• Replies 3.9k

114th time at Planet!

30/05/2017

Time: 10:15am

Weather: Wet after rain

Mood: Yay Planet!

Went back to Planet to work out some problems that have been plaguing "Ebony" for some time.

There was a new Mech in the shop and he was the one who attended to my bike. But first, I talk to Ah Chong about the problems firstly the handling when cornering is off, the bike tend to "bounce" up and down when cornering! :eek: When I checked, the fork is leaking oil.

The brake that was cannibalized from another bike goes "Thack" when I brake and there is a "Waaah Waaah Waaah sound when I do a full turn and push the bike in the carpark when parking.

Then it gets hard to start in the morning and I have to use the choke and the choke is spoil now, so I got to get it changed.

But first, it's "Armour off" for "Ebony"! Got to strip her to remove the forks! :grin:

When I was stripping of the fork covers, this Ah Chong told a Malay customer that my bike is custom spray paint one. It has the map of Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand and even China on it! So this Dude goes over to look and it was actually the petrol stain that ate into my DIY spray painted tank! :lol: :lol: :lol:

After replacing the forks, and brake pump that goes "Thack" Ah Chong made a shocking discovery.... .... the brake rotor was warped! Most probably when there was a hit and run some years back at the carpark when I found my bike on it's side. :angry: Which causes the "Waaah Waaah Waaah" sound, and probably why the bike bounces during turns at high speeds. So we quickly replaced them with a new set. Don't F#$K around when it comes to brakes.

After that, when trying to Jerry fix the choke, Ah Chong discovered that the carburator's rubber connector is torn, leaking air resulting in difficulty in starting. So rather than to Jerry fix the choke, Ah Chong got the new mech to open everything up and change a second hand choke and replace the rubber connector from the airbox to the carb. The poor mech was apologising for jixning the bike and making everything spoil! Hahahaha! Actually not his fault the problem was probably there already and the parts were barely hanging on, just that when he open up it got exposed!

After that, since it has been months since I changed engine oil, I changed the oil too and cannibalised a stand for the headlamp in case the inspection center want to play hardball this year.

Ah Chong charged $299 for the whole lot and said not even $300. So I told him to round it up and make it $300.

Paid the man and went home happy. Will be back for the next service. ;)

nope they dont. :)

Actually, they do. My previous bike was from him.

But bear in mind that their main scope is repair and service. Ah chong will only take in bikes (that fits into his criteria) if he wants..

Actually, they do. My previous bike was from him.

But bear in mind that their main scope is repair and service. Ah chong will only take in bikes (that fits into his criteria) if he wants..

haha. i have frens who have bought from him also but the thing is he does not advertise sales of bikes. he dont want to be known as a seller for bikes. thats why i say he doesnt. usually he will just ask kakis who r close to him then through word of mouth, he will sell. :-X

yeah true.

was looking for a 2b bike recently, and i must say his price are v reasonable.

115th Time at Planet!

04/09/2017

10:00am

Weather: Fair

Mood: :)

Hopped over to Planet to get my lights fixed. My headlight and tail lights suddenly cannot power on. I tried DIY troubleshooting but couldn't find the cause of it even though I did find a broken wire and reconnected it.

At Planet, Ah Chong said he might not have time to fix my problem because 2 of his mechs were on leave. :weep: And he told me to leave the bike here, he will get to it when he got time at night. :eek:

Knowing Ah Chong to be a prankster and also not being very keen to stay the night, I took a book and started reading.

After a while, there was a break and Ah Chong said he can help me if I dismantle the wire myself. Obviously not a problem. Pior to that, I experimented and got the head light connected to the signal light's power. The headlight was flicking on and off like a morse code! So I jerry fix a wire from the headlight and tail light straight to the battery before riding to Planet. Only problem is the headlight is permanently on high beam! :lol:

While fixing the wires, a chap on a scooter came along and Ah Chong told him to go to the next shop (AS Phoon) as he does not fix scooters. The poor dude look disappointed and he must have been a regular customer at Planet, because he told San Wei that like that next time cannot come back again (well not unless he change back to bike!)

What Ah Chong did was to cut away the reconnected part of the frayed wire and splice the wire with a length of new wire and pesto! the headlight and tail lights were on again! Crap! That means that I trouble shoot correctly but the condition of the wire must have been so bad that it was not able to power up the lights. :(

Ah Chong quoted me $10. Oh well, at least he solved the problem. I fixed the "Armour" back onto "Ebony" and paid Ah Chong the $10. Then I realised that I forgotten to bring the safety glasses I bought for Ah Chong. :( Next time then.

Edited by Silent Hunter

Does Planet do Triumph Motorcycle, anyone knows? Or if anyone passing by, a quick check with them please? :bow:

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

116th Time at Planet!

06/10/2017

11:00am

Mood: Worried:sian:

So some strange reason, my rear wheel got squeaking some when moving, so went back to Planet to have it checked.

Replaced the rear brake pads and serviced the brake calipers and topped up the brake fluid. (I had drained the fluid partially because I was worried that the brakes will seize)

Will be monitoring the situation after this.

117th Time at Planet!

27/01/2018

09:30am

Weather: Sunny

Mood: :)

Went down to Planet to get my bike checked. There was still a bit of squeaking sound coming from the rear wheel, but now there was a continuous bump when I clutch in. The feeling was like as though I had a flat tyre or as though I was going over strips on the road.

I got to Planet at 09.30am. There was already 3 bikes in the shop. :( Chia Lat come early also have to queue. So queue I did. I was reading a book entitled the “Book of 5 Rings” when around 10.00am a chap came to me to ask where I got my top and side boxes. Turns out he just got his bike and is looking to get it tuned to his requirements. So I recommended Regina and 219, since that was where I got my top boxes but for the side boxes I had to get them online over eBay.

At around 10.30am, Ah Chong finally got time to have a look at my bike. I told him of the symtoms and told him I suspect that the bearings are worn. Ah Chong shook the tyre and confirmed that it was a bearing problem. When he removed the wheel and took out the bearings….. ….. There were missing ball bearings!!!! :eek:

Since the wheel was already out, I asked if he got stock for new tyres. Might as well changed them since I haven’t changed them for quite a few years despite the threads being still there. But there was no stock so I changed the engine oil and asked if he can change the petrol cap too since I got water in my tank.

Ah Chong got me a 2nd hand one and charge me only $10 for it. :clap: So total cost for change of bearings, a 2nd hand petrol cap and oil change = $45.00 :smile:

On the way back, I noticed something weird. When I signalled left, the signal light don’t come on but the headlight was blinking. :eek: I stopped the bike by the side of the road and soon an uncle riding a Phantom came besides me and asked “what’s wrong?” It was Ah Chong! :lol: He told me it’s probably a short circuit, so I did a U-turn back to Planet! When I reached Planet, I found my orange signal light cover gone! :weep: It must have dropped along the way back.  After a moment’s hesitation, I rode back along the route I took a minute ago and thank goodness! The cap was not yet run over by another vehicle. I did a shuttle run and grabbed it but it was missing it’s screw. So I asked Ah Chong if he has one. He handed me a screw driver. :sian: At first I thought he mistaken my meaning of screw, but then he pointed to a Phantom TA150 that he was going to scrape and asked me to DIY remove it from there. :lol:

After screwing the cap back on, I tried trouble shooting and I got lucky. The first bunch of wire got a bare wire sticking out and when I touched it to a metal surface with the signal switch on, the head light flashed! So I taped the wire up and the signal was working again! Yay! :cheer:

So I told Ah Chong I got it fixed and rode home happily! :)

Does Planet do Triumph Motorcycle, anyone knows? Or if anyone passing by, a quick check with them please? :bow:

you can go to him anytime if you have a good rapport with him.

i have some carb settings with my RS previously and went to him, for his advise.

First post.

Hi all, would like to share my experience at Planet.

First time visited Planet today

Just bought a 2nd hand Honda Wave from other bikeshop, realised the engine oil leaking like crazy causing a pool of eo on the ground.

Bikehop says no warranty.

i was expecting to spend more than $100 for repair becos from what i read online, eo leakage usually due to wear n tear/damaged Gasket.

Dropped by Planet to look for Ah Chong, he let his mech "Desmond" to service my bike. There were two area which leaked EO underneath my bike. Desmond damn power, the nut-thread where u let the oil out when changing EO was broken, but he told me he'll use a fabric to cover it before screwing it in, which helped me saves alot cos normal repair would need to take out the whole engine just for retreading the nut. And for the Gasket area leakage, he only change two O-ring instead of Gasket to stopped the leakage problem👍. Helped me save so much $$$. He even suggested me to reuse my old 4T cos i just change it at my place bikeshop before i made my long trip to Planet, in case my bike EO leaked until finished... n ohhh he even top up some left-over unused EO from the shop.

All in all, i've changed Air Filter, Spark Plug, Back light, O-rings on engine $40.

