Originally posted by gohjohan@May 2 2006, 02:03 PM

Yup, I read about that. I supposed the trees around there were planted at the same time and now they are getting old and weak.

Brings back some memories though. I still remember back in '98, there was a fallen tree at Upper Thomson Road. Was driving back in my dad's Toyota Corona from my then-gf's place. Thankfully it was at night and there was not much traffic.

hmm so if tree crash landed and killed somebody how man? who is going to take responsibility or this is one of those tat falls into the 'acts of nature' category?

• Replies 25.1k

Originally posted by Lass@May 2 2006, 07:31 PM

hmm so if tree crash landed and killed somebody how man? who is going to take responsibility or this is one of those tat falls into the 'acts of nature' category?

Hopefully not the owner. Seems in such situations, everyone else wants nothing to do with it.

Originally posted by gohjohan@May 2 2006, 10:05 PM

Hopefully not the owner. Seems in such situations, everyone else wants nothing to do with it.

not the owner? hmm how about the 'owner' in charge of these public plants maintainence.... (no names quoted :D)

Nearly ran into the right rear side of a shitty brown Mercs driven by an idiot who was sending his kids to the Anderson Junior College.

At the junction I am riding on green arrow turning lane, suddenly he decided to change lane as he realised that due to the red light, his lane was not going to move at all.

He turns out the SAME time his signals come on.

Slammed on the brakes and hit the horn of the DRZ. After the turn, rode up next to him and asked him what the hell he is trying to do. He indicated with his hands like "what is the problem, I already signal what??"

I really felt like taking my helmet off and smashing his windscreen. But then, I remembered the report of the biker who got jailed for road rage so I just shouted at him that he drives like a bloody idiot and rode off.

Turning on the signals is a declaration of intent and does not necessarily entails right of way. Why some idiots cannot understand that??????????

Really spoilt my whole morning.

car signal and turn vs bike signal and turn can result in different senerio..

lt's like a truck change lane abruptly vs a bicycle change lane abruptly.. 2 can have different effect..

juz dat some people prefer to think with "brains deteched" instead..

Originally posted by Raptor@May 4 2006, 11:03 PM

Nearly ran into the right rear side of a shitty brown Mercs driven by an idiot who was sending his kids to the Anderson Junior College.

At the junction I am riding on green arrow turning lane, suddenly he decided to change lane as he realised that due to the red light, his lane was not going to move at all.

He turns out the SAME time his signals come on.

Slammed on the brakes and hit the horn of the DRZ. After the turn, rode up next to him and asked him what the hell he is trying to do. He indicated with his hands like "what is the problem, I already signal what??"

I really felt like taking my helmet off and smashing his windscreen. But then, I remembered the report of the biker who got jailed for road rage so I just shouted at him that he drives like a bloody idiot and rode off.

Turning on the signals is a declaration of intent and does not necessarily entails right of way. Why some idiots cannot understand that??????????

Really spoilt my whole morning.

it's not unusual and worse still when they change when taking a bend w blind spot :giddy: now tat i got loud horns I will horn til the cows come home!

these days i try not to signal too early as well cos in sg, there ain't much courtesy and the moment u flip ur signal the car on the next lane simply will speed up so that u can't change lane or overtake.

wat really irks me is overtaking or changing into ur bike at ur side! i dun understand why they can't go faster and overtake at a safe distance but they hv to do it at our side!

Went in the rain this morning to help a friend with her Aprilla 125. Battery totally dead coz she got no time to ride the bike. Bike has only 1500KM plus on it!! The tyres still have the 'hairs' on them!!

Took the battery out and brought home to do a slow charge with a battery charger for the next 24 hours.

Anyone interested in buying the bike? Has been upgraded by the shop to a bigger bore piston and block, its a 140 or 150cc now and I think the word was Pollini or something like that. Bike even has a onboard lap timer. :lovestruck:

On the way back, along Adam Road at the entrance road to the Island Country Club, saw a guy sitting on the kerb, with his Phantom parked. Was rubbing his wrist and trying to flex it about. Looked like he skidded when making the turn.

Next few mornings are going to be like that... the Angin Barat or Western Winds aka Sumatras are acting up. Heavy downpours with accompanying strong winds from the west. A clear straight line of clouds demarcating the clear skies from the rain clouds following is the signature of the Sumatras.

Check your tyres... if they have been on your bike for more than a year. Probably age hardened already with tiny cracks on the sidewalls. Age hardened tyres do not grip at all, it would be like riding on plastic wheels.

Spend a bit on new tyres if you have to. Beats spending a few hundreds or thousands on repairs due to a skid.

Ride smart. Ride safe.

This morning jam. At Napier Road (The same side as Gleneagles Hospital), the jam was caused by traffic trying to turn right into Tanglin Road towards Tiong Bahru. Also there was a cop that pulled over someone just outside Trader's Hotel.

Came Kim Seng Road, a Merz in front of me was trying to change lane without signalling. When she did, it was already to late 'cos she managed to squeeze in.

Then came Upper Pickering Road. Jam very badly. In the end, even squeezing is near impossible. Too many cars :giddy:

Got sms from my manager. He's stuck in Nichol Highway........

Edited to say: My manager came in 20 minutes after sending the sms. Turns out that there was nothing wrong with the traffic but just too many cars. Even right up to Shenton Way.

Originally posted by gohjohan@May 8 2006, 09:25 AM

This morning jam. At Napier Road (The same side as Gleneagles Hospital), the jam was caused by traffic trying to turn right into Tanglin Road towards Tiong Bahru. Also there was a cop that pulled over someone just outside Trader's Hotel.

Came Kim Seng Road, a Merz in front of me was trying to change lane without signalling. When she did, it was already to late 'cos she managed to squeeze in.

Then came Upper Pickering Road. Jam very badly. In the end, even squeezing is near impossible. Too many cars :giddy:

Got sms from my manager. He's stuck in Nichol Highway........

Edited to say: My manager came in 20 minutes after sending the sms. Turns out that there was nothing wrong with the traffic but just too many cars. Even right up to Shenton Way.

well mondays and thurs always seem to be terrible w traffic for some reason...tat's why i tend to get out early cos i hate to arrive office grouchy

Yesterday evening 08 May 06, 2130hrs, from PIE exit to BKE, I came alongside a Super 4 PB1....no mirrors or those damn small mirrors that are simply useless.

Rider got a bit upset when I was beside him, cuz he just have to sped pass me within proximity as if we are riding in PG. Mind you he has a female pillon, and I forgot what was written on her T shirt.

I'm fine, since I'm riding Wave, but I was in a rush to meet ppl, so along BKE, I followed behind him during squeezing....until we came near the speed cam, I guess he realised a bike was behind him, so he signal and gave way. But when he saw it's me, he decided to sped off again probably thinking why should he follow behind a Wave since he's a 2A :lol:

I just carry on my full bore until I exit Mandai cuz I'm REALLY in a rush to hand over some stuffs we ordered in a MO. I dun like to hold onto other's item when especially they already paid for it.

I just remembered a few days ago, myself and a fella colleague just told a fren the cons about riding Kup. It's not the bike, it's other road user's stereotyped stigmatic view on Kups that's sickening.

Oh, like to apologise to the rider on the S4. But then again, if he used normal mirrors, I think all these unhappiness would have not existed.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Happening man, this evening coming back from work.

Should have worn my swimming trunks and rode instead. Rain coming down like an elephant peeing. Sure got a few minor floods around Singapore.

Hard time trying to see where I was going.

Who else got caught in elephant pee??

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 9 2006, 07:38 PM

Mind you he has a female pillon, and I forgot what was written on her T shirt.

Probably the same print on a T-shirt in the USA....

"I am riding with an Idiot"

Originally posted by Raptor@May 9 2006, 09:27 PM

Happening man, this evening coming back from work.

Should have worn my swimming trunks and rode instead. Rain coming down like an elephant peeing. Sure got a few minor floods around Singapore.

Hard time trying to see where I was going.

Who else got caught in elephant pee??

Probably the same print on a T-shirt in the USA....

"I am riding with an Idiot"

So which is better, riding with the mortard in the rain or the superbike in the rain?

But both same same lah, as both bikes are on race rubbers.... :D

Com'on.....it's not the pillon's fault her rider behaves that way right? Kekeke.....many a times, I ride like an idiot too, especially in my 2B days. Hardly rode 2A cuz i was overseas then.

Today was horrible!! This M'sian registered Wave blocked my bike by parking behind it :mad: I managed to do a make a multi-point turn to get my bike out. I left a note in that Wave's IU unit. They left the cash card too, but I didn't take it. I won't be so petty.

Leaving my office, I got onto McCallum Street to turn right into Robinson Road. I was in the middle lane where turning right is optional. The red car on my right instead of turning right, went straight!!! I almost got knocked over and the car behind the red car horned. The guy in the red car looked very confused. I don't get it.... Hope that wasn't his 1st time on that part of the road. It was after 7 pm and the rain was a drizzle by then.

The rest of the way was jam!!!! Merging lanes.... they are still the main cause of all these jam! :mad: :mad: :mad:

ytd around 4.30pm, a Police van was tailgating me very closely on the one lane, speed limit 50 km/h slip road from KJE towards PIE Changi.

as the car infront had swift slightly to the right, i move a little to the left and found dat the Police van was rite beside me on my right and eventually overtook me :sian:

there r 3 people inside the van including the driver and none of them were wearing police uniforms as i can only see them all wearing white tops

after the slip road joined by the main PIE road, the van speed up and change lane abruptly to the right and i was doin around 70 km/h

so i figured the van was likely to be doin around 80+ km/h

i wondered why there are no speed limiting stickers pasted on the back of the police van like all normal vans do

oh yah :btw: the van license plate is QX4798C

http://img252.echo.cx/img252/5066/ppp012vm.gif

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. --- by Winston Churchill (1874 -1965)

Always expect the unexpected!

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Driving on the highway is not a competition. It is a cooperation, the sharing of a limited resource. --- Matt Reed

STOC #5806

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 9 2006, 07:38 PM

Yesterday evening 08 May 06, 2130hrs, from PIE exit to BKE, I came alongside a Super 4 PB1....no mirrors or those damn small mirrors that are simply useless.

Rider got a bit upset when I was beside him, cuz he just have to sped pass me within proximity as if we are riding in PG. Mind you he has a female pillon, and I forgot what was written on her T shirt.

I'm fine, since I'm riding Wave, but I was in a rush to meet ppl, so along BKE, I followed behind him during squeezing....until we came near the speed cam, I guess he realised a bike was behind him, so he signal and gave way. But when he saw it's me, he decided to sped off again probably thinking why should he follow behind a Wave since he's a 2A :lol:

I just carry on my full bore until I exit Mandai cuz I'm REALLY in a rush to hand over some stuffs we ordered in a MO. I dun like to hold onto other's item when especially they already paid for it.

I just remembered a few days ago, myself and a fella colleague just told a fren the cons about riding Kup. It's not the bike, it's other road user's stereotyped stigmatic view on Kups that's sickening.

Oh, like to apologise to the rider on the S4. But then again, if he used normal mirrors, I think all these unhappiness would have not existed.

does it happen to be a blue s4 FU3***? hehe i came across this blue s4 tat blew at me twice b4 cos his mirror was tiny and tat i was blocking his squeezing path cos my mirrors were to long. recently saw the same bike again and die die oso must be faster than me hehe

i screamed at a driver this mornz. he lane change next to an ah pek w an auntie pillion when he could hv gone faster in front and do a proper lane change. shortly he changed into my lane w/o and tat really got me pissed off and i held my stebel horn for a good 2 sec. 1. there was hardly much traffic on the road and 2. it seems tat he's out to get into bike's lane. at traffic light i could move up next to him cos of the small gap which i could squeeze thru but i started screaming at him fr behind. can see him mumble something w a smirky face. end up we were going to the same plc and i dunno why he had to change lane so many times when there really isn't much traffic at all. i wasn't pissed cos he changed lane infront of me but i was pissed cos he had to change lane next to ah pek and tried to push him out. can't he hv some patience for ah pek esp w pillion. it really irks me tat cars had to change lane next to us and i get it all the time.

___

oso saw some ego at play this morn from a group of 3 bikes and a LEXUS MPV trying to tailgate cos it seems tat he wants me to get out of his way.

just another one of those days w slightly more happenings....... :cheeky:

time to install a flashlight at your rear

include a warning sign

"Tailgaters WILL be blinded.

You have been warned"

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg
Originally posted by zod@May 11 2006, 10:29 AM

time to install a flashlight at your rear

include a warning sign

"Tailgaters WILL be blinded.

You have been warned"

haha interesting gadget.....will blind speed traps too? :cheeky:

ever team up wif other bikers u dunno on the road to irritate reckless drivers? :D

http://img252.echo.cx/img252/5066/ppp012vm.gif

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. --- by Winston Churchill (1874 -1965)

Always expect the unexpected!

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Driving on the highway is not a competition. It is a cooperation, the sharing of a limited resource. --- Matt Reed

STOC #5806

Originally posted by Lass@May 10 2006, 11:03 PM

does it happen to be a blue s4 FU3***? hehe i came across this blue s4 tat blew at me twice b4 cos his mirror was tiny and tat i was blocking his squeezing path cos my mirrors were to long. recently saw the same bike again and die die oso must be faster than me hehe

Ha, never noticed the number, but let's just say it's a Limited Edition color scheme for Super 4.....Was wondering how would he behave if it's me on my other bike. But that's not gonna happen cuz I need my workhorse to carry the stuffs :cheeky:

Originally posted by xiao_p@May 11 2006, 11:19 PM

ever team up wif other bikers u dunno on the road to irritate reckless drivers? :D

haha tat's an idea......

No logic one :

Ha, never noticed the number, but let's just say it's a Limited Edition color scheme for Super 4.....Was wondering how would he behave if it's me on my other bike. But that's not gonna happen cuz I need my workhorse to carry the stuffs

limited edition hmm then am not sure cos the one i saw is just a regular blue s4. guess at the end of the day if u dun bother w the other idiot trying to be funny, he'd probably just leave u along after a while.

Originally posted by Lass@May 12 2006, 08:15 AM

haha tat's an idea......

No logic one :

limited edition hmm then am not sure cos the one i saw is just a regular blue s4. guess at the end of the day if u dun bother w the other idiot trying to be funny, he'd probably just leave u along after a while.

In this case, maybe he is the one who thinks I'm trying to be funny, but trust me, I was in a rush and I just follow behind him, never honk him, never try to cut him :D

It's the ego lah.....2A riders can be quite a bunch of mixed riders..... :lol: So used to giving way to bigger bikes, so see small bikes must makan a bit to get something back, hahaha..... :cheeky:

haha ya ego is a big thing! they r usually much bigger than the cc of their bikes :D

talking of which tat day i came across a bunch of 3 bikes overtaking me. no big deal. later in the tunnel i was on the outer lane and it was clear and i picked up speed. they r on the left side, the moment i picked up, 1 of them immediately picked up so tat i can't be faster than them but sheesh diff lanes...i was just going faster cos am on outer lane and had intention to change to left lane further front. no hanky pankies intended at all

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 14 2006, 11:53 AM

In this case, maybe he is the one who thinks I'm trying to be funny, but trust me, I was in a rush and I just follow behind him, never honk him, never try to cut him :D

It's the ego lah.....2A riders can be quite a bunch of mixed riders..... :lol: So used to giving way to bigger bikes, so see small bikes must makan a bit to get something back, hahaha..... :cheeky:

I ride all 3 classes regularly.

Never felt a thing. :p