my batt connectors had rusted solid and both the connectors were thickly caked in bluish white salt. its a size 7 yokohama just under a year old; no such probs on the original yuasa size 9. any idea wat the problem may be?

i just went to the shop, originally wanted to ask them help unscrew the connector bolt and just replace the bolt coz it had rusted solid and the teeth had worn smooth from the rust. i couldn remove it no matter how much wd40 i spray, and i tried using spanners and screw drivers and pliers. but they told me no way to save the batt, they had to break it off, use grinding stone to wear off the bolt head then knock it off my wire connector. so now i've got new yuasa size 7. strangely again a yuasa size 9 wont fit, yet the original batt is a yuasa size 9.

wats the prob with all that salt and rust, and would spraying wd40 help?

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

• Replies 17.1k

Originally posted by mechwira@March 26, 2007 05:59 pm

my batt connectors had rusted solid and both the connectors were thickly caked in bluish white salt. its a size 7 yokohama just under a year old; no such probs on the original yuasa size 9. any idea wat the problem may be?

i just went to the shop, originally wanted to ask them help unscrew the connector bolt and just replace the bolt coz it had rusted solid and the teeth had worn smooth from the rust. i couldn remove it no matter how much wd40 i spray, and i tried using spanners and screw drivers and pliers. but they told me no way to save the batt, they had to break it off, use grinding stone to wear off the bolt head then knock it off my wire connector. so now i've got new yuasa size 7. strangely again a yuasa size 9 wont fit, yet the original batt is a yuasa size 9.

mech , the stock battery is ytz 10s . i think you can try a the yt12a-bs which is for busa . is only 12 mm taller then stock and the power rating is 175 compare to the stock 190 . think will last better then those 9 series

http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s190/redsuns74/FP3762J-1_zps552ea30c.jpg
Originally posted by Hikaru@March 26, 2007 07:03 pm

mech , the stock battery is ytz 10s . i think you can try a the yt12a-bs which is for busa . is only 12 mm taller then stock and the power rating is 175 compare to the stock 190 . think will last better then those 9 series

too late, i've already got a yuasa size 7 inside, not sure the model number.

and last year when i first change, i can tell u i saw myself how the yuasa size 10 is actually taller than the stock yuasa-honda size 10, same model number.

in any case i ran the yokohama size 7 for a year without probs, so shd be fine.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

hock, next week thursday evening or late afternoon u free i buy from u ur windshield from ur place? i go over to ur place, and i see the windshield first before decide i want anot.

my batt connectors had rusted solid and both the connectors were thickly caked in bluish white salt.

correct me if wrong.if i do recall....those white powder are actualy crystal form from the electron "jumping" over the AiR and due to high H2o content with our local air cause it to happen.again i could be wrong.:sweat:

in any case,the common practice is to apply motor grade grease thinly over the battery terminal to prevent such thing to happen.

anyway,it quite interesting regarding the battery choice cos the work i went told me there are original ytz-10 battery available but with a higher price la.why not stick to original or up 1 size instead of down size?

as for the screen.u let me know lor.i nite time free 1(assume in town).

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Originally posted by mechwira@March 26, 2007 07:45 pm

too late, i've already got a yuasa size 7 inside, not sure the model number.

and last year when i first change, i can tell u i saw myself how the yuasa size 10 is actually taller than the stock yuasa-honda size 10, same model number.

in any case i ran the yokohama size 7 for a year without probs, so shd be fine.

I used 7 for my RVF last time. FOr our 6RR its 10. But... I've been using it for last 3 years ley! Still ok... Hmnn... :confused:

White powder just means corrosion. Sand down the terminal lugs to remove rust and corrosion or simply replace the lugs. Apply dielectric silicone grease in and around the connections and sufficiently tighten the screw. You will not get that problem again. Its a good idea to use the dielectric grease on all electrical connections of the bike including the spark plug cap to prevent corrosion. It can also prevent short circuit due to water.

Dielectric silicone grease available at SLT

Boon Siew juz launched the new CBR 600RR yesterday at their upgraded showroom. New bike i must say. Look similiar to the 1000 but with the air scope in front. But dunno how much it cost leh.

Let The Good Times Roll.............

Originally posted by hockie69@March 27, 2007 12:24 am

correct me if wrong.if i do recall....those white powder are actualy crystal form from the electron "jumping" over the AiR and due to high H2o content with our local air cause it to happen.again i could be wrong.:sweat:

in any case,the common practice is to apply motor grade grease thinly over the battery terminal to prevent such thing to happen.

anyway,it quite interesting regarding the battery choice cos the work i went told me there are original ytz-10 battery available but with a higher price la.why not stick to original or up 1 size instead of down size?

as for the screen.u let me know lor.i nite time free 1(assume in town).

hock the stock ytz 10s is super ex:giddy: ...... mine only cost $80

Originally posted by Hikaru@March 27, 2007 09:44 am

hock the stock ytz 10s is super ex:giddy: ...... mine only cost $80

i'm a sucker..........................:faint:

hock & shark ,

bad news 4th the track is been booked . so 2nd or 3rd will be avaiable ...which date is comfortable with you guys ?

hey guys.. just wanna enquire the price of cbr600rr battery, retificier and magnetic coil.. cos my bike just won't start eventhought i press the start button.. i asked a mechanic and he said cbr600rr and r1 usually encounter this problem.. pls enlight me.. thanks alot

Originally posted by s102@March 28, 2007 01:02 pm

hey guys.. just wanna enquire the price of cbr600rr battery, retificier and magnetic coil.. cos my bike just won't start eventhought i press the start button.. i asked a mechanic and he said cbr600rr and r1 usually encounter this problem.. pls enlight me.. thanks alot

dun mind i ask, which shop u go?

u make it sound like ur 600RR kena batt and rectifier and coil problem all at one go, and the mech claim "always happen to 600RR and R1"?

the only common prob wif 600RR we see so far is the original batt and the rectifier, but even that is one or the other, none of us kena both. superb1ke and myself changed batt and problem solved, and i think at least 2 (different) others so far reported rectifier.

perhaps u'd like a 2nd opinion at a shop that we can recommend?

Originally posted by s102@March 28, 2007 01:02 pm

i asked a mechanic and he said cbr600rr and r1 usually encounter this problem..

1st advice. run far far away from that workshop.

2nd , if under waranty,go back to boon siew

3rd,if not,there are few workshop that can provide proper advice far better then point 1.

so far 600RR report MAJOR fault is....................."under power" ! :sweat:

Originally posted by Hikaru@March 28, 2007 09:46 am

hock & shark ,

bad news 4th the track is been booked . so 2nd or 3rd will be avaiable ...which date is comfortable with you guys ?

what abt 5/04 ? then friday hoil liao.:cheeky:

Originally posted by hockie69@March 28, 2007 03:20 pm

what abt 5/04 ? then friday hoil liao.:cheeky:

5th can't colleagues already apply leave on that day. Have to take over her work.

Originally posted by Hikaru@March 28, 2007 04:07 pm

5th can't colleagues already apply leave on that day. Have to take over her work.

then make it 03/04 lor.

today Pg session was empty...whole track only 5 bike.1 Fz1 1 ST 1 RR 1 R6 & 1 GSR.:sweat:

but kanna rain when at sg custom.:sweat:

Originally posted by Hikaru@March 28, 2007 09:16 pm

wha ... went in by yourself today . Then let's make it on 3rd .:cheer:

I'm still planning with Lostsoul from 1000rr thread to decide whether to go on Monday or Tuesday. You can make it on both days? Or any preference so I can tell him if he doesn't read this.

Originally posted by hockie69@March 28, 2007 04:11 pm

.1 Fz1 1 ST 1 RR 1 R6 & 1 GSR.:sweat:

You sound so cheerful... Surely you go the fastest among them right? Ah...:smile:

Originally posted by Shark@March 28, 2007 11:01 pm

I'm still planning with Lostsoul from 1000rr thread to decide whether to go on Monday or Tuesday. You can make it on both days? Or any preference so I can tell him if he doesn't read this.

ok , then lets all go down on the 3rd april .:cheer:

hey guys heres the deal if i can get a minimum order of 10pcs for cbr600rr polo-t:

dri-fit polo T with up to 3 colours front and rear for up to $20.

thicker (better) dri-fit polo T with V-neck zipper with up to 3 colours for up to $25.

add $2 for personalized name. add $2 for embroidered logo on chest.

count yourself. how much are you all willing to pay maximum?

to clarify: you can have 3 colours behind and a fourth different colour on chest, because they count the colours by each "press"; meaning behind is one press they count how many colours, in front one press how many. so u can even have behind 3 colours in front another 3 different colours.

those with good resolution 'CBR', 'CBR600RR', 'Honda Wing' and 'HRC' logos can please post it up here so that i can take and print.

Testing for interested parties of CBR600RR polo-T.

Please state ur nick and how much maximum u willing to pay for such a polo-T. up to $20 is normal dri-fit polo-T. up to $25 will get you either thicker dri-fit polo-T with v-neck zipper, or normal dri-fit polo T with embroidered logo and personalized name. up to $30 gets you both the thicker dri-fit and embroidered logo plus name.

this is NOT an order call. this is survey only. if response good then i will take next step, which is come up with design everybody can agree to.

1) mechwira (up to $30) 1 pc