Guys, I really need some help. I've heard that Honda CBR has got many different models...like "L" , "N" and "R" models... Wat's the difference?

Please help! Thanks guys!

• Replies 33

:bounce: CBR L model...... no power cut. out look is the same as the later model.

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

R model is the latest rite? how do we see the difference? which model is recommended if we do not need speed but instead want something most problem free from CBR?

r model was the last model

the 3 model are quite problem free just that parts are problem mostly are due to wear and tear

feel free to ask more over in -=BabyBlade=-(CBR)

more cbrians over there

Cbr600RR

05 RR with laser extreme moving around north east area~ :cheeky:

erm.. can we have mayb a few posts on wat to chk for when selecting a bike? the other threads all 100+ pages and a lot of chatting sobz.. so hard to find...

mayb the pros can help??

IMO, get the latest "R" model. It's the last of the 400cc range produced by Honda other than the RVF. It also would be much younger than the "N" and "L", not to mention the Hurricanes "J" and "K" model. Find a good one and you won't have to spend much to get it running hard and good!

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
Originally posted by Lion@Jul 6 2005, 04:53 PM

IMO, get the latest "R" model. It's the last of the 400cc range produced by Honda other than the RVF. It also would be much younger than the "N" and "L", not to mention the Hurricanes "J" and "K" model. Find a good one and you won't have to spend much to get it running hard and good!

lion.. how to know which one is good one??:confused:

Originally posted by Gwon_BoA@Jul 7 2005, 10:54 AM

lion.. how to know which one is good one??:confused:

If you are not sure, always bring a friend who knows. Check the engine, rev it... Make sure it rise and falls steadily and not erratically. Check for funny noise, sometimes the shims are due for changes. Ask them to do that

Check the engine cover. If possible, check the bike when the fairings are off. I ran thru my CBR when it's fairing was taken off, leaving just a naked bike and and its body frame. Make sure chassis, subframe and mainframe are clear of any damage. Ask for a test drive if possible. :smile:

Originally posted by Lion@Jul 7 2005, 01:51 PM

If you are not sure, always bring a friend who knows. Check the engine, rev it... Make sure it rise and falls steadily and not erratically. Check for funny noise, sometimes the shims are due for changes. Ask them to do that

Check the engine cover. If possible, check the bike when the fairings are off. I ran thru my CBR when it's fairing was taken off, leaving just a naked bike and and its body frame. Make sure chassis, subframe and mainframe are clear of any damage. Ask for a test drive if possible. :smile:

oh thanks!! wat are shims? btw.. lion u already upgraded ur bike?

Originally posted by Gwon_BoA@Jul 7 2005, 02:28 PM

oh thanks!! wat are shims? btw.. lion u already upgraded ur bike?

Hi... I am a owner of 2 bikes. A CBR R model and a Suzuki GSX1000K2.... Broke my piggy bank alot of times for these 2 bikes liao. :lol: :goodluck:

may i noe how long should i take to warm up class 2a bike..?

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

hi, may i noe whether a cbr is a good bike??let say itz pick up,top speed and handling wise?? :cheeky: if compare to a gsxr400 or rvf?? really kin on buying a cbr.. hope that fellow sbf friends can help me out?? thx... :lovestruck: :cheer: :sweat:

Originally posted by shin19@Aug 21 2005, 02:12 AM

hi, may i noe whether a cbr is a good bike??let say itz pick up,top speed and handling wise?? :cheeky: if compare to a gsxr400 or rvf?? really kin on buying a cbr.. hope that fellow sbf friends can help me out?? thx... :lovestruck: :cheer: :sweat:

i think compare to gsx cbr has better handling. but in term of speed rite.. think gxr has top speed of 240km/h. but doesnt mean it is the fastest cos it depend how long u need to reach the top speed. Moreover gsx has been on the road for a period of time le.. it has the oldest technology among class two @

So wat i actually recommand is that juz get Cbr lo.. so u wont get to service too often like gsx.

And 'N' model should be enough le.. cos 'L' is really hard to find.. even though it the fastest with no powercut.

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

Originally posted by honam24@Aug 23 2005, 12:30 PM

i think compare to gsx cbr has better handling. but in term of speed rite.. think gxr has top speed of 240km/h. but doesnt mean it is the fastest cos it depend how long u need to reach the top speed. Moreover gsx has been on the road for a period of time le.. it has the oldest technology among class two @

So wat i actually recommand is that juz get Cbr lo.. so u wont get to service too often like gsx.

And 'N' model should be enough le.. cos 'L' is really hard to find.. even though it the fastest with no powercut.

thx... :cheer: :cheer: and wads the average cost of the "L", "M", "N" model??

Originally posted by shin19@Aug 23 2005, 06:17 PM

thx... :cheer: :cheer: and wads the average cost of the "L", "M", "N" model??

it actually depend on the C.O.E it self.. Normally the machine for Cbr is about 5.k.. plus the interest of the bike shop charge and the registertion frees owner transfer. on the road it about 5.8 to 6 k ba..

it all depend , regardless of any model...

Hurricane models can be had for under $2k though.

