Buying S4 Enquiry & Advise

• Replies 424

A 2nd hand one.. Wat are the things to look out for?

1. Chain

2. Tyres

3. Fork

Kip it going can? Coz i realli no experience in S4.. By the way.. Most likely i will be getting a FR or FS Vtec 1...

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a49/king_ziege/Biker%20gers/board_headerEdited.jpg

Saw a Vtec 1 at shop.. FS early plate on the rd price is $5.7k.. U all think can buy? I din try that bike yet.. onli ask ask nia.. How u all think?

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a49/king_ziege/Biker%20gers/board_headerEdited.jpg

1. Chain

2. Tyres

3. Fork

4 Brake rotors.

5 Rear sus

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Actually if u ride bike for a couple of years, when u test or look at the bike u will have some kind of "feel good factor" if the bike is good.

If u dont have the FGF when u sit on it and test it on the spot, I suggest u look else where.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@May 5 2005, 09:04 PM

1. Chain

2. Tyres

3. Fork

4 Brake rotors.

5 Rear sus

Wat is brake Rotor?

How to know that the rear susp is in good condition?

The disc of the brake.

Run ur finger throught them if there are very uneven grooves and valleys arcoss the dice, if got then dont buy. A bit is ok, u just need to sand it.

Rear sus, the stem of the rear sus, check see whether is leaking oil. And sit or put ur weight on it and see whether got any funny noise, no sound is a good sign.

Originally posted by hachi@May 5 2005, 09:56 PM

The disc of the brake.

Run ur finger throught them if there are very uneven grooves and valleys arcoss the dice, if got then dont buy. A bit is ok, u just need to sand it.

Rear sus, the stem of the rear sus, check see whether is leaking oil. And sit or put ur weight on it and see whether got any funny noise, no sound is a good sign.

oil leaking? From where?

Basically.... Get a "Old Bird" from here to go test ride your bike. Or go view with you is the best. :goodluck:

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@May 6 2005, 06:15 AM

Basically.... Get a "Old Bird" from here to go test ride your bike. Or go view with you is the best. :goodluck:

Paisei lay... Coz dun know anyone of u all here.. then who will be so free to go dwn with mi?

Originally posted by Ah James@May 6 2005, 10:21 AM

Paisei lay... Coz dun know anyone of u all here.. then who will be so free to go dwn with mi?

This Fourm is full of helpful people... :smile:

If in the bedok or tampines area I might be able to help u...

Guest NPNT
Originally posted by MiCmAsta@May 6 2005, 01:28 PM

This Fourm is full of helpful people... :smile:

1 of them is Micmasta.

Went to a few shop and survey. Gt quite a few that i think not bad de.. By the way, FU5XXXL plate is how old bike huh?

Deal 1 FU plate Vtec 1

Machine Price : $7140 (Included GST 5%)

Milleage : 36k

Insurance 2nd Party : $657 (Included 10% discount)

Transfer Fee : $150

Warranty : 6mths on engine onli

Down payment : $3000 (I loan $5000 from them)

Interest : 6.25% per yr ($312 per yr)

Installment : $234*24mths or $165*36mths

(Advantages : New white paint worth $280, new gold rim worth $100, younger bike

Deal 2 FR plate Vtec 1

Machine Price : $5800 (Included GST 5%)

Insurance 2nd Party : $601 (Included 10% discount)

Transfer Fee : Free

Warranty : 4 weeks

Down payment : $3300 (Trade in my bike + $500, Loan $3101 from them)

Interest : 6% per yr ($186 per yr)

Installment : $144*24mths

Advantages : Within budget and high trade in

Deal 3 FU plate Vtec 1

Machine Price : $7500 (Included GST 5%)

Insurance 2nd Party : $698 (Included 10% discount)

Down payment : $3300 (Trade in my bike + $500, Loan $4898 from them)

Interest : 6% per yr ($293 per yr)

Installment : $229*24mths or $160*36mths

Advantages : Nothing

Deal 4 FR plate Vtec 1

Machine Price : $5500 (Included GST 5%)

Milleage : 65k

Insurance 2nd Party : $601 (Included 10% discount)

Down payment : $3300 (Trade in my bike + $500, Loan $2801 from them)

Interest : 6% per yr ($168 per yr)

Installment : $130*24mths

Advantages : Cheaper, Within budget, high trade in, New Dragon Tyre

How do u all think abt the deal? I personally feel that deal 1 and 4 are a beta choice.. Pls give mi some tip and share ur opinon with mi can?

I vote for 4 =D

But other then the 1st one the other 3 no indicate mileage ?

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

From above..

FR and FU vtec is about 2.5-3 years apart.

And most S4 got sus problem after 7-9 years of riding. In this case Fr vtec is coming to 6 years.

