Honda RVF400/NC35

Originally posted by il4@Sep 1 2004, 02:15 AM

I'm i'm you, riding on a 400cc....i stil opt for H rated tires.....

as for how long it last, this is a very tough question to answer, coz of they we we ride varies from one individual to another......

and that is one aspect by judging from a tire profile if its healthy or not....

another aspect can be healthy profile, but totally fooked rubber compound, and the biggest culprit is oxidation....

you raise your concern with regards to mileage of the tires.....

theres one forumer who runs on a pair of BT090Pro and he went on a trip up north....a long trip up north, and have vouch for the tire.....

my personal preference have to be Dunlop GPR70SP, great feel great grip, cheaper then M1, perform better then M1.

perhaps u like to try a set of H rated tires to clear your doubts

oh ya...i notice u runs M1 on your NC35....running on 160 60/17 rear?

and whats your tire pressure you use? for both front and rear

then how u think abt pirelli dragon , i now using it :smile: and it also very cheap

StRaIgHt RoAd Is FoR KiDs ....... BuT CoRnErS Is FoR RaCeRs

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by Shay@Sep 1 2004, 07:28 PM

hey IL4,

i guess different ppl have diff experiences with tyres. and u are right, this matter is subjective and it all depends on our riding styles, frequency, etc etc...

I'm running my M1s on 150 rears. pressure i last check was 33 PSI.

160s look better lah but RVFs have a tendency for 160s to rub up against chain if using a X-chain. Also 150s respond faster and leans easier in corners.

Very heavy if using 160 rear

btw, ghost i dun think my tires can last another year. the most another 9 months.

just now check thread, abt 5mm thread on the centre only.

too much straight line riding liao... o_O

if this month keep on raining, it'll be more straight line riding with leaning angle not exceeding 10 degrees! hehe....

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Guest rvf666hell

hi to people in here ...... wish to know who got the rvf manual , can offer me to photocopy 1 ..... wish to learn more .... or i can pay to buy it .... heard that people in here have it ..... please pm me or msg me @ 94858258 ... thank

Originally posted by Eugene@Sep 2 2004, 07:09 PM

hi to people in here ...... wish to know who got the rvf manual , can offer me to photocopy 1 ..... wish to learn more .... or i can pay to buy it .... heard that people in here have it ..... please pm me or msg me @ 94858258 ... thank

------->>>>> DLM have it!!

u might wana PM him see if he have any more extra copies anot. i bought mine from him.

Originally posted by Shay@Sep 2 2004, 09:24 PM

------->>>>> DLM have it!!

u might wana PM him see if he have any more extra copies anot. i bought mine from him.

haha he sell me his last copy liao :sorry:

Originally posted by il4@Sep 3 2004, 02:32 AM

Pirelli Dragon MTR01/02 - good value for money...grips very well in the cold but tends to fade when its overheated

u talking abt tend to fade when overheated .... is it wear out very fast :confused:

i use this four month plus now bald liao , is time to change here come $$$$$ again :weep:

Originally posted by Shay@Sep 2 2004, 06:43 PM

btw, ghost i dun think my tires can last another year. the most another 9 months.

just now check thread, abt 5mm thread on the centre only.

too much straight line riding liao... o_O

if this month keep on raining, it'll be more straight line riding with leaning angle not exceeding 10 degrees! hehe....

U can try to corner but not straight road maybe it last 1yr :sian: :sian:

Originally posted by il4@Sep 3 2004, 12:12 PM

what tire pressure are u using for your MTR01/02?

How often you check your tire pressure, whats the measuring apparatus u use for peforming that check?

How much Mileage on your MTR01/02?

Overheating is ONE of the MANY FACTORS that speed up tire wear

33 psi... how often check i also forget liao :sweat: ....

i often pillon people and somemore workplace at LCK where i stay at bedok

Originally posted by RVFridder@Sep 3 2004, 02:46 PM

benson, are you ridding a fp rvf. i think i saw u on mon nite. wearing a white helmet and tinted visor. is that u?:cheeky:

Think u saw the wrong person, I wear a black helmet. mine's a baby blue wid black

I LOVE my R1!!!:shades:

Originally posted by Shay@Aug 29 2004, 02:02 PM

oooh! EXcel is not our blacklist shop so iz ok. $290 for Sportec is ok lah.. i did mine for $320!! Nahbehz!

next time i need to change tires can intro me to the shop to get a good deal? cause very few shops do wheel balancings for pro-arm bikes :weep:

Shay, r u riding RVF plate no FQ 2305?Cos this morning i saw an RVF rider with a helmet airsprayed "Shay".

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

:giddy: waa!! Chia pai tio aim liao! jialat! dun stalk me :help: !!

hehehe..just kidding.

Yea lah! thaz me lor. I think Ghostrider at 1st oso knew me by my 'cartoon' helmet. Hey, im curious where u saw me ah? coz I'm quite sure this morning i didnt see any other RVFs on my way to work leh? only see alot alot alot of smokey, noisy and buzzy Kupkias.... :sian:

Originally posted by GhostRider17@Sep 3 2004, 11:58 AM

U can try to corner but not straight road maybe it last 1yr :sian: :sian:

waa! like this i'll be riding in circles to get to work! hahaha...!

anyway... what is the rating on yr tires? H or Z? y so fast wear out?

