MV Agusta F4 Series

ayuluv

Originally posted by ROOKIE@Mar 22 2005, 04:13 AM

first day back on the MV for 3 weeks and to my horror its running terrible. went out and its mis-firing sounds like only running on 3 cylinders, engine keeps cutting out when come to stop and doesn't pick up on acceleration, i think vespa would be quicker than my MV at the moment!!! anyway taking it back to excel tomorrow and get them to look at it. dont think its anything too drastic as it was running fine before i left for UK 3 weeks ago. i even filled up with fresh fuel but there is still something wrong, either fuel problem or spark plug problem i think. hopefully will be fixed tomorrow, sounds like a ducati at the moment rather than a F4 :confused:

try not to ride it for now. have it towed to Excel. Likely issues

1.Plugs fouled.

2.Check ignition unit as well. For 1 plug to foul go only mean iginition is igniting proper.

3.Check the integrity and contact of the plug cables.

3. Do a compression test as well. This ensure you are not losing compression leading to improper combustion.

4. You might want run a timing check as well.

This is a really fine machine and checks will ensure a healthy machine and a HAPPIERS owner.... Cheers..

• Replies 2.2k

Originally posted by mao@Mar 22 2005, 12:46 PM

1.Plugs fouled.

2.Check ignition unit as well. For 1 plug to foul go only mean iginition is igniting proper.

3. Do a compression test as well. This ensure you are not losing compression leading to improper combustion.

This is a really fine machine and checks will ensure a healthy machine and a HAPPIERS owner.... Cheers..

thanx mao for yr advise. i did ride to excel and in the end left it there for trouble shooting. they did however take out 2 spark plugs while i was there and they were black with a bit of oil on the thread which is a bit worrying. he said they were new plugs fitted 4 weeks ago but i only rode 60km as i been back in uk last 3 weeks!! its very worrying when you spend that amount of money and have to take it back so soon, so i'm not happy at all. it was definately running on 3 cylinders when i rode down today and sounds bloody awful. ideally i would like to be there when they do all these checks especially the compression check as the trace of oil on spark plugs is worrying me. i can only hope that they are thorough and concise with their checks and they dont cover up what could be potentially a "spoil" engine!!:mad:

Does MVs run on fuel injection?

Probably just a fouled plug, no biggie. But if it continues, might be either fuel map problem, or ignition problem.

Make sure they gap the spark plugs properly, and torque them down properly. Ensure the spark plugs have the correct heat rating too, although going one up on the heat rating might help solve the plug fouling issue too.

Good luck!

Originally posted by Lass@Mar 22 2005, 02:10 PM

hmm wat's that? :smile:

mei wen ti~! :smile:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by mao@Mar 22 2005, 12:46 PM

1.Plugs fouled.

hmm.. luks like i found a F4 doctor lehz... may nid ur help in future wor.. keke.. :cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 22 2005, 06:38 PM

Does MVs run on fuel injection?

Probably just a fouled plug, no biggie. But if it continues, might be either fuel map problem, or ignition problem.

Make sure they gap the spark plugs properly, and torque them down properly. Ensure the spark plugs have the correct heat rating too, although going one up on the heat rating might help solve the plug fouling issue too.

Good luck!

yes the MV is a fuel injected unit as i found out when i thought the engine was running too rich as the smell of fuel on tick-over was quite strong but not adjustable like on carbs. if i'm not wrong the type of spark plugs for this engine are platinum electrode and are pre set at factory although it is still advisable to check just in case they have been dropped. i know that all different bikes have a different spec of spark plug especially the MV but at excel they had a new box 'off the shelf' which i find surprising considering the few MV's in Sg. anyway day 2 now and lets hope they come up with some answers. i think the fact the bike was not run for 3 weeks during my UK visit should not be the reason for it to run on 3 cylinders all of a sudden, i just hope is a simple fix and nothing major or i will be pissed!!! cheers

Platinium or irrdium tipped spark plugs, in other words high performance spark plugs, do not recover as well if fouled with petrol. Maybe your auto choke circuits are all wrong, setting the mixture too rich unnessesarily?

My guess is the spark plugs are fouled, get them changed. If the problem goes away, then comes back in aweek or two, then its a fuel mixture problem, or might be ignition problem.

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 23 2005, 12:50 PM

Platinium or irrdium tipped spark plugs, in other words high performance spark plugs, do not recover as well if fouled with petrol. Maybe your auto choke circuits are all wrong, setting the mixture too rich unnessesarily?

My guess is the spark plugs are fouled, get them changed. If the problem goes away, then comes back in aweek or two, then its a fuel mixture problem, or might be ignition problem.

yes yr right they are irridium plugs not platinum but the fact is they were BLACK and they said they had fitted new ones before i pick up. i'll bet my life that those plugs were not replaced, they dont carbon up after only 50km or running. trouble is with a bike like this in Sg there are no specialist garages to take it to, or maybe there is and i'm not aware of them. ideally i'd like to have a performance test done on the engine to see thats its efficient and not down on power, even when i pick up i notice there is a slight flat spot on quick acceleration but that could be normal on a MV. one other problem i notice on the bike were the brakes were very soft as though there was air in the system. brake hoses are hygroscopic which means they absorb moisture over time so fluid changes every 1 to 2 years are essential especially with sg climate. again it was something the shop said they had done but judging by the colour of the brake fluid in the reservoir i know it hasn't been done in a long while...... the saga continues...... All yr comments are appreciated,thanx

ok the news is that one of the injectors has spoil. they are trying to locate a new one but dont think will have one in Sg. he mentioned that maybe an injector off a duke 916 might be the same but i'm not so sure they are compatible. otherwise its going to have to be ordered from italy at aroung $800 luckily still under warranty, so might have to wait a while if part to be ordered in....

Its good that the shop covered all this under warrenty.

My advice is, get your brakes bled, and perhaps get the lines changed. Noneed steel braded ones, unless you want razor sharp feel on the brakes.

Fuel injectors can be bought from the manufacturer, just need to know what brand of fuel injectors your bike is using.

Originally posted by ROOKIE@Mar 23 2005, 01:32 PM

yes yr right they are irridium plugs not platinum but the fact is they were BLACK and they said they had fitted new ones before i pick up. i'll bet my life that those plugs were not replaced, they dont carbon up after only 50km or running. trouble is with a bike like this in Sg there are no specialist garages to take it to, or maybe there is and i'm not aware of them. ideally i'd like to have a performance test done on the engine to see thats its efficient and not down on power, even when i pick up i notice there is a slight flat spot on quick acceleration but that could be normal on a MV. one other problem i notice on the bike were the brakes were very soft as though there was air in the system. brake hoses are hygroscopic which means they absorb moisture over time so fluid changes every 1 to 2 years are essential especially with sg climate. again it was something the shop said they had done but judging by the colour of the brake fluid in the reservoir i know it hasn't been done in a long while...... the saga continues...... All yr comments are appreciated,thanx

whats the mileage on your machine?? from what i am reading, sounds like this machine has been ridden hard.. Firstly, the injectors do not fail easily. oil on plugs could mean a lot. oil leak is the first. DO THE COMPRESSION test!! oil on plugs couldn't also mean worn piston rings.

as for the brakes, MV has naturally spongee feel on their brakes. hoses are braided already. the rear is literally none existent. being so close to the exhaust causes the fluid to boil under hard riding, thus loosing the feel.

synchronise your throttle body as well as that can cause plug fouling and dead feel. In singapore, you need to do a lot of these checks yourself as they are lack of these professional facilities.

another thing you shld look out for is the front tires. the size of 120/65ZR17 is unavailable in singapore. Minerva replaces it with 120/70ZR17 which are for Ducatis. I had to fly Michelin Pilot Race in from the US. So do take provisions for lead time if your tires are worn.

Alternatively, you can order them from Pirelli Singapore and it will take 3 months and 850+ for a set of front and rear (includes shipping).

ok thanx for yr comments guys, firstly the injector fitted was ordered from MV italy through minerva so is the genuine item. the compression test was done and all cylinders high comp and constant, the wet plug was not oil in the end it was fuel build up as the injector was intermittant, i thought it looked too watery for oil. i had the shop bleed the front and rear brake lines clear of old fluid and replace with new but after reading reports on the MV this is a common complaint that the brakes are not as responsive as jap bikes. the bike now is running perfect even better than when i first pick up, the acceleration is more responsive with no lag at all and the brakes are marginally better. excel done a good job....

regarding tyres the rear has been replaced with a 180 dragon corsa instead of 190 which is recommended in many write ups on the bike. it is believed to improve cornering on tight bends, cant comment on that as i've never seen any tight bends in Sg!! as for the front tyre yr right it is a 70 rather than a 65 due to the fact that only the MV carries this size and Sg dont carry stock. when the time comes i will eventually put all tyres bact to manufacturers spec, you cant beat a big fat rear tyre....

well the modifications have started already i couldn't resist, as i'm gonna be keeping this bike i'm going to make it look a show winner. taken exhaust off and removed end cans to send for anodizing and the exhaust for high gloss polish. the wheels are going for spray in champagne gold colour. i have ordered a load of carbon fibre from casoli uk which has cost a fortune(you gotta see the new front mudguard it looks awesome and its the first one of that type made by casoli and its coming to Sg. and finally i've managed to locate some 'Alcantara' suede material in red which is the exact material used on the AGO,thats all for now but i'm sure i'll be making more alterations in the future when i saved up some more cash !!! cheers for now....

Great to hear your bike is running well again! :thumb:

The older R6 uses 120/65 tyres too, but its quite a rare size, and changing to 120/70 seems to improve handling alittle, but gotta watch out for the tyre clearance cos its slightly bigger. Also, the speedo will underread alittle.

Hope to see your bike soon! :thumb:

Hmm.. let me bring dis thread back to life~!

hey guyz n gerz.. take a luk.. the new mv is outta soon.. hee. again.. its limited...

grab it while u can..~!

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-002-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-005-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-008-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-011-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-014-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-017-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-020-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-023-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-029-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-032-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-035-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-038-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-041-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-044-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-047-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-050-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-053-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-056-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-059-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-062-f.jpg

Now.. comes the brutale gladio.. oso limited... dis one chioz.. the f4 still prefer the stock

or the tamburini... heee :lovestruck:

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-065-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-068-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-074-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-077-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-080-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-083-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-086-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-089-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-092-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-095-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-101-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-104-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-107-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-110-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-113-f.jpg

Originally posted by ayuluv@May 8 2005, 11:56 AM

Hmm.. let me bring dis thread back to life~!

hey guyz n gerz.. take a luk.. the new mv is outta soon.. hee. again.. its limited...

grab it while u can..~!

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-002-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-005-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-008-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-011-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-014-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-017-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-020-f.jpg

http://www.motorbox.com/static/upl/m/mvagustaf4corse&brutale-6532-023-f.jpg

nice nice keke but i got an issue with the fat tail light though. but then again am sooooooooo in :lovestruck: w agusta..... someone pls give me some magic nos to buy 4d tonite leh? :cheeky:

thks ayuluv for keeping this alive haha

Originally posted by Lass@May 8 2005, 03:49 PM

nice nice keke but i got an issue with the fat tail light though. but then again am sooooooooo in :lovestruck: w agusta..... someone pls give me some magic nos to buy 4d tonite leh? :cheeky:

thks ayuluv for keeping this alive haha

haaa.. no worries.. haf will n it will come...

btw... the tail light really abit prob lah.. visibility by other rd users....

hmm... actually u r one of the major supporters.. shld thank u instead..haa... :cheeky:

Originally posted by ayuluv@May 8 2005, 08:02 PM

haaa.. no worries.. haf will n it will come...

btw... the tail light really abit prob lah.. visibility by other rd users....

hmm... actually u r one of the major supporters.. shld thank u instead..haa... :cheeky:

:shy: no lah me know nuthing much just love the bike nia :smile:

Originally posted by Lass@May 8 2005, 08:05 PM

:shy: no lah me know nuthing much just love the bike nia :smile:

well. i would sae.. everythin starts from like.. den u will b willin to find out more of it...

its nice to noe there r ladies who like n luv to ride it... NICE...~! :smile: