i wish to DIY a switch tat will allow mi to ON both my front & rear signal lights w/o disturbing the normal operation of the lights.

meaning:

1) i still can 'pak' left/right/hazzard light when the switch is OFF.

2) i still can 'pak' left/right/hazzard light when the switch is ON.

i understand tat i'll need a relay, additional wirings, a switch. (mayb i missed out some)

but now i need to koe wat type of relay to get & how to get it up.

anyone?

thanks....

• Replies 76

i wish to DIY a switch tat will allow mi to ON both my front & rear signal lights w/o disturbing the normal operation of the lights.

meaning:

1) i still can 'pak' left/right/hazzard light when the switch is OFF.

2) i still can 'pak' left/right/hazzard light when the switch is ON.

i understand tat i'll need a relay, additional wirings, a switch. (mayb i missed out some)

but now i need to koe wat type of relay to get & how to get it up.

anyone?

thanks....

hmMm..wat bike u riding? for my s4..only tap wire can liao..no need switch..all light up..signal left..left side will blink while right still on..all working fine..can c frm my sig :cheeky:

okie, i understand tat for bikes like S4 (who's front signal lights are ON all the time) u onli need to tap additional wiring.

but i'm going to do for a couple of bikes, mi & my friends'.

they will be a spark135, FZ6, R6 & R1.

no one?

so many done it b4, no one seems to share.

-.-

for the bikes u mentions im not too sure.. currently for my sp is connect a wire to tap from a wire which is connected to my head lights and connect n add in a additional bulb into my signal case.. need some drilling of course.. den when i on my head lights.. the pilot lights comes up also.. it does nt affect the functions of ur normal signal lights

wad i noe u need dual filament bulb to get this done. one filament u tap to ur ignition and the other one u connect to ur signal light.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Guest @h_püi™
wad i noe u need dual filament bulb to get this done. one filament u tap to ur ignition and the other one u connect to ur signal light.

but if one of the filament is perment on, then when you signal left or right.. is just go on > dimmer > on > dimmer

rather then on off on off...

so is just like the brake light...

but from wat i know pilot light is both front signal light on and when signal is needed.. it will go into normal signal operation on off on off... not dim on dim on..

Guest @h_püi™

Btw.. where can get the signal light socket that can hold two filament?

Lim ah boy...hehehee or Lim Batt maybe?? all the Lims... hahahha

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

ah pui, u made a cashcard reminder diy? any idea how to make a key reminder?

-----------------------------------------

http://bp0.blogger.com/_BRGYr6mPZh4/R9OHD3Wcv0I/AAAAAAAAA6Q/gepQxOxG4oY/s200/SoniaSui01.jpg

Selling tyre gauges(good for track use) PM me

Guest @h_püi™

key reminder? what you mean? you PM me for more detail

http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/5015/signallightsetupka2.jpg

1. u got to split the live wire of the signal.

2. connect the wires as shown above using a dual contact 5 pin relay.

3. as u signal, the contact on the signal will be off on off on giving the signal on and off.

i will try this out myself first b4 doing an update here :D

signal light setup.jpg

total u need 1 dual contact 5 pin relay for each signal. usually only the front 2 signals are lit up.

if u wan all 4 to light up, den u will need 4 such relays. and such relays are really difficult to find in the market

i understand tat i'll need a relay, additional wirings, a switch. .

hi, good news is u do not need a switch! the relay is a 5 pin dual contact relay. not the usual 5 pin relay.

how to differentiate?

normal 5 pin relay is laboured:

85, 86, 30, 87, 87

normal 4 pin relay is laboured:

85, 86, 30, 87

the dual contact 5 pin relay is laboured:

85, 86, 30, 87, 87a

Lim ah boy...hehehee or Lim Batt maybe?? all the Lims... hahahha

I got the 2 pin plate to convert the 1156 bulb holder to a 1157 holder :angel:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

sorry, my mistake regarding each signal light having 1 5 pin dual contact relay.

actually, 1 dual contact relay can cater to the left front and rear or the right front and rear.

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/8552/signallightsetup2yq4.jpg

signal light set up 2.jpg

pls understand in such a set up, each signal light draws 12watt. 4 signals would mean 48watt.

a typical bike's headlight draws 35watt to 55watt depending on which bike we are toking abt.

a super 4's front dual filament always on bulb only draws 5watt. when u signal, the higher rated 2nd filament which is the 12watt one lights up. hence we still can see the difference in brightness.

paiseh. wat abt if i wanna fix a strobe light or rather a 12v bright light which doesnt blink... i wud need a relay? cos i wan it to flash..

i went sim lim tower and they showed me this huge controller which cost 25.. seems like i dun need tt high end 1 man.. any suggestions

http://bp0.blogger.com/_BRGYr6mPZh4/R9OHD3Wcv0I/AAAAAAAAA6Q/gepQxOxG4oY/s200/SoniaSui01.jpg

yep, still need relay to protect ur own bike wiring system.

sim lim tower tat one not bad la, price quite ok also i feel. :cheeky:

but the controller a bit like big man... lol. hmm.. i din buy in the end, buy liao also i dun think i noe how to fix it..

btw if there any way to put the wire it so tt instead of needing an extra switch i can juz put to to like passing or smtg..