IL4, regarding Dunlops 070s, it is no doubt hands down the best value for $$ tires out there. i think many rvfians here swear by tis brand too. hehe..ask Buzzbeam!

But many complained that dunlops tend to wear unevenly and has a problem of warping out of shape sometimes . especially so if the rider dun play much corners. or perhaps those are just bad examples of dunlop e.g expired tires, bad storage conditions before sale etc i dunno.

For me i prefer Metz tires. i am monitoring my tires wear n tear to see if it is worth it for the next round of change.

has anyone try changing ur rear wheel bearing. clifford told me that the thing come as a whole piece and cost a few hundred dollar. when i lift the rear of my bike to turn the rear wheel, there is this tuck tuck......tuck...... sound. anyone have the same problem???

http://powersports.honda.com/images/model/c028_029_030_031_photos_all/motorcycles/2005/CBR1000RR/LargeHoriz/CBR1000RR_large_03.jpg
Originally posted by Shay@Sep 3 2004, 09:00 PM

:giddy: waa!! Chia pai tio aim liao! jialat! dun stalk me :help: !!

hehehe..just kidding.

Yea lah! thaz me lor. I think Ghostrider at 1st oso knew me by my 'cartoon' helmet. Hey, im curious where u saw me ah? coz I'm quite sure this morning i didnt see any other RVFs on my way to work leh? only see alot alot alot of smokey, noisy and buzzy Kupkias.... :sian:

I saw u travelling along Sungei Tengah Rd.I was the one wearing a Rossi Replica FF,in Civil Defence uniform.Riding a FS black RVF.The KJE was espcially congested today.

BTW,where you airbrush yr helmet?How much?

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Originally posted by Hyde81@Sep 3 2004, 10:48 PM

has anyone try changing ur rear wheel bearing. clifford told me that the thing come as a whole piece and cost a few hundred dollar. when i lift the rear of my bike to turn the rear wheel, there is this tuck tuck......tuck...... sound. anyone have the same problem???

my one lift rear n turn the wheel got this tuck tuck sound but den the sound is from the chain. tucktuck!!

I LOVE my R1!!!:shades:

Originally posted by Hyde81@Sep 3 2004, 10:48 PM

wat i know rear wheel bearing will not easily spoil one or front one easily spoil .... y dun u try other shop check wat's happening :smile: and wat u say tuck tuck sound is it come out from chain if chain loose tighten it ...

Maybe is not tat problem leh

Originally posted by il4@Sep 4 2004, 04:14 AM

if u follow haynes manual for NC35, ya looking at 33psi front and 36psi rear (starting guide)

so u mention that u pillion alot and u have to commute quite a distance to and fro

so all these factors contributes to tire wear ya....

may i know what other tires have you use on your NC35?

i use before 010 tires , tat one really damm lousy :sian: but tat one last me one year plus after i change to dragon tires the feeling totally different , jungleboy also using it :smile:

i see most of Gpr70 tires look like keep very long time one :sian: on some of the shop .....

Originally posted by y2kredbull@Sep 3 2004, 11:00 PM

I saw u travelling along Sungei Tengah Rd.I was the one wearing a Rossi Replica FF,in Civil Defence uniform.Riding a FS black RVF.The KJE was espcially congested today.

BTW,where you airbrush yr helmet?How much?

i also travel at Sungei Tengah Rd everyday one leh then do u saw me :cheeky:

Originally posted by GhostRider17@Sep 4 2004, 09:21 AM

i also travel at Sungei Tengah Rd everyday one leh then do u saw me :cheeky:

R u riding original paintwork,wearing open face with tinted visor?Saw a rider coming from direction of jln bahar coming to the sungei tengah army camp.

Originally posted by Shay@Sep 3 2004, 10:09 PM

waa! like this i'll be riding in circles to get to work! hahaha...!

anyway... what is the rating on yr tires? H or Z? y so fast wear out?

IL4, regarding Dunlops 070s, it is no doubt hands down the best value for $$ tires out there. i think many rvfians here swear by tis brand too. hehe..ask Buzzbeam!

But many complained that dunlops tend to wear unevenly and has a problem of warping out of shape sometimes . especially so if the rider dun play much corners. or perhaps those are just bad examples of dunlop e.g expired tires, bad storage conditions before sale etc i dunno.

For me i prefer Metz tires. i am monitoring my tires wear n tear to see if it is worth it for the next round of change.

un even wearage due to wrong psi?

Any of u bros here will be goin up to watch the motogp in Oct?Or anyone interested?Cos I am thinkin of rentin a car to go there but do not know the way there?Anyone interested then maybe can share the car and go up.Any other suggestions?

Originally posted by y2kredbull@Sep 4 2004, 12:40 PM

R u riding original paintwork,wearing open face with tinted visor?Saw a rider coming from direction of jln bahar coming to the sungei tengah army camp.

blue & white design colour , i now seldom wear tint liao, maybe one day we will meet on the road... :smile: