• Replies 3.9k

Hi there, does any of you did the overhauls for SP at planet? What is the price?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

frankly i do not know the price but u can leave ur bike there without being worried or risk getting chopped off bro..

only started to go this shop on december last year, but the reception I got was like I have been to their shop a long time. they give off a slightly 'rough' but friendly vibe. I never went to other shops since then.

Hi all.. im new here..

Is ah chong able to accept putting bike at his place till its all done before collect ?

yeah. and if the bike is not fit for riding, he wont push it out

Sorry to post such a post.....

Hi Fellow bikers, I’m posting this to warn all local riders to veer clear of a lemon bike dealer (Wing Fuat at Sims Place and his workshop at Blk 3020A, Ubi Ave 1). He’s a full on liar and a conman (Ng). Here’s my story;

I’ve been a rider for many years and recently made the decision to upgrade to a class2 bike. I visited his shop after seeing an ad for this class 2 bike online. He assuranced that this bike is in decent condition and not one that would break down. I even told him if minor issues I don’t mind as expected for 2nd hand bikes and he confirmed this. I asked for discount but he didn’t reduce from asking price. That is okay as long bike runs okay, I told him. So I went on to buy this 2nd hand bike, paying 12k in total. He asked to collect the bike a few days later from his workshop outlet, which I did. One would expect the bike to be serviced up to ridable condition as if the bike is not in good condition, it’s a risk to the rider, correct or not!

Just days after talking ownership of the bike, the bike started smoking from the engine area just 3 mins into warming up the bike at carpark, brakes were almost non –existent, and suspension was highly sketchy. So I go back to the workshop to tell of the issues as I was given 1 month come back if bike got problems. When I went to the shop and explained to the workshop, the mechanic, under the instruction from the “pretend to be sleeping on chair” boss at he shop and tells me to let the brakes to wear in for some days. And just nodded his head when I told him about the smoke/steam coming from the engine area and that was it. So I carry on riding the bike in the hope that these issues will go off from daily use. After another 3 days, it was getting worse, more smoke, brakes bloody useless and suspension to precarious to even consider slightly bending around corners. So again I bring the bike to the workshop. This time, the mech takes out the brake pads, go in and than come back to put back the brake pads. And than he says give 1 monthfor the brakes to kick in effectively. 1 MONTH !? Use my legs to brake isit in the meanwhile? Riding a big CC bike, you would expect the brakes to be an important factor in your safety and to have a 85% off deficient brakes could cost my life in case of emergency. Another few days passed and while riding around town, the bike started to over heat and when I stopped to let the bike cool down, the radiator burst, spewing extremely hot fluids all over my legs. Bike was out. I had to have the bike towed. So enough was enough, I sent the bike to another workshop, recommended by fellow biker friends.

After talking to this recommended workshop, I found out that the bike’s inside is all very bad condition. A lot of efforts were taken to hide/mask problems with bike. Front forks seals gone plus severe metal to metal contact damages, radiator out, coil gone, engine top warp, instead of using gaskets to seal, the bloody dealer had used rubber sealant to temporarily stop the smoke from coming out so when potential buyers test start the bike, the smoke will be contained till sold. The list of repairs were literally 1 full page long. All in all the damages/repairs cost me another $5k, on top of having paid 12k for the bike. And the dealer didn’t evening give discount while buying the bike. I talked to a few other very well respected bike mechanics and all said that this was blatant and low ball by the dealer. So pls beware of this and other such vermit of a dealers. Peace out.

Hi Fellow bikers, I’m posting this to warn all local riders to veer clear of a lemon bike dealer (Wing Fuat at Sims Place and his workshop at Blk 3020A, Ubi Ave 1). He’s a full on liar and a conman (Ng). Here’s my story;

I’ve been a rider for many years and recently made the decision to upgrade to a class2 bike. I visited his shop after seeing an ad for this class 2 bike online. He assuranced that this bike is in decent condition and not one that would break down. I even told him if minor issues I don’t mind as expected for 2nd hand bikes and he confirmed this. I asked for discount but he didn’t reduce from asking price. That is okay as long bike runs okay, I told him. So I went on to buy this 2nd hand bike, paying 12k in total. He asked to collect the bike a few days later from his workshop outlet, which I did. One would expect the bike to be serviced up to ridable condition as if the bike is not in good condition, it’s a risk to the rider, correct or not!

Just days after talking ownership of the bike, the bike started smoking from the engine area just 3 mins into warming up the bike at carpark, brakes were almost non –existent, and suspension was highly sketchy. So I go back to the workshop to tell of the issues as I was given 1 month come back if bike got problems. When I went to the shop and explained to the workshop, the mechanic, under the instruction from the “pretend to be sleeping on chair” boss at he shop and tells me to let the brakes to wear in for some days. And just nodded his head when I told him about the smoke/steam coming from the engine area and that was it. So I carry on riding the bike in the hope that these issues will go off from daily use. After another 3 days, it was getting worse, more smoke, brakes bloody useless and suspension to precarious to even consider slightly bending around corners. So again I bring the bike to the workshop. This time, the mech takes out the brake pads, go in and than come back to put back the brake pads. And than he says give 1 monthfor the brakes to kick in effectively. 1 MONTH !? Use my legs to brake isit in the meanwhile? Riding a big CC bike, you would expect the brakes to be an important factor in your safety and to have a 85% off deficient brakes could cost my life in case of emergency. Another few days passed and while riding around town, the bike started to over heat and when I stopped to let the bike cool down, the radiator burst, spewing extremely hot fluids all over my legs. Bike was out. I had to have the bike towed. So enough was enough, I sent the bike to another workshop, recommended by fellow biker friends.

After talking to this recommended workshop, I found out that the bike’s inside is all very bad condition. A lot of efforts were taken to hide/mask problems with bike. Front forks seals gone plus severe metal to metal contact damages, radiator out, coil gone, engine top warp, instead of using gaskets to seal, the bloody dealer had used rubber sealant to temporarily stop the smoke from coming out so when potential buyers test start the bike, the smoke will be contained till sold. The list of repairs were literally 1 full page long. All in all the damages/repairs cost me another $5k, on top of having paid 12k for the bike. And the dealer didn’t evening give discount while buying the bike. I talked to a few other very well respected bike mechanics and all said that this was blatant and low ball by the dealer. So pls beware of this and other such vermit of a dealers. Peace out.

:eek: Thank for the sharing info about this "Lemon Bike Dealer"... by the way, care to share "recommended workshop" as i might need it. :)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Hi VonZ,

Thanks for highlighting this problem and I am sure this will help alot of buyers when buying their bikes. I bought my second hand 2b bike from Wing Fuat @ Sims place. May I ask what recommended workshop did you go to because I would like to do a proper servicing for my bike also.

Thanks in advance!

Will the Lemon Law help you in any way?

http://singaporelegaladvice.com/law-articles/what-is-the-lemon-law/

I remember getting my first bike years ago which turned out to be a real, good lemon. :|

Frustrating and a money pit.

112th Time at Planet

29/04/2016

01.56pm

Weather: Stormy

Mood: Yay! Can go to Planet! :cheer:

Time for a long overdue oil change!

Got to Planet at around 2pm riding through a thunderstorm. When I got there, the storm was over and there were hardy any customers! There was just 3 customers having their bikes serviced. One of them just finished and was wheeling his bike out, so I didn't have to queue! :)

I asked for an oil change and told the mech to put a bit of silicon on the outside of the spark plug because the bike splutters a bit when in the rain. San Wei was the mech servicing the bike and advised to have the spark plug cap and plug changed because the rubber on the cap is probably cracked.

When he removed the cap, sure enough, there was a crack on the spark plug cap and the outside of the spark plug is a little rusty, so new spark plug and cap for "Ebony" on top of the engine oil!

While waiting, I noticed a new young chinese mech there and Ah Chong as ususal got his cold jokes when I paid him. When I told him long time no see, he replied "Better don't come back, I very scared when I see my customer come back!" :lol: :lol: :lol:.

Paid Ah Chong $32 for the servicing and went off. Go Planet! :box:

112th Time at Planet

29/04/2016

01.56pm

Weather: Stormy

Mood: Yay! Can go to Planet! :cheer:

Time for a long overdue oil change!

Got to Planet at around 2pm riding through a thunderstorm. When I got there, the storm was over and there were hardy any customers! There was just 3 customers having their bikes serviced. One of them just finished and was wheeling his bike out, so I didn't have to queue! :)

I asked for an oil change and told the mech to put a bit of silicon on the outside of the spark plug because the bike splutters a bit when in the rain. San Wei was the mech servicing the bike and advised to have the spark plug cap and plug changed because the rubber on the cap is probably cracked.

When he removed the cap, sure enough, there was a crack on the spark plug cap and the outside of the spark plug is a little rusty, so new spark plug and cap for "Ebony" on top of the engine oil!

While waiting, I noticed a new young chinese mech there and Ah Chong as ususal got his cold jokes when I paid him. When I told him long time no see, he replied "Better don't come back, I very scared when I see my customer come back!" :lol: :lol: :lol:.

Paid Ah Chong $32 for the servicing and went off. Go Planet! :box:

Anyone knows if planet does help with inspection?

yes. Subjective on your ride though. lol

just ring him up

yes. Subjective on your ride though. lol

just ring him up

Thanks for the reply! I'm heading down later, so I'm going ask him. Nicely. :p

One Life, Ride It

Loud pipes save lives

Slow riders live longer

Thanks for the reply! I'm heading down later, so I'm going ask him. Nicely. :p

good luck there :)

My FZ16 got a problem with fork. Got sound "Tak Tak Tak". So i researched on the internet what might be the problem and found out the fork bearing problem. Asked on FB to Bike Dynamic Centre and they quote me $90, but instead i went to Planet Motors and was only charged $30.

- Signature contains advertising and has been edited -

anyone knows whether any phantom TA200 used bike selling at Planet Motors? Thanks!

Edited: got to know they do only repairs, thanks!

Edited by jokin1

Do they do RXZ's?

I've 2 RXZ that is down for 6 months cannot start and cannot figure out what's wrong.

Honda Phantom TA200 2013-2016

Yamaha RXZ 2016~Current

Ducati Monster 821 Dark Stealth 2016~current

113th Time at Planet!

24/11/2016 (Got to check)

9.50am

weather: Fair

mood: Wah! Long time didn't go Planet liao.

Went to Planet for a long overdue oil change and a busted tail light. I was hoping to get there by 9:20am, but then hor... stomach ache kena delay.

When I got there, there were already quite a few bikes being serviced. Come late, LL suck thumb wait lor.

Interestingly, there were 2 new mechs there a tall chinese and an indian mech. Sa Wei attended to me this time and changed the oil and tail light. But the tail light didn't not light even after changing the light bulb. So Ah Chong trouble shoot for me. After examining the old bulb Ah Chong concluded that the problem is in the wiring. Probably a snapped wire under the mud guard. Only thing was to leave the bike at the shop to dismantle the side boxes, seat and mud guard before he can splice the wire! :help: I suggested that he do a bypass and Ah Chong did the by pass in 5 mins, although the wire was on the outside, it got the problem fixed. I was even using the old bulb! But at least I got side boxes, so they partially hid the wire.

Left Planet at 10:40am but bought a whole set of bulbs from Ah Chong (Headlight, tail light, signal light)

Edited by Silent Hunter

My FZ16 got a problem with fork. Got sound "Tak Tak Tak". So i researched on the internet what might be the problem and found out the fork bearing problem.

I think its better for you to remove that last sentence of yours or amend the bike shop with *

I encountered the same situation too, few years back.

I went to U***** Motorsports at toh guan(i stay at batok). Mech say need to change whole brake pump.

Reject the offer went to planet and did a bleeding nia.. lol

anyone knows whether any phantom TA200 used bike selling at Planet Motors? Thanks!

Edited: got to know they do only repairs, thanks!

Quite random, best is to passby there once in a while to have a look. He seldom take in bikes for resale

Do they do RXZ's?

I've 2 RXZ that is down for 6 months cannot start and cannot figure out what's wrong.

They do almost any jap bike

113th Time at Planet!

##/##/2016 (Got to check)

9.50am

weather: Fair

mood: Wah! Long time didn't go Planet liao.

Went to Planet for a long overdue oil change and a busted tail light. I was hoping to get there by 9:20am, but then hor... stomach ache kena delay.

When I got there, there were already quite a few bikes being serviced. Come late, LL suck thumb wait lor.

Interestingly, there were 2 new mechs there a tall chinese and an indian mech. Sa Wei attended to me this time and changed the oil and tail light. But the tail light didn't not light even after changing the light bulb. So Ah Chong trouble shoot for me. After examining the old bulb Ah Chong concluded that the problem is in the wiring. Probably a snapped wire under the mud guard. Only thing was to leave the bike at the shop to dismantle the side boxes, seat and mud guard before he can splice the wire! :help: I suggested that he do a bypass and Ah Chong did the by pass in 5 mins, although the wire was on the outside, it got the problem fixed. I was even using the old bulb! But at least I got side boxes, so they partially hid the wire.

Left Planet at 10:40am but bought a whole set of bulbs from Ah Chong (Headlight, tail light, signal light)

Long time nvr see your planet-visits-post liao. lol