Sorry had to quote myself to update this story.

And the story is... last Saturday morning at about 4 AM, this idiot benglet was rounded up by the TPs. He was waiting for his race at the PA carpark area at ECP when the police cars and bikes blocked the 2 entries into the carpark. Along with his other lacers, the whole lot got rounded up and the bikes impounded.

Looks like he is going to face a very stiff fine and probably might lose his licence. Got race track at PG don't want to go but want to race on public roads because no cornering skills are involved only straight line speed with throttle wide open only.

Not only no balls... also no brains and soon no money and no licence.

Question:

You mentioned he was "waiting for his race".

So he wasn't caught racing per se. Does that mean he'll only get charged for illegal gathering? Or maybe his bike was impounded for illegal mods only?

I also remember the Police saying that ppl who watch an illegal race may be charged as an accessory, for spectating, or for not reporting the event to the authorities.

So perhaps he won't lose his license at all, that is provided he wasn't riding/racing his bike when they closed the dragnet on him.

• Replies 25.1k

not your grandfather's road either. and please mind your language, other people may be offended.

---

a thought struck me today.

why does the TP / LTA are so hard-pressed for bikes with illegal pipe modifications, yet those cars fitted with HID headlights get away scot free?

i dont really bother if one's car has fanciful led lights, but please ! HID lights are such a nuisance. much more of a nuisance than loud pipes.

rode out from jurong island heading into AYE around 9pm. this car with HID lights was behind me at a considerable distance, and that car was behind me for quite some time. it's already quite glaring. i wanted to siam but couldn't see from my mirror. got abit distracted and unknowingly straddled to the next lane, NEARLY kena sideswipe by a car which was going quite fast. luckily i reacted fast enough. if not .. haizzz..

then at traffic junction near my house, another tard with HID lights pulled up behind me. WAHLAAAAAUUU i really felt like getting off my bike coz its really glaring! adjust my mirror also still glaring! if only i could fold in my mirrors..~ lights turn green, moved off. then that tard tailgated me. WTH laahh i know i slow but no need to tailgate what.

reach home, had some eye relaxation therapy. like those kind we used to practice during primary school. all these stupid lights is going to spoil my eyes. and until now, i'm still seeing some white spots.:dozed:

if loud pipes saves lives,

bright lights distracts other road users.

HID is a natural evolution in lighting technology, just like when we moved from tungsten to halogen in the 70s/80s.

The problem doesn't lie in the HID unit itself per se, but in the installation and focusing/alignment of the lights.

I have noticed some assholes who intentionally drive with high beam on with their HIDs. Or, adjust the beam angle up, all in the name of attention whoring. These guys are the problem, and not the HID lights themselves.

To me, having TP or LTA ban HID modification is just plain stupid. They should not ban it, but rather fine HID users who do not align their beams correctly.

I've no comment on exhaust pipes. I like them.

Question: Besides allowing homologated or tested/approved models, does LTA allow vehicle owners who have unapproved built-for-street-use systems the option to have their pipes tested and approved on an ad-hoc or individual basis??

To me, having TP or LTA ban HID modification is just plain stupid. They should not ban it, but rather fine HID users who do not align their beams correctly.

they should also fine people who do not align the normal bulb headlamps properly...dang...those are ALL blinding...especially in the rain.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

Question: Besides allowing homologated or tested/approved models, does LTA allow vehicle owners who have unapproved built-for-street-use systems the option to have their pipes tested and approved on an ad-hoc or individual basis??

Nah man, from my personal experience LTA just shut me out..they stated to me that the pipe must be tested by the approved manufacturer and tested laboratory in euro...they nid the cert of those to verify that then they can test for u here...tried that back when i was using a gsr400 and wanted to fit a gsr600 Arrow pipe..personally email the details of the pipe that can be fitted to that bike and all they mail back to me was they needed that cert that verify the bike is also for gsr400 even if it can fit perfectly..:sian:

Below is the email..This is one of the few email i got from them after several attempt..

Dear Mr XXXXX,

>

> Exhaust Modification

> FEEDBACK NUMBER: 600268

>

> We refer to your email of 19/02/2008.

