hi, I have seen a lot of old honda civic hatchback for sale rather cheaply.

I'm not sure whether they are still reliable and problem free since mostly are driven and "wack" by young drivers, many say its a ah beng car..haha..

I still quite interested for its looks and its power i see on the road. Can someone tell me more about it if you are driving one.

How many people can sit comfortbly behind?

How much is the insurance if I'm 27, 3 years experience. Is the maintainence high for such 10 years above car.

I see many models, like eg6, ESi , LSi etc etc...and 4A, 4M ... what are the diffence and which one is recommended?

Thanks...

• Replies 37

Bro to buy those Old Civic do prepare yourself to folk out at least $3K to service the car, as most of this car as you mention have been wreck. And its a old car so wear and tear is there so U need to prepare another few grands to fix up along the way. Oh there is the road tax you need to pay which is over $1K. Do consider properly before commit.

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg
Do consider properly before commit.

Gd info.

The price of the 'decent' ESI, coe till '11, way affordable ard 16K below now. Tot of getting 1 for shielding me to work just in case of rain, beside bike, but then need to consider liow.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x26/virusx11/Avatar/LMCDArthVader.jpg

It doesn't matter how good your bike is, but how long you can ride it

Performance doesn't lie on the bike, it boost when the ego broke!!

It doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile...winning's winning..

I'm not sure whether they are still reliable and problem free since mostly are driven and "wack" by young drivers, many say its a ah beng car..haha..

I still quite interested for its looks and its power i see on the road. Can someone tell me more about it if you are driving one.

How much is the insurance if I'm 27, 3 years experience. Is the maintainence high for such 10 years above car.

I see many models, like eg6, ESi , LSi etc etc...and 4A, 4M ... what are the diffence and which one is recommended?

Thanks...

if u can afford a newer car could b better,could save some $$$ on the wear n tear part...for civic,u gonna 1 shot clear all the problem,if nt u get sick of it.if u wan power,would recommend a 4dr VTI or a 4dr SIR :thumb:

Gd info.

The price of the 'decent' ESI, coe till '11, way affordable ard 16K below now. Tot of getting 1 for shielding me to work just in case of rain, beside bike, but then need to consider liow.

yeah... I thought since so cheap can pay one shot without taking loan... hmmm... really donno man.. to get COE car or 2nd Hand or..... 1st Hand... :giddy:

I used to drive a Civic Hatch when I was 27yrs old.

It's an ok car, but not powerful lah if stock. just that can zhng quite a bit.

easy decision, get the car you can afford.

for old cars.. i am not sure of the trade in value when u wan to let it go.. but i noe that there will not be and money if its scrapped... mayb left the coe...

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

those kind of COE car all drive till scrap de.. take back $0 ... scrap value also dun haf. at most gif u body value lor..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/341058511.png

dats y. i computer hero
I used to drive a Civic Hatch when I was 27yrs old.

It's an ok car, but not powerful lah if stock. just that can zhng quite a bit.

easy decision, get the car you can afford.

EG6? Haha, bro, didn't know you were once a beng before. :lol:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough

Well, my Civic hatch was completely stock except for bigger rims and low profile tyres. It has a very clean young executive look. In those days the depreciation for a civic hatch was $8500 per year.

This Avatar, I like!

If we see the other point of view, $16K rite down the drain, just $16K for ard 3 yrs, w/o other pplem. But other cars u never know after tat same yrs, the deppr yearly without realising it way above tat $ marked. Well, scrap metal never make money..

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x26/virusx11/Avatar/LMCDArthVader.jpg

It doesn't matter how good your bike is, but how long you can ride it

Performance doesn't lie on the bike, it boost when the ego broke!!

It doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile...winning's winning..

Thanks...

i would say that buying an COE car u got to consider of their rd tax is 1.4k per annual . and talking about insurance for civic and for young driver is like rider taking his aprila rs 125 most likely it gonna cost u a lot . and by adding up all the cost and worries u got to repair ur vehicle u might end up spend a equal or more money compare to Lancer or Vios per yr .

saying that u having a deprication of 4k per yr for ur civic and the rd tax and insurance is so high. add up would probably give u 7k a yr haven count in the carpark and other repairs . compare to a 2 yr old lancer depreciation at 4k per yr rd tax less then 1 k , insurance could be ard the same or cheaper . and of cost taking consideration into the loan of 3.5% per annual u probably have more peaceful mind and less worries for a newer car ..