I'm actually abit worried if the O-rings changed is sufficient enough to stopped the leakage anot, but Ah Chong assured me that his mech all experience one haha. indeed, I've double, triple check my bike n can't see any leakage anymore. Power!

Will definitely be a long term customer from now on!

First post.

Hi all, would like to share my experience at Planet.

First time visited Planet today

Just bought a 2nd hand Honda Wave from other bikeshop, realised the engine oil leaking like crazy causing a pool of eo on the ground.

Bikehop says no warranty.

i was expecting to spend more than $100 for repair becos from what i read online, eo leakage usually due to wear n tear/damaged Gasket.

Dropped by Planet to look for Ah Chong, he let his mech "Desmond" to service my bike. There were two area which leaked EO underneath my bike. Desmond damn power, the nut-thread where u let the oil out when changing EO was broken, but he told me he'll use a fabric to cover it before screwing it in, which helped me saves alot cos normal repair would need to take out the whole engine just for retreading the nut. And for the Gasket area leakage, he only change two O-ring instead of Gasket to stopped the leakage problem������. Helped me save so much $$$. He even suggested me to reuse my old 4T cos i just change it at my place bikeshop before i made my long trip to Planet, in case my bike EO leaked until finished... n ohhh he even top up some left-over unused EO from the shop.

All in all, i've changed Air Filter, Spark Plug, Back light, O-rings on engine $40.

I'm actually abit worried if the O-rings changed is sufficient enough to stopped the leakage anot, but Ah Chong assured me that his mech all experience one haha. indeed, I've double, triple check my bike n can't see any leakage anymore. Power!

Will definitely be a long term customer from now on!

where u bought your bike from sia. just buy got problem liao

From BP bro..

Now the e-starter also got problem. i've changed a new batt n rectifier, the problem still persist. think will need to change coil soon. :giddy:

Edited by macis
add in contents

118th Time at Planet! :cheer:

28/05/2018

12:05pm

Weather: Wet

Mood: Sian…

Went to Planet to have my left signal light changed. The rubber in the socket had melted and I have been DIY Jerry Rigging the copper connectors to hold the light bulb. But the bulb keeps dropping off and DIE!!!! No left signal light.

Also I have a pair of Stebel horns but when I connected them without the circuit, the only sound that came out was a soft croak like a bullfrog croaking. Must I connect them with a circuit?!?!?

On the way to Planet, it started raining, and my raincoat was leaking and I had to take shelter under a HDB block at Hougang. :( …. and it continued to rain for hours….. :cry: Luckily there was a mama shop at the block I was in and I got a packet of prawn crackers and read the book (Tales from Earthsea) while waiting. My Planet… …. So near yet so far…. :(

Anyway when I got to Planet, there was just a couple of people there, so Ah Chong asked me what I wanted. I told him my signal light assembly need to change and I want to get a small horn to pass annual inspection. Ah Chong sold me a medium size round horn that connects straight to the wires for the default bike horn and it was loud! :D

As for the signal light, Ah Chong gave me one second hand one from a bike he scraped, on the condition that I DIY it on myself. Being the stingy fellow that I am, I jumped at the chance and readily agreed. But when I opened it, it was empty! :lol: :lol: :lol: Then Ah Chong told me to take one from the hooks on the wall. But then hor…. That one also empty! Hahahaha!!! :lol:

So Ah Chong told me to go upstairs to take one myself. Armed with my new orange handled screwdriver and a pair of wire cutters I boldly walked up the stairs to the top of Planets’ workshop to get one. When I was upstairs, there was half a dozen ½ Phantoms up there with just the forks, headlights, handles and mirrors. I unscrewed the first one and found that the rubber inside the signal light assembly was also melted, so I put it back and opened the next one, luckily this one was in good condition and with my wire cutters I snipped off the wired and unscrewed the screw holding it to the forks and took it downstairs.

After I fixed it on, to my surprise, the back light now doesn’t light up and I told Ah Chong about it. Ah Chong waddled over wearing his flip flop slippers and gave the rear signal light a couple of hard knock with his spanner and the lights started blinking! :lol: He told me that it is just loose. :lol:

When I was about to go off I remembered that my fuel tank was leaking rain water in so I told Ah Chong about it. He gave a puzzled look and went to have a look at the fuel cap the after feeling around the tanks’ opening, he concluded that the tank cap nothing wrong. It was the tank that is warped and causing the leak. Die….. Ah Chong gave me a contact to a machinist to see if he can cut out the hole and weld a new opening he even offer me an old Phantom fuel tank to cut and paste. I love this blessed old man. :lovestruck:

Anyway I paid Ah Chong the $18 for the horn and free signal light. Although I got my hands a little bit dirty DIY-ing, but hey who am I to complain about a free signal light.

PS: The machinist advised me to use a rubber gasket over the opening to seal up any opening. No need to waste money welding a new tank opening to the old tank.

Date: Since Feb 2008

Shop Name: Planet Motors

Address:3007 Ubi Rd 1

#01-430 Singapore 408701

Tel : 67474740

Opening Hours: 9am to 6pm

Not So Busy period: 9am to 10am every mon to wed.

Peak Period: Mostly Thurs, Fri and Sat.

All types of bikes

-(2001-2008 R1)

-(Bandit400)

-(RVF)

-(GSXR400,600,750,1000 K5-K8)

-(S4 Ver S,Spec I,II,III)

-(CBR900RRV,929)

-(SP)

-(CBR400,600,1000)

-Kup Kias

=====================================================

Reply being posted frm one of the members,shiraz

What service/product did you purchase? : front brake pump or something spoilt, went to 3 bike shops and yamaha agent, all could not find any problem! but ah chong press my front brake lever he know already!

Level of service: 10

Level of knowledge: 9

Level of value for money: 10

How happy are you overall: 20!

What makes this shop commendable?

ok my front brake had some problems when i got the bike... went to the shop i got it from, they ask me to raise my handlebar because the angle of the wire cannot pump brake fluid! stock dragstar handle cannot pump brake fluid properly la very good... ok nvm... went to 2 other shops all said it's normal.. then nvm, went to agent for a full service + grease shaft.. agent said it's normal as well and that got no problem..

so i made the trip down to planet one fine day and asked ah chong(boss) what was wrong? he said.. bleed the brake can already.. if cannot u come back have to check the pump. so i said ok la..

he changed the brake fluid and there was actually water in the reservoir(dunno how it got there!)

after changing the fluid, the problem was still there but very very very slight.. but im a sucker for perfection la so i went back there 2 days later and told him still got problem then he said muz change the rubber or something la i forgot.. around $30+... BUT he had to order it so asked me to come tmr.. and i asked him where is a goot place to make a rear number plate... so he recommended the shop at the corner.. and i got my number plate made... silver wording on black acrylic back then i thought i wanted to ask ah chong to fix la coz scared later i damage the plate ah heart pain..

so i went back the next day (i live at jurong BTW) got the thing fixed, and he showed me that it was leaking and there was brake fluid all inside my lever the compartment there.. the mech cleaned it up and changed the rubber thingy..

and i asked to fix my rear plate also la.. drilled 2 holes and all.. so i went to pay... then this is what ah chong said... "u punya $38 campur lobang ah.. $4 satu lobang, $2 dua lobang.. betol???" (translation = yours ah $38 plus holes ah, $4 one hole, $2 two holes, correct???") i was like HUH.. damn blur for awhile then i started laughing already..

very very reliable shop!

AH CHONG

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

119th Time at Planet

18/10/2018

Mood: Heh heh finally go Planet again! :D

Went Planet to do up quiet a few things.

1. Replace the number plate bulb

2. Change tyres

3. Change IU

4. Change Engine oil

When I got there, Ah Chong told me got no stock for tyres! :cry:

The company gone bust! Next month then have tyres. :weep:

So I asked for change of bulb and IU. Ah Chong got an old one and told me to go VICOM to get it registered. Before I left, I spied an black CBR amongst the row of bikes outside the shop, and wanted to ask if it was for sale or if it belonged to another customer.

When I got back from VICOM, since there was quite a few customers by the time I got back, I DIY remove the IU and found out what's the problem with it. :lol: :lol: :lol: Ah Chong charged me $50 instead of the usual $60 because I DIY take down and install my IU and threw in the bulb for free! :clap:

Yeah! Go Planet! :cheer:

Suddenly.... .... I saw a familiar face in a helmet! It's Vidak! Confirmed plus chop when he took of his helmet and revealed his mop of curls. :lol: Turns out the CBR I was Beo-ing belongs to Vidak! :lol: No need to ask if it was for sale liao! :cheeky: But Ah Chong asked if I was interested in a 800cc bike he was holding onto. I told Ah Chong I was keeping an eye out for a 1,000cc or more one.

So I paid Ah Chong the $50 and rode home.

120th Time at Planet

19/12/2018

02:40pm

Weather: Going to rain soon

Mood: Yay can go Planet!

Called up Ah Chong in the morning to confirm got tyres to for "Ebony" and went there after lunch.

When I got there, Ah Chong happily got me the front tyre, but when he looked around for the rear tyre..... NO STOCK! Hahahaha! :lol:

And he quickly go and order 10 more! :lol:

While waiting for the tyres to arrive, I got the new Mech to change the engine oil and trouble shoot the headlight. What he recommend is to change to the Stanley brand headlight. When he dismantled my headlight bulb, the filament was intact, but he said that the wire sometimes inside broken cannot see one. o_O Anyway after switching to the Stanley brand bulb the problem of the intermittent on and off of the headlight was solved. SO I learnt something new this day.

The new Mech was pretty ok, talks a bit rough, but is good. And did a good job oiling the chain when I asked him to, and took initiative to change thte nozzle of the tyre to an L-shaped one to make it easier for me to pump tyre. :smile:

I almost couldn't recognised "San wei" when I was there. He aged quite a bit this year. :eek:

Cost was $191, but Ah Chong gave me a discount of $1.00. I was thinking of telling Ah Chong to keep the change, but not wanting to turn down the old man's generosity of $1.00 discount, my "Kiam Siap" nature took over and I thanked Ah Chong and I gave him $200 and got the $10 change back. :lol:

But then hor.... When I was about to leave, Ah Chong called me back and asked me to pay for "pumping air" :lol: at first I though he was kidding and replied, "Oh yes! Pump air very expensive one! Hahahaha!" Then Ah Chong said it was for the "Air nozzle L-shaped one" Turns out the L-shaped nozzle not free one.... $10 each :sian: So still end up paying $200. I guess that $200 is fated to stay with Ah Chong that day. What belongs to you will be yours.

PS: Ah Chong helped me pump tyres the last time round when I was there, said it was a bit low. Bless his soul.

121th time at Planet

22/02/2019

02.40pm

Weather: Hot :sweat:

Mood: Bummer

Ebony has the hiccups. It's probably the tensioner or the timing chain.

When I got to Planet, there was no ticking sound because the engine had warmed up during the ride there. So I had to wait until it cools down. After that Ah Chong listened to it and said "It's the timing chain. Can't finish changing it today." Quite obvious since there was still a couple of bikes in the shop that were half done.

So it's a long walk home for me..... :(

Edited by Silent Hunter

122th time at Planet

23/02/2019

Weather: Hot

Time: 12:50pm

Mood: Today is the day I collect back my bike

At Planet, I saw Ebony's side opened up. Looks like it will still take some time. :( Mech doing the bike today is Desmond.

The chain got fixed and before he closed up the side, I told him to help oil the chain and sprocket.

When I was about to pay for the repairs, Ah Chong gave me a sly smile and right off I knew he was going to smoke me with an inflated astronomical amount. :lol: "It's going to be at least $300!" :lol: but got discount for teachers 50% off!

Then Ah Chong did some calculations $140 for the chain and labour. Remembering the last time he gave me a discount I decided to be generous too and gave him $150 and to keep the change I figured he needs to earn some extra to cover the labor.

When I rode off, I found the foot brake pedal abit off. Turns out the pedal was bent when the bike was jacked up. So I got him to bend it back. It was ok, but not perfect. Going to ask him to fine tune it when I go back next time.

Hi guys

I'm looking for a reputable shop to service my CBR150R. Basic things like EO change, Spark Plug change, Check clutch/brake pads, and changing of tyres will be done.

Anybody has a recommended shop that would not overcharge me?

I've been reading from page 1 until the end but most of the reviews are given more than 5 years ago. So are those recommended shops like P****T Motors still as good as before?

Hi guys

I'm looking for a reputable shop to service my CBR150R. Basic things like EO change, Spark Plug change, Check clutch/brake pads, and changing of tyres will be done.

Anybody has a recommended shop that would not overcharge me?

I've been reading from page 1 until the end but most of the reviews are given more than 5 years ago. So are those recommended shops like P****T Motors still as good as before?

I still visit till today and still love it. He doesnt cheat n can be super nonsensical. Try him and let us know what u think.

Oh, he's still around? Good good !

Was worried he's no longer around because the posts about them were dated as old as 2005+

Do they have a catalogue of pricelist? I just took over a secondhand bike and I wish to do a "health checkup" for the bike. Is there a term for it, full servicing?

Btw, are all mechs good or just ah chong? I've seen alot of times where ah chong's name was mentioned. What about the other mechs? Are they on par? Is ah chong the boss there?

Edited by RacerEx