• Replies 25.1k

A very Sad morning to Start the day

Hi all, This morning, i was sending my wife to work, as i was travelling on the PIE, just b4 the steven road exit, there was an accident. the motorbike was lying on the ground and also the pillion. hugging the pillion was the rider, he was unconsolable....nobody was helping except 1 guy who park his car by the road shoulder..i told my wife that we must block the traffic cos the victim was lying between lane 4 and 3...

When i went down to take a look, and i know the pillion is dead already, a doctor who happens to pass by went down to take a look. she too said that there is nothing she can do as the pillion was dead already..

Ambulance was already on the way, nothing can be done...i can only watch helplessly seeing the rider crying so badly...bit of tears flow down from my eyes....when i ask another driver who stop further down wat happen, he told me that he just heard a bang and he stop and call for ambulance.

this incident can only reflect that life is just too short...you may not know what will happen...tks for taking time to read...

although i dun ride but i drive, this morning incident actually woke me up period. i do not know if the rider is from this forum anot...just wanna share wat i encounter...till now i am still in a unsettled mood...

tears in my eyes when i read this....

so far 3 bad falls all without pillions...

ANGELZ INC for info click on arrow^

http://extreme-art.nl/images/SKULL-ON-FIRE2.gif

That lane splitting is not illegal in Singapore but u could be penalised for dangerous riding IF you do not do it safely has been argued to the death in this forum. I leave it at that.

Btw EJ, I'm surprised how you managed to smell a bag of crushed Epok Epok. I thought curry-puffs can only be smelled when u hold them close to the nose while savouring them before the bite, or when walking by a Macik at the bus interchange selling big baskets of Epok Epok?

Dun remember when was my last epok epok.. Army days? :offtopic:

it was a huge bag of epok-epok dude. and it's those big ones, almost like those sold by old chang kee.

the bag is huge i mistook it for a sports duffel bag.

sigh this is really sad....PIE seems to have quite a few accidents these few days

Ask a cop: Arizona doesn't allow riding motorcycles between cars

Special for The Republic

Nov. 30, 2007 07:47 AM

Question: Although dangerous, is it illegal to "white line," or ride between lanes of traffic on a motorcycle?

Answer: Some people also refer to this as "splitting traffic." It is both dangerous and illegal. Arizona Revised Statutes 28-903 states: "A person shall not operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent rows of vehicles." Notice how they worded that. Regardless of the lane markings, if you are riding between other cars, you are breaking the law.

The same law also states that the driver of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass a vehicle in the same lane as that vehicle. This would apply more in moving traffic when, say, a car is turning right and a motorcyclist zips around the car but never leaves the same lane.

The basis for all of this is that, in the opening statement of this particular law, it says that motorcyclists are entitled to the use of a full traffic lane, and that people driving cars around them have to respect their right to have the full lane. So, if motorcyclists are entitled to a full lane they, in return, have to behave like a vehicle using an entire lane.

Incidentally, it is allowable for two motorcyclists to ride next to each other in one lane, but no more than two, and they still aren't allowed to "split traffic."

Sgt. Jim Toomey is a public information officer for the Glendale Police Department.

Imagine what would happen if this was applied to Singapore bikers. :giddy:

if it was implemented, the govt will have more money :faint:

sigh this is really sad....PIE seems to have quite a few accidents these few days

yea, actually there are a few signs on the highway(PIE) that states "07 Motorcyclist have died on this highway already." something like that.. jeez..

The kind of little red beet roots that is one of the ingredients in a salad.

Mechanical harvesting at a fast pace too.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o104/angelo_neo/IMG_1371.jpg

you do know how to enjoy life huh :cool:

came back from a far far away land, didn't managed to get a ride or a car to loan there.didn't know where..travelled around by public for the few days..

took a coach on NSH and saw many motorcyclist pouring petrol into fuel tank by the shoulder,fixing tyres.Rained heavily on and off, cars had their french kissing session, roads were being maintained and caused massive jams just when I wanted to use the loo and had to bear with it for 2 hours odd.

Ask a cop: Arizona doesn't allow riding motorcycles between cars

Special for The Republic

Nov. 30, 2007 07:47 AM

Question: Although dangerous, is it illegal to "white line," or ride between lanes of traffic on a motorcycle?

Answer: Some people also refer to this as "splitting traffic." It is both dangerous and illegal. Arizona Revised Statutes 28-903 states: "A person shall not operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent rows of vehicles." Notice how they worded that. Regardless of the lane markings, if you are riding between other cars, you are breaking the law.

The same law also states that the driver of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass a vehicle in the same lane as that vehicle. This would apply more in moving traffic when, say, a car is turning right and a motorcyclist zips around the car but never leaves the same lane.

The basis for all of this is that, in the opening statement of this particular law, it says that motorcyclists are entitled to the use of a full traffic lane, and that people driving cars around them have to respect their right to have the full lane. So, if motorcyclists are entitled to a full lane they, in return, have to behave like a vehicle using an entire lane.

Incidentally, it is allowable for two motorcyclists to ride next to each other in one lane, but no more than two, and they still aren't allowed to "split traffic."

Sgt. Jim Toomey is a public information officer for the Glendale Police Department.

Imagine what would happen if this was applied to Singapore bikers. :giddy:

Nah... I'll still lane split after checking clear.

Notice how they worded that. Regardless of the lane markings, if you are riding between other cars, you are breaking the law.

But this one is a bit strange.... "Regardless of lane markings".....

If there're 3 lanes.... and a car each on Lanes 1 and 3.... I can't take up an entire Lane 2, and get past them?

If so... then that's just plain stupid.

PIE is dangerous, please observe speed limit, 80km/h means 80km/h, +10 to 20km/h can, but becareful n at ur own risk

this morning KNS sia...

Ride to work, traffic rather tight but still moving. Me at lane 1 and riding normally with a whole length of cars in-front of me... All their speed like 90km/hr litat.

Then this wussbag TAXI DRIVER come lane 1 n TAILGATE ME. Tap brake for warning but instead KNN come and HORN me.

What sia, bike cannot be on Lane 1 meh? Or Bike must ride Lane 1.5 meh? Machiam ask me to SIAM, you BIKE, SIAM! *HONK HONK*

SIBEH BUAY SONG LOR!!!

Den dunwan play with him I change lane 2, change lane 3, SPEED IN-FRONT. Slow down at lane 2. Watch taxi go pass me. change lane go IN-FRONT-FRONT-FRONT-FRONT-FRONT and back to lane 1 and enjoy my free ride with no honking idiots.

Actually wanna play horn... My horn super loud. But traffic so tight liao dunwan anyhow play play... hees.

We're all trapped in a maze of relationships. Life goes on with or without you.

I swim in the sea of the unconscious. I search for your heart, pursuing my true self.

Another laggy best... took one taxi, driver is an ah pek, in johore from Holiday plaza to custom. say if jam RM8, no jam RM7. den drive super slow at 30km/hr ~ 40km/hr. Den I forgot sth back at Holiday plaza, ask him drive back, charge me RM10 to go back n den return custom. I got off taxi say no need, give him RM10 zhao, get new taxi.

I swim in the sea of the unconscious. I search for your heart, pursuing my true self.

this morning KNS sia...

Ride to work, traffic rather tight but still moving. Me at lane 1 and riding normally with a whole length of cars in-front of me... All their speed like 90km/hr litat.

Then this wussbag TAXI DRIVER come lane 1 n TAILGATE ME. Tap brake for warning but instead KNN come and HORN me.

What sia, bike cannot be on Lane 1 meh? Or Bike must ride Lane 1.5 meh? Machiam ask me to SIAM, you BIKE, SIAM! *HONK HONK*

SIBEH BUAY SONG LOR!!!

You in Lane 1 la, road hog.

Just move aside, let the taxi driver move up.... and honk the other cars ahead also.

If I were behind you, I would have high beamed you also, because you think that your super-high speed of 90kph give U unlimited license to block lane 1.

Song bo.

You in Lane 1 la, road hog.

Just move aside, let the taxi driver move up.... and honk the other cars ahead also.

If I were behind you, I would have high beamed you also, because you think that your super-high speed of 90kph give U unlimited license to block lane 1.

Song bo.

dude, i say the lane 1 infront of me all cars. THEY BLOCK ME LOR. shouldnt I horn them to keep them outta my lane instead?!?

LANE 4, LANE 3, LANE 2, LANE 1 ALL JAM WITH CARS. WTF YOU WAN!?

with a whole length of cars in-front of me

dude, i say the lane 1 infront of me all cars. THEY BLOCK ME LOR. shouldnt I horn them to keep them outta my lane instead?!?

That's why I say... let the cabbie through. Move aside. Go Lane 2.

He will honk the other cars also. So difficult meh?

If you not happy with cabbie, then you squeeze lane 1.5 and get away lor. So difficult meh?

Heh. Think like you. Go lane 1.5, you think I won't?

Very smart of you.

Heh.

"Smart"

On fri nite las week, i was piss with the Traffic police attitude.

Did not greet with me with basic courtesy,Stop me with no due reason as so many cars and bikes way faster than me, talk to me as if i owe them my license etc.

Spoke in pure sarcasm to me. I was really piss with that particular policeman. I ask him for his name, rank and p/c number and he was so reluctant in givin me and in the end point to his name and his rank and told me no need his pc number and told me he is from TP division.

Further more told my frend to leave faster if not i would be more angry.

That TP really piss me off with such attitude and he is the first whom i encounter.

My Friend you are in good hands as God knows whats best for you. 30/10/12 Dedication,love,arrogance,pain tolerance...these things WILL bring you lvl after lvl.Strength of mind. Strength of character.Drop your hero worship. Become the animal.U can do anything. Work. Practice. Crash. Improve. Crash. Win. Nv give up. Nv surrender. Crush them. Crush their spirit. Crush their dreams.Now Move.
Heh. Think like you. Go lane 1.5, you think I won't?

Very smart of you.

Heh.

"Smart"

But then you got angry.....

You become green like Incredible Hulk, you felt...

SIBEH BUAY SONG LOR!!!

Den dunwan play with him I change lane 2, change lane 3, SPEED IN-FRONT. Slow down at lane 2. Watch taxi go pass me. change lane go IN-FRONT-FRONT-FRONT-FRONT-FRONT and back to lane 1 and enjoy my free ride with no honking idiots.

So "feeling" for wat? Just change to 2 lor. Or even better, just go 1.5 and ride 10 or 20 above traffic flow. Relaxed and easy, right?

No need to feel ang-wy, go lane 2, go lane 1, pehhh-pehhh-pehhh.... go back lane 2, go back lane 1, peehhh-pehhh-pehhh....

Wah knn... like that my finger type until tired. You must have been exhausted shifting your weight around and twisting throttle...

Heh.

I still use my safety technique to change lane in case

you

think

I literately speed

without checking my mirror,

blind spot,

and change.

I don't learn like some people

sudden lane change

go lane 1.5 (at the farking speed of 110km/hr)

and speed all the way.

PAISEH HOR.

I typed when I am angry.

You read my angry message and predict my character I have NO SAY.

I just hate

freaking people

thinking

all bikes are lane 1.5 riders and mellow to accept rude people who honk bikers and not cars

CHAINS OF CARS MIND YOU. WORKING HOURS DUH.

When bikers go lane 1.5,

I even gave way by moving within the lane

and let

THE EXPERTS

bypass me.

Heh.

I still use my safety technique to change lane in case

you

think

I literately speed

without checking my mirror,

blind spot,

and change.

I don't learn like some people

sudden lane change

go lane 1.5 (at the farking speed of 110km/hr)

and speed all the way.

PAISEH HOR.

I typed when I am angry.

You read my angry message and predict my character I have NO SAY.

I just hate

freaking people

thinking

all bikes are lane 1.5 riders and mellow to accept rude people who honk bikers and not cars

CHAINS OF CARS MIND YOU. WORKING HOURS DUH.

When bikers go lane 1.5,

I even gave way by moving within the lane

and let

THE EXPERTS

bypass me.

Wah

*puff puff*

Relack hor

*puff puff*

Don't

get

ang-wee

until you

hyper

*puff puff*

ventilate.

I scared

wait

you

drop down purple-face first

into your

keyboard.

Go read the Bikes & Bytes section and learn that Lane-splitting (i.e. Lane 1.5, 2.5, 3.5, 4.5) is not necessarily dangerous if you have good situational awareness.

Also, stop riding and living with a "unprivileged minority" mentality. Stop that "Lane 1.5 = low class" thinking.

Instead think that, you have more options. When traffic's jammed to hell, you have Lanes 1.5, 2.5, X.5 to get to your destination faster, instead of sucking smoke in a car sandwich.

Lastly, when a car honks you in 1st lane, either move out of the way, or accelerate away.

Instead

of

getting

so

ang-wee

until

you

lose

coherence.

*puff puff*

*yawn*

As if I care.

Talk to the TP that fined a forum biker for riding in-between lane.

Donch worrie... Thousands of bikers have lane splitted, and continue to lane split without fear of TP. There's no clear law against lane-splitting. Even TP also lane split.

If you go though the gap with enough distance, and not too fast, they have nothing on you.

But it's ok. Ride like a car if you must. Just donch complain you kanna horn, then play... 1, 2, 3, peh peh peh, 3, 2, 1, peh peh peh. Sounds like kid game you know. That one lagi confirm attract TP attention, hor.

Donch worrie... Thousands of bikers have lane splitted, and continue to lane split without fear of TP. There's no clear law against lane-splitting. Even TP also lane split.

If you go though the gap with enough distance, and not too fast, they have nothing on you.

But it's ok. Ride like a car if you must. Just donch complain you kanna horn, then play... 1, 2, 3, peh peh peh, 3, 2, 1, peh peh peh. Sounds like kid game you know. That one lagi confirm attract TP attention, hor.

im kinda lost reading this but are u guys quarelling against each other?:cheeky: :cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment
im kinda lost reading this but are u guys quarelling against each other?:cheeky: :cheeky:

I suppose... Almost. And its the first time i see self-depreciating spelling diffuse a potential flame war. Takes 2 to go. Nice one DuesExMachina. U whave berry looong nick to spill... :dozed:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965