Really damn clean cut look man.... Think ROV see on the road also can't be bothered to check you out for illegal mods. :lol:

Finally one avatar you like eh??? :D

Yah, you see, young executive also can drive this car, doesnt mean must be ah beng. Many ahbengs also drive Mercs, BMW and Ferraris, Porsches, it's not the car it's the drivers. see how the car is being modded and you will be able to tell what kind of driver

this avatar I super like !

get the Civic FD2. cant go wrong. only bad point is that the backside is abit heavy.

http://i.imgur.com/SSSud.gif
Yah, you see, young executive also can drive this car, doesnt mean must be ah beng. Many ahbengs also drive Mercs, BMW and Ferraris, Porsches, it's not the car it's the drivers. see how the car is being modded and you will be able to tell what kind of driver

this avatar I super like !

Hehe, my gf and I considering to buy a EG6... Especially the link that I posted earlier above. $20k for 4 years seems like a fair deal...

wah looks like the dealer made quite a lot of money loh....

Let me explain.

i sold my Civic Hatch for about $23k I remember with about 1.5 yr COE left to dealer when i had to eruptly leave the country due to overseas posting.

During that time 2001 Jun to Aug a COE was only about $10-11k

As I understand the dealer renewed the COE immediately meaning his cost for the Civic with a new 10 yr COE in total was no more than $35k or $3.5k per yr.

now after 6 yrs, the price should maximum be $14k not to mention considering the age and toil and the fact that there is no paper value left.

at $20k Dealer laughing all the way to the bank! hahahaha

wah looks like the dealer made quite a lot of money loh....

Let me explain.

i sold my Civic Hatch for about $23k I remember with about 1.5 yr COE left to dealer when i had to eruptly leave the country due to overseas posting.

During that time 2001 Jun to Aug a COE was only about $10-11k

As I understand the dealer renewed the COE immediately meaning his cost for the Civic with a new 10 yr COE in total was no more than $35k or $3.5k per yr.

now after 6 yrs, the price should maximum be $14k not to mention considering the age and toil and the fact that there is no paper value left.

at $20k Dealer laughing all the way to the bank! hahahaha

You mean thats your car in the link!?

thats not what i meant.

in Jun 2001, the COE suddenly dropped to $10k from about $30k, many many Civics had their COEs renewed becos it was only $10-11k compared to $30k.

Therefore there are many COE cars with COE expiring 2011 Jun to Aug period.

These COE cars all basically have depreciation of $3.5k+- per year.

These included many Civic, Mazda MX5s, etc......

Many of my friends made money during those times becos they simply renewed the COE for their 8-9 yr old car with little paper value.

After that drove a few years more and sold it for $30k still.

So what i mean is dont think that you have a solid deal if you are paying

$20k for a 2011 COE Civic. Especially when you dont know the history of the car at all.

your avatar is reaally blinding me

Thanks...

LSi = 1.5L

ESi = 1.6 L single cam

VTi = 1.6L twin cam

overall SiR is the most powerful among them =P

but nowadays most EG changed their engine,so be careful when buying it.

http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q48/davidww81/gsxr400.jpg

2001 Kawasaki ZX150 FS9884K

2002 Aprilia RS125 FN8800K

2002-03 NSR150 FS7287Y

2003-04 Kawasaki ZX150 FT4246E

2004 ZXR400L8 FS8706Z

2005 Piaggio 125 FL6767Y

2005-06 CBR400RRR FQ3681D

2006-2007 Suzuki GSXR400MSP FK1005B

2006-2008 Wave-S FW4357C

thats not what i meant.

in Jun 2001, the COE suddenly dropped to $10k from about $30k, many many Civics had their COEs renewed becos it was only $10-11k compared to $30k.

Therefore there are many COE cars with COE expiring 2011 Jun to Aug period.

These COE cars all basically have depreciation of $3.5k+- per year.

These included many Civic, Mazda MX5s, etc......

Many of my friends made money during those times becos they simply renewed the COE for their 8-9 yr old car with little paper value.

After that drove a few years more and sold it for $30k still.

So what i mean is dont think that you have a solid deal if you are paying

$20k for a 2011 COE Civic. Especially when you dont know the history of the car at all.

your avatar is reaally blinding me

I see... If you hadn't mention it, I really wouldn't know the COE at Jun 2001 was that low.

Blinding you...? Make sure your other half's not around when ya drooling. :lol: