I came across the article on today Straits Times frontpage, saw this topic "ERP cordon in Orchard Road"

To my horror, motorists like me got to pay ERP charges for driving home on Central Expressway and this coming October the buslane along Dohoby Ghaut will be offlimits to motorists from 7.30am to 8m, Monday to Saturday.

I think this is just another reason for gahment to generate revenue from setting few more ERP gantrys. Or maybe they are persuading us to stay in the town to doing window shopping till the ERP operation ends at 8pm.

Well I doubt I will hang around in town for 2 hours (if i knock off at 6pm), just because I want to save $1. If everyone is having this thought, I suppose the plan of having more ERP gantrys to improve the traffic condition will not work.

Road Tax, Insurance, COE and ERP are the liability of today's motorists.

:help: :help: :help:

• Replies 19

everybody is tired aft a day of wrk...everybody wants to go home n hav dinner and spend time wif family and rest...dun really understand the rationale behind putting tat gantry there....stop us frm going home? have less time wif family? or shld it b earn more $$ frm us...guess all of us really noe which is the true reason :cheeky: and i wun b surprised if they sae they wan to add gantries at the other east south west bound expressways :sian:

the only step to ease the traffic woes around the orchard is STOP USING CARS and switch to public transport such as taxi..

MRTs and Buses i wun really encourage coz for weekend timing it is always in the range of 5 to 8 minutes waining time.. dats i reason why i switch to riding instead.. :D

and :btw: taxi is the only public transport which has yet to increase their prices.. lets hope it stays this way.. :D

As I had expected.

The plunging of COE prices (cars COEs only) in the last 8 months has made the gahment "crack" their heads to increase revenue from motoring.

And this is precisiely THE way, build more gantries loh, as easy as ABC!

Governemtn all over the world has tried their best to soalve traffic jams and woes but no results, but look at S'pore, easiled solved by COE (noe found to be not so successful),m so ERP loh.. I dare say ERP is the only project in the world which:-

1) makes money the day it was put up,

2) the costs is minimal but revenue is extremely high.

Well, I have Isreali freinds who said that "S'pore is so rich, y can't your gahment solve the traffic problems by building tunnels, flyovers to ease traffic flow, instead of choosing easy way like COE n ERP, any man in the street can do that right??"I didn't know how to answer them.

OK, let's put the issue at perspective.

Who built many housing estates in the North and North East, Yishun and Khatik New Towns, SengKang, now Punggol new town, not forgeting Serangoon, old Hougang, old Toa Payoh and big Ang Mo Kio, and now we have Sembawang? Who has planned the housing estates WITHOUT planning the traffice accessibility?? R we saying HDB n LTA or PWD do not talk to each other?? OR the master plan nobody knows? Who has made many ppl travel into the city sound bound every morning and out of the city north bound in the evenings?

Why is BKE, ECP and hopefully the future KLP (Kallang E-way) not so jammed?? Because BKE was built to cater a faster access to Malaysia, AYE to cater for Jurong Industrail estate, and ECP for Changi Airport, BEFORE the developemnt of the HDB housing estates, but CTE is built AFTER the various north and northeast hosuing estates have been developed, and now they find it cannot cope with the demand?

TO be fast, ERP shd be the last resort after we have exhasuted all our means. The recent increase in gantries of ERP, I can only say the northbound one at CTE is justified. Because LTA has indeed increase an additional lane but still find traffic too slow, but I say justified, not mean I agree, I still feel we shd leave it, the evening North bound traffic at CTE is still not as bad as need to put ERP.

As foer the rest like Orchard Rd, it is just excuses to get more revenue, after drop of revencue from Cars COEs. It will jsut drive trafic elsewhere, not solve the probelm, roads around Orcahrd wil be more conjested after 1 Aug, believe me!

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

guys guys... There is no drop in revenue for cars in COE.....

Infact there is a rise in it.... DUn u see the scam in it??

eg...

When COE is 35k they sell 10 cars = 350k a month

now coe 20 k they sell 20 cars = 400k a month.

The sale of cars doubled after the coe drops if u notice the figures of the car sales...

In fact by lowering the COE (on purpose) they earn more....

Now to cope with the problem of too much cars they use the ERP to earn more lor...

http://img27.exs.cx/img27/7286/juon4ff.gif

Something Strange in my office...

Originally posted by Sleepyhead@Jun 2 2005, 11:23 PM

guys guys... There is no drop in revenue for cars in COE.....

Infact there is a rise in it.... DUn u see the scam in it??

eg...

When COE is 35k they sell 10 cars = 350k a month

now coe 20 k they sell 20 cars = 400k a month.

The sale of cars doubled after the coe drops if u notice the figures of the car sales...

In fact by lowering the COE (on purpose) they earn more....

Now to cope with the problem of too much cars they use the ERP to earn more lor...

Guess which word had this meaning.

1. Any code or set of principles containing different provisions for one group of people than for another, esp. an unwritten code of sexual behavior permitting men more freedom than women.

2. A set of principles permitting greater opportunity or liberty to one than to another, especially the granting of greater sexual freedom to men than to women.

3. A set of principles establishing different provisions for one group than another; also, specifically, allowing men more sexual freedom than women.

COE revenue = no of COE issued x cost per COE,

since cost reduce liao, to maintain the same or more COE revenue, common sense would be to increase the no. of COEs

in case u didnt know, i read somewhere that for the year 2004, 8000 cars were scrapped (thanks to the 10 year loans system).

assuming

1. all 8000 scrapped vehicles each were replaced by a new car,

2. COE purchased is 1.6litre and above

3. average COE for (2) is $30k for the year

total revenue = a whopping 2.4b dollars. per year ....

the issue to the problem of traffic jams in the city .. my views are

1. reduce the number of vehicles on the road.

2. issue COE when necessary. eg. 10 cars scrapped this mth, issue 10 COEs only

3. u want a COE? pay more for it.

apparently, COE seems to be a major source of income for the coffers

but hey, almost everything that has to do with a car has something to do with the gahment,

eg.

1. Road Taxes

2. Insurance

3. parking

4. ERP

5. Petrol

6. Automotive Industry

7. Entertainment Industry.

etc ....

Guest R1szuan

At first way before ERP was started... there RZA(restricted zone area)was a time you need to buy a cuopon to enter CBD. Police officer and traffic warden will stand below the gantry sign to pick out those motorist who failed to buy the restricted zone coupon. As the fines for not using the coupon will be costly. LTA that time believe this would work.

Due to the human factor and large volume of vehicle goin in and out of town plus the coupon was abit small to be seen. Aunties have to sit in a cubicle with pen and paper to see ppl number plate.(that explain why some biker fold up thier number plate) Some motorist will resort to speed all the way infront of the warden to prevent them from seeing their coupon. Some dispute over the coupon.I remember the coupon got a few type

1: Daily Enterance Acess

2: Monthly Access

3: Motorcycle Access

4: Good Vehicle

5: Taxi

They would open up a lot of this Restricted Zone counter all over singapore to help motorist to buy the coupon. It prove to be a failure when there is a counter open 100m before the gantry and everyone start parking at the road side causing uncessary jams along the road. Or worst when the lights on the Gantry is about to be switch off there is a sudden slow movement of traffic or when the Gantry light is about to be on a mad dash to beat that light.

After much complaint and reviews. LTA decided to scrap the RZA. In came their new project called ERP. With ERP they claimed, it is more efficent

1: Less Manpower ( You just need 1 computer to do all the work)

2: Electronically traced and charge ( Real time charges and recorded)

3: More safer (The unit will be above the gantry no need to have ladies to stand by the road side to check number plate)

4: Easier to manage ( They are computer and rarely breakdown. Collecting data is simpler like how many car went thru etc)

5: Reliable (rain shine or war it works)

6: More control (This allow them to control all the timing at the Gantry previously it was manually switch off)

7: Ability to charge different for different vehicle (the differs bet bikes,car and taxi)

Now they didnt claimed with ERP it would be able to solve the jam at town area. IT was mention ERP was to help to monitor the number of vehicle in and out of town. As you can see even with ERP ppl are still the same(still travelled slowly to wait for the ERP sign to be off). Human factor is always unpredicatable.As you know it town area is where most ppl will flock to. Seeing Singapore has limited land space and avaiable land. The govt has no other alternative which is to increase the Public PARKING charges, Increase Petrol prices and INCREASE the ERP charges. Like many part of the world traffic jams in city area is in evitable but it can be controlled. Imposed heavy fines for vehicle that didnt pay erp into town.

Like currently it is $10 plus the ERP charges if you failed to put in your cash card.

why not increase the fine to $70 plus the charges if no cash card is found

No IU the fine should be increase to $150 instead of $70?

Start a new bill to Saman those who intentionally drive slowly in morning peak hours and fine them for hindering traffic at $200 and 8pts.

Saman those who purposely park at the road shoulder while waiting for the ERP to be off. Saman them at $200 and 6 pts for parking or waiting at near the ERP gantry.

Originally posted by R1szuan@Jun 6 2005, 02:53 PM

At first way before ERP was started... there RZA(restricted zone area)was a time you need to buy a cuopon to enter CBD. Police officer and traffic warden will stand below the gantry sign to pick out those motorist who failed to buy the restricted zone coupon. As the fines for not using the coupon will be costly. LTA that time believe this would work.

Due to the human factor and large volume of vehicle goin in and out of town plus the coupon was abit small to be seen. Aunties have to sit in a cubicle with pen and paper to see ppl number plate.(that explain why some biker fold up thier number plate) Some motorist will resort to speed all the way infront of the warden to prevent them from seeing their coupon. Some dispute over the coupon.I remember the coupon got a few type

1: Daily Enterance Acess

2: Monthly Access

3: Motorcycle Access

4: Good Vehicle

5: Taxi

They would open up a lot of this Restricted Zone counter all over singapore to help motorist to buy the coupon. It prove to be a failure when there is a counter open 100m before the gantry and everyone start parking at the road side causing uncessary jams along the road. Or worst when the lights on the Gantry is about to be switch off there is a sudden slow movement of traffic or when the Gantry light is about to be on a mad dash to beat that light.

After much complaint and reviews. LTA decided to scrap the RZA. In came their new project called ERP. With ERP they claimed, it is more efficent

1: Less Manpower ( You just need 1 computer to do all the work)

2: Electronically traced and charge ( Real time charges and recorded)

3: More safer (The unit will be above the gantry no need to have ladies to stand by the road side to check number plate)

4: Easier to manage ( They are computer and rarely breakdown. Collecting data is simpler like how many car went thru etc)

5: Reliable (rain shine or war it works)

6: More control (This allow them to control all the timing at the Gantry previously it was manually switch off)

7: Ability to charge different for different vehicle (the differs bet bikes,car and taxi)

Now they didnt claimed with ERP it would be able to solve the jam at town area. IT was mention ERP was to help to monitor the number of vehicle in and out of town. As you can see even with ERP ppl are still the same(still travelled slowly to wait for the ERP sign to be off). Human factor is always unpredicatable.As you know it town area is where most ppl will flock to. Seeing Singapore has limited land space and avaiable land. The govt has no other alternative which is to increase the Public PARKING charges, Increase Petrol prices and INCREASE the ERP charges. Like many part of the world traffic jams in city area is in evitable but it can be controlled. Imposed heavy fines for vehicle that didnt pay erp into town.

Like currently it is $10 plus the ERP charges if you failed to put in your cash card.

why not increase the fine to $70 plus the charges if no cash card is found

No IU the fine should be increase to $150 instead of $70?

Start a new bill to Saman those who intentionally drive slowly in morning peak hours and fine them for hindering traffic at $200 and 8pts.

Saman those who purposely park at the road shoulder while waiting for the ERP to be off. Saman them at $200 and 6 pts for parking or waiting at near the ERP gantry.

If i'm not wrong, it was called ALS (Area Licence "something")

1. Any code or set of principles containing different provisions for one group of people than for another, esp. an unwritten code of sexual behavior permitting men more freedom than women.

2. A set of principles permitting greater opportunity or liberty to one than to another, especially the granting of greater sexual freedom to men than to women.

3. A set of principles establishing different provisions for one group than another; also, specifically, allowing men more sexual freedom than women.

Guest R1szuan
Originally posted by bigman_185@Jun 6 2005, 06:37 PM

If i'm not wrong, it was called ALS (Area Licence "something")

whatever the name was... it was a failure indeed...... still can remember the mad rush to beat the gantry or those biker will try ride inbetween bus to prevent thier number plate from being seen.:giddy:

In fact I applaud the gahment of doing so much things to curb traffic jams in the city, but what I dislike abt it is now with ERP, it is so easy to put up gantries as long as there is a jam or potential jam, it makes the goverment jobs too EASY and not justified!

Can't the givt just crack their heads and think of ways to ease the jams, like CTE, many ppl have suggested to the ST Forum to improve the flow, here r some eg:-

1) to convert the emergency lane at certain portion of CTE, esp between PIE exit and Braddel Rd exit, to a 4th lane, this will increase 25% of the capacity,

2) to remove the speed camera between AMK Ave 1 exit and Bradell RD exit, many motorists slow down when nearing the camera, this causes further jam,

3) to increase the capactiy of other roads parallel to CTE, like Upper Serangoon Rd, Upper Thomson Rd and Lornie Rd, Upp Ser Rd already converted to a semi-expressway (but not fully, also jam bet Ser Central and Hougang Ave 2), Lornie can increase 1 more lane (but will eat away part of the Machachi Nature Reserve and some private land), how abt Upp Thomson Rd, can't it be converted to a semi-expressway like Upp Ser Rd? Hopefully, with the new KPE (Kallang Paya Lebar Expessway), CTE jam will reduce, but will the govt then lift the ERP at CTE after KPE starts, I doubt so.

4) As for Orcahrd Rd, most of the traffic is transitional traffic, by passing Orcahrd Rd area, esp Scotts, Paterson and Buyong Rd, they are mostly office workers at the town heading back home via CTE, if u chase them away, where are they going, I tell u, the roads near Orcahrd, Napier Rd, Holland Rd etc, will be more conjested, we r shifting the problems elsewhere, is this a correct attitude to solve traffic problems, drive the prblems elsewhere??

Still remember how the govt BOOST abt S'pore COE system , saying it how good is how good, and deep inside their heads, they always thk this is a big money generating machine, every 2 weeks, millions of $$ goes into the National coffers, NEVER, NEVER in their dreams, I dare say, that they see todays cars COE drop to below $18k! Y, they must be cracking their heads to know the answer, actually the answers r damm simple, anybody who has brains can think of it, let me share w u:-

Y COE price drop??

1) Many ppl in S'pore now do not have a "iron rice bowl", even if u work in govt sector, many ppl r worry if their job is still available next month, abt how to feed their family, abt the rising cost of living, many U graduates can't find a decent job nowadays, nobody is willing to commit a big sum for goods they know very well they can't keep for more than 10 yrs, so why bid so high for COE,

2) Another more powerful reason is becasue COE is a auction system, no matter how the Govt controls, it is a reverse tender sytem, a bidding system, anybody who studies economics before shd be able to tell what loopholes this ssytem has.

Last time a closed ssytem, lagi teruk, $1, $50 or $101 COE for some lucky (for govt is unlucky) mth, so govt changed it to a open system, everyone nows knows everyone bid price, but do u really thk this is the case?

Ha Ha Ha, there are only a few thousand, I think abt 3000 COE each mth, and big players like Borneo Motors (Toyota), Kah Motors (Honda), and Tan Chong (Nissan), Komoco (Hydundai) and CCI (Mercedes), have a monthly COE mtg, what do u thk these top executives r discussing in the mtg?? How can these car dealers sell u a car before it even bid a COE? how can they be so sure abt the COE prices? I can tell u, a cartel has been formed long ago, these ppl are the real COE price setters, they set the COE prices. They already discussed how much they r going to bid for every mth COE prices, these ppl just did not pen it down in writing, but the agreement has long been kept even wothout black n white? So in the nutshell is COE really a transparent system, as claimed by the govt?

I can tell u, if these big players want, they can set the COE price at $1, theoretically, but they probably can't afford or do not want to offend the govt, so slowly lah, reduce the price slowly lah, put it this way, if COE drop to $1, dealers won't lose, the only party to lose is the govt, and the only party to gain is the buyers.

Sorry for off topic and long winded mail.

Originally posted by Keynes@Jun 7 2005, 09:54 AM

In fact I applaud the gahment of doing so much things to curb traffic jams in the city, but what I dislike abt it is now with ERP, it is so easy to put up gantries as long as there is a jam or potential jam, it makes the goverment jobs too EASY and not justified!

Can't the givt just crack their heads and think of ways to ease the jams, like CTE, many ppl have suggested to the ST Forum to improve the flow, here r some eg:-

1) to convert the emergency lane at certain portion of CTE, esp between PIE exit and Braddel Rd exit, to a 4th lane, this will increase 25% of the capacity,

2) to remove the speed camera between AMK Ave 1 exit and Bradell RD exit, many motorists slow down when nearing the camera, this causes further jam,

3) to increase the capactiy of other roads parallel to CTE, like Upper Serangoon Rd, Upper Thomson Rd and Lornie Rd, Upp Ser Rd already converted to a semi-expressway (but not fully, also jam bet Ser Central and Hougang Ave 2), Lornie can increase 1 more lane (but will eat away part of the Machachi Nature Reserve and some private land), how abt Upp Thomson Rd, can't it be converted to a semi-expressway like Upp Ser Rd? Hopefully, with the new KPE (Kallang Paya Lebar Expessway), CTE jam will reduce, but will the govt then lift the ERP at CTE after KPE starts, I doubt so.

4) As for Orcahrd Rd, most of the traffic is transitional traffic, by passing Orcahrd Rd area, esp Scotts, Paterson and Buyong Rd, they are mostly office workers at the town heading back home via CTE, if u chase them away, where are they going, I tell u, the roads near Orcahrd, Napier Rd, Holland Rd etc, will be more conjested, we r shifting the problems elsewhere, is this a correct attitude to solve traffic problems, drive the prblems elsewhere??

Still remember how the govt BOOST abt S'pore COE system , saying it how good is how good, and deep inside their heads, they always thk this is a big money generating machine, every 2 weeks, millions of $$ goes into the National coffers, NEVER, NEVER in their dreams, I dare say, that they see todays cars COE drop to below $18k! Y, they must be cracking their heads to know the answer, actually the answers r damm simple, anybody who has brains can think of it, let me share w u:-

Y COE price drop??

1) Many ppl in S'pore now do not have a "iron rice bowl", even if u work in govt sector, many ppl r worry if their job is still available next month, abt how to feed their family, abt the rising cost of living, many U graduates can't find a decent job nowadays, nobody is willing to commit a big sum for goods they know very well they can't keep for more than 10 yrs, so why bid so high for COE,

2) Another more powerful reason is becasue COE is a auction system, no matter how the Govt controls, it is a reverse tender sytem, a bidding system, anybody who studies economics before shd be able to tell what loopholes this ssytem has.

Last time a closed ssytem, lagi teruk, $1, $50 or $101 COE for some lucky (for govt is unlucky) mth, so govt changed it to a open system, everyone nows knows everyone bid price, but do u really thk this is the case?

Ha Ha Ha, there are only a few thousand, I think abt 3000 COE each mth, and big players like Borneo Motors (Toyota), Kah Motors (Honda), and Tan Chong (Nissan), Komoco (Hydundai) and CCI (Mercedes), have a monthly COE mtg, what do u thk these top executives r discussing in the mtg?? How can these car dealers sell u a car before it even bid a COE? how can they be so sure abt the COE prices? I can tell u, a cartel has been formed long ago, these ppl are the real COE price setters, they set the COE prices. They already discussed how much they r going to bid for every mth COE prices, these ppl just did not pen it down in writing, but the agreement has long been kept even wothout black n white? So in the nutshell is COE really a transparent system, as claimed by the govt?

I can tell u, if these big players want, they can set the COE price at $1, theoretically, but they probably can't afford or do not want to offend the govt, so slowly lah, reduce the price slowly lah, put it this way, if COE drop to $1, dealers won't lose, the only party to lose is the govt, and the only party to gain is the buyers.

You must be in the meeting too. :lol: So wat price of the COE for CAT A(1600cc & below) this coming bidding?

If I'm in the meeing, I'll be one of the top executives, I'm not that high level.

But I know it through my contacts, these mtg high level one, their directors and President sit in one......

Next bidding.

Cat A $17,000 to $18,500

Cat B $16,500 to $18,000

Cat C $ 6,500 to $8,000

Cat D $above $750

Cat E $17,000 to $19,000

Originally posted by Keynes@Jun 8 2005, 03:03 PM

If I'm in the meeing, I'll be one of the top executives, I'm not that high level.

But I know it through my contacts, these mtg high level one, their directors and President sit in one......

Next bidding.

Cat A $17,000 to $18,500

Cat B $16,500 to $18,000

Cat C $ 6,500 to $8,000

Cat D $above $750

Cat E $17,000 to $19,000

Let's see how is the bidding.

Lets face it..... The only reason they are resorting to the ERP is cos its the easiest way out, and they spend less money and gain back much more.

Knowing most singaporeans, they would jus pay the money and get on with it. And the gahment is banking exactly on that.

How would setting up more gantries reduce the f**king traffic flow? If you've been driving to work for the past 10 years, would it make any difference? The only effect its gonna bring abt is putting more $$ into their coffers.

Since they're at that, why not just charge $50 per entry? you'll definitely see less cars or any vehicle for that matter of fact.

Of course, they wouldn't wan to go against their own pockets, so they increase gradually so that you dun feel the pinch so much but in fact pay more and more for it with out seeing the money flow away into their coffers.

Originally posted by Dafanshu@May 28 2005, 01:28 PM

I came across the article on today Straits Times frontpage, saw this topic "ERP cordon in Orchard Road"

To my horror, motorists like me got to pay ERP charges for driving home on Central Expressway and this coming October the buslane along Dohoby Ghaut will be offlimits to motorists from 7.30am to 8m, Monday to Saturday.

I think this is just another reason for gahment to generate revenue from setting few more ERP gantrys. Or maybe they are persuading us to stay in the town to doing window shopping till the ERP operation ends at 8pm.

Well I doubt I will hang around in town for 2 hours (if i knock off at 6pm), just because I want to save $1. If everyone is having this thought, I suppose the plan of having more ERP gantrys to improve the traffic condition will not work.

Road Tax, Insurance, COE and ERP are the liability of today's motorists.

:help: :help: :help:

abit offtopic.. i though birthrate very low liao?

Make people stay in orchard till erp timeframe over.

By thetime we reach home, too shacked out liao.. how to make babies?!

Also, its a sure way to JAM the CTE even more after 8pm! Anyway the only that will benefit is the gahment. :sian:

Originally posted by Keynes@Jun 8 2005, 03:03 PM

Next bidding.

Cat A $17,000 to $18,500

Cat B $16,500 to $18,000

Cat C $ 6,500 to $8,000

Cat D $above $750

Cat E $17,000 to $19,000

latest COE bidding

A Car (1600cc & below) &Taxi QP ($): 17,481

B Car (Above 1600 cc) QP ($): 16,002

C Goods Vehicle & Bus QP ($): 6,450

D Motorcycle QP ($): 699

E Open QP ($): 18,200

Originally posted by Keynes@Jun 7 2005, 09:54 AM

Y COE price drop??

nice article lol