Prisons??

bearcol83

thnx fer de ans full of sorrow.. btw i was frm ers scdf n attended de hta basic course.. dats whr i gt to noe abt prisons frm de prison trainees.. n oso was always posted to loyang fire post wic laz tym was inside changi prison n made frens wf a few prison officers.. i tink ill try to call dem thru deir recruitment no.. i tink if stil must wait fer 6 mths i tink ill apply fer cnb nxt.. tnx again..

hey, bro... you don hav to wait till 6 mths actually... you can call the recruitment line and inform the officer that you hav ORDed... They will process your application.. :p

• Replies 396

Hey all...

From what my friends telling me, the next intake of prison officer will training late this yr or early next yr only I think...

Anyway whats the 22- 25 weeks like? Weekend bookout? Any nights off?

Interested in the job.. but super sian to think about going back to army lifestyle of 24 hrs kena kan!

from prisons also is it easy to switch to scib and cnb? Do they have like the army system where airforce officer can go on course and covert to navy officer? so can a senior prison officer convert to senior police officer easily?

(police website mentions that police officer can go to prisons service if approval given.. is the reverse possible?)

anybody knows? any advice anybody can give will be greatly appreciated... especially about the training regime and schedule.... seriously interested in the job but i will have difficulty abandoning tuition kids so near their exams! ( so if got regular weekend bookout or nights off then problem solved!)

thanks desewer... any tips about the training? physical intensive ? or more towards the theory? theres some exams to pass right?

dont get me wrong, its just that i really wanna know more about what im getting myself into before i chase after it... whats the point of finding out after getting it right (if i do get it..)?

will senior officer get to research rehab programmes or they only implement?

and im guessing im gonna have to abandon my tuition kids if i do get it right? since the training no weekday bookouts... (feeling guilty just thinking about it!)

Thanks alot ! really appreciate you taking the time to answer my queries!

Prisons training isn't as physical as SAF... The physical training is simple there for help you pass IPPT. After all, how often do you run around while inside a prison?

There's lots of close-quarters defence tactics, unrest suppression tactics i.e. riot trooper exercises, control and restraint techniques, pr-24 baton techniques, firearms training (for escort officers) and also a good deal of theory on the relevant prison legislation i.e. Prisons Act Chapter 247 and Prisons Regulations, not forgetting Misuse of Drugs Act Chapter 185, Misuse of Drugs (Approved Institutions)(Discipline) Regulations, Intoxicating Substances Act Chapter 146A and Intoxicating Substances (Discipline in Approved Centres) Regulations.

These legistation lessons are there to help you understand why and how we manage these prisoners and to what extent do our powers lie, within the law of the land.

For SOs, you will get posted to operational work first. Within 2 years, they will give you a staff posting and you get to do research and planning, and some other staff work.

Upz for Prisons. I'm on 2 weeks course at Cantonment!

no wonder u disappear... hahaha... gd luck on the erp... :)

The tree-lined avenue

Begins to fade from view

Drowning past regrets

In tea and cigarettes

But I can't seem to forget

When you came along

Ingenue, I just don't know what to do

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/joe_007/bikerchick2.jpg

-KENANGAN MOTO TERCINTA-

no wonder u disappear... hahaha... gd luck on the erp... :)

Take MRT lor. MRT station nearby only mah... :D

hehehe... MRT too packo dah. .. :faint:

Lol that bike u saw me on, has no IU! So how to use erp wahahaha... Anyways mrt makes more sense (and cents too!) because the outram park stn is where i alight!

haha.. very2 the nearrrrrrrrrrr...

The tree-lined avenue

Begins to fade from view

Drowning past regrets

In tea and cigarettes

When you came along

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/joe_007/bikerchick2.jpg

-KENANGAN MOTO TERCINTA-

Lol that bike u saw me on, has no IU! So how to use erp wahahaha... Anyways mrt makes more sense (and cents too!) because the outram park stn is where i alight!

Depending on your time and where you ride from. I didnt need to pay erp & back because I start late and ends late. & bike parking is free at PCC at the side.

Any bro's or sis's know when is the next intake? just took the psycho test last friday, 3rd november going for interview... any tips? Think there's a job preview at the prisons to get the feel before the interview starts.. Is this true?

Hopefully next year intake cause got AWS to get end of this year.

Bro, you applying for PO or SPO post? I got some good tips to give lah for the interview.

But since you already went for interview this morning... nothing I can say already! hahahaha

Job Preview

They will bring you to one of our prisons to give you a tour inside. There, you get to see the prison routine and what to expect while working as a prison staff. If you think you would be intimidated by supervising inmates, sometimes more than a hundred inmates just alone by yourself, you might want to reconsider the job. Many have dropped out at this stage. We realise that this job might not be for everyone.

Yet, some are not daunted. They take it as a challenge. Body size does not matter by the way. I have colleagues who are like, 1.6m tall and small built yet they are able to effectively control and instruct the inmates under their care.

Yup I already went for interview... PO...

Thanks for the information...

I shall see how this friday the job preview before making my decision...

Is this job stable? Let say work in prisons till the day you retire at 50 and they give you pension.

We don't have pension. We have something called the INVEST Scheme. They open an account for you called the INVEST Account. Every year of service, they deposit one month's salary into this account. At year 6, they give you 25% of the balance. Year 8, 33%. Year 10 50% and Year 12 100% all taken out.

After year 12 there is a different formula for making deposits into your account.

*should* be November. You can call up Prison Recruitment Branch to check the specifics. Number to call is at http://www.prisons.gov.sg

fyi,

the next B.O.C will commence in december... :)

u so free.... everyday surf sbf ah...

when u r free...

do email me crappy funny lame emails..

at least it'll help me to get by those sucky moments.

thanks in advance. :cheeky:

Ok thank you bro for the info...

Prisons really take care of its employees... :thumb:

hmm.. no comments..

to each his own.. :angel:

The tree-lined avenue

Begins to fade from view

Drowning past regrets

In tea and cigarettes

When you came along