yday night b4 went out for rounding, just reached my bike when a neighbor came by on his krr.

him: fwa, jack, wear so nice go where?

me: rounding la, back from work?

ling ling long long..

thereafter i proceeded to wear my gears while chatting.

him: fwa, u really like lacer sia, jacket + glove + flip up...

me: no la, safety rider la..

so the conversation got me thinking, could that be a "reason" ppl dun wanna wear safety gear? coz may look like lacer.

i mean, the last thing a relac/ safety rider wants is for ppl to mistake them as lacer and wanna lace them, particularly if riding powerful machines?

a couple of nights before we were chatting abt riding and he was telling me now he veli safety rider coz pengz b4 at high speed and so on..

but until he saw my safety gear then he realised how serious i am on the issue. anyw, hope that influenced him a bit more ba. :cheeky:

lastly, when he saw my camera phone in the jacket pouch, which i explained as well, he really :faint: sia. :lol:

• Replies 25.1k

That's why mirrors are important. :angel:

To see if Mr White is tailing you. ;)

God bloody knows how many times I've spotted a Teep in the distance in my mirrors and adjusted my road behaviour accordingly. :lol:

i dunno abt u

but i am starting to see a lot of big bikes without mirrors

i mean, the last thing a relac/ safety rider wants is for ppl to mistake them as lacer and wanna lace them, particularly if riding powerful machines?

Hmm... when i know the road will be clear and my avg travelling speed will be higher, i will gear up with FF, jacket/gloves/etc.

So far no invitation or provocation yet. If there was any, i probably didnt notice. :lol:

Unless i'm riding in convoy, it's always a very lonely/focused ride... meaning all other road users are stripped of their human personae and reduced to moving obstacles. So even if someone overtakes me, blow his/her engine, and move off at an even higher speed, most likely my mind would simply register it as "a fast moving bike closed in, overtook and pulled away" instead of "wah, wtf this rider is doing? is he/she issuing a challenge?"

Rode too long for anything to get too personal. :cheeky:

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Just to share some of my experience.

Once on my way home from work. I squeezed between a white car and another car at a pedestrian crossing and stopped at the traffic light. While waiting for the lights to turn green, I keep hearing the driver of the white car "talking loudly to himself" he was saying things like "... petrol cost also not even $50 per week. " he mumbled to himself a lot and before the lights turned green he said "CB" and drove off. I realised he was scolding me when he talked about petrol cost. After he drove off, I realised he was a red plater. Have anyone been scolded for riding a bike? I mean is it my fault that my petrol cost per week is not even $30 per week. hahaha...

another time, i wasn't riding was near Sim Lim Square with a bunch of friends. We were standing at the pedestrian crossing, waiting for the green man. There was a Mercedes waiting to turn left. A foreign worker on a bicycle crashed into the rear end of the car by himself. why did the bicyclist crashed into the car? Cause he was so busy talking on his handphone and not even looking where he was going. The bicyclist turned and continued on his way after knocking into the car.

The car so suay... kenna scratched for nothing.

Just thought i share some of my stories.

Riding since 2004 | Spark 135

http://alternatehaven.tumblr.com

i dunno abt u

but i am starting to see a lot of big bikes without mirrors

Those are the surviving mirrorless 2B rempits who made it past their first year. :lol: :lol:

yah...many people have commented about the way i gear up to ride...i just tell them safety is important to me. i think people are too caught up as it is about what others think. after all, those who pass comments and judgement aren't the ones on my bike. so i bo hiu them.

as for riding on the roads (since this is a riding thread after all), i just gotta say that sometimes we do see nice things on the roads also. like the other night when we were on the riding roads ride. saw a suzuki bandit with a lady on it - she looked very cool to me. saw a couple of idiots on a scooter who tried to beat a red light by turning into the perpendicular road just to get stuck at the next traffic lights as we were pulling up. and the best of all, saw an sbf forum member's (i was told) phantom with fantastic ge-tai style lights. made me smile big big :) :) :) :) :)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
Just to share some of my experience.

Once on my way home from work. I squeezed between a white car and another car at a pedestrian crossing and stopped at the traffic light. While waiting for the lights to turn green, I keep hearing the driver of the white car "talking loudly to himself" he was saying things like "... petrol cost also not even $50 per week. " he mumbled to himself a lot and before the lights turned green he said "CB" and drove off. I realised he was scolding me when he talked about petrol cost. After he drove off, I realised he was a red plater. Have anyone been scolded for riding a bike? I mean is it my fault that my petrol cost per week is not even $30 per week. hahaha...

another time, i wasn't riding was near Sim Lim Square with a bunch of friends. We were standing at the pedestrian crossing, waiting for the green man. There was a Mercedes waiting to turn left. A foreign worker on a bicycle crashed into the rear end of the car by himself. why did the bicyclist crashed into the car? Cause he was so busy talking on his handphone and not even looking where he was going. The bicyclist turned and continued on his way after knocking into the car.

The car so suay... kenna scratched for nothing.

Just thought i share some of my stories.

OPC car maybe he drive only on weekends, so he was mumbling to himself, "knn, who ask me go buy opc, save some $$$, but cannot drive to work, sat have to drive wife around shopping, sun have to drive inlaws around shopping, $50 of petrol a week! I miss my kupcai!" :lol:

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

Maybe using bluetooth headset on the other side? :lol:

The only time i got scolded for riding was when i was 16yrs old, for taking up riding course in BBDC back in the days. Doubt i will give a rats ass for a "scolding" by anyone else now, when i did not give a sh|t back then. :lol:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

A foreign worker on a bicycle crashed into the rear end of the car by himself..

these ppl are really nonsense

OPC car maybe he drive only on weekends, so he was mumbling to himself, "knn, who ask me go buy opc, save some $$$, but cannot drive to work, sat have to drive wife around shopping, sun have to drive inlaws around shopping, $50 of petrol a week! I miss my kupcai!" :lol:

hahah that might have been the case.

these ppl are really nonsense

While riding on the road, i have seen so many of them talking on their handphone while riding a bicycle.

The other day, I was riding down Jalan Besar on my way to LAB, i had to give way to a motorised bicycle. That guy was more fearless than me! and i was the one walking a proper (at least better than the bicycle helemt) helmet.

Wow you got to believe this. Just now when reach home, this s4 with a small boy (with helmet) sit in front of the rider (must be the father). OK the small boy should be pron on top of the fuel tank and hands on the handle bar since he got nothing to grap on. Not sure where did there came from.

Obviously this is wrong as we know anyone who's leg can not reach the foot rest are not suppose to be on the bike.

Wow you got to believe this. Just now when reach home, this s4 with a small boy (with helmet) sit in front of the rider (must be the father). OK the small boy should be pron on top of the fuel tank and hands on the handle bar since he got nothing to grap on. Not sure where did there came from.

Obviously this is wrong as we know anyone who's leg can not reach the foot rest are not suppose to be on the bike.

Wait till the rest of his kids grow big enough to put on helmets. :sweat:

IMO kids and bikes don't mix, regardless of the length of their legs. They might not be able to take a fall properly to prevent serious injuries, and the younger ones may have bones too soft to protect themselves against any impact.

To transport those little humans, please drive or take a cab...

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Technically he can, but in a much different manner from the technique made popular by Initial-D... for example, drifting into another lane while going straight due to not paying attention. :lol:

locking up your wheels and letting the momentum pull you along is not drifting, that's skidding.

skidding is not drifting for goodness sake.:slapforehead:

locking up your wheels and letting the momentum pull you along is not drifting, that's skidding.

skidding is not drifting for goodness sake.:slapforehead:

Your comprehension ability is amazing. :lol:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Your comprehension ability is amazing. :lol:

your ability to read properly is amazing as well.:bow:

fwa biang, if like that kantong den sianz sia...

i saw taxi accident with honda sp on CTE around 5:00pm.. after moulmein exit..

didnt see the rider but bike was stuck iunder guard rail.. hope the rider is ok..

long time nvr post le.

jus nw while riding.came out frm cte tunnel towards aye massive jam.all de way ride in between vehicles + gt TP infrnt so all vehicles gave way 2 him.when reached west coast exit saw signboard n it says lane 1 & 2 closed, no wonder so jam packed,den realized gt accident wif blue tent.

rip to the fella.haish.life is short.

:clap: I love my cute, small bike! :clap:

Yup... life is short, ride safely when its wet weather...

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

on the way back home today BKE>SLE quite congested

didnt expect it cause thought looong weekend, so some drivers/riders might take even longer leave for holiday and balek kampong...

anyways was drizzling a bit on the way back...road a bit wet...

so to all riders/drivers...drive safely and come home back to your loved ones in one piece and not a body bag:weep:

It aint me officer...The bike is POSSESSED!!:lol:

i saw this incident several times ... looks cute but very unsafe...

i rather transport my little kid (in the future hor i still unmarried) on a bicycle rather than on a bike ... sigh dunno wat this people thinking

long time nvr post le.

jus nw while riding.came out frm cte tunnel towards aye massive jam.all de way ride in between vehicles + gt TP infrnt so all vehicles gave way 2 him.when reached west coast exit saw signboard n it says lane 1 & 2 closed, no wonder so jam packed,den realized gt accident wif blue tent.

rip to the fella.haish.life is short.

ya laa KAK eva long time never read ur post .. ahah

yea life is short, ride safe.

Yup... life is short, ride safely when its wet weather...

or better still dont ride at all. just now wet weather, i experience nothin whilst riding BUT i fell whilst cycling at work. TSK ~

---

today whilst riding back from work, took the AYE . thres this NS dude riding dunno what scooter la, happily lane splitting so slowly. creating a long line of bikes lane splitting ... the bike in front of me was so impatient, kept on blasting his horn. even when the traffic cleared up and everyone overtook the army dude, i continued lane splitting behind tat biker. goodness! even cars also he horn for them to give way to him ! tsk ~

then at bedok, someone suddenly spit out of his van !!! ARGHH ~~~ luckily i wasnt so near that van, but still paranoid la ! go back and wash my raincoat liao !

then saw this jb kup with pillion. the pillion seem so angry, keep pointing here and there. then the rider bopian need to filter left last minute. then the pillion waved his left hand furiously to let the car behind make way fr them. aiyooo~

then witnessed a lorry bang into a tree after PIE tampines exit. i think driver is stucked. saw all the CD guys trying to pry him out. dont know if he trying to avoid a car or if he is sleeping, coz that lorry is the only casualty in that incident.

seeing more and more people wash their bikes, all in for the hari raya mood ! hehehehehes ...

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

Dear P-plated Phantom rider, with pillion and wearing slippers don't you know that the BKE to PIE exit is very wet from the afternoon's thunderstorm?

You rode like you were in a race. Although I have DOT race tyres on my bike.. I see they way you take the corner I also shrink... thought I was going to see a crash infront of me. Were you using race rain tyres??

Do you know that today is the last day of the Ghost month and they are all going home tonight? Were you rushing to join catch the last flight home with them??

Ride safe everyone.. there is already enough risks in riding a bike on Singapore roads... don't up the ante.