Just a wild idea.........

Would it be work in Singapore if riding with protection is encouraged by the authorities?

Especially with the TPs and ROVs setting an example by wearing FFs and jackets?

With additional advertisements about proper riding habits and proper riding protection (like the ones we see abroad), on top of the usual "speeding kills" and "reckless weaving in and out" TV advertisements we see now??

Maybe after that, riding with full gear would become a norm and not something riders see as weird in our hot and humid weather.

Dunno how many fatalities can this "far fetched" measure cut down?

Better yet! Vote in an MP that is an avid rider in the next GE, so that he can be a voice in the parliament regarding ridng matters. cheer: :cheer:

Slow in Fast Out, Fast in Never Come Out.

• Replies 1.6k

Not too sure if the TP like to wear full face with riding jacket...

But it will be a gd example.

Anyway... it's for their own protection.

Anybody saw a fallen TP?

It is true that in Europe... Most bikers put on full protection.

Also it is cold up there...

Asia... very much what we do here in spore. :smile:

Mp... only NMP Stieve Chia... no more there now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Although I have not bought any, but from reading the forums, many branded FF helms do not have the approved sticker? They can start by approving them maybe.

Today rained abit and I fell due to brake jamming when I saw traffic light turn from green to yellow at Mandai Zoo area. Lucky several bikers came off and helped me carry up my bike.

Was wearing a raincoat as a 'riding' jacket and jeans. Tore small holes in both. Knee and elbows scratched nia. My first fall. Learnt my lesson. Lucky I was quite slow during the fall. More heartpain for my bike. Scratched the fairings abit also.

Hope others will slow down, especially when raining, when nearing a junction.

2006 - 2008 // Honda NSR150SP

2008 - 2009 // Honda CBR400RRN

2009 - 2009 // Honda RVF400

2009 - 2011 // Yamaha X1R

2011 - 20xx // Suzuki DRZ-400SM

Originally posted by Hopelessly Stupid@Nov 9 2006, 10:15 PM

Hope others will slow down, especially when raining, when nearing a junction.

Hope you are ok now.

Always reserve/buffer more safety distance during raining day.

I always advice, everyone should try to practice "e-brake" once a while, to familiar your bike's behaviour during hard brake, the braking distance, skidding pattern etc.

Do this at a safe place, start with a slow speed first, then practice also on raining day. After your familiar the bike character, adjusting your riding style accordingly.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Just bought an RJ jacket for $170. How come all these jackets come in black colour? Absorb more heat right? Feel so 'heated up' after riding for 30 minutes in the afternoon sun. Need to drink cold chrysanthemum tea after every ride to cool down. But the jacket does make me feel more secure and protected.

Guest czh2002sg

I'm trying to get in touch with Endlessloop but have no means of reaching. Am interested in his concept of riding. Could anyone here put me through to him? Thank you.

Zhehong

Hope: Sorry to hear about your Fall at Mandai...

As Mr Lau Said... do slow down approaching junctions.

Accessing road condition will help preventing falls.

Dropping gears (eng braking) is a safer option.

Or use both for added effectiveness.

E Braking... There's a advance riding course at Eunos ride ctr that

have qualified instructors teaching this technic...

Will post the details...

Good place to pick up some essential skill.

Full face: I wear a Shoei which I pick up on my japan trip

Not really a problem. Used it for my advance course in Bukit Batok too.

For one about $200 - 250... Think That budget will

bring u to a mid range level... HJC, OGK, Nolan are all good helmets.

Will check and get back to u...

RJ Riding Jacket: Glad u got One KC...

Yes, most of them are black.. anti dirt colour... haha..

Wear a long sleeve T.

Remove the inner rain coat.

Get use to it... it is a Good Habit and It great for the Highways.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Hi Spectrum,

After reading your recommendations, I'm considering getting a riding jacket (currently wears a wind-breaker) during my rides.

Some questions:

1) Does both the RJ and Taiwan both have rain coats included?

2) Some people mentioned 'armour' in other threads, is it the same?

3) Would you recommend buying a bigger size jacket for those carrying backpacks?

