[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

i used to pump v-power from the day i started riding (abt 6mths ago ba).. only till recently i change to caltex cortex platinum.. mileage wise i feel its about the same to me cos i ta150 so need more petrol...

reason being for mi to change is cos' one time i go pump shell the bugger ask mi to get down n pump.. i dulanz ride off w/o pumping.. adapted willam_liu theory - dun pump shell.. haha.. :lol: den now change to caltex liao lo.. :thumb:

used to pump shell v power too..... because of the ruling on getting off bikes and the attendants and manager being rude. am not doing so any longer.... any company will do till i get to shell jb....

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12

I see, didn't know that shell have such SPECIAL rulings, i think i will pump esso mobil from now onwards, cause its nearer to my house and since everyone is boycotting shell because of the stupid rulings i shall do so too.... :cheeky: :sweat:

PK & Friends

STOC: 7063

so many caltex supporter?? :cheeky:

I still prefer Mobil 98, feel that my engine runs quieter when I use it.

VPower too power liao, engine sounds very rough...

98 too expensive for me!

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

choke: i personally dun believe that the engineers would design and implement a device that would damage the bike when used, provided it is used and not abused. using it on a daily basis for cold starts and switching it off thereafter, unlikely to cause problems other than 'wear and tear' of the choke tap, which is normal for any device.

petrol: as long as u use petrol of RON same or higher than the level recommended for the particular bike, u can mix and match and tarik even, including of diff RON (again provided same or higher than recommended; refer to manual). ur engine not gonna explode or anything. the only problem is that u might end up wasting money. mix same ron diff brands i think no effect at all; but mix diff ron, especially u try something like mix v-power with 95, you might end up with even higher consumption, or even lower power, or both. thats why it would be a waste of money; mix v-power end up worse (in terms of mileage and/or power) than the 95.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Mar 29 2005, 01:38 PM

choke: i personally dun believe that the engineers would design and implement a device that would damage the bike when used, provided it is used and not abused. using it on a daily basis for cold starts and switching it off thereafter, unlikely to cause problems other than 'wear and tear' of the choke tap, which is normal for any device.

petrol: as long as u use petrol of RON same or higher than the level recommended for the particular bike, u can mix and match and tarik even, including of diff RON (again provided same or higher than recommended; refer to manual). ur engine not gonna explode or anything. the only problem is that u might end up wasting money. mix same ron diff brands i think no effect at all; but mix diff ron, especially u try something like mix v-power with 95, you might end up with even higher consumption, or even lower power, or both. thats why it would be a waste of money; mix v-power end up worse (in terms of mileage and/or power) than the 95.

i have tried to use my choke but it seems like the engine dies off after i pulled it... why uh?

Its better to have lived and lost than to never live at all. Live it, the way you want it.

You're supposed to use it only to start your bike...

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by weiz85@Mar 29 2005, 06:31 PM

i have tried to use my choke but it seems like the engine dies off after i pulled it... why uh?

i dun understand. ppl pull choke first, then start bike, then off the choke. u dun pull the choke after u start the bike, so how can "bike die after you pull the choke"?

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

haven really tried caltex other then once ( and i did not keep track of mileage )

mostly shell or mobil/esso

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

Originally posted by mechwira@Mar 30 2005, 01:10 AM

i dun understand. ppl pull choke first, then start bike, then off the choke. u dun pull the choke after u start the bike, so how can "bike die after you pull the choke"?

it harder to start when i pull it lohz hehe

i find it funny also ....

Its better to have lived and lost than to never live at all. Live it, the way you want it.

IMO

Caltex's Vortex Platinum gives me best mileage :cheer:.

power wise negligible difference between V-Power.

Shell fan; luvs V-Power but as its name implies, Very Power.

Release clutch a lil', moves forward a lot, not v useful when caught in heavy traffic jams. So sometimes use Shell 98.

Kept records for mths n realise tt V-power really gives me extra mileage: 40km/l in build-up area. Actually hor, I think V-power is meant for optimally-maintained / fast-performance vehicles, then u can feel e power.

V-power occasionally to 'clean' whatever residue at bottom of tank.

Maybe will try other brands to compare. Pumped Esso n Mobil b4, but only when neccessary.

M'sian petrol's quality can nvr be compared with Sg's, but economic-wise, can try. Anyway, Phantoms not meant for racing, more for getting fr Pt A to Pt B. But hor, certain kiosks in M'sia is a no-no. They chia lang -- petrol mixed with kerosene, I heard.

1st time went in to M'sia, pump Mobil (I think tt is ok); come back pump tt Caltex (u know where lah), then engine hard to start. Finally change spark plug. From then on, bike's speed no longer optimal. Got scared now, nvr go to tt Caltex. :eek:

Originally posted by AhBeng@Mar 30 2005, 04:04 AM

Kept records for mths n realise tt V-power really gives me extra mileage: 40km/l in build-up area.

ur the first person i've heard to say v-power gives higher mileage than other petrol (not including other 'house-blends' like vortex).

yeah... hahah... my friends and i all agree that our bikes all drink V-Power like water like that.... :sweat:

But V-Power's additives really gives the bike more power...

Originally posted by Noir@Mar 30 2005, 03:15 PM

yeah... hahah... my friends and i all agree that our bikes all drink V-Power like water like that.... :sweat:

But V-Power's additives really gives the bike more power...

So we can conclude that V Power is really power, but is also very fast used up? Right? so have to pump more regularly?:confused:

PK & Friends

Originally posted by zero_degrees@Mar 30 2005, 03:42 PM

So we can conclude that V Power is really power, but is also very fast used up? Right? so have to pump more regularly?:confused:

thats the opinion my friends and i have. :smile:

I heard from some bros here that they only pump v power once in a while to clear their tank of residue, normally they pump 98 or 95.....v power also have tank clearing effect huh?

PK & Friends

Well, I get better mileage from Esso/Mobil 95 compared to V-Power.

Noobie Questions:

1) What is the recommended frequency of pumping bike tyres? once a week?

2) If anyone have use the air pump at esso/mobil, what is the electronic number that i should set to, to pump my phantom tyres? 200?

Pls advice.....:smile:

PK & Friends

1) I try to pump at least once a week

2) Depends on what your tyre is. Remember to differentiate between Kpa and PSI.

Originally posted by zero_degrees@Mar 30 2005, 06:25 PM

Noobie Questions:

1) What is the recommended frequency of pumping bike tyres? once a week?

2) If anyone have use the air pump at esso/mobil, what is the electronic number that i should set to, to pump my phantom tyres? 200?

Pls advice.....:smile:

up to individual..........

i pump front 200 n rear 210