thick n juicy, lever fully extended but front stock brakes mushy

rear good, doesnt take too much stomp to lock & slide.

2 fingers clutch n braking is funny, when pulled in, gap too small for the other 2 fingers gripping the bars.

or maybe i got 2oo many fingers..

stock pipes look killer... only they sound too friendly.

t h i s f r i c k i n b i k e r o c k s.

oh yes..one more thing, is it just me, or is everyone staring at this thing?

I will recommend you to Alex at Motor Factor,

a number of Kawasaki bikes are done by him :smile:

Ah Xiong at Unity can do it too~~

They do good breeding, their skill is good but you will have to let them know early cause they will have to order steel hose for you, most properly they don't have stock... I don't know you will have any discount if you say my name, haha :lol:

and no worries, you will get a lot of attention :thumb:

the original z1's brakes are rather mushy.. nthing a good pair of brakehoses can't help..or you can get a pair of 636's forks off ebay... worth every cent...

yup, that too....i noticed the stock front dive a bit under heavy brakes. 636 shock can handle the weight?

will recommend you to Alex at Motor Factor,

a number of Kawasaki bikes are done by him

Ah Xiong at Unity can do it too~~

They do good breeding, their skill is good but you will have to let them know early cause they will have to order steel hose for you, most properly they don't have stock... I don't know you will have any discount if you say my name, haha

where are these places? previously went only to authorised service center... but we're talkin kwaka's now, can anyone say lousy product support?

and no worries, you will get a lot of attention

so they ARE staring! :eek:

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

Originally posted by KuKuBird@April 25, 2007 11:04 am

hi, who is the rider orangee z with akra? spotted at eunos mrt there.. 10+pm.. me and my gf were looking at u haha.. wanted to say hi but too far away liao...

HI~

bro, it's me la.. heading to katong laksa for makan.. :smile: aniwae, how's ur zed???? :confused:

Originally posted by Dr. Evil@April 25, 2007 09:01 pm

where are these places? previously went only to authorised service center... but we're talkin kwaka's now, can anyone say lousy product support?

Unity motor at Blk 1008, Bukit Merah Lane 3 #01-16 -- Ah Xiong

Motor Factor, Block 3006, Ubi Road 1 --- Alex (forget the unit no.. but quite easy to find)

Well, I would say that its better for you to try out their services for comparison to the kawa agent, may be all of them are as good, yet individual may have their own taste, like location, the environment & of course, the mechanic.

Alex & Ah Xiong knows each other, both of them had went for the Dyno run courses in the US, which only a handful of skilled mechanic went..

Yes, they are staring :lol:

Or put in other way, if you don't want to get attention, I think you better sell your Zed away :lol:

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/AWOuting25.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/WTF108.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/Turtle.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/WTF126.jpg

Originally posted by Ah Fai@April 26, 2007 11:50 am

Or put in other way, if you don't want to get attention, I think you better sell your Zed away :lol:

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/AWOuting25.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/WTF108.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/Turtle.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i5/Fai_photo/WTF126.jpg

whoa..so very pretty...

and the girls are nice too.

yup, that too....i noticed the stock front dive a bit under heavy brakes. 636 shock can handle the weight?

Hi there all

Hello Dr.Evil

If you cannot get 636 forks off ebay, you could try to redo your fork spring and valves, customise to your body weight here locally at BikeLab and they can do your hoses too.

Cheers:thumb:

Originally posted by Zedlite@April 26, 2007 04:44 pm

Hi there all

Hello Dr.Evil

If you cannot get 636 forks off ebay, you could try to redo your fork spring and valves, customise to your body weight here locally at BikeLab and they can do your hoses too.

Cheers:thumb:

& the next question..

wheres bikelab & who do i look for?o_O

anyway during tea break just now i reset damping two turns out from full soft & preload at 16mm (3 marks)

will try it tonight on way home & update.

anyone got ideas? whats the normal setting assuming the forks internals are tip top?

normal as in "stay there! dont do the pogo while daddy on/off the throttle mid corner"

Originally posted by ColourBlind@April 25, 2007 08:32 pm

Hey bro.(Z1boy)..........it been a long time since mt up wif u.........how life bro n ur Z1?:smile:

yo good life lah.. hahaha... neva see u for abt half a year??

636 forks offer greater range of adjustment, more predictable, and the radial brakes are great!

the shock alone save u 1kg over the stock, and is much firmer..

http://www.beepworld.de/memberdateien/members39/z1000/auspuff1.jpg

I miss my golden pipes...

my bike long time ago gone le :D

i still have the zx10r suspension not fitted on my z before at all... its 2nd hand shipped from usa.. selling 150sgd. my loss is ur gain.. i got that for more than 150+usd.. shipping damn ex :(

Originally posted by Dr. Evil@April 26, 2007 07:09 pm

wheres bikelab & who do i look for?

normal as in "stay there! dont do the pogo while daddy on/off the throttle mid corner"

Hi Dr.Evil

Bikelab is at Serangoon Road, before Mah Motor. Its among the 2 storey shophouses on the right just before the big drain. Anyway they've got a web page, bikelab.com.sg . Look for Joshua or Thamo, tell them crazy seaman recommend you.

p.s. I used to experience the pogo while cornering and its not very nice.

Originally posted by KuKuBird@April 26, 2007 08:33 pm

my bike long time ago gone le :D

i still have the zx10r suspension not fitted on my z before at all... its 2nd hand shipped from usa.. selling 150sgd. my loss is ur gain.. i got that for more than 150+usd.. shipping damn ex :(

hmmm... definately cannot fix on a Harley, I guess :lol:

Hi Dr.Evil

Bikelab is at Serangoon Road, before Mah Motor. Its among the 2 storey shophouses on the right just before the big drain. Anyway they've got a web page, bikelab.com.sg . Look for Joshua or Thamo, tell them crazy seaman recommend you.

p.s. I used to experience the pogo while cornering and its not very nice.

oh....i know that place...same row as JR..always has a couple of kwaks parked outside..

called them & spoke to joshua. stigler brand brake hoses, price is ok, but dont know much about this brand. opinions anyone?

anyway been fiddling with the front end & feels better, but still havent whacked proper corners...so... dunno yet...

will fiddle with the rear end & keep updates.

Originally posted by Dr. Evil@April 27, 2007 12:30 pm

oh....i know that place...same row as JR..always has a couple of kwaks parked outside..

called them & spoke to joshua. stigler brand brake hoses, price is ok, but dont know much about this brand. opinions anyone?

anyway been fiddling with the front end & feels better, but still havent whacked proper corners...so... dunno yet...

will fiddle with the rear end & keep updates.

Cool, ride safe :thumb:

heres an update..went to 2nd link saturday

fork preload full clock & damping full counterclockw.

mono preload 3 turns clockw. from full counterclockw. & damping 3/4 clockw. from full counterclockw. (???)

slightl weave from 190 onwards..felt like i was riding the africa twin.

but the good news is the engine kicks like a frickin rocket.

tomorrow anyone up for a day trip to ayer papan? twisty test?

ayer papan