Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 23 2005, 08:49 PM

actually the mag was referring to the r6's bad efi fuelling during transition from close to open. and that the pre-05 r6's 120/60 front tyre was a bad choice during lean; the change to 120/70 improved things but overall it was still the worst handling of the 4, altho by no means was it a poor handling bike.

TRUE!! so far all e mag i read, blame r6 on e abrupt throttle respone

btw they start using 120/70 on 03 bike :smile:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

• Replies 17.1k

Originally posted by sportb1ke@Aug 23 2005, 08:28 PM

btw fyi:

the power n torque claimed by manufacturer r usually higher than actual ones...

and i had counterchecked these figures from BIKE mag, they agree with each other

i'd like to share the following tested figures (not claimed) of 2005 models by Fast Bikes mag:

Honda CBR600RR

98bhp @ 13,800 rpm

42Nm @ 10,200 rpm

Yamaha YZF-R6

105.9 bhp @ 13,000 rpm

62Nm @ 12,300 rpm

Suzuki GSX-R600

105bhp @ 13,250 rpm

67Nm @ 11,200 rpm

Kawasaki ZX-6R

110.9bhp @ 13,600 rpm

62.3Nm @ 11,200rpm

the manufacturer claimed figures include effects of ram-air so they might certainly be true.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Aug 23 2005, 08:54 PM

btw they start using 120/70 on 03 bike :smile:

izzit? but apparently in europe they only started with 05 model according to the mag; they even made it a point to remind 03 owners to raise the front mudguard before changing to 120/70 coz the stock mudguard scraped the center thread off the 120/70 tyres when they installed it. the 04 model apparently came with front mudguard that could accommodate the higher prflie tyre, and only the 05 model did yamaha uk fix 120/70.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 23 2005, 09:00 PM

i'd like to share the following tested figures (not claimed) of 2005 models by Fast Bikes mag:

Honda CBR600RR

98bhp @ 13,800 rpm

42Nm @ 10,200 rpm

Yamaha YZF-R6

105.9 bhp @ 13,000 rpm

62Nm @ 12,300 rpm

Suzuki GSX-R600

105bhp @ 13,250 rpm

67Nm @ 11,200 rpm

Kawasaki ZX-6R

110.9bhp @ 13,600 rpm

62.3Nm @ 11,200rpm

the manufacturer claimed figures include effects of ram-air so they might certainly be true.

how abt CBR600F?? :sweat:

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f229/Hong-/tummy.gif?t=1229955192
Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 23 2005, 09:03 PM

izzit? but apparently in europe they only started with 05 model according to the mag; they even made it a point to remind 03 owners to raise the front mudguard before changing to 120/70 coz the stock mudguard scraped the center thread off the 120/70 tyres when they installed it. the 04 model apparently came with front mudguard that could accommodate the higher prflie tyre, and only the 05 model did yamaha uk fix 120/70.

cos my fren riding a 03 R6, he got it first hand.

anyway i've been reading sport rider(US), superbike(UK), performance bike(UK), RIDE (UK)

all different figures hehe

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

Originally posted by HONG@Aug 23 2005, 09:09 PM

got tis from March 05 RIDE

2001 cbr600F

109bhp @ 12,500rpm

48ftlb @ 10,500rpm

woah quite high!

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Aug 23 2005, 09:18 PM

got tis from March 05 RIDE

2001 cbr600F

109bhp @ 12,500rpm

48ftlb @ 10,500rpm

woah quite high!

Originally posted by HONG@Aug 23 2005, 09:09 PM

if u're referring to the F4i and predecessors, sorri man i cant find any review of the bike in any of the mags. in fact, if u look up Honda (UK) Website, u wont find the F4i listed, altho its still listed in Honda (USA) Website. i believe europe or at least uk stopped carrying the F4i model a long time ago. so i think u must have read a US mag.

i can however find figures for the CBR600FS, when Fast Bikes review shootouts of second hand sportsbikes.

Honda CBR600FS 2001

92bhp @ 12,400rpm

56Nm @ 10,200 rpm

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 23 2005, 09:24 PM

if u're referring to the F4i and predecessors, sorri man i cant find any review of the bike in any of the mags. in fact, if u look up Honda (UK) Website, u wont find the F4i listed, altho its still listed in Honda (USA) Website. i believe europe or at least uk stopped carrying the F4i model a long time ago. so i think u must have read a US mag.

i can however find figures for the CBR600FS, when Fast Bikes review shootouts of second hand sportsbikes.

Honda CBR600FS 2001

92bhp @ 12,400rpm

56Nm @ 10,200 rpm

CBR600FS is which one?? pardon me.. still not familiar abt the 600cc bikes... i very blur... i still dunno wats the diff between my touring model and the sports model of the F4i... then now i see the US ans AUstralia website still have the touring model of the F4i.. except that australia now change it to F5i...

Originally posted by HONG@Aug 23 2005, 09:35 PM

CBR600FS is which one??

its cbr600Fsport

Its e one with separate pillion seat

so far from wat i read, almost everything is e same except for e subframe

come i share more interesting tested figures from Fast Bikes mag. i suppose skepticism about the following figures is natural, but the mag once explained that they obtained such figures from all their shootouts by attaching GPS units on the bike and testing them on abandoned runways; and the time and especially speeds quoted are from the GPS units and not wat the bikes' speedos display. end of the day of coz u decide whether wanna believe anot, or even if wanna think its important.

All 2005 models and all done in the same shootout.

Kawasaki ZX-6R

0-60mph in 3.39s

Standing quarter mile 11.25s @ 128.71mph

Top Speed 162.03mph (~260kmh)

Suzuki GSX-R600

0-60mph in 3.90s

Standing quarter mile 11.87s @ 123.84mph

Top Speed 156.61mph (~251kmh)

Yamaha YZF-R6

0-60mph in 3.38s

Standing quarter mile 11.27s @ 128.97mph

Top Speed 166.75mph (~267kmh)

Honda CBR600RR

0-60mph 3.72s

Standing quarter mile 11.52s @ 127.87mph

Top Speed 155.04mph (~250kmh)

Triumph Daytona 650

0-60mph in 3.39s

Standing quarter mile 11.45s @ 125.69mph

Top Speed 162.01mph (~260kmh)

Ducati 749

0-60mph 3.97s

Standing quarter mile 12.05s @ 121.25mph

Top Speed 156.99mph (~251kmh)

for me, i believe the figures, but then again i also feel that they're so close that power/speed figures make little difference to the ordinary rider like myself. the bike can hit 100kmh in 4s is one thing, but it takes skill, balls and a long straight stretch of road. so i suppose choosing btn these supersports isn about looking at their power/speed, but things like handling, brakes, fueling, overall torque curve etc etc. i choose looks :cheeky:

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 23 2005, 09:50 PM

come i share more interesting tested figures from Fast Bikes mag. i suppose skepticism about the following figures is natural, but the mag once explained that they obtained such figures from all their shootouts by attaching GPS units on the bike and testing them on abandoned runways; and the time and especially speeds quoted are from the GPS units and not wat the bikes' speedos display. end of the day of coz u decide whether wanna believe anot, or even if wanna think its important.

All 2005 models and all done in the same shootout.

Kawasaki ZX-6R

0-60mph in 3.39s

Standing quarter mile 11.25s @ 128.71mph

Top Speed 162.03mph (~260kmh)

Suzuki GSX-R600

0-60mph in 3.90s

Standing quarter mile 11.87s @ 123.84mph

Top Speed 156.61mph (~251kmh)

Yamaha YZF-R6

0-60mph in 3.38s

Standing quarter mile 11.27s @ 128.97mph

Top Speed 166.75mph (~267kmh)

Honda CBR600RR

0-60mph 3.72s

Standing quarter mile 11.52s @ 127.87mph

Top Speed 155.04mph (~250kmh)

Triumph Daytona 650

0-60mph in 3.39s

Standing quarter mile 11.45s @ 125.69mph

Top Speed 162.01mph (~260kmh)

Ducati 749

0-60mph 3.97s

Standing quarter mile 12.05s @ 121.25mph

Top Speed 156.99mph (~251kmh)

for me, i believe the figures, but then again i also feel that they're so close that power/speed figures make little difference to the ordinary rider like myself. the bike can hit 100kmh in 4s is one thing, but it takes skill, balls and a long straight stretch of road. so i suppose choosing btn these supersports isn about looking at their power/speed, but things like handling, brakes, fueling, overall torque curve etc etc. i choose looks :cheeky:

wow... u have so many info... maybe we shld organise an outing and u show us the mags... :sweat: :cheeky: then can get to know each other oso... aniway... i'm jus kiddin.. cos i dun even noe if i got the free time.. :cheeky:

Originally posted by HONG@Aug 23 2005, 09:35 PM

CBR600FS is which one?? pardon me.. still not familiar abt the 600cc bikes... i very blur... i still dunno wats the diff between my touring model and the sports model of the F4i... then now i see the US ans AUstralia website still have the touring model of the F4i.. except that australia now change it to F5i...

this is the FS:

http://ducati.performance.free.fr/images/CBR600FS.JPG

u can see it has seperated seats and racier look. it was introduced in 2001 as the sportier option to ur F model of the same year, and also as homologation model to race in world supersports. its got the same PGM-FI engine as the F model of the same year, but with diff gear ratio, tuning and ergonomics because of its race intentions. the direct predecessor to the RR, and replaced directly (and subsequently discontinued) by the RR in 2003.

Originally posted by HONG@Aug 23 2005, 09:54 PM

wow... u have so many info... maybe we shld organise an outing and u show us the mags... :sweat: :cheeky: then can get to know each other oso... aniway... i'm jus kiddin.. cos i dun even noe if i got the free time.. :cheeky:

i've been a loyal fan of Fast Bikes mag since i picked up riding with my TA150 4 years ago, and have been a 'closet rider of class2 sportsbikes' through the years as i read their mags and dreamt of owning and riding my own class2 sportsbike, all the while chugging along on my TA150 :sweat:

i trust them coz their reviews of the hornet6 and the cbr6rr (the only 2 class 2 bikes i've ever ridden) were exactly spot on.

GPS !!!! WOah !! tat's nothing more accurate than tat !! :thumb:

how i hope TP will use tat.. somehow feel tat the way they track motorists speed abit inconsistent :cheeky:

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 23 2005, 09:56 PM

this is the FS:

http://ducati.performance.free.fr/images/CBR600FS.JPG

u can see it has seperated seats and racier look. it was introduced in 2001 as the sportier option to ur F model of the same year, and also as homologation model to race in world supersports. its got the same PGM-FI engine as the F model of the same year, but with diff gear ratio, tuning and ergonomics because of its race intentions. the direct predecessor to the RR, and replaced directly (and subsequently discontinued) by the RR in 2003.

oic... so does that means that F4i (sports) and F4i (Touring) is the same except for the subframe?? then the F-Sports is the last addition to the F4i family except for changes in gear ratio? there is this website which i read about... so is this and the F-sports the same?? http://www.mcnews.com.au/Testing/Honda/CBR600F4i/Page1.htm furthermore.. the HP and torque stated in the webby in Page 4 stated 110.2HP and 65Nm... accurate bo?? cos its more power than the FS as stated in the figures..

Originally posted by HONG@Aug 23 2005, 10:04 PM

oic... so does that means that F4i (sports) and F4i (Touring) is the same except for the subframe?? then the F-Sports is the last addition to the F4i family except for changes in gear ratio? there is this website which i read about... so is this and the F-sports the same?? http://www.mcnews.com.au/Testing/Honda/CBR600F4i/Page1.htm furthermore.. the HP and torque stated in the webby in Page 4 stated 110.2HP and 65Nm... accurate bo?? cos its more power than the FS as stated in the figures..

Its e same~ Australia has it as F4I

what they mention is an improvement over e F4I touring version (

Max.Power Output 110.2PS/12,500rpm (81kW/12,500min)

take note of e unit.. its in PS not in BHP

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 23 2005, 10:02 PM

i've been a loyal fan of Fast Bikes mag since i picked up riding with my TA150 4 years ago, and have been a 'closet rider of class2 sportsbikes' through the years as i read their mags and dreamt of owning and riding my own class2 sportsbike, all the while chugging along on my TA150 :sweat:

i trust them coz their reviews of the hornet6 and the cbr6rr (the only 2 class 2 bikes i've ever ridden) were exactly spot on.

wow... dunno if can borrow some of the mags from u.. especially those with reviews and info abt my bike.. u shld noe la.. :sweat: every rider will like to noe more abt his/her ride...

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Aug 23 2005, 10:08 PM

Its e same~ Australia has it as F4I

what they mention is an improvement over e F4I touring version (

Max.Power Output 110.2PS/12,500rpm (81kW/12,500min)

take note of e unit.. its in PS not in BHP

ohh.. now i get it... diff country gave diff name... ? oops.. its in PS... sorry abt that... :cheeky:

My family own both the touring model n the sports model , so roughly from appearance wise , the difference is :

Sport model has black frame , different colored fork stepped seat .

Touring model has mainstand , single seat similiar to S4 .

From wat i know from magazines , it is noted tat the sport model is easier to tune for track as compared to the touring although . Dun understand y cos basically , i can c tat they both use the same engine .

Originally posted by Speedpass@Aug 23 2005, 10:22 PM

My family own both the touring model n the sports model , so roughly from appearance wise , the difference is :

Sport model has black frame , different colored fork stepped seat .

Touring model has mainstand , single seat similiar to S4 .

From wat i know from magazines , it is noted tat the sport model is easier to tune for track as compared to the touring although . Dun understand y cos basically , i can c tat they both use the same engine .

hmm.. confusing... wondering why oso... :confused:

Actualli , i prefer the sport model , more sporty n poser . :cheeky:

1) Hikaru (Calvin)- 05 silver/black

2) BuZZBeaM - 04 Black

3) mechwira - 05 silver/black

4) A|vZz - 05 sliver/black

5) pillow - 05 silver/black

6) superbike 04 maroon/white

7) sportb1ke (Ben) - 05 black/silver

8) HONG - 01 F4i red/blue

Originally posted by Speedpass@Aug 23 2005, 10:30 PM

Actualli , i prefer the sport model , more sporty n poser . :cheeky:

Agree!! i myself rode a sport version b4

dun like e idea of e main stand hehe

but when lookin from e front... its e same leh CHIO

Its possible to change e whole subframe from F4I to F4sports :smile: