Originally posted by funkymunky84@May 3 2005, 03:26 PM

and oh, if i HAVE to use putty, i can use epoxy putty can i?

and where wud i be able to get this thing? IMM diy store perhaps?

any idea what the costs are like?

thank u v much

for this epoxy putty thinggie right, i bought for 2 or 3 bucks at a neighbouthood hardware shop. it's those that got 2 different color wan, 1 for resin and the other hardener.

my fairing got holes and cracks after my roomie buang it so i gotta fill it up!

basically is put liao then sand it down with 200 - 300 sandpaper lor then just spray as per normal can liao. :sweat:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

• Replies 294

What is the best primer out there? I need to paint a front mud guard on a dirt bike. So the primer has to hold up because of how flexible the plastics are.

Anyone painted any plastics on a dirt bike? How have the plastics held up? Any cracking of the paint?

Any one heard of Klean Strip Bulldog primer? If so where can I get it.

Thanks in advance.

Originally posted by hondasleeper@May 8 2005, 07:30 PM

What is the best primer out there? I need to paint a front mud guard on a dirt bike. So the primer has to hold up because of how flexible the plastics are.

Anyone painted any plastics on a dirt bike? How have the plastics held up? Any cracking of the paint?

Any one heard of Klean Strip Bulldog primer? If so where can I get it.

Thanks in advance.

1. the only primer i've used is the one by RJ. $4, dull grey

2. The key to prevent paint from cracking is to lay down many thin layers, and not have thick coats. Thin layers = greater flexibility = less probability of cracks forming

3. Once you go off-road, some paint will come off. That's a given, no 2 ways abt it :)

Originally posted by hondasleeper@May 8 2005, 08:10 PM

My buddy has used this stuff, Bulldog, it's pretty damn good stuff, yu can twist the plastic and it still held up pretty well.

ah ok might wanna ask your buddy where he got that product from. Haven't seen it around. Hard to find "ang moh" brand paints here....you'll be hard pressed to find shops selling even plain-vanilla Krylon spray paints here!

It is an product from the US. Just was wondering if there was anything like that here. Krylon is an US brand, is that available here?

Damn might have to order it from the US.

In the mean time, if you guys can keep your eyes and ears out for it. Let me know if you can find it. Trust me if you're painting your plastics it is going to be worth using Bulldog before you go to paint.

Cheers!!!

guys and pros, i wan wondering wats the exact steps to repray a bike??

i'm ridding a SP and wanna spray it to glossy black, wat are the actual steps??

so far as i read so many pages of postin i think the idea is

1) Sand all suface with 320 sandpaper

2) After sand done clean with water and after tat with alchol

3) spray primer

4) colour coating (but do i need to sand it to be even after finishing the colour tat i want? but if i sand it off how to get the glossy look? is it from lacqure? and about how many coatin do i need?)

5) Spray laquer also how many coat do i need?

Guys ill be waiting for ur advice thx.. cos i dunwan wait do wrong need to do it again.. = sian.. :thumb:

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

------------------------------------------------------------------

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

If u know to DIY then good la. Save $$$ LEI. I also sprayed REDBULL paintwork myself on my NSR150RR. :smile:

http://img285.imageshack.us/img285/9274/saniboyburn0ui.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/saniboy/Ride/style.jpg

Guys, i just complete my DIY spray.. it took me 3 days of sprayin.. but nv use premier spray cos cannot get it.. But i go tthis question..

normally u go moto shop spray their laqure is very shinny and hard as in there are nt easily scratched..

but i spray my laqure already but its very easily to get scratch.. even u use ur finger nails also will get sctraches..

and if spray from shop i think their paint if kena petrol nth will happen.. but yesterday i pump petrol and accidently dripped a drip of petrol and the laqure like melts..

is there any ways to improve the layer of protective laqure of wat over it??

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

Some very good DIY sprayjobs coming out, and great info as well. One point, its possible to buy Automotive Spray paint in cans. The range is very wide, colours can be matched easily to your existing paint job, by using colour codes.

The paint is available in a full range of the required types, from Etch Primer, to Primer, Spray Putty, Thinners and Filler all the way to Clear Over Base (COB)Coats. Dulux make one such range. There are many others. Some Car Accessory shops can also mix colours for you by adding tints to base colour, then filling the spray can for you. Although I have to be honest and say I don't know who does this in Sg.

Check with Auto Accessory shops that sell DIY spare parts for cars.

guys, any idea where can i get matt color spray cans beside matt black/wite.i'm looking at matt green/brown or khaki.thanx.

xr200/ypvs125/ts200/ypvs350/nsr250/fz400/kdx200/Vespasprint/kle400/gsx400v&cg125...wat else i wanna ride...

,,,RIDE TILL U PUKE BAY BEY!!!!

Originally posted by fearless@Nov 17 2005, 04:11 PM

guys, any idea where can i get matt color spray cans beside matt black/wite.i'm looking at matt green/brown or khaki.thanx.

Model shops. But they're expensive.

I suggest you get a regular colour spray can, then give it a coat of dull lacquer (RJ London).

A couple of words about using dull lacquer. You have to spray until the surface is wet (ie. thick coats). Don't worry - it'll still dry matt. Thin coats are useless because dull lacquer dries quickly so you'll end up with a very thin layer of paint and a dusty surface.

