i gotta into a minor accident e other day n since e other party cant pay i went to claim his insuance since its his fault(doing illegal 3 pt u turn)

normally i understand claim e other party dun nid to pay anything myself ,

but e bike shop i went do it this way

1. find lawyer, he assess percentage of claim confident of claiming(70%) from other party. after that i will pay e bal 30% to him upfront deposit. he will den pay full for my repair 1st to the bike shop.

2. wait surveyor report, confirm e repairs to be done wif the bike shop( i.e e repair cost ) den let the lawyer claim a lump sum based on repair, LOU, mediacal etc.

2. when the total claim is settled, i will den take the claim amount,minus e lawyer fee and total repair paid.

e.g repair 2k, 30% i pay 600 1st.

den lawyer claim 3k, if he managed to claim 80%,he will give me e bal after minus e repair he paid, 1400 plus his lawyer fees(he din say how much). if deficit i wil have to top up

Lawyer gave me e above illustration

this way of claiming is it fair?

i seem some pple claim insurance straight fwd claim repair n go dun nid pay money, esp when nt my fault and claiming other party..

my bike in e shop for 2 week liao, no repairs done yet cos waiting for surveyor report and bike shop to reply me wif e report so we can cfm e repairs to be made.

last thu, lawyer said report say repair 3.5k, but bike shop say dun nid so much will reply me again when they get report. till now no reply from bike shop..

if claim 3.5k i have to fork out 1k do repair, if the lawyer cant claim much from LOU and medical, i have to fork out more for his lawyer fee.. this way of claiming like making me pay more for a supposingly 3rd party claim against other..

How? is this method of claiming fair? or shd i just switch bike shop???:giddy:

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr120/rockytree/SERVER.jpg
  • Replies 9

switch bike shop...

yes... that's the best choice... switch shop to get it done.. spend some $$ tow bike to other shop and get it done..

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

get advise from ur own insurance company...

-= I live my life a quarter mile at a time. =-

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Prankster_Siggy.jpg

huh gotta insurance agent one meh? my insurance with NTUC..agent do wat?

actually e bike shop i went o quite good reputation for doing super4,

just that the lawyer they engage have diff way of climing than other..called to clarify n gotta the following answer so far:

the lawyer said that the 30% will be a max down payment i will pay shd i lose the case and other party counter claim me instead(i,e i lied abt eh accident).. i dun nid to pay else. if win i will be getting back e 30% plus extra if have through the extra he is helping me claim thru LOU and medical)

in my case to breaK even is additional claim of $1,350(assuming 70%) apart from the 2.95k for repair.

he mentioneed that feedback he received from other bike shop doing the normal way is other shop initially dun nid you to pay, but in the event that the judge ruled you are the wrong instead(party counter claim you, you at fault instead), those bike shop will ask you to pay back 50% of the repair done to your bike..

(also normal way the shop wont tell you wat was repiared but this bike shop will list down the items done for the bike)

In a nutshell e lawyer mentioned its a diff way of claiming by different lawyer and his way is shd of a safeguard shd i lose e case...

sounds reasonable or im being BSed by him?? bikers who claimed othr party before can comment?? V sianz cos now im have to fork out 900 as a down to get my bike repaired, 2 week no bike liao..

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr120/rockytree/SERVER.jpg