[Discussion] Typical prices for Phantom repairs & mods

If is possible to mod Phantom TA200 top speed to 140km to 160km?

Currently my top is 120km to 130km.

Is not for speeding :angel: I ride slow in SG is for traveling long distance use.

I try riding to KL at 120km very smooth but slow hoping to gain more speed will cut down the timing.

My Melaka trip was fun short distance @ 120km 3hr reached but longer distance will be tired. :cheeky:

I know I can upgrade to another bike but I love my Phantom :thumb:

Any advise are welcome Thank You.

Phantom TA200 2012, Vara 125 2013 (Betong)

TZR 125 (HatYai) 2013 & 2018 (Tak Bai)

CB400SF PB1 (Danok, HatYai, Yala, Betong and Su-ngai Kolok) 2014

CB400SF PB1 Iron Butt SaddleSore 1600k 25th Feb 2015

NT650V Deuville (Pattani) (Solo SG-MY-TH-LS)

ST1100 Pan 3 mountain ride in 24hr , MHS 1864 2017

http://tripdrive.blogspot.sg

• Replies 3.8k

  osxunix said:

If is possible to mod Phantom TA200 top speed to 140km to 160km?

Currently my top is 120km to 130km.

Is not for speeding :angel: I ride slow in SG is for traveling long distance use.

I try riding to KL at 120km very smooth but slow hoping to gain more speed will cut down the timing.

My Melaka trip was fun short distance @ 120km 3hr reached but longer distance will be tired. :cheeky:

I know I can upgrade to another bike but I love my Phantom :thumb:

Any advise are welcome Thank You.

Probably might be too expensive. One example is increase d CC by boring d cylinder and change to bigger piston. Then need to retune ur carb then ur FC oso go up.

Have u tried chging sprocket sizes to allow u to cruise at higher speed w/o so much engine stress? Dats d cheapest mod IMO. Though be warned, ur pickup will drop quite abit.

Thr is only so much u can do. As the saying goes: "There is no replacement for displacement". I oso loved my phantom alot but i realise i nd more power n comfort as i intend to tour further. Malacca on d phantom was just too exhausting for me. Jux my thoughts. :)

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

  naim said:
Probably might be too expensive. One example is increase d CC by boring d cylinder and change to bigger piston. Then need to retune ur carb then ur FC oso go up.

Have u tried chging sprocket sizes to allow u to cruise at higher speed w/o so much engine stress? Dats d cheapest mod IMO. Though be warned, ur pickup will drop quite abit.

Thr is only so much u can do. As the saying goes: "There is no replacement for displacement". I oso loved my phantom alot but i realise i nd more power n comfort as i intend to tour further. Malacca on d phantom was just too exhausting for me. Jux my thoughts. :)

Hi naim,

Thanks for the advise I think only left you very active in Phantom Knight. haha

I have research that Honda Shadow & Yamaha Dragstar both top @ 140km/hr running in stock.

Honda Shadow 650cc top only 150km/hr must be the weight... :p

I think if mod the cylinder and change to bigger piston will fail the yearly inspection :angel:

I think left option mod the sprocket to 39 tooth and lose the pick up speed for touring use.

niam, should try touring to Malacca I start at 5am from dark to sunlight reach at 8am stop 2 time for fuel and drinks solo.

  osxunix said:
Hi naim,

Thanks for the advise I think only left you very active in Phantom Knight. haha

I have research that Honda Shadow & Yamaha Dragstar both top @ 140km/hr running in stock.

Honda Shadow 650cc top only 150km/hr must be the weight... :p

I think if mod the cylinder and change to bigger piston will fail the yearly inspection :angel:

I think left option mod the sprocket to 39 tooth and lose the pick up speed for touring use.

niam, should try touring to Malacca I start at 5am from dark to sunlight reach at 8am stop 2 time for fuel and drinks solo.

haha just help out where i can since i had alot of experience wif my phantom and most of the stuff i DIY. so i know d bike almost inside-out. :)

locally only can find 39T, but i actually ordered a 37T sprocket from UK. the pickup was bad, but cruising was pretty alright. except for crests and slopes, but wats so hard about a downshifting a gear? but i find it better in slow speed since i can hold 1st gear longer without having so much jerkiness.

i did went to Malacca once on my phantom. i left at 9am, rched ard 11+. stopped once at Pagoh for drinks and petrol. cruised at 120 all the way, and hitting 130 wen overtaking, sometimes on the shoulder (not advisable of course). but on the way back, i tink i stopped like 4 times. recently oso came back from a trip to Port Dickson wif my scoot and me and my buddies realise that the journey back was more tiring probably due to the roads being more bumpy and harsh. so probably dat explained why i stopped so many times on my phantom.

  naim said:
haha just help out where i can since i had alot of experience wif my phantom and most of the stuff i DIY. so i know d bike almost inside-out. :)

locally only can find 39T, but i actually ordered a 37T sprocket from UK. the pickup was bad, but cruising was pretty alright. except for crests and slopes, but wats so hard about a downshifting a gear? but i find it better in slow speed since i can hold 1st gear longer without having so much jerkiness.

i did went to Malacca once on my phantom. i left at 9am, rched ard 11+. stopped once at Pagoh for drinks and petrol. cruised at 120 all the way, and hitting 130 wen overtaking, sometimes on the shoulder (not advisable of course). but on the way back, i tink i stopped like 4 times. recently oso came back from a trip to Port Dickson wif my scoot and me and my buddies realise that the journey back was more tiring probably due to the roads being more bumpy and harsh. so probably dat explained why i stopped so many times on my phantom.

Serious need to import from UK local cannot find 37T then what is the top speed for 37T?

I can't get 39T from LAB don't know Ah Chong have stock bo?

  osxunix said:
Serious need to import from UK local cannot find 37T then what is the top speed for 37T?

I can't get 39T from LAB don't know Ah Chong have stock bo?

I nv try top speed but like i say i can hit 130. Possible to hit maybe 140 if downhill. Yup i got from wemoto.com. If u cfm want, i can PM u d details. IIRC ita almost $60. But i ordered wif new chain as well so shipping more worth it.

39T i got from Eversuccess. Cant rmb d price though.

  naim said:
I nv try top speed but like i say i can hit 130. Possible to hit maybe 140 if downhill. Yup i got from wemoto.com. If u cfm want, i can PM u d details. IIRC ita almost $60. But i ordered wif new chain as well so shipping more worth it.

39T i got from Eversuccess. Cant rmb d price though.

I thinking trying 39T first do I have to change the chain and front tooth too?

If ur sprocket n chain relatively new, can still reuse la. actly no nd to cut chain, but ur wheel will be pushed back, so in d future u might not have much adjustments to compensate for chain stretching. Seek advice frm bike shop. I tink if cut might be too short.

  naim said:
If ur sprocket n chain relatively new, can still reuse la. actly no nd to cut chain, but ur wheel will be pushed back, so in d future u might not have much adjustments to compensate for chain stretching. Seek advice frm bike shop. I tink if cut might be too short.

Hi naim,

Don't manage to get a 39T from Eversuccess so I go try LAB again.

Today is my lucky day manage to get 1 from LAB @ $35 quality not bad (VAZ brand from italy).

My bike shop say must cut abit if not too loose :cheeky:

The pick up lost abit at an acceptable speed actually quit surprise still strong at gear 1 and 2nd gear can drag more now :)

Have no time to run longer distance but will try tonight but the normal drive is much smooth now especially during hot weather in the afternoon.

Wahh how come no stock. I rmb it was only 20+ i got last year. Nvm la at least u got quality one. Hope can last long. So did u shorten ur chain?

Yup d riding is much nicer wif it. Can drag longer and make use of d lower end torque. Enjoy d ride! :)

  naim said:
Wahh how come no stock. I rmb it was only 20+ i got last year. Nvm la at least u got quality one. Hope can last long. So did u shorten ur chain?

Yup d riding is much nicer wif it. Can drag longer and make use of d lower end torque. Enjoy d ride! :)

IMG_20120926_151455.jpg

Actually they said they have 1 but is without plate just the gear I was thinking how to mount without the plate... so go LAB try my luck. The chain is shorten by my mech he say too long. :)

Bought the 37T sprocket as mentioned by bro naim. But i got a question to ask, pick up was bad, but how bad is it? Got bad until machiam like container truck pickup? :cheeky:

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

  Spark_135 said:
Bought the 37T sprocket as mentioned by bro naim. But i got a question to ask, pick up was bad, but how bad is it? Got bad until machiam like container truck pickup? :cheeky:

I think if the rider is light weight should be okay but my weight...

  Spark_135 said:

For example, i over 90kgs. Pretty heavy. I found the bike still alright. Nt lightning quick but i like d ability to drag d gears longer, so u can still make quick accelerations, just nd to rev more lor.

But one advice. Slope u can rly feel d lack of torque. So u nd to rev more than usual la.

Yesterday manage to pillion my friend going up slope not easy :p

  naim said:
For example, i over 90kgs. Pretty heavy. I found the bike still alright. Nt lightning quick but i like d ability to drag d gears longer, so u can still make quick accelerations, just nd to rev more lor.

But one advice. Slope u can rly feel d lack of torque. So u nd to rev more than usual la.

Haha i dont need lightning fast speed, in the first place not looking at high speed on this bike. Just a tad worried that if acceleration too slow kena tailgate by vehicles which is rather risky IMO. But since u say if im lightweight (Im 62kg) then it shouldnt be a prob i hope. Just need to reduce rev on the highway to save fuel. :)

2A - On going...

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

Try not to reduce more than 3 teeth at the back or increase more than 1 teeth in the front. If you do overgear it too much, you will lose pickup also and in the top end there wont be enough power and to take it to beyond 120km/hr will take a long long time.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Hmmm actly im just speaking frm experience. I find it ok to accelerate to 120. Maybe its just different expectations. I tend to cruise at hi speed, e.g minimum 110 on d meter. If not overgeared, my hand will numb till no 2moro. Haha.

I got the smaller rear sprocket (for Honda SP), still using it today, hit top speed 153km/hr down slope on the NSHW, but it took a long long time to build up to that speed. :lol:

  Silent Hunter said:
I got the smaller rear sprocket (for Honda SP), still using it today, hit top speed 153km/hr down slope on the NSHW, but it took a long long time to build up to that speed. :lol:

Wah just dont hope after installing i take 10mins to get to 100km/h ah :o

2A - On going...

  Silent Hunter said:

Without the down slope can hit 140km/hr?

I use 37T can hit 120km/hr with pillion.

  Silent Hunter said:

Champion already. Hahaha!

  osxunix said:
Without the down slope can hit 140km/hr?

I use 37T can hit 120km/hr with pillion.

Hmmm SP or Phantom speed? Is it actual speed? Cause last time my SP can hit 140km/h (meter speed) easily.

Ok now i understand what he meant. Speed of 153 on Phantom with a sprocket meant for SP. :cheeky:

2A - On going...

Aiyo! Young people nowadays harrr.... The english so bad. :lol:

Yap, 153km/hr was on the Phantom meter. Spocket was meant for the Honda SP, but I used it anyway.

Pickup was not slightly less responsive, but not by much, anyway I am not the type to ram full throttle at once the lights turns green. :cheeky:

After a few days you will hardly notice it. :angel:

Or at least LL suck thumb and forget it! :lol:

On flat ground can go until 135km/hr, but it takes time climbing after 120km/hr. Going up slope full throttle only 120km/hr max. :(

  Silent Hunter said:
Aiyo! Young people nowadays harrr.... The english so bad. :lol:

Yap, 153km/hr was on the Phantom meter. Spocket was meant for the Honda SP, but I used it anyway.

Pickup was not slightly less responsive, but not by much, anyway I am not the type to ram full throttle at once the lights turns green. :cheeky:

After a few days you will hardly notice it. :angel:

Or at least LL suck thumb and forget it! :lol:

On flat ground can go until 135km/hr, but it takes time climbing after 120km/hr. Going up slope full throttle only 120km/hr max. :(

Haha dont like that say la. Cause im the kind who always go off topic in other forums, thats why i easily get wrong idea XD

2A - On going...