Honda RVF400/NC35

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Apr 13 2004, 09:21 PM

not s4 meh?? *wink*

so far only s4 "play" with me.. no idea y they did tat also..

got 1 with 2 sideboxes wor.. hmm rem 1 PGM, 1 malaysia TZM.. bo liao

e rest s4.. mayb they noe i dun like s4 hahahhaah..

no offence to those ridin s4.. :smile:

Oh yea! that idiot that nearly buanged beside me in the corner to BKE. remember i told u he skidded his tires?

that guy oso off the charts guai lan. try to cut us so close in the corners. what was he thinkin? :confused:

Ken Posted on Apr 13 2004, 11:21 PM

so got S4 lap me i noe who liao

aiya..u can easily smoke any 2As with yr New bike la..

Btw..dude....will try to email today. But problem IS; this americans are lazy ppl la..usually take them many days to reply one. so PLS! tell me yr budget for the stickers in SG or USA currency!! i may go down 2molo liao.

RVfians

frankly speaking,i still cannot feel the power of V4 over the year plus.haha.i find that the pickup of vtec2 and V4 is almost the same leh,when got 1 time try with spec2 on the road on a standstill on a red light.somemore, my bike sprocket very big liao,you know what?my pick up and the spec 2 almost the same leh. Also tried with a hurricane.Seems like this hurricane faster than me leh on pickup.haha.So cant really feel that V4 is superior than other engine.Anybody care to comment about this let alone my riding skills perhapes?

hmm..nobody here feels V4 is 'far superior' la. it really is not. its just special to some of us...well..to me at least. RVF is a great bike to me just that in the ponies department, its not that mind-boggling fantastic like say....a CBR1000RR??

:cheeky: ..because it lacks the CCs. just look at its bigger bro..the RC45...750cc!! thaz where the difference is. with that much horsepower coupled with a V4, it offers both good traction and very usable midrange torque, not to mention easier flickability due to its lower positioned engine for better centre of gravity. and that made it a class winner.

all that goody tok of the advantage of a v4 engine really refers to those higher capacity bikes which can fully exploit a Vee Engine config with that class of power. Well Above 130HP kind.

translate all that advantage to our underpowered 400cc pocketbike? its still easier to flick (notice i use the word 'easier' and not 'better'. u nvr know who is monitoring our thread..hehehehe..so no flames pls) due to its upside down forks and all.... feels smaller becoz its v4 engine is compact widthwise and oso very good and smooth pull due to its midrange characteristic. so in this respect, i feel the RVF400 excels in handling. definitely not horsepower.

The hurricane that beat you is er...how should i say.... LI SHUO DAN RAN (The way it should be) becoz the Hurricane model was not affected by the JApanese 400cc manufacturing law in the early ninties that requires all 400s to be limited to a 56-59 HP. Our RVF400 is affected by that d@med law! so unless u have big sprocks and full yoshi exhausts system, HRC ignition loom and CDI, HRC airbox, HRC jettings that are all superbly tuned......DONT feel bad about it.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by Rvfians@Apr 13 2004, 07:30 PM

Wat you talking abt leh?hehe.Me is ex hokkien peng in army i also don understand.

simply means i lost....hiaz!!!:cry:

they using dog fight pipe...thats all i can see!!!

Originally posted by Shay@Apr 13 2004, 11:53 PM

hmm..nobody here feels V4 is 'far superior' la. it really is not. its just special to some of us...well..to me at least. RVF is a great bike to me just that in the ponies department, its not that mind-boggling fantastic like say....a CBR1000RR??

:cheeky: ..because it lacks the CCs. just look at its bigger bro..the RC45...750cc!! thaz where the difference is. with that much horsepower coupled with a V4, it offers both good traction and very usable midrange torque, not to mention easier flickability due to its lower positioned engine for better centre of gravity. and that made it a class winner.

all that goody tok of the advantage of a v4 engine really refers to those higher capacity bikes which can fully exploit a Vee Engine config with that class of power. Well Above 130HP kind.

translate all that advantage to our underpowered 400cc pocketbike? its still easier to flick (notice i use the word 'easier' and not 'better'. u nvr know who is monitoring our thread..hehehehe..so no flames pls) due to its upside down forks and all.... feels smaller becoz its v4 engine is compact widthwise and oso very good and smooth pull due to its midrange characteristic. so in this respect, i feel the RVF400 excels in handling. definitely not horsepower.

The hurricane that beat you is er...how should i say.... LI SHUO DAN RAN (The way it should be) becoz the Hurricane model was not affected by the JApanese 400cc manufacturing law in the early ninties that requires all 400s to be limited to a 56-59 HP. Our RVF400 is affected by that d@med law! so unless u have big sprocks and full yoshi exhausts system, HRC ignition loom and CDI, HRC airbox, HRC jettings that are all superbly tuned......DONT feel bad about it.