>

> We would like to clarify that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) does not

> engage in the type-approval of motor vehicle accessories. We will, however

> be concerned if the fitting of these accessories adversely affect the

> safety and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle.

>

> For an after-market exhaust system, we would require the applicant to

> fulfill the below-mentioned requirements prior to the installation:

>

> a) The after-market exhaust system should be specifically designed for

> that particular vehicle make and model and have undergone testing, either

> by the product manufacturer or by any of LTA/NEA overseas recognised test

> laboratories, to show compliance with internationally recognised standards.

> You may assess the web-link below for a list of LTA/NEA overseas recognised

> on Annex A; and

>

> http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/self_importation_.MainPar.0018.File.tmp/Car.pdf

>

>

> b) Every unit of such exhaust systems will come with a conformity

> certificate (e.g. EEC, JMCA or etc) from the product manufacturer stating

> it is suitable to be installed for that particular vehicle make and model.

>

> In order for us to advise you more specifically on this matter, we would

> appreciate it if you could provide us with the following documents (in

> English) for our evaluation:

>

> a) An application letter requesting for the installation of an

> after-market exhaust system/silencer (with the type, make/model of the

> replacement system/silencer and your vehicle registration number);

>

> b) Conformity certificate (e.g. JMCA, EEC or etc) to show that the

> replacement exhaust system/silencer is suitable to be installed for that

> particular vehicle make and model and would not adversely affect the safe

> operation and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle;

>

> c) Technical specification and installation details (including

> pictures/drawings) of the after-market exhaust system/silencer; and

>

> d) Evidence or test reports from the product manufacturer or LTA/NEA

> recognised overseas test laboratories to show that the after-market exhaust

> system had been manufactured and tested (e.g. vehicular emission and noise)

> according to international recognised standards.

>

> You can forward these documents to the Vehicle Engineering Division of LTA

> at 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701. Should you require any assistance

> on your Arrow after-market exhaust system, we would advise you to approach

> the authorised agent of Arrow after-market exhaust system (i.e. BikeTech

> 21). The address and contact details of Arrow as appended is for your easy

> reference

>

> ARROW

> Company: BikeTech 21

> Address: 45 Dunlop Street

> Off Jalan Bsear

> Singapore 209376

> Contact Person: Mr Shah Oli

> Contact Number: 6392 1230

>

> 4 Upon confirmation that the Arrow after-market exhaust silencer is

> suitable for your motorcycle, you would be required to present your

> motorcycle that is fitted with the Arrow after-market exhaust silencer

> together with the exhaust certificate, to any of the LTA-authorised Vehicle

> Inspection Centre (i.e. STA, JIC or VICOM) for an inspection. Approval

> would only be granted, subject to the motorcycle passing the inspection.

>

> You are required to carry along the endorsed certification while using your

> motorcycle and produce it for verification if you are stopped by LTA

> enforcement officers or the Traffic Police for installation of the

> after-market exhaust silencer.

>

> We hope the above clarifies. Should you have further enquiries, please

> contact us at 1800 - CALL LTA (2255 582).

>

>

> Yours sincerely

>

>

>

> (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)

> NEO AIK HING

> for DEPUTY DIRECTOR

> VEHICLE ENGINEERING DIVISON

> LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY

Edited by 4th_Espada

Those Who Don't Know Pain

Can Never Know True Peace

unapproved built-for-street-use.. nope, LTA dun conduct testing. they will just base on JMCA or euro certs and approve it.

OK, put it another way.

There are LTA-approved pipes for each model for bikes. But not all pipes that are specifically made for that model of bike is approved.

I'm just asking that, if I want a particular exhaust pipe that is specifically made for that model of bike, and is so call Euro or whatever approved .... BUT is not LTA approved, or in the list of LTA approved pipes..... can I get it approved ad-hoc?

OK, put it another way.

There are LTA-approved pipes for each model for bikes. But not all pipes that are specifically made for that model of bike is approved.

I'm just asking that, if I want a particular exhaust pipe that is specifically made for that model of bike, and is so call Euro or whatever approved .... BUT is not LTA approved, or in the list of LTA approved pipes..... can I get it approved ad-hoc?

yes u can..but not sure if alot of $$ involved onot..but definitely can..:thumb:

Those Who Don't Know Pain

Can Never Know True Peace

OK, put it another way.

yes, as long as it's st legal with the proper documentations in japan or europe or wherever, you can get it registered with LTA.

although the first initial process will take you alot of time..

moriwaki was brought in the same way.. very very tedious unless you got alot of time..:angel:

Today went JB to pump petrol! :D

Drop my passport at the Shell station, luckily I go into the station and buy Twisties, so the Malaysian Chinese guy behind me picked up and pass to the pump attendent, then when he saw me, he told me I dropped my passport! Si Bei Heng! :cheeky:

And the guy looked like PinkPhantom's Madman! :D

Then later at Southern City dropped my helmet, aiya! Today rushing for time, really is too "Kan Chiong", everything also drop. On the way back, I took my time. Reached home safely! :cheer:

i've no problem with these people. it's a good warning that i'm being tailgated. if it's too blinding, i'll just get into another lane.

since you mention exhaust pipe, i have a problem right now. i have a stock pipe. that pipe spoiled my conrod, effectively most of the insides of the engine. changed back to aftermarket pipe. still not good enough. mech says the engine quite stressed as the diffuser/silencer is inside, not allowing more air to be released. i asked his opinion on what's the best choice for a legal pipe and yet good for the engine. he told me to get the LTA-certified Leo Vince and take out the diffuser. :sian: what's the difference in terms of fine between using an aftermarket pipe without the diffuser and using a legal pipe without the diffuser?

and today while going home from the shop and changing to motard wheelset, i got the shock of my life! it's getting so easy to pick up to 100km/hr. i wonder if that's real or not. i have 2 theories, either road wheels have more effective power output on the road surface than offroad wheels. or the smaller motard rims is not calibrated properly to meter.

@Silent Hunter: Drop passport and got returned...drop helmet and got it back...lucky lor...the other night when i went riding to catch christmas light up...i dropped helmet...followed by my camera with lens...SIGH!!!

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

today while riding... rain came down on me!

heng was very near ah chong's place so went there to seek shelter. chong still ask me "what brings you here, i say raining mah, so come seek shelter lor." haha. saw a damn chui gsx 1000 at there. the chassis literally broke in half! :faint: near the radiator area. break area also break until nice nice... really dunno how the bike crash one, can crash until like that, confirm going to scrapyard liao, the backbone/chassis really up lorry... feel damn sad for the bike and the rider... :cry:

rain stop, wipe my bike dry, then rode off, then at this junction of ubi ave 2, light turn amber, so i slow down and came to a stop at the junction, got this faggot city cab driver knn bas**rd still chiong red light! it turned red for a good at least 2 secs and i was directly infront of him (i stop liao) so he bas**rd just cut into next lane and beat red light. i horned him and gave my trademark thumbs down hand gesture as he beat red light and sped away heng he never just zham accelerator and bam into me from behind... wa lau eh...

champion, so near tp hq still got guts to do this kind of sh*t... :faint:

Edited by ahcaibiker

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

haha! now that'll be good. maybe like that, you can easily record videos from top down eh? imagine a female car driver with nice cleavage comes along beside you, all you need to do is to look at her door and you'll record things from the top view.

but i cover my bike leh. and i also got tied it at the bottom in a certain way that i'll know if it's opened.

if you got balls, go ahead. be prepared that they might not be happy and come after you. and you forget the no brain action when they are doing something stupid.

u ah.. always damn unlucky. hahahaha... i think it's time you change your nick.

1 - Cheeky! haha

2 - yeaa. people dont think when doing stupid things... better play safe :thumb:

3 - change nick to belo, can? hehe !

HID is a natural evolution in lighting technology, just like when we moved from tungsten to halogen in the 70s/80s.

The problem doesn't lie in the HID unit itself per se, but in the installation and focusing/alignment of the lights.

I have noticed some assholes who intentionally drive with high beam on with their HIDs. Or, adjust the beam angle up, all in the name of attention whoring. These guys are the problem, and not the HID lights themselves.

oh okay. now i understand more about these HID lights. but some of the lights, i realize, have some blue-ish color. is that HID too ?

but seriously, is there even a need for these HID lights to be switched on on singapore roads?

they should also fine people who do not align the normal bulb headlamps properly...dang...those are ALL blinding...especially in the rain.

and especially if they're directly behind you!:sian:

---

4thEspada, thats a very good info that you shared.

---

today whilst riding,

kena tailgate again. tsk~

then inside KPE, the car infront of me sprayed water. thanks ahh ! very cooling. summore didn't pull down my visor. haiyooo~

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

Today went JB to pump petrol! :D

Drop my passport at the Shell station, luckily I go into the station and buy Twisties, so the Malaysian Chinese guy behind me picked up and pass to the pump attendent, then when he saw me, he told me I dropped my passport! Si Bei Heng! :cheeky:

And the guy looked like PinkPhantom's Madman! :D

Then later at Southern City dropped my helmet, aiya! Today rushing for time, really is too "Kan Chiong", everything also drop. On the way back, I took my time. Reached home safely! :cheer:

weren't u the one who was riding then helmet bag strap snap then ur passport was inside, and u lost everything? correct me if i'm wrong. if otherwise, well u sure are lucky to get ur passport back ! :)

heng was very near ah chong's place so went there to seek shelter. chong still ask me "what brings you here, i say raining mah, so come seek shelter lor." haha.

rain stop, wipe my bike dry, then rode off, then at this junction of ubi ave 2, light turn amber, so i slow down and came to a stop at the junction, got this faggot city cab driver knn bas**rd still chiong red light! it turned red for a good at least 2 secs and i was directly infront of him (i stop liao) so he bas**rd just cut into next lane and beat red light. i horned him and gave my trademark thumbs down hand gesture as he beat red light and sped away heng he never just zham accelerator and bam into me from behind... wa lau eh...

he got big ba|ls to spare maa ...

what if got car/biker in front of him stop then he still chiong ... then that one become another story already ... hee

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

heng was very near ah chong's place so went there to seek shelter. chong still ask me "what brings you here, i say raining mah, so come seek shelter lor." haha. saw a damn chui gsx 1000 at there. the chassis literally broke in half! :faint: near the radiator area. break area also break until nice nice... really dunno how the bike crash one, can crash until like that, confirm going to scrapyard liao, the backbone/chassis really up lorry... feel damn sad for the bike and the rider... :cry:

the more dangerous a place, the more safer it is ma.

weren't u the one who was riding then helmet bag strap snap then ur passport was inside, and u lost everything? correct me if i'm wrong. if otherwise, well u sure are lucky to get ur passport back ! :)

he got big ba|ls to spare maa ...

what if got car/biker in front of him stop then he still chiong ... then that one become another story already ... hee

that would be me. but it's not passport. is hp and wallet. :(

肥仔七åƒå·

the more dangerous a place, the more safer it is ma.

it is blatant disregard of traffic laws... how can we continue to let these kind of drivers on the road? heng nobody crossing the road at that point of time, if really langa someone i confirm stand up and want to be witness for prosecution side and make sure he go jail long long. a little incovenience is nothing if we can decrease the number of bongtards in cages otr... kns driver.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1 - Cheeky! haha

2 - yeaa. people dont think when doing stupid things... better play safe :thumb:

3 - change nick to belo, can? hehe !

what cheeky? what are you thinking? :p

u change to whatever you like la. perhaps, lucky?

it is blatant disregard of traffic laws... how can we continue to let these kind of drivers on the road? heng nobody crossing the road at that point of time, if really langa someone i confirm stand up and want to be witness for prosecution side and make sure he go jail long long. a little incovenience is nothing if we can decrease the number of bongtards in cages otr... kns driver.

it's quite common actually. usually, it happens when there's no one and they just turn to beat the red light so as not to wait like a stupid fool for nothing.

but we have no direct power to stop them from using the road. the least i can think of that you can do is to faster start your camera project before someone really get knock down. film down all their c0cknathan actions, send to tp, stomp and etc. use the public to put pressure on those errant road users.