Guest czh2002sg

Sheesh... Read till page 28 over past few days. One new point to add. Seems like not mentioned before, but something that i thought might be helpful: FORMING UP AT RED LIGHTS. We all (mostly lah) filter thru to form up at the front at red lights. 3 senarios worth discussing are, it turns green when you're half way thru, you're almost reaching the front at about say 15 or 25km/h and the lights go green, and lastly you form up at the front between vehicles, at the eh... (stop line for bikes ) :smile:

In senario one, its best you signal and enter a lane if you're pretty far from the front, or if your path is blocked by cars in close proximity. Alternatively, filter thru at your discretion. A matter of judgement here. Personally i don;t like to filter when making a turn between 2 lanes of turning vehicles. I'll rather be on the outside.

Now, senario 2 and 3 is what I would like to highlight. Sometimes after you form up at the front, you'll notice that SUV or taxi creeping up level with you. Beware that this driver is eager to show he can out-accelerate you. Or he may just have something against bikers filtering. 2B riders like me are especially vulnerable. I sometimes wonder who's faster in accelerating, the evo or me. But its something I'll rather not find out, especially when I'm not even occupying a lane. The emphasis here is to anticipate, rather than get clouded in a red mist after the shock of a vehicle accelerating past you, worst if you thought you were clear and started cutting into a lane too early.

Senario 3 is the more risky one. Usually if I'm 2 or 3 cars away from stop line and the light goes green, I will accelerate away, and since I wasn't stationary to begin with its pretty fast to pick up even for 2B as compared the the larger vehicles. (NSR mah, not vespar). Some people probabaly do this more aggresively to take a lead from the main pack of vehicles. Now the crucial point is : Watch out at the junction. You never know if there was another vehicle trying to beat the red from your right or left, thinking all the cars stationary at the stop line will take another second or two to accelerate into the junction.

One more observation is riders wearing slippers during the rain. Now while this is more convenient, reducing the protection on your feet to zero, at a time when you need it most, and is most likely to need it (touch wood) isn't exactly safe riding. We're all guilty of it before (i presume). How to keep your shoes dry? I chanced upon endless' blog about his comments on Pro Grip rain coat, and learnt of rain shoes, a protective covering over your shoes to keep them dry. Bought the whole set of Pro Grip rain coat and shoes at Ah boy shop for 61 niah, plus some cheapo glove, good for tha rainy season ahead. Please take care. Taxi drivers I spoke to before I took up riding say they see accidents almost EVERYTIME it rains, needless to say its when riders are most vulnerable and most likely to get hurt. Ride safely, ride another day safely.

Having been involved in one car accident (lim pei "L" plate also tio, nowadays driving school syllabus really comprehensive, making report at police station after accident also covered), i can testify to Spectrum's constant reminder that you really only have 2 seconds to react. i didn't, neither did my instructor, so we had a Tokyo Drift, 180 spin. Luckily the aunty (it had to be a woman driver, not that i want to say ah) and her kid at the back was ok. I still the keep the police report today as a constant reminder for safety, that accidents happen so fast you usually react intuitively. But as Endless and Spectrum always say, the key is not to get into that situation.

Enjoy your ride :goodluck:

Originally posted by tridagger@Nov 12 2006, 07:11 PM

Hi Spectrum,

After reading your recommendations, I'm considering getting a riding jacket (currently wears a wind-breaker) during my rides.

Some questions:

1) Does both the RJ and Taiwan both have rain coats included?

2) Some people mentioned 'armour' in other threads, is it the same?

3) Would you recommend buying a bigger size jacket for those carrying backpacks?

Hi Tridagger:

Both Riding Jacket comes with rain protector

as a inner liner. (more to keep warm or against light rain)

The Taiwaness Jacket at Chiong Aik has a proper raincoat

in zip pocket at the back of the jacket.

U should get a size that fits u...

Reason:

The Armour which is the albow & shoulder guards

must be in place when u fall. So if it is too loose...

They may not be there to do the job.

There is also a Back protector... thin sheet of rubber.

Not the best but will help.

Backpack:

As for backpack... It is good to have one.

It helps to absorb the impact on the spine if u land

on your back.

I try to wear one all the time!

Get one that fasten on top & waist>

with a thick backing!

I bought one at Mega Mart... Harbour Front.

$78 and it has a hard backing for riding

(it meant more for bicycles... but it will help)

Czh: Thks for your comments...

as for the situation at traffic lites...

Filtering to the front is a privelege of moto bikes.