I would say no matter which model CBR400 you buy, put aside some money to do the following servicing immediately:

Valve clearance check and adjustment

Cooling system flush and refill

Engine oil and oil filter

Engine oil and filter will keep your enginve lubricated and running smooth, cooling system flush out will keep it cool so you don't over heat and blow a head gasket or something expensive. Valve check and adjustment will make sure that your valve clearances are right (if they are off could result in hard to start, poor performance, ticking noises, or worst case if they haven't been checked for ages end up with dropped valve and dead engine)

Valve clearance check costs a few dollars but it is for piece of mind and you won't have to worry about it again for a couple of years then.

CBRs are good reliable bikes as long as they are looked after. I have a 89 model at home that has been on the race track only for the last 5+ years and it was still going strong on the original motor after bouncing off the red line all day long for that time. Only just got a rebuild recently and now it is even better than new again.

Originally posted by Zer0@Aug 30 2005, 03:39 PM

Hurricane models can be had for under $2k though.

I would say no matter which model CBR400 you buy, put aside some money to do the following servicing immediately:

Valve clearance check and adjustment

Cooling system flush and refill

Engine oil and oil filter

Engine oil and filter will keep your enginve lubricated and running smooth, cooling system flush out will keep it cool so you don't over heat and blow a head gasket or something expensive. Valve check and adjustment will make sure that your valve clearances are right (if they are off could result in hard to start, poor performance, ticking noises, or worst case if they haven't been checked for ages end up with dropped valve and dead engine)

Valve clearance check costs a few dollars but it is for piece of mind and you won't have to worry about it again for a couple of years then.

CBRs are good reliable bikes as long as they are looked after. I have a 89 model at home that has been on the race track only for the last 5+ years and it was still going strong on the original motor after bouncing off the red line all day long for that time. Only just got a rebuild recently and now it is even better than new again.

i agree but may i know how much would it cost to clear the valve

Probably depends where you go and how many shims need to be replaced, anywhere up to $300 or so I would imagine as it is pretty time consuming. If no shims need to be replaced then considerably less.

Dun get misled. the most powerful of the bunch is CBR "N" model. Most S'porean racers i know who raced for Johor Race series uses the "N" models last time.

http://img285.imageshack.us/img285/9274/saniboyburn0ui.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/saniboy/Ride/style.jpg

"N" model?

Personally opinion, I feel that all CBR 400 Models' power are all there. Is all around the same. Its just the newer or older thingy. Eg 'L' model is older than 'R' model, and most ppl claims that 'L' model is faster and better, but the actual difference is that it has no power cut. Like my 'R' model, the power cut has been taken off by previous owner thus i can go up to 200+ km/h same as 'L' model. There's really no much diff in power wise.

My 2 cents worth, just buy the CBR400 that has the most reasonable pricing and condition is good. Not worth it like my friend die die must have 'L' model, in the end, pay a lot more to repair the gear box, overhaul engine and stuffs like that. Yet power wise no diff. Not worth it..

Can Say CBR400 is powerful enough, any model on the track is ok, but the Rider that is on that bike does play a big part. :cheeky:

Hurricane(J,K model) :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Although it may be cheap and old.But definetly :thumb:

For me when i first bought this old bike,i did fork out money changin those wear and tear things.Will get a bit fed up lor,hate myself for neve checkin properly and feelin regret a bit.But so far the bike is problem free le,and so i started to mod...

I love my bike now... :lovestruck:

Actually is all depends on the previous owner,if that guy really took gd care of the bike u hav nuthing to worry.I'm kinda a bike lover,so i really maintain it as gd as posible.

Hope those scountin for a CBR can find a gd bike. :goodluck:

Riding isn't my hobby.When i ride,i feel at one with my bike.It's a passion,a way of life. .

Unlike a car driver,a biker is exposed to the wind,rain,heat,flying insects and vehicle fumes,all which make the ride a total sensory experience.

The control and foucs needed on the road remove all cares from my mind,while negotiating sharp bends is the most exhilarating and exciting. . .

Get a J or K model if you plan to upgrade to class 2. No point wasting too much on it. Got to be careful when sourcing for one, as 8 out of 10 J/K model up lorry liao.

Forever always seem to be around when things begin, but forever never seem to be around when they end.

Do not look for me when I'm gone, for there will never be another me...

Look no further but into your heart, for I am, and will always be there...

Feb 2003 - Kawasaki kips

Apr 2004 - CBR400RRK

tat personlly is a point of riders view.. but what i think is that if u really can find

CBr fireblade, it better to have one lor.. cos J and K model of CBR is rather too old le.. the technology is also veri old.. need a lot of time either to rebulid or to maintencane

juz my point of veiw.. correct me if i wrong...

The engine is basically the same in the 2 bikes, most parts are interchangeable. Personally I think when shopping decide on how much you have to spend including your insurance, transfer etc, work out what you will have to pay for a service on whatever you buy so you will KNOW that it has been done and then go and find the best you can within your budget. Be it Hurricane, Fireblade whatever, a well looked after Hurricane model will be a better investment than a neglected Fireblade.

As for all the different models (L,N,R etc) don't really worry too much, all basically the same, just go on the condition of the bike rather than the letter at the end of the name and you will end up with a better bike that way :)

Personally I decided I would rather pay $1.5k for a Hurricane model in reasonable condition and then invest some money and time after that replacing parts and getting it to the standard that I want.

I looked at several Fireblade models at more than 2x that price that were in worse condition and would have needed as much or more spent on them to get them to the state that I am aiming for!

Anyway good luck finding one and good choice, they are generally very reliable and quite cheap to service and look after really.