After respraying, there's a shiny and glossy finish on the fairings, may i ask wat is tat?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Guys,planning to diy my bike's paint job tomorrow...planning to spray orange/grey...i only got one day to get it over with,so what i basicly need is at least 2 cans of each colour(my bike wave-r),rubbing alcohol,lots of sandpaper,putty for scratches and primer,right???

and the process is sand course,sand fine,sand fine+water,rub on rubbing alcohol,spray primer(does it comes in white or is it just grey primer?) sand primer,spray on desired colour,then spray lacquer(or clear coat)???

please reply a.s.a.p...

fierce bike...cute rider...

Originally posted by accidentalMODernist@Dec 13 2005, 01:51 AM

the process is sand course,sand fine,sand fine+water,rub on rubbing alcohol,spray primer(does it comes in white or is it just grey primer?) sand primer,spray on desired colour,then spray lacquer(or clear coat)???

please reply a.s.a.p...

i am very doubtful all these can dry in a day... cos the putty and primer have to be fully dry before you can do any sanding... + its best to spray the next layer only when the previous 1 is dry.

try to do it right the 1st time otherwise its a BIG pain in the butt to strip/remove the paint to redo...

My Dream bike ~ ~ ~ ~ http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b54/Spenx75/mospeada3.jpg

Originally posted by spenx75@Dec 13 2005, 02:30 AM

i am very doubtful all these can dry in a day... cos the putty and primer have to be fully dry before you can do any sanding... + its best to spray the next layer only when the previous 1 is dry.

try to do it right the 1st time otherwise its a BIG pain in the butt to strip/remove the paint to redo...

I agree. You don't have professional drying ovens, so if you want good results, you'll have to be extremely patient. The chief reason why a lot of DIY paintjobs look like crap is because they were rushed.

So stuff do u guys use for finishing..? The clear spray can lacquer or bring to shops for the finishing lacquer? I was told that those kind of lacquer not really lasting

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b37/eos08/siggy/2006369748298751345_rs.jpg

3) spray primer

4) colour coating (but do i need to sand it to be even after finishing the colour tat i want? but if i sand it off how to get the glossy look? is it from lacqure? and about how many coatin do i need?)

5) Spray laquer also how many coat do i need?

How long does the Spray last? Like 1 yr then koyak or wat? I wan to try cos i just scratched my bike. Sian!

Dec 2005 - Sep 2007 Honda NSR 150 SP FS3*45M

Sep 2007 - Apr 2010 Honda CBR 400 RRL

Apr 2010 - Sep 2010 Yamaha X-1

May 2013 - Apr 2014 Kymco Grand Dink 150

Apr 2014 - ~~~ Kymco Downtown 300i

One life, Live it, Don't waste it!

My old SP

http://s223.photobucket.com/albums/dd94/SGGH/th_bike1.jpg

How long does u all take to dry ur parts? can bring home use hair dryer?

My old SP

Okay, Do you all mind (those who already did nice sprays and its lasting)

List down the Brand and Price of Each item you use.

Also say the number of coat you use.

1)Primer

2)Spray Paint

3)Laquer

After Spraying Laquer, you need to polish it ?

If the fairing got hole, use wat to make it up?

Methods:

3) spray primer

4) colour coating

5) Spray laquer

Is it all?

My old SP

the best place to spray is the most top level of a multi stprey carpark.. did mine matt black in one day.. but i sandpaper one day b4. n don 4get.. choose a day where there is a real hot sun...

Hi guys. Wanna respray my bike to chilli red. I heard from previous replies on this thread that after spraying primer need a base coat of white before the red can go on. But doesn't this prevents the red colour to hold onto the primer as the white is intercepting? Also after spraying the last coat of the desired paint do we need to wet sand the paint before the lacquer? Whats the difference between clear coat and lacquer or is it the same? Ok this is what I perceived after reading through the thread:

1) Sand the bike to remove paint

2) Wet sand using fine grid sandpaper

3) Clean the bike with isopropyl alcohol

4) Spray 3 coats of primer, drying each layer

5) Spray a white base coat

6) Spray few coats of desired colour

7) Wet sand using fine grid

8) Spray lacquer, not waiting more than 15mins between coat

9) Use rubbing compound to bring out shine

10) Polish using car wax

Please correct me if I am wrong! Thanks a million!

i did not read tru the post but just to say out ....

DO NOT SPRAY DIRECTLY UNDER THE HOT SUN .....

i did b4 n it turns out bad ... very bad .... till i cannot sand it off coz to hard already .....

Yo bro, just to add the very importance of sun in spray painting.. especially during lacquering part.. no sun = milky lacquer .. and for those who are trying it out first time,, u might wanna just test it on an old helmet first to get the hang of it... spray pressure and distance to spray is also very critical.. spray too far..wasting paint... spray too near.. blotches here n there.. so to avoid heartache on the fairings... khekh.. might wanna try it out on an old helmet first..khkeheke..

btw, i must say its quite a rewarding feeling to have able to spray your own bike. however, it must not be a rush job.. trying to finish up in a day would only aggravate the quality as we tend to rush thru the coatings...

Just offering my two cents to those whu wanna try it out.. :)

below is my bike after resprayed it after an accident.. and thankfully, the paint is still the same until now.. cheers!

post-5-1173160552.jpg

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.