What is the reasonable price for a 10 years COE for motorcycle?  

165 members have voted

1. 1. What is the reasonable price for a 10 years COE for motorcycle?

• Below $2,000.00
    • $2,001.00 to $3,999.00
    • $4,000.00 and above

How do we know that the COE pricing is not rigged? We all know how it works. But has anyone validated it?

no need. If you believe LTA is conspiring to maximize COE revenue, then for a given fixed supply of COE, their revenue is highest precisely at the demand = supply price point. if they deliberately rig the price to be significantly higher than this, number of buyers will drop significantly to the extend of unsold COE and overall their revenue will decrease.

If LTA wanted to maximize COE revenue, they will instead manipulate the price indirectly by reducing the supply, but still allowing the final price point set at demand = supply. This will increase the price, and may in turn (depending on the demand situation) increase the revenue.

but this has already happened. in the past 2 years, LTA reduced COE supply and COE jumped from $1k to $6k, a six fold increase in price without a six fold reduction in COE. their revenue has increased, not by directly rigging the price, but by controlling the supply.

of course, LTA has openly published all their data and statistics about COE renewals and vehicle population growth to justify their control of COE. it is your choice to believe their data and calculations, or to instead believe their data is faked to maximize COE revenue.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

• Replies 1.1k

One thing I learned from working in an MNC under a fishy manager is that...."data can be faked right??" Just "make" the numbers so that the top people or for that matter, whoever likes to look at numbers, will be persuaded.. Sad sad world we live in...

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

One thing I learned from working in an MNC under a fishy manager is that...."data can be faked right??" Just "make" the numbers so that the top people or for that matter, whoever likes to look at numbers, will be persuaded.. Sad sad world we live in...

Be skeptical in what you see now unless you go into it and find more................................... ! Sometime "white" can be black/grey in this world!

Like I personally experience/ know from friends, some (sorry should said most) ppl in the media interview wow they behave and act very pro or nice but behind is different(ugly)!

Can't help it most of the ppl are naive! They like to listen to sweet talk, lip service, positive things and good thing but not reality one!

For example: some people saw many "like" in the Facebook they will think this person/company a lot of people like him/her, should be good but they didn't know for "Like" they can pay to get 100 likes or 1000 or 10,000 likes! You can get blogger to write good thing about you and your company if you have any!

Edited by safe&ins
How do we know that the COE pricing is not rigged? We all know how it works. But has anyone validated it?

No need, the whole system is a scam, it isn't to control congestion, just make money.

:clapping: so true but we are so helpless. it seems no body even oppo party cannot do anything

People have to stop thinking the Govt actually cares for them, they don't, they only do it enough to garner votes. You can't win everything so make enough idiots happy and you win and make money of everyone.

You still have plenty here who go by the fallible logic of 'Comparing us to our neighbours, I think PAP is doing good. Appreciate what you have', these people fail to think how we wouldn't be so different from Malaysia if Singapore was the size of Malaysia with PAP in charge, maybe if they would think that Singapore was built by collective effort of Singaporeans rather than PAP, we would be better off. Tiny country, strategic location for trade yet can't see the problem of paying our ministers many times over the cost of a minister running a country 10-20 times the size of Singapore.

Results for January 2014 1st Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle: $1,989.00

Results for February 2015 1st Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle: $5,504.00

Results for FEBRUARY 2015 2nd Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle: $5,800.00

Results for MARCH 2015 1st Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle $5,501.00

Results for MARCH 2015 2nd Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle $5,610.00

Results for APRIL 2015 1st Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle $6,312.00

Results for APRIL 2015 2nd Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle $6,801.00

Results for May 2015 1st Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle $6,512.00

Results for May 2015 2nd Open Bidding Exercise for Motorcycle $6,501.00

Info from: http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/1m/coe/coeDetail.html

Since 1990: Reference on how much the COE goes up, Up, UP! http://tralvex.com/pub/cars/coe.htm

Past 2 years: 5 years ago: 10 years ago:

COE chart.jpg COE chart 2010.jpg COE chart 2005.jpg

View and Poll Results: What is the reasonable price for a 10 years COE for motorcycle?

Saw a Malaysian bike stop at traffic light and I was curious and ask the owner how much he pay for his new Yamaha 125 bike on the road price! He told me is RM$6,000.00!

For recent rate RM$6,000.00 divide by 2.69 = Sin$2,230.48

Another uncle also riding a Singapore bike beside said to me with our COE only exclude bike price, image you can buy how many bike in Malaysia!

** If you are prepare to extend another 10 years of COE for your existing bike, how you feel? Others new bike is only RM$6,000.00!

Saw a Malaysian bike stop at traffic light and I was curious and ask the owner how much he pay for his new Yamaha 125 bike on the road price! He told me is RM$6,000.00!

For recent rate RM$6,000.00 divide by 2.69 = Sin$2,230.48

Another uncle also riding a Singapore bike beside said to me with our COE only exclude bike price, image you can buy how many bike in Malaysia!

** If you are prepare to extend another 10 years of COE for your existing bike, how you feel? Others new bike is only RM$6,000.00!

correct me if i'm wrong (especially because recently they revised their taxation for vehicles), but as i understand it an R1 in malaysia costs RM80,000 after taxes.

And take into account the general income of a malaysian as compared to a singaporean.

bottomline, it is a pointless exercise to compare directly prices when you cross borders.

its easy to say a plate of chicken rice in malaysia is so cheap; try buying that malaysian chicken rice on malaysian salary.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

I agree with mechwira

Do u think Malaysians working in Malaysia salary is 2.7 more?

Theirs pay is similar to use except they are in ringgit. 1 ringgi = 1 dollar

Think that safe&ins might be referring to those M'sians working in Singapore. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Dear Mr XXX

CAT D Motorcycle COE quota reduction.

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 20150427-1596

We refer to your email of 27 April 2015. We apologise for the delay in reply.

We wish to explain that Singapore manages the growth of the vehicle population through the Vehicle Quota System (VQS). With a limited supply of Certificate of Entitlement (COEs) under the VQS, we adopt an open bidding approach as it is the most efficient and transparent way to allocate the scarce COEs. With the supply of COEs set based on the rate at which our infrastructure development can support, the price is determined by the demand for them, and COEs will be allocated to those who value them most.

Owners of motorcycles already enjoy significantly lower vehicle taxes compared to private cars. For example, the Additional Registration Fee (ARF) for motorcycles is set at 15% of the vehicle's Open Market Value (OMV), instead of the 100% OMV applicable for cars.

The purpose of the Open Category, which has been around since the COE system started in 1990, is to allow flexibility in the system by catering to changing demand over time for different types of vehicles. This allows the vehicle mix to change over time. Cat E quota is formed by taking a proportion of COEs of deregistered vehicles from each category, and not just from motorcycles (Cat D). As you may be aware, the Government has in recent years progressively reduced the contribution rate to Cat E from 25% to the current 10% . As a result, more COEs from deregistered motorcycles are being returned back to Cat D than otherwise.

We note your feedback and we will monitor the situation closely. We thank you for writing in.

Yours sincerely

Goh Shou Xian

Deputy Manager, Policy

Policy

Oh well, it was proven numerous times that 99% of the open cat COE usually eventually became CAT B COE, so CAT B COE are allocated more because they are of higher demand. LOL

It seems like to them, just because something is valuable, it is in more demanded. Well..

Edited by guangwei

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

correct me if i'm wrong (especially because recently they revised their taxation for vehicles), but as i understand it an R1 in malaysia costs RM80,000 after taxes.

And take into account the general income of a malaysian as compared to a singaporean.

bottomline, it is a pointless exercise to compare directly prices when you cross borders.

its easy to say a plate of chicken rice in malaysia is so cheap; try buying that malaysian chicken rice on malaysian salary.

I understand what you mean, what I'm comparing is our COE exclude bike price and their on the road price!

Regards to the Tax I'm not sure, as this guy is working in Singapore but staying JB and riding a Malaysia registered bike. It happen that is red light and I saw his bike is very new and I ask how much did he purchase for on the road price.

Even thought there is a inflation and the cost of living is high, compare to same product (item) price shouldn't be going so high in Singapore! Of course if we are to compare with Malaysia all the time, we will be ask to go to Malaysia and stay and be a Malaysian :gun: :gun::gun:

Can't help it this is our cultural, taught to compare ! Like my child sec. text book they were taught to compare 3 price before buying, check the service, warranty.....etc (best thing is free with lots of benefit...) Dun pull your egg into one basket!

Maybe we are "ATAS" that's why we have to pay high price in everything!:cheeky:

Edited by safe&ins

safe & ins, dont forget. their VEP to singapore. if that guy comes in every 5 days a week for 50 weeks. do you think he will pay alot?? me?????? i just pray pray go Malaysia NO VEP.

Sorry may I know wat is VEP? How much is it?

Vehicle entry permit.

In general singaporeans donno this because we dun need pay. Only foreign vehicles entering singapore must. In fact I oso cant remember how much.

It is same as the one m'sia now charge us when we enter. Just that unlike the garmen on other side, ours make foreign vehicles pay, they complain oso they not voter. The other side garmen go and charge every vehicle including their own until kena strike at checkpoint.

oic, if I'm not wrong there is certain timing when they comes in is free?

Anyway if earn Singapore currency and stay at JB expense won't be high if they know how to budget unless work there and spend here there is a problem!

oic, if I'm not wrong there is certain timing when they comes in is free?

of coz. our gahmen super smart one.

during time when m'sian working in singapore will travel in, no choice that kind, VEP in effect.

weekend or other times when want to attract tourists or day-travellers, no VEP.

Anyway if earn Singapore currency and stay at JB expense won't be high if they know how to budget unless work there and spend here there is a problem!

no matter wat, work in singapore stay in JB confirm financially shiok one, particularly for m'sian with lower qualifications. mechanic, bus driver, waiter, cashier, all these jobs very worth it for them......

.......provided you can tolerate the daily commute from JB-SIN.....

and have some where to stay in JB. a lot of them actually live much further north but stay some cheap rental in JB all week and only really go home once a week.

s'poreans on the other hand complain become waiter too much standing not enough sitting, dowan to work.

Edited by mechwira

If I'm not wrong ever heard during week days there free/ lower rate during certain timing!

I've try taking buses to JB and saw a few primary kids with Singapore school uniform playing at Malaysia Custom, so curious that, by the look a few look like Singaporean so I ask them. Infect is true 2 of them are Singaporean! They stay in JB take a bus to school everyday by their look is around primary 4 to 5. Thumb up for them!

I believes to you must be tough and dare to explore and travel, so by living in JB is not an issue! Malaysian are usually tough ppl as traveling is not an issue where else like us, too comfort!

To us some ppl will tell you travel from hougang to ang mio kio they alrdy said is far! Over pamper!

If I'm not wrong ever heard during week days there free/ lower rate during certain timing!

I've try taking buses to JB and saw a few primary kids with Singapore school uniform playing at Malaysia Custom, so curious that, by the look a few look like Singaporean so I ask them. Infect is true 2 of them are Singaporean! They stay in JB take a bus to school everyday by their look is around primary 4 to 5. Thumb up for them!

I believes to you must be tough and dare to explore and travel, so by living in JB is not an issue! Malaysian are usually tough ppl as traveling is not an issue where else like us, too comfort!

To us some ppl will tell you travel from hougang to ang mio kio they alrdy said is far! Over pamper!

its not over pamper... its enjoying the result of our nation's success. we say not easy to stay in sg, need to work so hard, pay n pay etc etc... but its even harder to stay in other places if you want the same living standard as wat u are experiencing in sg. On the flip side, many other countries offer u alterntives... slower life n less city living for cheaper.. or even self survival in rural areas. but we dont have a choice. That's the difference

Liverpool revival has started....

its not over pamper... its enjoying the result of our nation's success. we say not easy to stay in sg, need to work so hard, pay n pay etc etc... but its even harder to stay in other places if you want the same living standard as wat u are experiencing in sg. On the flip side, many other countries offer u alterntives... slower life n less city living for cheaper.. or even self survival in rural areas. but we dont have a choice. That's the difference

Beautiful..

FJR 1300...

以德æœäºº...

dun worry cheaper better faster is coming in by the millions , and they are hungrier

Walk fast fall is nothing, Run fast fall if serious just a few stitch but Fly too high once fall .....X?X?

I heard a Malay couple told us this, now you have a kid and you work very hard day by day but no time to see them and sent the child to child care/ day care by then when you are old it will be the opposite they hard whole day and you are in the old folk home! In Singapore we have to pay high price for convenience!

FYI: Yesterday my in law went for a followup consultation at the same clinic and doctor in SGH. His consultation fee last month is $85.00 and yesterday is $92.00. You see pioneer got subsidies but price keep going up and UP! For subsidies is not life time but price goes up will not goes down! This is the price we have to pay!

BTW: Saw news in Taiwan petrol price down in all petrol stations few days ago and news in Singapore mention oil price drop but here, any drop of pricing?

Edited by safe&ins