Racing with an Evo is not a good option.

U may lose your bike if convicted in court...

Beside the dangers that comes with it.

If behind a few cars and the lights goes green...

I would just find a gap and follow one of the cars.

Raining days:

I have seen riders bare footed.

Dry shoes... no foot.

I rest my case... ha ha..

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Guest czh2002sg

Hmm... A riding jacket looks like any other jacket from the outside right? only you know it has the extra padding at the right places? Second question: Can it keep you dry in a heavy downpour? Or can just survive moderate rain?

On my NSR 150 looks weird to be decked out in gloves and windbreaker initially, when my bike not that powerful at all. But after a a couple days i realized its just in my head. I've seen someone on vespar in town in full jacket, full face and leather gloves. And i remember laughing at him to my pillion. Now I realize he probabaly was a better rider than me, and less likely to get hurt. I'm thinking of getting a riding jacket and full face soon. Seems like Rjays one got quite good reviews in this forum. Any riders here want to buy together? Can bargain at Ah boy's mah

On safety, i thought that the amount of safety equipment you wear is really your choice, and so is the attitude you adopt on the road. Just because others practice "one second rule" shouldn't mean you do it too, and just because they dress for the ride shouldn't mean you don't dress for the fall. As i remember what my SSDC instructor said a long time back, "Invest in good set of riding jacket and gloves. You can wear it all the time for a whole year without any accident. But if it saves your skin just that once, it is worth it already".

Just had 2 close shave of near contact already. One time this van from minor road turning into my path, 2nd this merc started lane changing into my path from right beside me. both times hone at them and slow down, seems like both times they really didn't see me, cause they looked shocked when i was staring at them :mad:

Thanks to all the contributions from all the riders in this forum, I believe the 35 pages of sound advice made a positive impact on my attitude towards safer riding. I'm starting to direct my rider friends to this forum, in the hope they will benefit too. Cheers :cheer: and have a safe ride :smile:

On the way home from 2nd link last night on the PIE towards KJE, a cub kia around 50m infront of me suddenly just lost control and crashed on the extreme left lane. Pillon was a tall guy, and he managed to jump of and escape with a few minor injuries, but the rider was flung towards the shoulder lane and landed face first.

He was wearing a normal open face helmet, safety shoes which are loosely secured, t-shirt and jeans. When i got to him, he was trying to turn around. The ambulance was already on the way. I got a damn shock when i saw his face. The visor broke off, his front teeth were non-existant left for the a few. Left eye couldnt open and whole face was bloodied. Shoes were flung off and socks torn. Abrasian all over...

Speed he was travelling at? ~70km/h

Reason he crashed? rear tire blowout.

You dun need a powerful bike or go fast to require riding gears. Always wear proper attire when riding. Your skin will grow back, but its one hell-of-a experience!

Hi William: Not a Pretty sight.... but a hefty price to pay.

More so if the pillion gets hurt.

So... getting use to a full face is definately a gd habit.

Still have my 1st HJC full face... cost me $100 about at

Moto world... during a sale.

A few badly damage full face of my riding buddies

also reinforce the wisdom of wearing full face.

Tire: regular inspection will help prevent tire blow out.

And most of our bikes have tubeless tires... air will just escape

slowly... no blow out unless something sharp shred the tires.

Water Proofing: Riding jackets are for lite rain.

Heavy downpour... u need to wear a rain coat over it.

Think the price of the RJ can come down to $150... at regina(Lim ah boy)

Depends on your bargaining skill.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/StreetSmart156copy01.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by William Tan@Nov 15 2006, 01:21 PM

On the way home from 2nd link last night on the PIE towards KJE, a cub kia around 50m infront of me suddenly just lost control and crashed on the extreme left lane. Pillon was a tall guy, and he managed to jump of and escape with a few minor injuries, but the rider was flung towards the shoulder lane and landed face first.

He was wearing a normal open face helmet, safety shoes which are loosely secured, t-shirt and jeans. When i got to him, he was trying to turn around. The ambulance was already on the way. I got a damn shock when i saw his face. The visor broke off, his front teeth were non-existant left for the a few. Left eye couldnt open and whole face was bloodied. Shoes were flung off and socks torn. Abrasian all over...

Speed he was travelling at? ~70km/h

Reason he crashed? rear tire blowout.

You dun need a powerful bike or go fast to require riding gears. Always wear proper attire when riding. Your skin will grow back, but its one hell-of-a experience!

Wah lau.

Sad incident.

Sign.

At least the rider should be able to walk again and the pillion had a miraculous escape.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Guest czh2002sg

Eh.. anyone want to buy full face helmet? I read the above post le feel like buying asap liao. :giddy:

Anyone want to go ah boy shop buy this weekend? we go bargain together might get cheaper. Zhehong 97624492

Please quickly go buy a FF.

I was a non-believer of FF in Sg. I believed with my safety skills, a open faced is more than enough for me.

Until I saw all the accident victims at the TP safety talk. Almost every single one of them all showed signs of injury to their lower face (they wear opened face to half caps).

Anyway, instead of buying an expensive open face, with the same budget, you can actually buy a FF albeit less branded. Brand may look nice but it can't protect u.

29 Mar:

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

spectrum: may i ask what model of the RJays jacket you mentioned?

for FFs, MHR can be quite a good choice. around $100 for plain coloured ones. and the shape's pretty nice too (:

Guest czh2002sg

Eh... the Rjays jacket that goes for around 150 to 170? That one look like a regular windbreaker right?. Helmet ah.. I was wondering if the 100 dollars one and a 200+ one really got significant difference. Or is it just tha brand. Feels any different? or just psychological? Which will you reccomend.

Originally posted by czh2002sg@Nov 18 2006, 01:31 PM

Eh... the Rjays jacket that goes for around 150 to 170? That one look like a regular windbreaker right?. Helmet ah.. I was wondering if the 100 dollars one and a 200+ one really got significant difference. Or is it just tha brand. Feels any different? or just psychological? Which will you reccomend.

The RJays meshed jacket that I have been wearing for about a year cost 150-170 from Regina. There is a picture of my RJays in my blog just before Gerik entry and another in the first entry Cameroon trip.

I recommend meshed jackets instead of those made fully of gore-tex. Mesh is much much cooler. Gore-tex jacket hard to wear for commuting in afternoon sun.

I seconded Spectrum that go for jackets with armour at shoulder, elbow and spine. Armour may be either soft or hard. Jacket cannot be too loose. The mesh or gore-tex don't really protect you when you rubbed against tarmac as you slide. It is the armour. So make sure your jacket is so loose that the armour bits would go out of position in a slide.

For FF helmet, I use one of the lowest end OGK. Think 100 plus or just over 200.

If u can afford Shoei or Arai, good. But I think any decent Jap brand will also do.

I think most decent brand helmets offer good protection.

I have seen the aftermath of the FF helmets of people who have fallen.

Up to speeds of 120. None of their faces a single scratch.

Surprisingly, the damage to their helmets are also just scratches and slight chips to the paint work.

So, once again, if you can afford a Shoei or Arai, good. But I think any decent brand FF helmet can do the job.

Since the material, design and construction of most decent brand helmets are not a problem, pay attention to the fit.

If you buy too loose, the helmet will go out of place when your head is sliding on the floor. If you buy too tight, you are going to suffer from headache and discomfort when wearing and you will give up on the helmet.

Lastly, may sound obvious, please secure your helmet using the double-rim chin strap the proper way (some come with clips). No point buying a $800 FF helmet to have it come off when you are flipping and tumbling.

29 Mar:

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

Hi endlesslopp,

I read your blog occasionally and I must say it is very entertaining haha! Ok BTW do you think full carbon fiber helmets are safe? I have an impression that they will smash up like a water melon upon impact. Cos I saw a HJC at MotorWorld and is really tempted. It's very light and dam cool (I'm a carbon fiber freak). But it doesn't have a PSB sticker.

c26492.jpg

Guys, just wanna share some my point of view....we ride for the passion of it, and as well as a mode of transport in singapore....but we have to be responsible for our love one as well...our pain will be nothing compare to them should anything happen....so ride with protection...ride with a mind that you still got a love one.....i always feel that the riding school give us a very good startoff point by emphasizing the importance of riding gear....good helmet/ jacket or long sleeve/ pair of gloves and a covered shoes...these are really essential stuff when riding.....so enjoy your ride with the right gear.....

p/s: please don't shoot me...

Germany :cheeky: Germany