U pay less than 2k for a 3 years newer bike.

I sold a 8 years old Ver S this march at 3.8k and brought a 3 years old Spec 2 at 7k, all machine price. If I keep my Ver S for 1-2 years, I lost about maybe 1-2k. If I keep my spec 2 for 1-2 years, I still lost about 1-2k.

The point is the deprecation is about the same and if u have the burget I suggest, u buy a newer bike.

But have to depend on condition, the above is only the bike are in great condition.

There are things like rotors wear and sus wear that cant be avoided.And they cost a lot, if u brought a old bike have to replace them, but in end u also sell at the market price, I rather buy a newer bike to avoid these problem and still lost about same amount of $$ after years of keeping.

The best bet now is FU and FV vtec...

I hope u can understand wat I mean.

My $0.02 worth.....Good luck..

I suggest deal 1 but have to depend on bike condition....

Originally posted by hachi@May 6 2005, 04:30 PM

I suggest deal 1 but have to depend on bike condition....

I also suggest deal one...The price seem like quite ok.... but provided the bike is in gd condition... you dun mind to pay slightly more now than u need to repair in the future... it will cost more than wat u paying now...

Just for advise.. check the bike condition first before u confirm..... Just my personal view.... :goodluck:

--======B@bySleep|essW0rlD======--

2002 - Honda Phantom 150cc

2004 - Piaggio X9 Almafi 180cc

2004 - Honda WaveS 125cc

2004 - Honda CB400 Vtec 1 400cc

2006 - Mitsubishi Lancer 1600cc

2008 - Nissan Latio 1500cc

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c105/tz_jie/ayumi.gifhttp://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c105/tz_jie/ayumi.gif

Originally posted by hachi@May 6 2005, 04:28 PM

From above..

FR and FU vtec is about 2.5-3 years apart.

And most S4 got sus problem after 7-9 years of riding. In this case Fr vtec is coming to 6 years.

U pay less than 2k for a 3 years newer bike.

I sold a 8 years old Ver S this march at 3.8k and brought a 3 years old Spec 2 at 7k, all machine price. If I keep my Ver S for 1-2 years, I lost about maybe 1-2k. If I keep my spec 2 for 1-2 years, I still lost about 1-2k.

The point is the deprecation is about the same and if u have the burget I suggest, u buy a newer bike.

But have to depend on condition, the above is only the bike are in great condition.

There are things like rotors wear and sus wear that cant be avoided.And they cost a lot, if u brought a old bike have to replace them, but in end u also sell at the market price, I rather buy a newer bike to avoid these problem and still lost about same amount of $$ after years of keeping.

The best bet now is FU and FV vtec...

I hope u can understand wat I mean.

My $0.02 worth.....Good luck..

U r realli a good think and decesion maker! Nice one dude!!

BUT

I BOUGHT SUPER 4 LIAO!!! Deal 3!!!

FUXXXXN plate with nice number plate

Price for $6850 NETT!!!!

GST: Nope

Transfer Fee: Nope

Agreement Fee: Nope

Warr: 4weeks on engine

Rd Tax: Extend till 30th Dec 2005!

Colour: All WHITE

Trade in: My NSR RR 150 FV plate for $3000!!!!

I am realli hapi!! Feel so shiok!!! ASPHOON is realli a good shop! 2 yrs liao.. intro so many customers and frenz to them all get good price.. this time i go.. discount $500 straight for mi!!! Then bargain abit here and there.. Total discount $650!!!! Checked the susp both front and rear, engeine etc all tip top condition!

Good deal rite? Pls comment.. Tml 12pm taking bike.. Oh yesh! I am in the Super 4 family finally!!!!!:cheer:

Then a full service, check brake pads,tires and chain,spocket then u r good to go.....

Welcome!!!

Originally posted by hachi@May 6 2005, 05:50 PM

Then a full service, check brake pads,tires and chain,spocket then u r good to go.....

Welcome!!!

By the way... They agreed on full change of brake pads... Spocket and chain end of this mths...

Full service think i travel for 2000km liao then go... quite broke also...

The shop ppl intro mi

4000km change 4T must be good one..

10000km change oil filter

How abt plug? How u all do servicing on Super 4 huh? Pls guide mi...

Originally posted by Ah James@May 6 2005, 06:09 PM

The shop ppl intro mi

4000km change 4T must be good one..

10000km change oil filter

How abt plug? How u all do servicing on Super 4 huh? Pls guide mi...

Example my NSR in the past:

Every 3500km I will change:

Plug

4T

Wash Carb

Wash air filter

But for S4... I realli dun know leh... Coz this mth then i gt 1 frenz bought S4.. he also boh chap his bike one... but mi diff.. a total bike lover!