:clapping: :clapping: well said.. makes me feel tt the amount i spent on my rvf is so much worth it (though i knwo u din say anything 'nice' abt rvf in this part la ..haha).. i tmakes me feel tt rvf is indeed 'special' :cheeky:

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 13 2004, 11:41 PM

anyone here knows how to 'hear' or check if all your 4 chambers are combusting and tt no plugs has fused out? coz i know tt the bike can still run with say jus three plugs alive ...

u will feel the diff when one of ur plugs is spolit cos its quite a big diff

GhostRider3 Is Out For more info or a copy can PM me.

Originally posted by Marcng@Apr 14 2004, 02:14 AM

u will feel the diff when one of ur plugs is spolit cos its quite a big diff

not really leh .. there was once one of my plug was fused .. but i din felt anything

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 14 2004, 02:25 AM

not really leh .. there was once one of my plug was fused .. but i din felt anything

dunno leh from wat i noe is the speed will be slower not so powerful ur bike

GhostRider3 Is Out For more info or a copy can PM me.

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by Ken@Apr 13 2004, 11:21 PM

so got S4 lap me i noe who liao.:sian:

:bow: :bow: :bow: you are too kind :bow: :bow: :bow:

if i can even catch up with u, i'll shout this @ u.

ROD LOHHHHH

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 14 2004, 12:41 AM

anyone here knows how to 'hear' or check if all your 4 chambers are combusting and tt no plugs has fused out? coz i know tt the bike can still run with say jus three plugs alive ...

check ya RPM.if its not always constant when idleing then the carb need to be re-tune liao..

whens the last time u wash n tune ya carb?

for the sparks plug, u will feel a obvious drop in power n bursting.

do a good tunning and ya plug will not fail ya

speed will be affected when ya plug foul and u will notice that u tend to throttle more than last time to maintain ya daily commuting speed

ok..some ppl were wondering abt the type of spark plugs ( known as S.P hereafter for laziness sake) to use on yr v4s??

some of u guys remember the horrible experience i had at a certain motordiam right?? remember i told u guys my bike backfired, sputters, chokes, wont rev properly thruout the rpm range and kept jerkin??

part of the cause was WRONG S.Ps used. and the S.Ps was????? DENSO!!! tha part number when i took out was wrong whereas the motordaim ppl claimed they use it on thier customer RVF. well..cant argue with facts as i had the Haynes RVF manual. and it states there the only part numbers of SPs that RVF can use.

lesson learnt. i stick to NGKs now.

forget about what IRIDIUM la.. rvf engine and carbs is very sensitive one. spark plug dun any old how change, if u even as put it back without screwin on tight enuff will give u problems too. stick to stock is best.

to me even changin to BOSCH 4 point IRIDUIM or Platinuim tip or whatever sparkies oso no use one...at least no significant difference to me. unless u have a aftermarket MSD (for cars) sparks generator to match, i advise u forget it. believe me, i tried on my car before and only difference it made was a hole in my pocket.

down here, the team believes Stock is Best. :thumb:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by Marcng@Apr 14 2004, 02:40 AM

dunno leh from wat i noe is the speed will be slower not so powerful ur bike

but wont the remaining 3 chambers compensate for the lost power by having more fuel consumption or higher rev..ie putting stress on them

ever since tt tiem my plug fues.. i am always worried tt i will be on 3 plugs all the time and putting stress on the engine and tt the faulty chamber might have overflowed carb..coz tt time my plug fused is coz of tt

Originally posted by FR3E@Apr 14 2004, 10:04 AM

speed will be affected when ya plug foul and u will notice that u tend to throttle more than last time to maintain ya daily commuting speed

does it mean a higher rev for the same previous speed or jus open throttle more but rpm still the same for same speed?

recently i felt my bike not too responsive.. will feel a very short lag b4 the power comes in when i throttle..wonder wat is the prob

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 14 2004, 02:54 PM

does it mean a higher rev for the same previous speed or jus open throttle more but rpm still the same for same speed?

recently i felt my bike not too responsive.. will feel a very short lag b4 the power comes in when i throttle..wonder wat is the prob

the feeling of dragging is experience the responsive of he bike then slowly move up.

so will the rpm b high?

maybe u use a ESSO 8000 and a ESSO 2000.

ESSO 2000 has no power and u need to throttle let say example 1/2 throttle then they slowly move up while ESSO 8000 is just a twist of throttle and it will shoot up oready.

the difference is like that.

so it will have a high rev :)

Originally posted by Rvfians@Apr 13 2004, 07:29 PM

mine sprocket is this size you mention leh.14T and rear is 42T if i am not wrong.keke.Change in MSC almost a year ago.Afam brand.Very shiok in the pickup.But wear and tear surely very fast.

Yr shaft never spoil mah coz orginal ( 15 T ) :confused:

StRaIgHt RoAd Is FoR KiDs ....... BuT CoRnErS Is FoR RaCeRs

recently up above, my post got say i got to change spark plug and tune carb remember.

when i was going to do that the next day, when i start bike and move off, evevrything go back to normal.

what i suspect is cos bike kanna rain the whole day and water somehow got into the spark plug and when i ride, when i rev, the sound is more noisier and bike no power, symtom of a spark plug blown and my carb oso tuning like all gone and the idling needle like taken ecstacy and like got 1 piston not working. then next day maybe the water dry up liao and can work. the difference of blown spark plug is very big. u should noe it.

when idling needle moving like shake head, should be carb tuning gone liao. but fo rme is plug malfunctioned for a while.

the fuel used oso got difference.

V power definitely so far is the best

caltex platanium can make u feel the pull

mobile synergy8000 make bike feel powerful, like very solid, dun noe how to explain the feeling but make bike hot fast.

its best to stick to a motorshop u think is quite good liao and they will try not to chop u. if keep shop hopping oso can, but u must be equid with some knowledge at least to prevent kanna chop. and always keep a lookout on ur bike!~

eh cookiesol, spec 2 rear spocket is how big huh? 45 teeth? my friend ride spec 2 oso dun noe. should be 40 rite? cos i think 45 for 2A bike wah sei, super big leh.

vroomvroom, when u normal rev on standstill cannnot really hear the soun dbut when moving off, the sound can be heard.

always listen hard to ur engine and soon when nextt ime ur engine got a flu only u will noe, but u might become paranoid like cheh san and me last time. hahahahahaha.

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 14 2004, 02:25 AM

how u noe ur spark spoil then?

u got see the spark urself?

if no, the mech told u?

hehehe kanna chop liao?

when spark plug spoil, there's no way u cannot detect it, unless ur mind is wondering on something else.

Originally posted by CookieSoL@Apr 14 2004, 09:44 AM

:bow: :bow: :bow: you are too kind :bow: :bow: :bow:

if i can even catch up with u, i'll shout this @ u.

ROD LOHHHHH

then i will noe who again.:sian:

Originally posted by Ken@Apr 13 2004, 07:50 PM

u every gear rev till 14500 still lose then change ur piston block and piston ring seal and piston may help.. really, no joke.

i dun think ur spocket is 42, should be 40 bah.

is ur clutch control good?

gear changing speed fast?

when u change gear, ur rpm drop how much?

when u twist that throttle, not just twist u noe.

the bikes u mentioned so far is of same caliper with us.

cannot just becos that we are of a special make engine, doesn't mean we are not in the same caliper mah.

if we can win by big margin, then we r 500cc lor.

so ultimately, its the rider skill that counts.

Oic.Main thing is i never drag untill 14.5rpm.haha.scare damage the bike.If drag too much,the engine sounds terrible leh.norm i drag untill 8 only even if play with other bikes on the road.As for you mention change block,piston and piston real seal,i guess surely burn a hole in my pocket.My sprocket size not too sure,but i know bigger than 40T.Free can go SP count my sprocket teeth,since we study there.haha.I always park near fc4.Goin to shout ORD LOH again when i grad from SP soon in a month.:cheer: :cheer:

Originally posted by Ken@Apr 13 2004, 08:27 PM

oso go at 80km/h ah...

sure or not?get CBR1k go at 80km/h?can fall asleep liao.the bike surely get overheated easily.i norm go at average of 120km/h also can feel the heat from my rvf liao.haha.:sleep:

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 13 2004, 11:32 PM

well.. think v4 isn't abt pickup ..it's about handling and somemore the posture for rvf is superb .. try riding other sportsbike then switch to rvf.. u will like rvf much much more

jungle boy : dun mind visiting bikemania.. which hospital and how's his condition liao. how did u know abt his accident by the way ?

Ya,i agree with you that rvf handling is good compare to other sport bikes,which i cannot deny.But i donno why sometime squesse between cars also will kiss other car mirror with my mirror,which i seldom encounter this during my eight years of riding of 2B sportbike.haha.We cannot ride like all those johorians on their cup kia,manouve very easily between traffic jams just like a snake.

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 13 2004, 11:41 PM

from my frd experience,if 1 of the plugs fail,the bike will have no power and the sound will be more or less different.

Originally posted by Shay@Apr 13 2004, 11:53 PM

jialat liao,next time see hurricane must siam liao,after hearing what you say.haha.if not kenna makan by them again.And also don let them know that we are at a disadvantage,if not they sure yaya always want to chio us run if there is a girl riding pillon.:cheeky:

Originally posted by zookeeper@Apr 14 2004, 01:43 AM

simply means i lost....hiaz!!!:cry:

they using dog fight pipe...thats all i can see!!!

Oh,now i know the meaning.even the rear headlight of pgm you also cannot see ah?only can smell the exhaust.thats sad leh.Maybe can improve on your riding skills?no offence taken ya.:cheer:

becos u seldom rev till 14500 k rpm thats why bike sound horrible.

the top part of ur piston think rust liao lah. hehehe, joking.

1st, 2nd, 3rd gear drag till 14500k rpm once in a while mah.