肥仔七åƒå·

it's quite common actually. usually, it happens when there's no one and they just turn to beat the red light so as not to wait like a stupid fool for nothing.

it happened during peak hour my friend. almost knocking off timing. cars were everywhere...

i want to be tp really, but my height and fitness does not allow me to... too much bad eggs otr, need to stop the rot...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

the other night when i went riding to catch christmas light up...i dropped helmet...followed by my camera with lens...SIGH!!!

fwa, heart pain arh, ur hobby tool...

i slow down and came to a stop at the junction, got this faggot city cab driver knn bas**rd still chiong red light! it turned red for a good at least 2 secs and i was directly infront of him (i stop liao) so he bas**rd just cut into next lane and beat red light. i horned him and gave my trademark thumbs down hand gesture as he beat red light and sped away heng he never just zham accelerator and bam into me from behind... wa lau eh... :faint:

something like this? :cheeky:

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5U7pSU3_3w[/yt]

heng he siam u la, else if got camera flash with u in the pic, they may fine u 1st, b4 anything else, for beating red light "together" with him. :faint:

Edited by JackOHJack

but we have no direct power to stop them from using the road. the least i can think of that you can do is to faster start your camera project before someone really get knock down. film down all their c0cknathan actions, send to tp, stomp and etc. use the public to put pressure on those errant road users.

not so easy la.

take for instance those that i sent, nobody/ no authority personnel replied.. :faint: cannot see plate no MEH?! kidding Hu?

wanna stomp, l8r ppl say we no life. :faint:

they ish veli bizee u noesh? so much time help us citizen vigilantes arh?! jiak pah geh eng arh? they never fine us good liao hor, must be grateful... :faint:

something like this? :cheeky:

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5U7pSU3_3w[/yt]

heng he siam u la, else if got camera flash with u in the pic, they may fine u 1st, b4 anything else, for beating red light "together" with him. :faint:

no, even if got flash i wont kenna cos i was behind the stopline. i already slowed down and came to a complete stop gradually, the taxi was behind me (same lane as me) as i came to a complete stop, he just change lane abruptly and beat red light...that junction no red light camera i think. i horned him as he sped away from the 'crime' scene.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

not so easy la.

take for instance those that i sent, nobody/ no authority personnel replied.. :faint: cannot see plate no MEH?! kidding Hu?

wanna stomp, l8r ppl say we no life. :faint:

they ish veli bizee u noesh? so much time help us citizen vigilantes arh?! jiak pah geh eng arh? they never fine us good liao hor, must be grateful... :faint:

aiya, under the anonymity of internet, they also don't know who are you. no life then no life loh. not like we are going to lose a piece of meat just because they say so... :lol:

the way ahcai reply, it seems like he wanna get something done, so i just suggest what i can think of. i know it's useless and i shouldn't reply anything since it wouldn't even work. but since he quoted me, i just feel obliged to reply him.

肥仔七åƒå·

the way ahcai reply, it seems like he wanna get something done, so i just suggest what i can think of. i know it's useless and i shouldn't reply anything since it wouldn't even work. but since he quoted me, i just feel obliged to reply him.

yes, i really want to get something done. most ppl are just okay with minding their own busniness and going with the flow of things.

i as a rider (though still p plate) desire a safer and more condusive riding environment for me and for us riders and even responsible and considerate drivers.

sadly, it is a case of strong resolve but not able to do much.

how many TPs really care for a safer roads for all road users? idk but i feel they or most of them are just doing it for their ricebowl's sake...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

Question:

You mentioned he was "waiting for his race".

So he wasn't caught racing per se. Does that mean he'll only get charged for illegal gathering? Or maybe his bike was impounded for illegal mods only?

I also remember the Police saying that ppl who watch an illegal race may be charged as an accessory, for spectating, or for not reporting the event to the authorities.

So perhaps he won't lose his license at all, that is provided he wasn't riding/racing his bike when they closed the dragnet on him.

This is what I heard from a guy who went there to watch. He advised the little benglet to leave his bike at the carpark with the others and make himself scarce... but the idiot decided to try and ride his bike away via the bicycle path without turning on his lights but was intercepted by a TP and his bike got impounded.

Now if that is not the pinnacle of stupidity... I dunno what is. :faint:

Anyway... I think the TPs can slam him with any kind of charges they want since he is at their mercy now. Something is definitely going up his rear end for sure... the question now is how deep and big is it going to be.

Edited by Raptor