• Replies 7.9k

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Mar 24 2005, 01:31 PM

If a owner decide to use mobil delvac 1 10w-40 with api and ch rating.

Will the warranty be void?

Mobil delvac 1 is a fully synthetic oil mean for commercial vehicles.

It's meant for both petrol and diesel engine.

Saw Mobile selling Mobile 1 for motoercycle at mobile some time back, cost abt $22 plus. Anyone tried out :confused:

Originally posted by chua_chee_keong@Apr 9 2005, 10:53 PM

Saw Mobile selling Mobile 1 for motoercycle at mobile some time back, cost abt $22 plus. Anyone tried out :confused:

Think too ex rite to buy at petrol kiosk. If really no hurry can but elsewhere. My fuchs engine oil very smooth but seems like cannot last for too long.

Your attitude is either your best friend or worst enemy, your greatest asset or your greatest liability.

Originally posted by Gmax@Apr 10 2005, 11:22 PM

Think too ex rite to buy at petrol kiosk. If really no hurry can but elsewhere. My fuchs engine oil very smooth but seems like cannot last for too long.

Me too, tried out liao, only last for abt 2k plus and ..... Think next try the Mobil 1. :smile:

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 11 2005, 10:58 AM

From what I know.

Mobil 1 for bike was good until 1999.

The compound that Mobil was using for their fully synthetics was PAO.

This is the classification for engine oil.

Group 1 - mineral

Group 2 - better mineral

group 3 - best mineral / semi syn

group 4 - 100% pao fully syn

group 5 - 100% ester fully syn

Any mixture of type may and will result in the drop of group class.

eg. from group 5 fully ester, mix 70% ester with 30% pao or mineral will result a drop to group 4.

Now take note on group 4 and 5. they are fully syn. but ester is the best actually.

but before mid 80s, it was not commonly used because, esther actually cause rubber seals to swell up. Esthers are only use in race track whereby they actually rebuilt their machine every few race. so the seal swelling is not actually a problem.

But for normal usage, it was not ideal. The first usgae was mix with pao to minimised the swelling. but the disadvantage is that it becomes a group 4.

It's only the later part that they perfect the oil with full esther contents without swelling the seals. A additive was added to solved the problems Mobil still uses PAO til 1999.

In mid 1990s, castrol start using a super grade 3 mineral oil 70% and add 30%of so call super additive. It enable this oil formulation to perform as good as synthetics. And they market it as fully synthetic.

A law suit was brought against them by Mobil. and it went on for 3years and mobil lost. This is because there's no proper defination in law terms regarding what a fully synthetics should be. Castrol claims, anything synthetic is man made. and mineral oil is also man made as crude oil cannot be used straight into the engine. thereforre can still be term as synthetic for mineral oil, as long human intervention is used to extract refine and adding additives. Plus if performance is the same as fully synthetics, why not. and they won.

So in 1999. Mobil also follows the same path as the profit is 5 times more when u market a super mineral as a fully synthetics.

So most oil out there now are actually "semi-syn" by our defination.

The only pure fully syn oil are as follows:

Shell rotella (a comercial fleet fully syn oil) pure PAO

Mobil delvac 1 (for comercial fleet) pure PAO

Fuchs pro 4 is ester mixed already only the pro4 plus is still fully ester.

REdline engine oil is fully ester

Amsoil is also fully ester

There's also another infos I personally find it very interesting.

I cannot comments much until I tried it for myself.

If you bike calls for a max 40 grade oil eg. 15w 40. stick to it.

Both X9 engine and G-max 150 actually calls for a 15w 40 oil.

WE can ignore the 15w as there's no winter here.

Now alot of us(I used to do that) uses grade 50 oil thinking that a thicker oil

protects better. Well it's true to a certain extent.

The disadvantage is the oil will not last.

Reasons?

Oil is thicker so during operation, there will be more heat fro the "oil friction"

Thicker oil dissipates heat slower. it tends to retain more heat. Thus with all the heat. the oil actually breaks down faster.

So that's why we experience the oil like weqar out at 2000~3000km after changing.

Some guy in the forum, actually did a test. He tried both 40 and 50 on his Frazer 600. It too calls for a 40 grade.

His verdict is the 40 oil will last 4000+ closing to 5000 while the 50 oil last the most 3000km+.

The diff he quote was using the 50 oil, it sound a bit quieter. But more sluggish.

40 oil is a little noisy but smoother.

I have yet to try out but will try soon.

tat's good info. :thumb:

wat do you think about 40 oil to be use on older bike, is it recommended? :confused:

Originally posted by Mark C.@Apr 11 2005, 11:40 AM

tat's good info. :thumb:

wat do you think about 40 oil to be use on older bike, is it recommended? :confused:

Well,

If you bike is 5 years old, have a good amount of normal wear and tear on the

Piston rings and cylinder wall, Yes, it's a good ideal.

Comet this sat you wanna go down Hiap Aik. I going there to fix box maybe as well as wash my bike. :smile:

Your attitude is either your best friend or worst enemy, your greatest asset or your greatest liability.

Originally posted by Gmax@Apr 20 2005, 10:07 AM

Comet this sat you wanna go down Hiap Aik. I going there to fix box maybe as well as wash my bike. :smile:

Yup. Very likely.

Cos' reaching 1000km soon. need to change oil, plugs and filter. :smile:

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 20 2005, 11:15 AM

Yup. Very likely.

Cos' reaching 1000km soon. need to change oil, plugs and filter. :smile:

Ya so sat what time you going? Think they will change the oil and plug only. Filter they ask me change at 3000km.

Originally posted by Gmax@Apr 20 2005, 12:06 PM

Ya so sat what time you going? Think they will change the oil and plug only. Filter they ask me change at 3000km.

Not sure actually. I was thinking either I go at 10am.

If over slept, 1.30pm lor :cheeky:

U leh?

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 20 2005, 12:12 PM

U leh?

Saw a yellow one along Boon Lay way last night. Is that you?

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Apr 21 2005, 01:11 PM

Saw a yellow one along Boon Lay way last night. Is that you?

There's only 3 colour available. Red, silver and black/grey

Mine's a black/grey. :sweat:

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 21 2005, 01:14 PM

There's only 3 colour available. Red, silver and black/grey

Mine's a black/grey. :sweat:

:p Oooppssss,wrong number. :cheeky:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 20 2005, 12:12 PM

U leh?

I will have to go in the morning as well. Coz sat afternoon got biz appt. i wake you up lah we go together. :smile:

Originally posted by Gmax@Apr 21 2005, 01:18 PM

I will have to go in the morning as well. Coz sat afternoon got biz appt. i wake you up lah we go together. :smile:

Ok. Guess that's a better idea.

Afternoon got more free time to do other thing :smile:

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 21 2005, 01:20 PM

Ok. Guess that's a better idea.

Afternoon got more free time to do other thing :smile:

okie meet 9.30am at hiap aik can? maybe go bkfast nearby also.

Originally posted by Gmax@Apr 21 2005, 01:56 PM

okie meet 9.30am at hiap aik can? maybe go bkfast nearby also.

oi i also coming

breakfast on BC. he forgot to bring me go bike shopping ! kekekeke

ah leong always say ... dunno? dont do!

http://www.ibike.com.hk/08_fun/hksm/learn_a_m/ada/s_03.jpg

Originally posted by lioncat@Apr 21 2005, 02:07 PM

oi i also coming

breakfast on BC. he forgot to bring me go bike shopping ! kekekeke

:sweat: :faint:

Aiyah. Come then :cheeky:

Being waiting to see you M** e** 125 :cheeky:

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 21 2005, 02:09 PM

:sweat: :faint:

Aiyah. Come then :cheeky:

Being waiting to see you M** e** 125 :cheeky:

what's M** e** 125?

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 21 2005, 02:20 PM

or was it a 150?

GT is 200 or 198 to be exact. or was it 196? kekeke i dont remember liao

lioncat bro you know the place also rite? macpherson road. bkfast yup yup...

Originally posted by Gmax@Apr 22 2005, 01:13 AM

lioncat bro you know the place also rite? macpherson road. bkfast yup yup...

i will find my way there .... with an empty stomach (wayne, take note) ..... kekekeke

Originally posted by lioncat@Apr 21 2005, 02:23 PM

GT is 200 or 198 to be exact. or was it 196? kekeke i dont remember liao

198cc

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.